Amp & Adapter

Grizzl-E Mini Connect 40A Review

A cast-aluminum 40A portable that adjusts from 7A to 40A and ships with four plug adapters — and the three published figures that do not agree with each other, including a cord that is a foot shorter and three gauges thinner than the wall Grizzl-E's.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Almost every portable EV charger is a compromise you accept because it fits in a trunk. The Grizzl-E Mini Connect 40A is the unusual one that asks you to accept a compromise in the other direction: it is built like the wall-mounted Grizzl-E — cast aluminum, Type 4 rated, made in Ontario — in a 6.9-inch body that packs into a supplied carrying case with four plug adapters.

That makes it a genuine candidate for something most portables cannot do: being the only charger a household owns. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet in the garage and it is a 9.6 kW Level 2 charger. Unplug it for a road trip and it is a 7A trickle charger off a kitchen outlet. Our portable roundup makes the general case for that approach; this page is about whether this specific unit is worth what it costs, which is more than most fixed wall chargers.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Everything below is read from United Chargers’ own published product page, both live Amazon listings and EPA’s ENERGY STAR certified-charger database, all checked on 5 October 2026. Three of those sources disagree with each other on three separate figures, and rather than quote the flattering one we have printed all three disagreements and told you which number to plan around.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Mini Connect 40A (NACS)

Grizzl-E Mini Connect 40A (NACS)

A Grizzl-E with the wall taken away: the same cast-aluminum Type 4 enclosure and the same 7-40A range, in a box that fits a glovebox and ships with four plug adapters and a carrying case. For a NACS car it is the rare portable that can genuinely be the only charger a household owns — and the rare one whose standby draw and cord gauge are published in EPA's own database rather than only in marketing copy.

Our pick — the NACS model with Wi-Fi
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable (J1772)

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable (J1772)

The same cast-aluminum Mini with a J1772 handle, and — on the evidence of its own listing — without the Wi-Fi radio. For the great majority of EVs on American roads, which still have a J1772 inlet, this is the version to buy, and the missing radio is a feature rather than a loss if you were never going to open the app.

For a J1772 car, and cheaper to live with
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Our pick — the NACS model with Wi-Fi

Grizzl-E Mini Connect 40A (NACS)

A Grizzl-E with the wall taken away: the same cast-aluminum Type 4 enclosure and the same 7-40A range, in a box that fits a glovebox and ships with four plug adapters and a carrying case. For a NACS car it is the rare portable that can genuinely be the only charger a household owns — and the rare one whose standby draw and cord gauge are published in EPA's own database rather than only in marketing copy.

Strengths

  • 7A-40A adjustable in the unit itself, so it fits a 15A household outlet or a 50A circuit without buying a second charger
  • Four plug adapters in the box (NEMA 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P, 6-50P) plus a soft carrying case, so campgrounds and RV outlets are covered out of the box
  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4X enclosure rated −30 °C to +50 °C — the portable field is mostly plastic
  • Native NACS handle, so a Tesla or any NACS-port EV plugs in with no adapter on the connector
  • EPA's ENERGY STAR database certifies a Grizzl-E Mini family at 40A / 9.6 kW with a measured 2.64 W idle draw, so the standby figure is third-party rather than a claim
  • Sold on Amazon by United Chargers Inc. itself, at the same price the manufacturer's own store shows

Trade-offs

  • The cord is 10 AWG where Grizzl-E's wall units use 8 AWG — lighter to coil, but it is the thinnest conductor in the family carrying the same 40A
  • Published cable length does not agree across sources: the manufacturer and this listing say 25 ft, EPA's record measures 24 ft; plan around 24
  • Amazon lists it only with a NACS handle — the J1772 version of the Mini is a separate, older listing without the Wi-Fi radio
  • Wi-Fi is built in and not removable, on a product line whose reputation was built on having nothing to fail
  • Costs more than most fixed 40A wall chargers, including Grizzl-E's own Classic Connect — portability is the premium, not performance
  • Amazon's part-number field reads "GRM" rather than a full model number, so a rebate program asking for an ENERGY STAR model number will need confirmation from the manufacturer
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50, with four included adapters)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4X cast aluminum (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years (5-year option sold by the manufacturer)

