Amp & Adapter

Best Portable EV Chargers

Portable Level 2 chargers ranked on amperage, plug flexibility and build — including the one that can double as your home charger, and an honest budget backup.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

“Portable EV charger” covers two very different products, and telling them apart is the whole buying decision. A real 40A Level 2 portableplugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and charges as fast as a fixed wall unit — it can genuinely be your everyday home charger and still travel. A 16A Level 1 unitruns off any standard outlet but only adds a few miles per hour; it’s an emergency top-up, not a daily driver.

We compare on amperage, plug flexibility (the best ones include adapters for both a 240V and a standard outlet), and buildfor something that gets coiled, dropped and rained on. For a lot of people, a 40A portable on a 14-50 outlet is all the home charger they need — and it comes on road trips.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Best overall
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

A strong-value alternative to the Lectron portable: 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 plug, usually with adjustable amperage and a clear display. If the Lectron is out of stock or pricier on the day, this is the like-for-like swap.

Best value 40A
$176.98 · View on Amazon

$199.9812% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3

TLE LEVEL Portable Level 2 Charger (40A, 25 ft)

A 40A portable with a published 25 ft cable at one of the lowest prices we can find for that combination. It does the same job as the Lectron for meaningfully less money — the trade is a brand nobody has heard of and a listing that publishes less.

Cheapest genuine 40A
4
EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

The genuinely useful dual-voltage unit: 12A from an ordinary household socket, 16A from a 240V NEMA 6-20, with a 25 ft cable and an ETL listing. It is not a fast charger and does not pretend to be — it is the one to keep in the trunk for wherever you end up parked.

Best for unknown outlets
$107.99 · View on Amazon

$119.9910% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
TopAutoGear Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

TopAutoGear Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

The cheapest charger on this site, and it earns the slot by publishing two things budget listings usually leave blank: an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty. 16A is slow by design, so treat it as the unit that lives in the trunk for the day you need it rather than the one you plan your charging around.

Best budget backup

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Strengths

  • True 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 outlet — same overnight speed as a wall unit
  • Includes a 120V adapter to fall back to any standard outlet
  • Packs in the trunk for road trips and destination charging

Trade-offs

  • Needs a 14-50 outlet installed to hit full speed at home
  • No wall bracket or scheduling — it's a cable, not a smart charger
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length21 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50 + 5-15 adapter)
Outdoor ratingIP66 connector
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Adjustable amperage on some units lets you dial it down for a weaker outlet. On a standard 120V outlet it drops to Level 1 speed (a few miles of range per hour), which is the physics of the outlet, not the charger.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best value 40A

EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

A strong-value alternative to the Lectron portable: 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 plug, usually with adjustable amperage and a clear display. If the Lectron is out of stock or pricier on the day, this is the like-for-like swap.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 at a competitive price
  • Adjustable current and a readable display on most models
  • Often bundled with plug adapters

Trade-offs

  • Brand track record is shorter than the established names
  • Same 14-50-outlet requirement to reach full speed
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50, adapters vary)
Outdoor ratingIP67 connector
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Configurations and included adapters vary by listing — check the plug type and stated amperage on the exact unit before buying.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Cheapest genuine 40A

TLE LEVEL Portable Level 2 Charger (40A, 25 ft)

A 40A portable with a published 25 ft cable at one of the lowest prices we can find for that combination. It does the same job as the Lectron for meaningfully less money — the trade is a brand nobody has heard of and a listing that publishes less.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 — the same real output as a wall-mounted 40A charger
  • 25 ft cable published in the listing, which is generous at this price
  • Packs in the trunk, so it covers home charging and travel with one purchase

Trade-offs

  • Unfamiliar brand with no established support history
  • The listing does not name a certification body — verify it on the page before buying
  • No published enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, 9.6 kW, 240V, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a J1772 connector and a 25 ft cable. It does not name a certification body, an enclosure rating or a warranty term, so those read as not published. A 40A unit needs a 50A circuit behind the outlet under the 80% rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best for unknown outlets

EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

The genuinely useful dual-voltage unit: 12A from an ordinary household socket, 16A from a 240V NEMA 6-20, with a 25 ft cable and an ETL listing. It is not a fast charger and does not pretend to be — it is the one to keep in the trunk for wherever you end up parked.

