Amp & Adapter

ENERGY STAR Certified EV Chargers

We checked every charger on this site against EPA's own certified-EVSE database rather than against the logo on the box. These five are in it, by model number — which is what a utility rebate program actually asks for.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Buy the Lectron Nexus 40A. It is the cheapest charger here that we could find in EPA’s own certified-EVSE database under its own model number, and it carries an IP66 housing and a 23 ft cable at a price where most units carry neither. If you want the longest-standing record in the field, the Leviton EV320at pick three has been in EPA’s dataset since October 2022.

This page exists because “ENERGY STAR certified” is printed on a great many listings and means two different things in practice. One is a manufacturer claim on a product page. The other is a row in EPA’s published dataset, carrying a brand, a model number, an amperage, a cord length and a qualification date. Only the second one is checkable, and only the second one survives a rebate program’s paperwork.

Every pick below is in that dataset. We give you the model number EPA holds for it, so you can check the record yourself before you file anything — and where the record’s figures differ from the marketing figures, we say so rather than smoothing it over. Two of the five have a shorter cord on the EPA record than on the box.

Worth knowing before you shop on this basis at all: the federal section 30C credit that used to make certification worth up to $1,000 is gone for property placed in service after June 30, 2026. The IRS says it plainly — “You can’t claim the credit for alternative fuel vehicle refueling property placed in service after June 30, 2026”. What remains is utility and state rebates, many of which still require the certification. More on that below.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Every figure below is either the manufacturer’s published specification or the EPA record itself.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

A deliberately dumb wall box with a certification sheet most chargers at this price cannot match: tested to UL 2594, ETL listed, IP66, and present in EPA's own ENERGY STAR database rather than merely claiming the logo. You give up the app entirely. If that trade appeals, the 23 ft cable and the plug-in install make this the easiest version of it to live with.

Best overall certified pick
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Battery Tender eCharge 32 (Level 1 + 2)

Battery Tender eCharge 32 (Level 1 + 2)

A 32A plug-in charger from a long-established battery-charger brand, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, with a 120V adapter in the box so it doubles as a Level 1 travel cord. It has no app by design. You pay well over the budget 32A units for that paper trail and the 3-year warranty.

Best certified dual Level 1 + 2
$349.99 · View on Amazon

$399.9512% off

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Longest-standing record
$649.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla's own home charger, and the tidiest thing you can bolt to the wall of a Tesla-only garage: a native NACS handle, 48A output and scheduling from the app you already have open for the car. The handle fits nothing else without an adapter, and it is hardwired only, so it earns its premium in one specific household rather than in general.

Best certified NACS unit
$883.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

The same box and the same certification set, hardwired at 48A for 11.5 kW. It is the right buy for a large-battery EV on a panel that can carry a 60A circuit — and the wrong buy for most people, who will pay for amps their car cannot draw and lose the ability to unplug and take it with them.

Best certified 48A
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall certified pick

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

A deliberately dumb wall box with a certification sheet most chargers at this price cannot match: tested to UL 2594, ETL listed, IP66, and present in EPA's own ENERGY STAR database rather than merely claiming the logo. You give up the app entirely. If that trade appeals, the 23 ft cable and the plug-in install make this the easiest version of it to live with.

Strengths

  • Tested to UL 2594, UL 2231 and UL 2251 and ETL listed — whole-unit certification, not just the handle
  • Listed in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database, so the certification claim is independently checkable
  • 23 ft published cable (22 ft on the ENERGY STAR record) — far more reach than the 16 ft common at this price
  • IP66 housing, so an outdoor wall is a supported install rather than a gamble
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring and it moves with you
  • 3-year warranty published by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • New model — ENERGY STAR records it as available from April 2026, so there is very little long-term owner feedback yet
  • No app, no WiFi, no scheduling: ENERGY STAR records network capability as 'No'
  • Lectron does not publish an amperage-adjustment setting, so treat 40A as fixed and size the circuit for it
  • Lectron sells the Nexus on its own store as well as Amazon, and the two prices are not always the same
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingIP66 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Lectron publishes 40A at 240V (9.6 kW), a J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 23 ft cable, an IP66 housing, a 3-year warranty and testing to UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 2251 and UL 817 with ETL listing. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database carries the same model (LECHGNexusNEMA14-50J1772) at 40A / 9.6 kW with 8 AWG cable, network capability 'No', and an output cord length of 22 ft — a foot shorter than the marketing figure. If reach is tight, plan around 22 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best certified dual Level 1 + 2

Battery Tender eCharge 32 (Level 1 + 2)

A 32A plug-in charger from a long-established battery-charger brand, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, with a 120V adapter in the box so it doubles as a Level 1 travel cord. It has no app by design. You pay well over the budget 32A units for that paper trail and the 3-year warranty.