Spec note. United Chargers publishes, on its own Mini Connect 40A page: "Adjustable current 7A-40A", AC Level 2, "40A 9.6kW" in the headline and "40A 10kW" in the technical block, a NEMA 14-50 plug "(includes 4 adapters)", a 25 ft (7.6 m) cable, a J1772 or NACS connector option, an aluminum enclosure with a Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, −30 °C to +50 °C, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with a mobile application, UL file E510712, and a 3-year or 5-year warranty. Three things we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE dataset holds one Grizzl-E Mini family record (GRM-070-W-14-25DJ40-A-GB, qualified 2024-11-12, plus GRM-070-W-14-25IJ40-A-GB, GRM-070-W-14-25SN40-A-GB and GRM-070-W-14-25TJ40-A-GB) at 40A / 9.6 kW with network capability "Yes", a 24 ft output cord in 10 AWG and a measured 2.64 W idle draw — so the cord is a foot shorter and three gauges thinner than the record for the Classic and Smart wall units (24 ft, 8 AWG). The manufacturer's spec block calls the unit "AC Level 2" while this listing's title says "Level 1-2"; the included NEMA 5-15P adapter is what makes 120 V operation possible, so both are defensible and we repeat neither as the single truth. And the published 9.00 kg / 19.84 lb figure is the shipped package, not the charger: Amazon's own item-weight field reads 9.8 lb for the J1772 Mini and 19.4 lb for this one, on identical 6.9 × 3.1 × 2.4 in enclosure dimensions.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 5, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2For a J1772 car, and cheaper to live with

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable (J1772)

The same cast-aluminum Mini with a J1772 handle, and — on the evidence of its own listing — without the Wi-Fi radio. For the great majority of EVs on American roads, which still have a J1772 inlet, this is the version to buy, and the missing radio is a feature rather than a loss if you were never going to open the app.

Strengths

  • J1772 handle, which fits almost every non-Tesla EV and plug-in hybrid sold in North America
  • Same 7A-40A adjustment and the same four plug adapters plus carrying case as the NACS model
  • Same cast-aluminum NEMA 4X enclosure, and Amazon's item weight for this one is 9.8 lb — genuinely portable
  • Its own feature text states the compatibility claim plainly: "Compatible with all EVs and PHEVs sold in North America"
  • No Wi-Fi radio to fail, with local settings, scheduling and consumption tracking still available in range of the charger
  • Sold on Amazon by United Chargers Inc. itself rather than a reseller

Trade-offs

  • This listing's own text publishes 24 ft of cable where the NACS "Connect" listing says 25 ft — a foot less reach for the same money
  • Listed at the same price as the NACS Mini Connect, so you pay the Connect price without getting Wi-Fi
  • Local smart features only: "Can connect within range of charger", so no remote scheduling from indoors
  • 10 AWG cord, per EPA's record for the Mini family — the thinnest in the Grizzl-E line at 40A
  • Neither the title nor the feature text names a warranty term, so the 3-year figure comes from the manufacturer's own site rather than the listing
  • Amazon's part-number field reads only "GRM", so a rebate requiring an ENERGY STAR model number needs confirming with United Chargers
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length24 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50, with four included adapters)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4X cast aluminum (indoor/outdoor)
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes: Level 2 240V / 40A, a NEMA 14-50 plug with NEMA 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P adapters, "24 Feet Cable", a heavy-duty cast aluminum NEMA-4X water-resistant enclosure made in Canada, over-current, over-voltage, under-voltage, missing-diode, ground-fault and over-temperature protection with a built-in GFCI and power-outage recovery, "Adjustable amperage 7A-40A", a soft carrying case, and "Local Smart Features … Can connect within range of charger". It does NOT publish a warranty term, an operating-temperature range or a UL file number — those figures come from United Chargers' own Mini page and are cited there, not here. The 24 ft it publishes matches EPA's ENERGY STAR measurement for the Mini family (24 ft, 10 AWG) and contradicts the 25 ft that both the manufacturer's page and the NACS listing carry.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 5, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

What you are actually buying

United Chargers publishes a short, unusually concrete spec sheet for the Mini: adjustable current 7A–40A, a NEMA 14-50 plug with four adapters included, a 25 ft cable, a J1772 or NACS connector option, an aluminum enclosure with a Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, an operating range of −30 °C to +50 °C, Wi-Fi at 2.4 GHz with a mobile app, UL file E510712, and a 3-year warranty with a 5-year option.