Strengths

  • ETL listed — a named testing lab, which several cheaper travel units cannot claim
  • Runs from a standard 120V socket or a 240V NEMA 6-20, roughly doubling the rate on the latter
  • 25 ft cable is unusually long for a travel unit, which matters when the outlet is nowhere near the car

Trade-offs

  • 16A maximum — this is a top-up charger, not a replacement for a 40A home install
  • The 240V mode needs a NEMA 6-20 outlet, which most houses do not have
  • No published enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output16 A
Max power3.8 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 5-15 or 6-20)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 12A at 120V and 16A at 240V, a 25 ft cable, an ETL listing and both NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plug options, stated as compatible with all EVs and PHEVs. It does not publish an enclosure rating or a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best budget backup

TopAutoGear Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

The cheapest charger on this site, and it earns the slot by publishing two things budget listings usually leave blank: an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty. 16A is slow by design, so treat it as the unit that lives in the trunk for the day you need it rather than the one you plan your charging around.

Strengths

  • Rated 110V-240V rather than 120V only, so it is not locked to Level 1 speed
  • Publishes an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty, which most listings at this price do not
  • LCD display shows what the unit is actually drawing

Trade-offs

  • 17 ft of cable is short next to the 25 ft several rivals publish
  • The listing names no safety-certification body — no UL or ETL file is stated
  • The listing does not publish which NEMA plugs are in the box
ConnectorJ1772
Max output16 A
Max powerNot published
Cable length17 ft
InstallPlug-in (110-240V)
Outdoor ratingIP54
Warranty5 years

Spec note. The listing publishes 16A across a 110-240V range, a 17 ft cable, an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty. It does not publish a kW figure, a certification body or the plug types supplied. At 16A the arithmetic is roughly 1.9 kW on a 120V outlet — about 3-5 miles of range per hour — and roughly 3.8 kW where a 240V outlet is available.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 22, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

How to choose a portable charger

Decide whether you want a primary charger that travels, or a backup for the trunk. The Lectron 40A, EVDANCE 40A and TLE LEVEL 40A are true Level 2 units — on a NEMA 14-50 outlet they add roughly 30 miles of range per hour, the same as a wall charger, and any of them can be your daily home charger if you have a 14-50 outlet in the garage. The EVDANCE 16A dual-level and the TopAutoGear are 16A units: cheap, light, and the right thing to keep in the trunk for the day you arrive somewhere with a low battery and no station — but slow by design, and slower still on a 120V socket.

Level 1, Level 2, and the units that do both

The category label hides three genuinely different products, and the listings rarely make the distinction for you.

  • Level 1 only. A 120V cord, typically 12–15A. Adds roughly 3–5 miles of range per hour. This is the cord that came with the car. Buying a second one only makes sense as a spare for a second home or a trunk you never unload — our Level 1 roundup covers those honestly, including how slow they really are.
  • Dual-level 16A. Ships with both a 120V and a 240V plug, so one cord covers a household socket and a dryer-style outlet. On 240V a 16A unit delivers about 3.8 kW — roughly 12 miles of range per hour. Not fast, but three to four times a wall socket, and it fits outlets a 40A unit cannot use. The EVDANCE 16A and TopAutoGear are both this type.
  • True 40A Level 2. 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50, which is the same power a fixed 40A wall charger delivers. This is the only class that genuinely replaces a home charger. The Lectron, EVDANCE 40A and TLE LEVEL picks above are all in it.

If you are choosing between classes rather than brands, the question is not which is best — it is which outlet you will actually be standing in front of most often.

Amperage only matters if the outlet can feed it

A portable never delivers more than the circuit behind the socket allows, and the 80% continuous-load rule applies to a cord exactly as it does to a wall unit. In round numbers, for a 240V outlet:

  • NEMA 14-50 on a 50A circuit — 40A, about 9.6 kW. The full-speed case, common at RV parks and in newer garages.
  • NEMA 14-30 or 10-30 dryer outlet on a 30A circuit — 24A maximum, about 5.8 kW. You must dial the charger down yourself; the adapter will not do it for you.
  • NEMA 6-20 on a 20A circuit — 16A, about 3.8 kW. This is the ceiling the dual-level units are built for.
  • Standard 5-15 household socket — 12A at 120V, about 1.4 kW, whatever the charger is rated for.

