Amp & Adapter

Best Level 1 EV Chargers

The 120V chargers that plug into any household outlet — what they are genuinely good for, what they are not, and the certification line that matters most here.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Level 1 charging means plugging into an ordinary 120V household outlet. It is the slowest way to charge an EV by a wide margin, and we are going to be honest about that before recommending anything: a Level 1 charger typically adds roughly 3 to 5 miles of range per hour. Over a twelve-hour overnight stretch that is somewhere around 40 to 60 miles.

For a lot of people that is genuinely enough. The average American drives well under 40 miles a day, and if that describes you, a Level 1 charger plugged into the garage outlet quietly keeps up without any electrical work at all. For everyone else, Level 1 is a spare, a safety net and a travel toolrather than a primary charger — and it is a genuinely useful thing to own in that role.

We ranked on three things. 1. Safety certification, which leads here more than in any other category on this site: a Level 1 charger lives plugged into a household circuit for twelve hours at a stretch, often in an outlet nobody has inspected in twenty years. 2. Dual-voltage capability— several units run at 120V or 240V, which roughly doubles the rate wherever a 240V outlet exists and makes them far more useful traveling. 3. Cable length, because a short cable is the usual regret. We own no units and run no bench tests; specs are read from published listings on the date shown under each pick.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Level 1 EV Charger (15A, 110V)

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger (15A, 110V)

The one Level 1 charger we would actually recommend, because it is ETL certified and comes from a brand that specializes in EV charging. A Level 1 unit is a spare and a safety net, not a primary charger — buy it on that basis and it is a genuinely useful thing to own.

Best overall
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
bokman Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

bokman Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

The dual-voltage answer at a Level 1 price: it runs from a standard 5-15 household outlet or a 6-20 240V outlet, which roughly doubles the charging rate wherever a 240V receptacle exists. That flexibility is what a travel charger is actually for.

Best dual-voltage
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$114.9913% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
TopAutoGear Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

TopAutoGear Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

The cheapest charger on this site, and it earns the slot by publishing two things budget listings usually leave blank: an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty. 16A is slow by design, so treat it as the unit that lives in the trunk for the day you need it rather than the one you plan your charging around.

Cheapest
$119.89 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

A strong-value alternative to the Lectron portable: 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 plug, usually with adjustable amperage and a clear display. If the Lectron is out of stock or pricier on the day, this is the like-for-like swap.

Best step-up
$199.98 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger (15A, 110V)

The one Level 1 charger we would actually recommend, because it is ETL certified and comes from a brand that specializes in EV charging. A Level 1 unit is a spare and a safety net, not a primary charger — buy it on that basis and it is a genuinely useful thing to own.

Strengths

  • ETL certified — the single most important thing on a device left plugged in overnight
  • Plugs into any standard 110V household outlet, so it works anywhere
  • Includes a 16 ft extension cord alongside the J1772 cable

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is slow — plan on topping up rather than a full charge overnight
  • Costs more than the no-name Level 1 units, which is the trade for the certification
  • 15A on a shared household circuit can trip a breaker if something else is on it
ConnectorJ1772
Max output15 A
Max powerNot published
Cable length16 ft
InstallPlug-in (standard 110V outlet)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 110V, 15A, ETL certification and a 16 ft extension cord with a J1772 cable. 110V at 15A works out to roughly 1.6 kW, but the listing does not publish a kW figure so the spec table leaves it blank rather than printing our arithmetic as a manufacturer spec.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best dual-voltage

bokman Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

The dual-voltage answer at a Level 1 price: it runs from a standard 5-15 household outlet or a 6-20 240V outlet, which roughly doubles the charging rate wherever a 240V receptacle exists. That flexibility is what a travel charger is actually for.

Strengths

  • Ships with both NEMA 5-15 (120V) and NEMA 6-20 (240V) plugs — one unit covers both
  • 16A rating is the practical maximum for this class of portable charger
  • 20 ft cable is longer than most units at this price

Trade-offs

  • The listing does not name a safety-certification body, unlike the Lectron
  • 16A is still a top-up rate, not a replacement for a Level 2 wall charger
  • Small brand with limited support history
ConnectorJ1772
Max output16 A
Max powerNot published
Cable length20 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 6-20 or 5-15)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 16A, a 20 ft cable and both NEMA 6-20P and 5-15 plug options for Level 1 and Level 2 use. It does not publish a certification body, a kW figure or a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Cheapest

TopAutoGear Portable Level 1 & 2 Charger (16A)

The cheapest charger on this site, and it earns the slot by publishing two things budget listings usually leave blank: an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty. 16A is slow by design, so treat it as the unit that lives in the trunk for the day you need it rather than the one you plan your charging around.

Strengths

  • Rated 110V-240V rather than 120V only, so it is not locked to Level 1 speed
  • Publishes an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty, which most listings at this price do not
  • LCD display shows what the unit is actually drawing

Trade-offs

  • 17 ft of cable is short next to the 25 ft several rivals publish
  • The listing names no safety-certification body — no UL or ETL file is stated
  • The listing does not publish which NEMA plugs are in the box
ConnectorJ1772
Max output16 A
Max powerNot published
Cable length17 ft
InstallPlug-in (110-240V)
Outdoor ratingIP54
Warranty5 years

Spec note. The listing publishes 16A across a 110-240V range, a 17 ft cable, an IP54 rating and a five-year warranty. It does not publish a kW figure, a certification body or the plug types supplied. At 16A the arithmetic is roughly 1.9 kW on a 120V outlet — about 3-5 miles of range per hour — and roughly 3.8 kW where a 240V outlet is available.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 22, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best step-up

EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

A strong-value alternative to the Lectron portable: 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 plug, usually with adjustable amperage and a clear display. If the Lectron is out of stock or pricier on the day, this is the like-for-like swap.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 at a competitive price
  • Adjustable current and a readable display on most models
  • Often bundled with plug adapters

Trade-offs

  • Brand track record is shorter than the established names
  • Same 14-50-outlet requirement to reach full speed
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50, adapters vary)
Outdoor ratingIP67 connector
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Configurations and included adapters vary by listing — check the plug type and stated amperage on the exact unit before buying.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The certification point, which really matters here

Level 1 is where the cheapest, least accountable hardware in EV charging lives, and it is also where a failure has the most direct path to something bad. Think about what this device actually does: it sits in a standard household receptacle, drawing 12 to 16 amps continuously, for ten or twelve hours, in a garage, unattended, often overnight.

A 15A household circuit under a 12A continuous load is already at the top of what code contemplates. If the outlet is old, back-stabbed rather than screw-terminated, or shared with a freezer and a workbench, the margin is thin. A charger from a manufacturer that has put the unit through UL or ETL testing has been evaluated for exactly this duty cycle. One that names no lab has not.

That is why the Lectron heads this list rather than a cheaper unit: it publishes ETL certification and comes from a company whose whole business is EV charging. On a device in this role, that is worth the price gap.

Check the outlet, not just the charger

Before you leave a Level 1 charger running overnight, plug it in and then feel the receptacle after an hour or two. Warm is worth investigating; hot means stop and call an electrician. Do not use an extension cord unless it is rated for the continuous load and you have no alternative — and never a household two-prong or thin-gauge cord. Avoid a circuit shared with other significant loads. These are the same habits that make any high-draw appliance safe, and they matter more with something running for half a day.

Dual-voltage: the upgrade that makes Level 1 worth carrying

Several units here, including the bokman, ship with both a NEMA 5-15 plug (the standard household one, 120V) and a NEMA 6-20 plug (a 240V outlet found in workshops, garages and some laundry rooms). Swapping the plug roughly doubles the charging rate wherever a 240V receptacle exists.

That flexibility is what turns a Level 1 charger from a trickle device into a genuinely useful travel tool. Holiday houses, workshops, family garages and older properties frequently have a 240V outlet somewhere even when nobody thinks of it as an EV charging point. Carrying a unit that can use it is the difference between arriving with 40 miles added overnight and arriving with 100. Our main portable charger roundup covers the faster 40A units that plug into a NEMA 14-50.

How slow is Level 1, really?

The math is straightforward. 120V at 12A is about 1.4 kW; at 16A it is about 1.9 kW. A typical EV uses roughly 30 kWh per 100 miles, so 1.4 kW delivers something in the region of 4 to 5 miles of range per hour, before charging losses.

Practically: overnight gets you 40 to 60 miles. A full charge from near-empty on a large battery takes multiple days. Cold weather makes it worse, because some of the power goes to heating the battery rather than filling it — in deep winter a Level 1 charger on a big EV can lose ground on a cold night. Our types of chargers guide puts Level 1, 2 and 3 side by side, and the cost-to-charge guide works out what the electricity actually costs.

When Level 1 is the right answer

Low daily mileage. If you drive 25 miles a day and park at home for twelve hours, Level 1 keeps up indefinitely with zero electrical work.

Plug-in hybrids. A PHEV battery is small enough that Level 1 genuinely refills it overnight. For most PHEV owners, a Level 2 charger is unnecessary.

As a spare.A certified Level 1 unit in the trunk means you can charge anywhere there is a wall socket — a relative’s house, a holiday rental, a hotel with an outdoor outlet and a sympathetic manager.

While you wait for an install. Level 2 installs involve electricians, permits and lead times. A Level 1 charger covers the gap from day one.

When it is not

High daily mileage, a large battery you routinely run low, two EVs, no reliable overnight parking, or a cold climate with an outdoor parking spot. In all of those, a Level 2 charger is the answer rather than a better Level 1 unit — see our home charger roundup, or the budget picks if cost is the obstacle.

Frequently asked questions

How fast is a Level 1 EV charger?

Roughly 3 to 5 miles of range per hour, depending on the charger's amperage and your car's efficiency. Over a twelve-hour overnight charge that is about 40 to 60 miles. Cold weather reduces it further, because some power goes to warming the battery instead of filling it.

Is Level 1 charging enough?

It is if you drive less than about 40 miles a day and park at home overnight — that describes a lot of drivers. It is also usually enough for a plug-in hybrid. It is not enough for high daily mileage, a large battery you run low, two EVs, or unreliable overnight parking.

Can I use an extension cord with a Level 1 charger?

Only if it is rated for the continuous load, and preferably not at all. A charger draws its full current for ten or twelve hours straight, and a thin or damaged cord under that load is a real hazard. Plug directly into a receptacle where you can, and never use a household two-prong cord.

Do I need a special outlet for Level 1?

No — a standard grounded 120V household outlet is what these are made for. It should ideally be a dedicated circuit not shared with other significant loads, and worth checking the receptacle is in good condition. Feel it after an hour of charging: warm merits investigation, hot means stop.

What is a dual-voltage Level 1 and 2 charger?

A unit that ships with plugs for both a standard 120V household outlet and a 240V outlet such as a NEMA 6-20. Swapping the plug roughly doubles the charging rate wherever a 240V receptacle exists, which makes it far more useful for travel than a 120V-only unit.

Sources

Keep reading