The four adapters are the specification that does the most work and the one buyers notice last. The unit terminates in a NEMA 14-50 plug, and the box adds NEMA 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50Padapters. In plain terms that is a standard household outlet, an RV park’s 30-amp pedestal, an electric dryer outlet and an older welder or range circuit. Most portables ship with one adapter or none, and the ones that cost less than this usually sell the rest as accessories.

Pair those adapters with the 7A–40A adjustment and you get a charger that can be legally and safely matched to whatever circuit is in front of it. That is the real argument for this product, and it is a different argument from “portable”. Our NEMA outlet guide decodes which of those plug numbers is which, and the amps and circuits guide covers the breaker arithmetic that decides what you are allowed to dial it up to.

The three figures that do not agree

This is the part of the review that matters, because all three gaps come from comparing the manufacturer against the retail listing against the certifying body’s own measurement — something no product page does for you.

One: the cable is probably 24 ft, not 25. United Chargers publishes 25 ft (7.6 m), and the NACS Amazon listing repeats “25 feet Cable” in its title. But the J1772 listing of the same hardware states “24 Feet Cable” in its own feature text, and EPA’s ENERGY STAR record for the Grizzl-E Mini family measures the output cord at 24 ft. Two of three sources say 24. If reach is tight, plan around 24 ft and measure from where the outlet will actually be to where the charge port sits when the car is parked the way you really park it.

Two: the cord is 10 AWG, where the wall Grizzl-E’s is 8 AWG. Nobody publishes this in marketing copy, but EPA’s dataset records cord gauge, and the numbers are striking side by side: the Grizzl-E Classic and Grizzl-E Smart records both read 24 ft of 8 AWG; the Mini record reads 24 ft of 10 AWG. Same 40A rating, thinner conductor. That is almost certainly deliberate — 10 AWG is what makes a 40A cable coilable enough to stuff in a bag, and it is a large part of why the J1772 Mini weighs 9.8 lb on Amazon’s own item-weight field. It is also the single clearest statement of what this product is: a cable engineered to be carried, not to hang on a wall for fifteen years.

Three: the weight you see published is the box, not the charger. United Chargers publishes 9.00 kg / 19.84 lb and a 445 × 445 × 200 mm dimension, which cannot be the same object as the 6.9 × 3.1 × 2.4 in enclosure it also publishes. Amazon’s item-weight field reads 9.8 lb for the J1772 unit and 19.4 lb for the NACS one, on identical enclosure dimensions. The charger is a couple of pounds of aluminum and a long cable; the ~20 lb figure is a shipped package with a case and four adapters in it. Do not let it talk you out of the product.

Certification, and what ENERGY STAR actually confirms

A portable charger holds its rated current for hours, outdoors, often off an outlet nobody inspected. Certification is the floor, not a feature — our certification guide explains what each mark covers.

United Chargers publishes UL file E510712, the same file the Classic Connect carries, and the NACS listing describes the unit as “UL Certified”. On top of that, EPA’s certified-EVSE database holds a Grizzl-E Mini family record— model GRM-070-W-14-25DJ40-A-GB, qualified 12 November 2024, with three further model numbers listed alongside it — at 40A / 9.6 kW, network capability “Yes”, and a measured idle draw of 2.64 W.

That 2.64 W is worth a sentence of its own. A charger that is plugged in but not charging draws power continuously, and ENERGY STAR’s allowance for a unit this size is 21 W. The Mini measured an eighth of that, and less than the Grizzl-E Classic’s 3.44 W or the Smart’s 5.2 W. It is a trivial amount of money either way, but it is a third-party measurement rather than a marketing claim, and there are very few of those in this category.