That last line is the one that surprises people: plugging a 40A charger into a household socket does not make it fast. Our amps and circuits guide shows the arithmetic, and the NEMA outlet guide explains what the numbers on the socket mean.

Plugs and adapters

The best portables ship with, or accept, multiple plug adapters, so one charger covers a dryer outlet, an RV pedestal and a standard wall socket. Adjustable amperage is a genuine bonus: it lets you dial the charger down for a weaker circuit so you don’t trip a breaker at an unfamiliar outlet.

The rule you must not break: a plug adapter changes the shape of the plug, not the circuit behind it. Put a 40A charger on a 30A dryer outlet through an adapter and you have to set the charger to 24A manually. The outlet will not stop you and the breaker may take a while to object. Our NEMA adapter guide covers which adapters are worth carrying.

Cable length is the spec people regret

Reach is the difference between parking where you like and parking where the cord reaches. Among the picks here the published figures are 25 ft on the EVDANCE 40A, the TLE LEVEL and the EVDANCE 16A, 21 ft on the Lectron and 17 ft on the TopAutoGear. Away from home that gap matters more than at home, because you do not get to choose where the socket is. Measure the run you actually need before you optimize for amperage.

What these listings publish — and what they don’t

This is a category where the paperwork thins out fast at the budget end, and we would rather say so than paper over it. The Lectron publishes an IP66 connector and a 1-year warranty; the EVDANCE 40A publishes an IP67 connector and a 1-year warranty; the TopAutoGear publishes IP54 and an unusually long 5-year warranty. The TLE LEVEL and the EVDANCE 16A publish neither an enclosure rating nor a warranty term, which is exactly why they are cheaper — the spec table on this page prints “Not published” rather than a guess. Check the certification mark on the listing photographs before you order; our certification guide explains what UL 2594 and ETL actually cover and how to verify a claim.

The honest limit

No portable beats the outlet it’s plugged into. On a standard 120V socket, even a capable Level 2 unit falls back to Level 1 speed — that’s the physics of the outlet, not a flaw in the charger. If you want real speed at home, plan for a NEMA 14-50 outlet (see our outlet guide), and read our amps and circuits guide to size it.

What we’d skip

Skip a Level 1-only portable if you actually need to add meaningful range overnight — a few miles per hour won’t keep up with normal driving. And skip any “fast portable” that’s vague about its amperage or plug type; those two specs are the entire product.

Which of the five is for you

Buy the Lectron 40A if this is going to be your actual home charger as well as your travel one. It is the most completely specified unit here — a published IP66 connector and a stated warranty at a real 40A — and the 21 ft cable is the only thing we would check against your garage first. The full review goes deeper.

Buy the EVDANCE 40A if you want the same capability with more reach. It publishes an IP67 connector — the highest ingress rating in this group — and 25 ft of cable, for less than the Lectron. It is the pick we would hand most people who are buying one charger to do everything; the review covers the trade-offs.

Buy the TLE LEVEL 40A if you want genuine 40A capability for the least money and you are willing to accept a thinner spec sheet to get it. It publishes 40A and a 25 ft cable and does not publish an enclosure rating or a warranty term, and our review is explicit about what that means. Treat it as an indoor-and-garage unit.

Buy the EVDANCE 16A dual-level if you genuinely do not know what outlet you will find. It carries both a household and a 240V plug with 25 ft of cable, which is the most adaptable configuration here even though it is not the fastest. For PHEVs, whose onboard chargers often cannot exceed this rate anyway, it is arguably the right buy outright — see our plug-in hybrid guide.

Buy the TopAutoGear if you want the cheapest credible thing to forget about in the trunk. It is 16A and 17 ft, which is the least of everything here, but it publishes IP54 and a 5-year warranty — the longest on this page by a wide margin — and an emergency charger you never use is a warranty product more than a performance one.

