Amp & Adapter

Best Home EV Chargers for the Honda Prologue

Honda publishes one number that decides this purchase and withholds the one everybody asks for. The 240-volt figure on its own spec sheet is 34.1 miles of range per hour — which points at a 40A charger, not the 48A unit the internet sells you.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A. It covers everything Honda publishes for this car and it is the cheapest pick here. 25 ft of cable, a cast metal enclosure rated UL Type 4, and it plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet rather than needing an electrician. If you want headroom for a faster car later, buy the Lectron Nexus 48Ainstead — it is hardwired, needs a 60A circuit, and may deliver nothing extra on this particular vehicle.

Here is the thing that makes the Prologue unusual. Honda’s own 2026 specifications release gives you an 85 kWh battery, EPA range of 308 miles front-drive and 294 or 283 miles all-wheel-drive, and a 240-volt Level 2 charging figure of 34.1 miles of range per hour of charging. What it does not publish anywhere in that release is the onboard charger’s kW rating — the number every other vehicle page on this site is built around.

So this page works from what Honda actually says rather than from a figure we would have to invent. Run Honda’s own numbers together and 34.1 miles per hour comes out at roughly 9.4 kW of delivered AC power, which is almost exactly what a 40-amp charger provides. That arithmetic is laid out in full below, including the reason to treat it as a floor rather than a ceiling.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Every Prologue figure below is quoted from Honda’s own newsroom specifications release, read on 5 October 2026. Every charger spec comes from the manufacturer’s published figures and the live listing, and we checked EPA’s ENERGY STAR certified-charger dataset rather than trusting listing claims.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Best overall
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

The same box and the same certification set, hardwired at 48A for 11.5 kW. It is the right buy for a large-battery EV on a panel that can carry a 60A circuit — and the wrong buy for most people, who will pay for amps their car cannot draw and lose the ability to unplug and take it with them.

Best value at 48A
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Best app and off-peak scheduling
$599.00 · View on Amazon

$657.999% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Not a faster charger than the Emporia Classic — Emporia's own comparison puts both at 48A — but a charger you can install where 48A would not otherwise fit. The premium buys PowerSmart load management and the Vue 3 panel monitor it depends on, which throttles charging to whatever headroom your service has left. On a 100A panel that is the difference between charging fast and rewiring the house; on a roomy 200A panel it is a feature you are paying for and will not use.

Best when the panel is the constraint
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Best that travels with the car
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best value at 48A

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

The same box and the same certification set, hardwired at 48A for 11.5 kW. It is the right buy for a large-battery EV on a panel that can carry a 60A circuit — and the wrong buy for most people, who will pay for amps their car cannot draw and lose the ability to unplug and take it with them.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW for the minority of EVs whose onboard charger can actually accept it
  • Same certification set as the plug-in model: UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 2251, ETL listed, ENERGY STAR
  • Hardwiring removes the NEMA 14-50 receptacle, which is the part of a plug-in install that overheats
  • Same 23 ft cable and IP66 housing

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — there is no plug, so moving it later is an electrician's job
  • Needs a 60A dedicated circuit, which plenty of 100A panels cannot spare
  • Most EVs sold in the US cap AC charging below 48A, so the headroom is often unusable
  • Amazon stock on this variant read as a low remaining count when we checked, so availability may be patchy
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallHardwired only
Outdoor ratingIP66 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Lectron publishes 48A at 240V (11.5 kW), hardwired only, with the same 23 ft cable, IP66 housing, 3-year warranty and UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 testing with ETL listing as the 40A model. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database carries it as LECHGNexusHWJ1772 at 48A / 11.52 kW, 8 AWG, network capability 'No', output cord 22 ft. A 48A continuous load requires a 60A circuit under the 80% rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best app and off-peak scheduling

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet at up to 40A / 9.6 kW, which is a full overnight charge for almost any EV
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration, backed by ChargePoint's network account
  • UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified and rated NEMA 3R for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a 23 ft cable
  • 3-year parts warranty