One honest limit on all of this. Amazon’s part-number field for both Mini listings reads simply “GRM” — the family prefix, not a model number. So while a certified Mini family plainly exists, we cannot tell you from the listing which of the four certified model numbers you would receive. If a utility rebate requiring ENERGY STAR certification is part of your plan, confirm the exact model number with United Chargers before you order. Rebate programs verify by model number, and this is the one place where the paperwork could cost you real money.

Wi-Fi, and the connector trap on Amazon

United Chargers sells the Mini as the “Mini Connect”, with Wi-Fi and the Grizzl-E Connect app, in either a J1772 or a NACS handle. Amazon today does not offer that full matrix, and the gap is the most practical thing in this review.

The NACS listing is the Connect: its own feature text describes “Wi-Fi connected. Smart Charger powered by Grizzl-E Connect software” with real-time monitoring, schedules, statistics and updates, and adds that charging “works with or without an online connection”. The J1772 listing is not: its equivalent bullet reads “Local Smart Features … Can connect within range of charger” — set maximum power, monitor, schedule, track consumption, all within radio range of the unit and not from indoors or from the road.

Both are listed at the same price. So on Amazon, your connector choice and your connectivity choice are welded together: a NACS car gets Wi-Fi, a J1772 car gets local control for the same money. If remote scheduling genuinely matters to you and your car is J1772, buy direct from the manufacturer, where the Connect is offered in both connectors, or buy a fixed smart charger for the garage and keep a cheaper portable for travel.

We would also say plainly that for a lot of buyers the local-only version is the better object. The whole Grizzl-E reputation was built on a box with nothing to fail, and a charger that already adjusts its own amperage and already recovers from a power outage does not need a cloud account to do its job. Where the charger really does have to be the smart component — a utility tariff your car cannot schedule around, or a panel that needs load management — our load management guide explains why, and the answer there is usually a wall unit, not this.

Can it really be your only charger?

Yes, with two conditions, and this is the question the product exists to answer.

The first condition is an outlet. At 40A it needs a 50A circuit, because code sizes a continuous load at 125% of its draw, and that is licensed work whether the charger is portable or not. The receptacle you choose matters more than people expect: ordinary 14-50 outlets are built for the intermittent loads of ranges and RVs, not 40A held for eight hours a night, and an industrial-grade one is the cheapest safety upgrade in the whole job. Our plug-in versus hardwired guide is blunt about the trade-off you are accepting by having a plug at all.

The second is honesty about the hardware. A portable gets coiled, dragged and unplugged daily; a wall charger does not. The Mini is better equipped for that life than any plastic portable, but it is still a plug and a cable doing a job that hardwiring was invented to avoid. If the car never leaves the house and you have no interest in charging anywhere else, a fixed 40A wall charger is cheaper, tidier and holds its 40A on thicker wire.

What tips it the other way is the second location. If you have a cabin, a workplace outlet, a parent’s driveway you visit monthly, or you camp, this is one purchase instead of two — and our road-trip charging kit guide explains how the adapter set turns an RV pedestal into a usable overnight charge.

Who should buy something else

  • Anyone who only ever charges at home. You are paying a portability premium you will never use. The Grizzl-E Classic Connect is the same brand, the same Type 4 enclosure, thicker cord, and costs less.
  • Anyone who needs 48A. This is a 40A unit, and 40A is the ceiling for anything that plugs into a 14-50 outlet. If your car can genuinely take 48A on AC and your panel can carry a 60A circuit, the 48A page is the right one.
  • Anyone on a tight budget. There are 40A portables at a third of this price. They are plastic, their cords are not measured by anybody, and most publish no certification you can look up — but if the unit lives in a trunk for emergencies, that may be the correct purchase. Our Level 1 roundup covers the emergency-cable end of the market.
  • Anyone who wants Wi-Fi on a J1772 car. Covered above: on Amazon that combination is not currently offered.
  • Anyone whose rebate requires a named ENERGY STAR model. A certified Mini family exists, but the listing does not tell you which member you are getting. Confirm before ordering.