Portables as a permanent home charger

A 40A portable on a NEMA 14-50 delivers the same 9.6 kW as a fixed 40A wall unit, costs less, needs no hardwiring, and comes off the wall when you move. That makes it the default answer for renters and apartment dwellers, and a legitimate answer for owners too.

What you give up is real but narrow: no permanent mount or holster, usually no app or scheduling, and a plug-and-receptacle connection rather than a hardwired one. That last point matters more than the others. The receptacle is the part of a plug-in install that fails — ordinary 14-50 outlets are built for the intermittent loads of ranges and RVs, not a 40A draw held for eight hours a night. If a portable is going to be your everyday charger, put it on an industrial-grade receptacle from our NEMA 14-50 outlet roundup, and read plug-in versus hardwired before you decide. If you would rather have the wall unit after all, our home charger roundup is the page for that.

One portable is built specifically for that everyday-charger role rather than for the trunk, and it is the one to read about if this section describes your plan: the Grizzl-E Mini Connect 40Ais a cast-aluminum Type 4 unit that dials from 7A to 40A and ships with four plug adapters. It costs more than everything above — more than most fixed wall chargers, in fact — and our review is specific about which of its published figures do not agree with each other.

Frequently asked questions

Can a portable charger really be my only home charger?

Yes, if you have a NEMA 14-50 outlet. A good 40A portable charges as fast overnight as a fixed wall unit, costs less, and travels. The trade-offs are no permanent wall mount and usually no app. Plenty of owners run a 40A portable as their everyday charger.

What's the difference between the Lectron/EVDANCE and the TopAutoGear?

The Lectron and EVDANCE are true 40A Level 2 chargers — fast, on a 240V outlet. The TopAutoGear is a 16A unit, which on a standard 120V household socket adds only a few miles of range per hour. One is a primary charger that travels; the other is an emergency backup.

Do I need a special outlet for a portable Level 2 charger?

For full Level 2 speed, yes — a NEMA 14-50 (240V) outlet, installed by an electrician on the right circuit, and ideally an industrial-grade receptacle. Most Level 2 portables also include a 120V adapter so they fall back to slow Level 1 charging on any standard outlet.

Can I use a portable charger with a Tesla?

Yes — most portables have a J1772 connector, so a Tesla needs a cheap J1772-to-Tesla adapter. That combination is a very flexible travel setup. See our best-portable-for-a-Tesla guide for the details.

How many miles per hour does a portable EV charger actually add?

It depends on the outlet, not the charger. On a NEMA 14-50 at 40A you get about 9.6 kW, or roughly 30 miles of range per hour. On a 30A dryer outlet, dialed down to the required 24A, about 5.8 kW or 18 miles per hour. On a 20A 240V outlet at 16A, about 3.8 kW or 12 miles per hour. On an ordinary 120V household socket, about 1.4 kW or 3 to 5 miles per hour — and that is true even if the charger is rated for 40A.

Is a 40A portable charger safe to use on a dryer outlet?

Only if you dial the charger down. A 30A dryer circuit can carry 24A continuously under the 80% rule. A plug adapter changes the plug shape and nothing else, so the charger must be set to 24A manually — every unit worth carrying has an amperage setting, and you should learn where it is before you travel rather than in a stranger's garage.

Do portable EV chargers work in the rain?

The connector is usually rated even when the body is not, which is why we quote them separately. Among our picks the Lectron publishes an IP66 connector, the EVDANCE 40A publishes IP67 and the TopAutoGear publishes IP54; the TLE LEVEL and EVDANCE 16A publish no enclosure rating at all, so we treat those as indoor-and-garage units. Whatever you buy, the outlet and its in-use cover need to be rated for the location too.

Is a portable charger cheaper than a wall-mounted one?

Usually yes, and the bigger saving is on installation rather than hardware — a portable plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so there is no hardwiring bill. The comparison is only fair if you already have, or are installing, a 240V outlet. If you are paying an electrician either way, price the outlet and the hardwired install together before assuming the portable route is cheaper.

Sources

Keep reading