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than 48A hardwired units that deliver more power
  • The plug-in model runs only at 32A or 40A; the 16-50A range that made the Home Flex famous is the hardwired model, which Amazon does not currently list
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50); hardwired 50A and NEMA 6-50 sold as separate models
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as three separate models, and the one linked here is the NEMA 14-50 plug-in (part CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23). ChargePoint publishes it for circuits rated 40A or 50A, delivering 32A or 40A respectively (up to 9.6 kW) — its installation FAQ states that all other amperage settings require the hardwired model, which takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches 50A on a 60A breaker. Both are UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified, NEMA 3R rated, carry a 23 ft cable and a 3-year warranty. Use an industrial-grade 14-50 receptacle: the charger is only as safe as the outlet it plugs into.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best when the panel is the constraint

Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Not a faster charger than the Emporia Classic — Emporia's own comparison puts both at 48A — but a charger you can install where 48A would not otherwise fit. The premium buys PowerSmart load management and the Vue 3 panel monitor it depends on, which throttles charging to whatever headroom your service has left. On a 100A panel that is the difference between charging fast and rewiring the house; on a roomy 200A panel it is a feature you are paying for and will not use.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management is bundled, not an upsell — the Vue 3 panel monitor it needs is in the box
  • 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, from the same unit
  • NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor installation, with a 25 ft cable
  • Rear-entry hardwire option the Classic does not offer, which hides the conduit
  • Solar excess-charging and whole-home energy monitoring in the same app, with no subscription
  • 3-year warranty, and Emporia publishes UL Listed, NEMA rated and ENERGY STAR certification

Trade-offs

  • No faster than the cheaper Emporia Classic — both are 48A, so if you do not need load management you are paying for nothing
  • PowerSmart depends on the Vue 3 sending load data to Emporia's cloud, so the throttling that protects your panel is a connected service, not local hardware
  • The Vue 3 clamps onto your service mains, so an electrician still has to open the panel — 'no panel upgrade' does not mean 'no panel work'
  • Emporia's own “$3,000-$8,000 panel upgrade” saving is the manufacturer's marketing figure, not an independent estimate
  • Emporia does not publish the Pro's ENERGY STAR model number, which rebate forms usually ask for
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (48A); a NEMA 14-50 plug-in SKU runs at 40A
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Emporia publishes: up to 48A hardwired on a 60A circuit, up to 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet (50A circuit), a 25 ft cable, a NEMA 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a rear-entry hardwire option, a 3-year warranty, and UL Listed / NEMA Rated / ENERGY STAR Certified marks. Its own Classic-vs-Pro table lists BOTH models at up to 48A, 25 ft and 3 years — the Pro's differences are PowerSmart load management, the bundled Vue 3 energy monitor, solar and peak-demand features, the square case and rear entry. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database holds one Emporia Corp. family record (EMEVSE1, 48A, 25 ft output cord, 6 AWG, network capability 'Yes', qualified May 2022) covering fifteen further model numbers; Emporia does not publish which one the Pro carries, so confirm the model number with Emporia before filing a rebate that requires it.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best that travels with the car

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Strengths

  • True 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 outlet — same overnight speed as a wall unit
  • Includes a 120V adapter to fall back to any standard outlet
  • Packs in the trunk for road trips and destination charging

Trade-offs

  • Needs a 14-50 outlet installed to hit full speed at home
  • No wall bracket or scheduling — it's a cable, not a smart charger
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length21 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50 + 5-15 adapter)
Outdoor ratingIP66 connector
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Adjustable amperage on some units lets you dial it down for a weaker outlet. On a standard 120V outlet it drops to Level 1 speed (a few miles of range per hour), which is the physics of the outlet, not the charger.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The number Honda publishes, and the number it does not

Almost every “best charger for your EV” decision starts with the vehicle’s onboard charger— the hardware inside the car that converts the wall’s alternating current into something the battery can take. It is the AC ceiling. No wall charger can push more than the car will accept, which is why buying a 48A charger for a car that accepts 32A is money spent on nothing.

Honda does not publish that figure for the Prologue. We looked for it in the 2026 specifications release and it is not there — the charging rows give a battery capacity, a 240-volt rate expressed in miles per hour, and DC fast-charge times, and that is all. We are not going to fill that gap with a number we remember reading somewhere, so here is the honest route to the same answer.

Three figures, all Honda’s own, from the same release:

  • Battery capacity: 85 kWh.
  • EPA range: 308 mileson the front-drive car — which works out to roughly 3.6 miles per kWh.
  • 240-volt Level 2: 34.1 miles of range per hour of charging.