Strengths

  • ENERGY STAR certified: EPA's dataset lists the 022-3017 family, and the maker publishes cETLus to UL 2594
  • Level 1 and Level 2 in one box: a NEMA 14-50 plug plus a 14-50R-to-5-15P adapter
  • 25 ft output cord, an IP66 rating and a 3-year warranty
  • No app to set up or fail; status and error messages show on an LCD

Trade-offs

  • Costs well over twice the cheapest 32A plug-in units
  • Plug-in, so a GFCI-protected garage receptacle can trip with it
  • No scheduling app, so off-peak timing has to come from the car
  • Amazon showed 'Only 4 left in stock (more on the way)' when we checked on 18 September 2026
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50; 120V 5-15 adapter included)
Outdoor ratingIP66
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Battery Tender publishes: 32A Level 2 at about 7.7 kW (about 20-25 miles of range per hour), about 1.9 kW on 120V, a dedicated 240V 40 Amp circuit minimum, a 25 ft output cord, IP66, cETLus (UL 2594), ENERGY STAR, FCC and ICES, 6.37 lb, and a 3-year warranty. EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset lists the 022-3017-XX-XX family as a Level 1/Level 2 dual-input charger (qualified 2024-01-04, 25 ft cord). The maker's own store listed it above the Amazon price when we checked. A bundle with a Tesla adapter is sold as a separate listing.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Longest-standing record

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Strengths

  • Hardwired, so a plain breaker feeds it and there is no receptacle to wear, overheat or trip a GFCI
  • Leviton publishes its full standards list, including UL 2594, and EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset lists the EV320 by model number
  • NEMA Type 3R enclosure and a cable Leviton says is designed not to freeze and crack, rated -30°C to 50°C
  • Optional RFID access control, switched off out of the box

Trade-offs

  • 18 ft cable, the shortest in our 32A roundup
  • 2-year limited warranty, against 3 to 5 years on the other 32A picks
  • No Wi-Fi or app, so any scheduling has to come from the car
  • Amazon showed 'Only 11 left in stock (more on the way)' when we checked on 18 September 2026
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length18 ft
InstallHardwired (40A breaker)
Outdoor ratingNEMA Type 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty2 years (limited)

Spec note. Leviton publishes: 32A, 208/240 VAC, 7.6 kW output, a 40A breaker, an 18 ft (5.5 m) cable, hardwired only, a PC+PBT plastic NEMA Type 3R enclosure, -30°C to 50°C operation, a 20 mA CCID per UL 2231, certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-1/-2, UL 2251 and others with cETLus, and ENERGY STAR. EPA's dataset lists model EV320 (qualified 2022-10-24, 18 ft cord). It has no Wi-Fi; the Wi-Fi sibling is the EV32W. Leviton's own store listed it above the Amazon price when we checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best certified NACS unit

Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla's own home charger, and the tidiest thing you can bolt to the wall of a Tesla-only garage: a native NACS handle, 48A output and scheduling from the app you already have open for the car. The handle fits nothing else without an adapter, and it is hardwired only, so it earns its premium in one specific household rather than in general.

Strengths

  • Native NACS handle — a Tesla plugs straight in with nothing hanging off the connector
  • Up to 48A / 11.5 kW with a published 24 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, over-the-air updates and load management, managed from the Tesla app

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — Tesla's manual does not permit a cord-and-plug install, so the electrician is part of the purchase
  • Tesla's manual for it cautions that no adapters or conversion adapters are to be used, so a J1772 car is really the Universal version's job
  • Typically the most expensive route to 48A at home
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length24 ft
InstallHardwired (60A circuit for full output)
Outdoor ratingIndoor/outdoor rated
Warranty4 years (residential)

Spec note. The listing publishes Level 2, up to 48A and a 24 ft cable. Tesla's own support material adds the rest: hardwired only — cord-and-plug connection is not permitted — a double-pole 60A breaker for full output, approval for indoor or outdoor installation, Wi-Fi, and a 48-month residential warranty. This is the NACS-handle unit (Tesla's Gen 3 Wall Connector manual covers part number 1457768), distinct from the Universal Wall Connector, which docks Tesla's own J1772 adapter on the side of the unit. That manual's safety section states: "No adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used" (read 2026-09-16).