The verdict

The best-built portable Level 2 charger we can document, and the only one in the category whose cord gauge and standby draw we could verify against a third-party database rather than a product page. The 7A–40A adjustment plus four adapters is a genuinely rare combination, the cast-aluminum Type 4 enclosure is a real rating in a field full of vague “weather resistant” claims, and the manufacturer sells it on Amazon itself at the same price its own store shows, which removes the usual reseller markup question.

The honest caveats are the three disagreements above, and one more: it costs more than most fixed 40A wall chargers, including Grizzl-E’s own. You are paying for a case, four adapters and the ability to take your charger with you. If that second location is real, it is a good buy. If it is hypothetical, buy the wall unit and spend the difference on a better outlet.

One last buying note, which applies to everything on this site. United Chargers sells the Mini direct as well as on Amazon, and the two prices were the same when we checked. We earn a commission on the Amazon link and nothing on the direct one, and we would still rather you paid less — check both before you order.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Grizzl-E Mini and the Grizzl-E Mini Connect?

The Connect is the Wi-Fi version. United Chargers publishes Wi-Fi at 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app for remote monitoring, scheduling, statistics and updates on the Mini Connect. On Amazon as of 5 October 2026 the NACS listing is the Connect, and the J1772 listing of the same hardware publishes only 'Local Smart Features ... Can connect within range of charger' — local control rather than remote. Both are listed at the same price. The enclosure, the 7A-40A adjustment, the four included plug adapters and the carrying case are the same on both.

How long is the Grizzl-E Mini Connect's cable?

Plan around 24 ft. United Chargers publishes 25 ft (7.6 m) and the NACS Amazon listing says '25 feet Cable', but the J1772 listing of the same hardware states '24 Feet Cable' in its own feature text and EPA's ENERGY STAR record for the Grizzl-E Mini family measures the output cord at 24 ft. Two of the three sources say 24.

Can the Grizzl-E Mini Connect be my only EV charger?

Yes, if you have a NEMA 14-50 outlet on a 50A circuit. At 40A it delivers 9.6 kW, the same as a fixed 40A wall charger, which is roughly 250 to 300 miles of range across a ten-hour night. The trade-offs versus a wall unit are a thinner 10 AWG cord, a plug-in connection rather than hardwiring, and a higher price. The advantage is that it unplugs and travels with its four adapters.

What circuit does it need?

At its full 40A output, a 50A breaker — electrical code sizes a continuous load at 125% of its draw. Because it adjusts from 7A to 40A in the unit itself, it will also run on a 40A, 30A or 20A circuit at reduced output, and the included NEMA 5-15P adapter lets it trickle-charge from an ordinary 120V household outlet. Installing the 14-50 outlet itself is licensed work.

Is the Grizzl-E Mini ENERGY STAR certified?

A Grizzl-E Mini family is. EPA's certified-EVSE database holds one record under United Chargers Inc. — model GRM-070-W-14-25DJ40-A-GB, qualified 12 November 2024, plus GRM-070-W-14-25IJ40-A-GB, GRM-070-W-14-25SN40-A-GB and GRM-070-W-14-25TJ40-A-GB — at 40A / 9.6 kW with a 24 ft, 10 AWG cord, network capability 'Yes' and a measured 2.64 W idle draw. However, Amazon's part-number field for both Mini listings reads only 'GRM', so you cannot tell from the listing which of those four model numbers you would receive. If a rebate requires ENERGY STAR certification, confirm the model number with the manufacturer first.

Will it charge a Tesla?

The NACS model plugs straight into a Tesla or any other NACS-port EV with no adapter. The J1772 model will also charge a NACS car using the adapter that came with the car, though on a portable that is one more small part to keep track of. There is more on that trade-off in our Tesla and NACS portable charger guide.

Is it safe to use outdoors?

The charger is: United Chargers publishes a cast-aluminum NEMA 4X enclosure and an operating range of -30 C to +50 C, and the listing's own text names over-current, over-voltage, under-voltage, missing-diode, ground-fault and over-temperature protection with a built-in GFCI and power-outage recovery. The outlet is the part to think about — a receptacle used outdoors needs its own weather-rated in-use cover, and that is the electrician's call rather than the charger's.

Sources

Keep reading