Divide 34.1 miles per hour by 3.6 miles per kWh and you get about 9.4 kW of power actually going into the car. At 240 volts that is roughly 39 amps. A 40A charger delivers 9.6 kW. A 48A charger delivers 11.5 kW.

The caveat matters, so read it before you act on it. Honda does not say which charger that 34.1 mi/hr figure was measured against. If it was measured on a 40A unit, then 9.4 kW is what that charger could give rather than what the car could take, and the Prologue might accept more. Treat the arithmetic as establishing a floor: a 40A charger is definitely enough to hit Honda’s published rate. Whether 48A would beat it is something Honda has not told anyone, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.

What that means for what you should buy

In practice it splits readers into two groups, and the split is about your electrical panel rather than your car.

If an electrician is coming anyway, buy a 48A-capable charger. It costs a little more, it needs a 60A circuit, and on this car it may deliver nothing extra — but it is the last home charger you will need to buy, and the next EV in the household will almost certainly use all of it. That is pick two, or pick four if your panel is the thing standing in the way.

If there is already a NEMA 14-50 outlet on the wall, or your panel cannot spare a 60A circuit, buy a 40A plug-in charger and stop. It covers 34.1 miles per hour, which is Honda’s own published rate, and on an 85 kWh battery a 9.6 kW charger goes from near-empty to full in roughly nine hours — an overnight charge with time to spare. That is picks one, three and five. Our 40A versus 48A page makes the general case; the Prologue is a car where the cheaper answer is genuinely defensible.

The electrical constraint is the part people underestimate. Code sizes a continuous load at 125% of its draw, so a 48A charger needs a 60A circuit and a 40A charger needs a 50A one. That is a real difference in what an older panel can accommodate. Our amps and circuits guide walks through finding out what yours can spare, and installation cost covers what the answer tends to cost.

Which connector does a Prologue use?

Honda does not state the connector type in the specifications release either, and we are not going to assert one. Go and look at your own carbefore you buy anything — it is a thirty-second check that prevents the single most expensive mistake in this category.

A J1772 inlet is a round connector with five pins, and on a car with DC fast charging it sits as the top half of a larger CCS1 port with two big pins below. A NACS inlet is a small flattened oval with five contacts and no separate DC section. Our connector guide has the shapes side by side.

Every pick on this page is a J1772 charger, because that is what the overwhelming majority of non-Tesla cars on American driveways use for AC charging. If your Prologue has a NACS inlet, do not buy a J1772 charger plus an adapter as your permanent setup — buy a native-NACS unit, and our NACS charger roundup is the right page. If you already own a working J1772 charger and the car is NACS, a J1772-to-NACS adapter is a legitimate forty-dollar answer to a five-hundred-dollar problem.

How we chose

Four criteria, applied in this order, and we say on each pick where it fails one.

  1. Does it comfortably cover 34.1 miles per hour? That means 40A or more. Nothing below 40A is on this page, because on an 85 kWh battery a 32A unit starts to make overnight charging tight if you arrive home low.
  2. Is the enclosure rating published and named?A NEMA or UL Type number, not the words “weather resistant”. We say so on the picks whose listings do not publish one.
  3. Is the cable long enough for a real garage?25 ft on picks one and four, 23 ft on picks two and three, 21 ft on the portable. Measure the run from where the box will go to where the car’s port sits — around the car, not through it.
  4. Is it purchasable right now, from a seller you can identify? Every pick returned a real price and a stock state when we checked.

Why the Grizzl-E is first

Because on this car the expensive answer buys you nothing Honda has published. The Classic Connect delivers 40A / 9.6 kW, which covers the 34.1 miles per hour on Honda’s own spec sheet; it plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so if one is already there you may need no electrical work at all; the cable is 25 ft, the longest on this page; and the enclosure is cast metal rated UL Type 4, the best weather rating of any pick here.

The honest costs. It is plug-in only, so you cannot convert it to a hardwired 48A unit later — if you think the next car in the household will want 48A, buy pick two now. It has no load management, so it needs its 50A circuit outright. And its output is adjustable down to 16A, which is useful on a weak circuit but is not a substitute for a charger that reads your panel. Our Grizzl-E Classic Connect review covers it in full, and our Emporia versus Grizzl-E comparison works through the metal-versus-software trade-off properly.