Specs read from the product listing, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best certified 48A

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

The same box and the same certification set, hardwired at 48A for 11.5 kW. It is the right buy for a large-battery EV on a panel that can carry a 60A circuit — and the wrong buy for most people, who will pay for amps their car cannot draw and lose the ability to unplug and take it with them.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW for the minority of EVs whose onboard charger can actually accept it
  • Same certification set as the plug-in model: UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 2251, ETL listed, ENERGY STAR
  • Hardwiring removes the NEMA 14-50 receptacle, which is the part of a plug-in install that overheats
  • Same 23 ft cable and IP66 housing

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — there is no plug, so moving it later is an electrician's job
  • Needs a 60A dedicated circuit, which plenty of 100A panels cannot spare
  • Most EVs sold in the US cap AC charging below 48A, so the headroom is often unusable
  • Amazon stock on this variant read as a low remaining count when we checked, so availability may be patchy
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallHardwired only
Outdoor ratingIP66 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Lectron publishes 48A at 240V (11.5 kW), hardwired only, with the same 23 ft cable, IP66 housing, 3-year warranty and UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 testing with ETL listing as the 40A model. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database carries it as LECHGNexusHWJ1772 at 48A / 11.52 kW, 8 AWG, network capability 'No', output cord 22 ft. A 48A continuous load requires a 60A circuit under the 80% rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The records, as EPA holds them

This is the table the rest of the page rests on. Every row is read from EPA’s certified EVSE (AC output) dataset, not from a listing.

ChargerModel on the EPA recordOutput on the recordCord: record vs marketing
Lectron Nexus 40ALECHGNexusNEMA14-50J177240A / 9.6 kW22 ft on the record; 23 ft published
Battery Tender eCharge 32022-3017-XX-XX family32A, Level 1 / Level 2 dual input25 ft on both
Leviton EV320EV32032A / 7.6 kW18 ft on both
Tesla Wall Connector1457768, brand “Tesla”48A / 11.52 kW22 ft on the record; 24 ft published
Lectron Nexus 48ALECHGNexusHWJ177248A / 11.52 kW22 ft on the record; 23 ft published

Qualification dates, where EPA publishes them: the Leviton EV320 from 24 October 2022, the Battery Tender family from 4 January 2024, the Tesla wall units from 18 September 2023, and the Lectron Nexus pair recorded as available from April 2026. A longer record is not a better charger, but it does mean more owners have lived with it.

What the certification actually covers

Two things, and it is worth being precise because the label gets read as a general quality mark.

Standby power.ENERGY STAR’s EVSE specification is largely about how much electricity the charger draws when it is sitting on the wall doing nothing. A charger is plugged in roughly 8,760 hours a year and charging for a few hundred of them, so idle draw is most of its own consumption. That is the efficiency half.

Safety certification.EPA’s own page on EV chargers makes the point that a certified charger has been safety-tested by a nationally recognized testing laboratory. That is the half most buyers actually care about, and it is the one we would not compromise on at any price. Our certification guide explains how UL 2594, ETL listing and ENERGY STAR relate to each other, because they are not the same claim.

What it does notcover: cable quality, app reliability, cold-weather cable flexibility, enclosure rating, or how long the company will answer the phone. A certified charger can still have an 18 ft cord that is too short for your garage — which is precisely why the cord column is in the table above.

Why this matters less than it did in June, and still matters

For three years the certification had a direct cash value: the federal section 30C credit returned 30% of the cost of a home charger, capped at $1,000 per port. The IRS page for it states the window as property bought and placed in service from 1 January 2023 to 30 June 2026, and the Form 8911 instructions give the reason — the One Big Beautiful Bill Act moved the end date from 2032 to mid-2026.

So if you are installing a charger today, that credit is not available to you. Anyone telling you otherwise is working from a 2025 article.