The outlet, and where the money actually goes

Whichever charger you choose, the install decides whether it is still working in ten years. Hardwiring is electrically the better answer: no receptacle to overheat, and it sidesteps the GFCI conflict that makes plug-in chargers trip breakers, because NEC 210.8(A) and 625.54 attach GFCI requirements to receptacles rather than to hardwired equipment.

If you go plug-in — which picks one, three and five all are — spend money on the receptacle itself. An ordinary NEMA 14-50 outlet is built for the intermittent loads of ranges and RVs, not 40 amps held for eight hours a night, and overheated outlets are a documented failure mode. Our NEMA 14-50 outlet roundup covers the industrial-grade ones, and plug-in versus hardwired makes the full case.

What we left out, and why

  • 32A chargers. On an 85 kWh battery, 7.7 kW is about eleven hours from empty. That is fine if the car always sits overnight and tight if it does not. Our 32A roundup is the honest page if a 40A circuit is the most your panel can offer.
  • Chargers with no published enclosure rating. Several cheaper 40A units advertise a price and a cable length and nothing verifiable about weather sealing. On hardware that lives outdoors for a decade, that is not a saving.
  • 80A commercial units. The Prologue cannot use them, your panel almost certainly cannot feed them, and they are the wrong product for a driveway.

The short answer

Honda publishes 34.1 miles of range per hour on 240 volts, and a 40A charger covers it. If you have a 14-50 outlet already, buy the Grizzl-E and spend the difference on nothing. If an electrician is coming, buy the Lectron Nexus and hardwire it at 48A so the next car in the household is covered too. If your panel is the obstacle, the Emporia Pro at pick four manages it rather than demanding more of it. Either way, measure the cable run first and put the money you save into a decent receptacle rather than a bigger charger.

One buying note. Several of these brands sell direct as well as on Amazon, and the prices are not always the same. We earn a commission on the links here and nothing on the direct ones, and we would still rather you paid less — check both. Our main home-charger roundup is the wider field if none of these suit.

Frequently asked questions

What size charger does a Honda Prologue need?

A 40A charger covers what Honda publishes. Honda's own 2026 specifications release quotes 34.1 miles of range per hour on 240 volts; run that against its published 85 kWh battery and 308-mile EPA range and it works out to roughly 9.4 kW, which is what a 40A charger delivers. Honda does not publish the Prologue's onboard-charger kW rating, so treat 40A as definitely sufficient rather than as proof that 48A would add nothing.

How long does it take to charge a Honda Prologue at home?

Honda publishes 34.1 miles of range added per hour of 240-volt Level 2 charging. On the 308-mile front-drive car that is roughly nine hours from near-empty to full — an overnight charge with time to spare. On a standard 120-volt household outlet it is days rather than hours, which is why a Level 2 charger is not really optional on an 85 kWh battery.

Does the Honda Prologue have a J1772 or a NACS port?

Honda does not state the connector type in its 2026 specifications release, so look at your own car before buying. A J1772 inlet is round with five pins and sits as the top half of a larger CCS1 port on a fast-charging car; a NACS inlet is a small flattened oval. Every pick on this page is a J1772 charger. If your car is NACS, buy a native-NACS unit rather than a J1772 charger with an adapter parked on it permanently.

Is a 48A charger worth it for a Prologue?

Only if you are already paying for electrical work, or expect a faster car later. A 48A charger needs a 60A circuit under the continuous-load rule, against 50A for a 40A unit, and Honda has not published a figure that shows the Prologue would use the extra. Buy 48A as future-proofing for the household, not as a speed upgrade for this car.

Can I use a portable charger as the Prologue's only charger?

Yes, if you have a NEMA 14-50 outlet on a 50A circuit. A 40A portable delivers the same 9.6 kW as a fixed 40A wall charger and covers Honda's published 34.1 mi/hr. The advantage is that it unplugs and travels with the car; the trade-offs are a plug-in connection rather than hardwiring, and a shorter cable than most wall units.

How fast does the Prologue DC fast charge?

Honda publishes 20% to 80% in 35 minutes, and 65 miles of range added in 10 minutes. That is a completely separate system from home charging — DC bypasses the car's onboard AC charger entirely — so the fast-charge figures have no bearing on which wall charger to buy.

Sources

Keep reading