What is still live is the utility and state layer. DOE catalogs utility programs offering Level 2 charger purchase and installation rebates, make-ready wiring rebates and EV time-of-use rates, and a great many of those programs name ENERGY STAR certification as an eligibility condition. EPA runs a ZIP-code rebate finder for exactly this. The order of operations matters: check your utility first, see whether certification is required and whether a specific model list applies, and then buy. Buying first and hunting for a rebate afterwards is how people end up with a fine charger that does not qualify.

The claim we could not verify

One honest note, because it is the reason this page is written from the dataset rather than from listings.

The Grizzl-E Classic Connectis a charger we rate highly and recommend elsewhere on this site. When we checked EPA’s dataset on 2 September 2026, it listed eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect was not among them, even though an ENERGY STAR claim appears on a sibling listing. So it is not on this page. That is not a verdict on the charger’s quality — it is a statement about what we could check.

The same discipline cuts the other way. Several listings here carry a certification claim we could confirm, and in two cases confirming it turned up a cord length a foot shorter than the marketing figure. Neither fact would have surfaced from reading product pages.

How to use this page

  1. Check your utility’s program before you buy. If it requires ENERGY STAR, or publishes an approved-model list, that constraint outranks everything below.
  2. Pick the amperage from your panel, not from this page. 32A needs a 40A circuit, 40A needs 50A, 48A needs 60A. Our amps and circuits guide covers the load calculation, and the 100-amp panel page covers the constrained case.
  3. Measure the cable against the record, not the box. Down the wall, around the car to the port side, plus slack.
  4. Keep the model number. It is what the rebate form asks for, and it is what makes the record findable.

The short answer

If certification is a rebate requirement for you, the Lectron Nexus 40A is the cheapest way to satisfy it with a long cable and an outdoor-rated housing. The Leviton EV320 is the pick if you are hardwiring on a 40A circuit and want the oldest record in the field. The Battery Tender covers the case where one charger has to work at home and on a trip. The Tesla Wall Connector is the certified NACS unit for a Tesla-only garage, and the Nexus 48A is the certified way to 48 amps if your panel can genuinely feed it.

One buying note. Several of these brands sell direct as well as on Amazon and the prices are not always the same. We earn a commission on the links here and nothing on the direct ones, and we would still rather you paid less — check both.

Frequently asked questions

What does ENERGY STAR certified mean for an EV charger?

Two things. The charger meets EPA's efficiency specification, which for EVSE is largely about how little power it draws while sitting idle on the wall — most of a charger's own consumption, since it is plugged in all year and charging for a fraction of it. And it has been safety-tested by a nationally recognized testing laboratory, which is the part EPA's own EV-charger page emphasizes.

How do I check whether a charger is really ENERGY STAR certified?

Look it up in EPA's certified EVSE (AC output) dataset by model number rather than trusting the logo on a listing. The record carries the brand, model, amperage, cord length and qualification date. Model numbers are in the table on this page for all five picks, and the dataset is linked in the sources below.

Is there still a tax credit for an ENERGY STAR EV charger?

Not federally. The section 30C credit returned 30% of the cost up to $1,000 per port, but the IRS states it applies to property bought and placed in service through June 30, 2026, and the Form 8911 instructions confirm you cannot claim it for property placed in service after that date. Utility and state rebates are the remaining price lever, and many of them do require the certification.

Does ENERGY STAR mean the charger is better?

It means it is efficient at idle and safety-tested. It says nothing about cable length, cable flexibility in the cold, enclosure rating, app quality or manufacturer support — and on two of the picks here the EPA record's own cord length is a foot shorter than the marketing figure. Treat it as a floor you should not go below, not as a ranking.

Why isn't the Grizzl-E Classic Connect on this page?

Because we could not verify it. When we checked EPA's dataset on 2 September 2026 it carried eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect was not one of them, despite an ENERGY STAR claim on a sibling listing. We rate the charger highly elsewhere on this site; it is absent here only because this page is built from the database rather than from product pages.

Are ENERGY STAR chargers more expensive?

Not inherently. The cheapest pick on this page is a plug-in 40A unit, and several uncertified chargers cost more than it does. What you pay for in the certified field is usually the paper trail — full-unit testing documented under a model number — rather than a premium brand.

Sources

Keep reading