Amp & Adapter

Best Home EV Chargers for a Hyundai Ioniq 5

The 800V architecture that makes an Ioniq 5 famous is irrelevant in your garage — here is the number that actually decides which charger to buy, and where to find it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Almost every “best charger for the Ioniq 5” list starts in the wrong place, because the Ioniq 5’s headline feature is a DC fast-chargingfeature. The 800-volt architecture, the eighteen-minute road-trip stop, the numbers that beat cars costing three times as much — none of that is happening on your garage wall, and none of it should influence which box you bolt to it.

Here is why, in one sentence: a home charger does not charge your battery.It is a switch and a safety interlock that hands 240V AC to the car, and the car’s own onboard chargerconverts that AC into the DC the pack wants. DC fast charging bypasses that converter entirely, which is the whole reason it is fast — and the whole reason your 800V pack has no bearing on what happens overnight.

So the number that decides this purchase is not on the charger’s box. It is your car’s onboard AC charger rating in kilowatts, and it is a hard ceiling. Buy a wall charger rated above it and the extra amps simply do not get used. Below we show you where to find that number, the arithmetic that turns it into an amperage, and the four chargers we would put on the wall once you know it.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Best overall
$456.74 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Best value
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Best plug-in 40A
$395.98 · View on Amazon

$469.9916% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Best dual-purpose
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Strengths

  • Amperage is dial-set from 16A to 50A, so it matches whatever circuit your electrician can give you
  • Sold hardwired or with a NEMA 14-50 / 6-50 plug, so there is a version for the install you want
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than a bare-bones 40A unit that does the same core job
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallHardwired (plug-in 14-50 / 6-50 sold as separate models)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as separate hardwired and plug-in models, so pick the install before you buy. The hardwired version — the one linked here — takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches the full 50A, which needs a 60A breaker at full output (the continuous-load 80% rule). The NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 plug-in versions are capped at 40A / 9.6 kW, which is plenty for overnight charging.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best value

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW on a 60A circuit — near the top of home output
  • Load management and scheduling in the app, at a budget price
  • Plug-in or hardwired, NEMA 4 outdoor-rated

Trade-offs

  • 48A requires a 60A circuit, which not every panel has room for
  • Newer brand than ChargePoint or Wallbox, with a shorter track record
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50), convertible to hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which limits it to 40A; to pull the full 48A an electrician hardwires it on a 60A breaker. Pairs with Emporia's energy monitor for whole-home load management. Emporia now markets this unit as the Emporia Classic on its own store; the Amazon listing still uses the original name.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best plug-in 40A

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW is the amperage sweet spot — a full overnight charge for any car on the road
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so there is no hardwiring and it comes with you if you move
  • Purpose-built wall-mounted station, not a portable unit hung on a bracket

Trade-offs

  • 40A is the ceiling — there is no upgrade path to 48A the way the Emporia has
  • EVIQO is a young brand; long-term firmware and support are the open question
  • The listing does not publish an enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, 240V, a J1772 connector and a NEMA 14-50 plug on a wall-mounted station. It does not publish a cable length, enclosure rating or warranty term in the title, so those read as not published here. A 40A charger requires a 50A circuit under the 80% continuous-load rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best dual-purpose

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Strengths

  • True 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 outlet — same overnight speed as a wall unit
  • Includes a 120V adapter to fall back to any standard outlet
  • Packs in the trunk for road trips and destination charging

Trade-offs

  • Needs a 14-50 outlet installed to hit full speed at home
  • No wall bracket or scheduling — it's a cable, not a smart charger
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length21 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50 + 5-15 adapter)
Outdoor ratingIP66 connector
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Adjustable amperage on some units lets you dial it down for a weaker outlet. On a standard 120V outlet it drops to Level 1 speed (a few miles of range per hour), which is the physics of the outlet, not the charger.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Step one: find your onboard charger rating

This takes about two minutes and saves more money than any other step in the process. Three reliable places to look, in order of how much we trust them:

  1. The owner’s manual, charging section. It is stated directly, usually in kW, and it is specific to your model year and trim. This is the answer.
  2. Hyundai’s published specification page for your model year.Look for “onboard charger” or “AC charging” — not the DC fast-charge figure, which is a much larger and completely irrelevant number here.
  3. The car itself.Plug into a charger you know exceeds the car’s rating and read the kW the car reports on its charging screen. That is the ceiling, empirically.

Do not take the figure from a forum post or a spec-aggregator site. Onboard charger ratings have changed between model years and between trims on this car, and a wrong number here costs you either a wasted upgrade or a charger that throttles you.

Step two: turn that number into an amperage

The arithmetic is one line: kW ÷ 240V × 1000 = amps. Then round up to the nearest charger you can buy. Worked through for the ratings you are likely to find:

  • A 7.2 kW onboard charger draws about 30A. A 32A charger saturates it. A 40A charger is fine and gives you headroom for your next car; a 48A charger delivers nothing extra, ever.
  • A 10.9 kW onboard charger draws about 45A. A 48A charger saturates it; a 40A charger throttles you slightly, by roughly a tenth of the rate.
  • An 11 kW onboard chargerdraws about 46A. Same answer as above — 48A saturates, 40A costs you a little.

Now put the circuit cost against that. Under the 80% continuous-load rule a 40A charger needs a 50A breaker and a 48A charger needs a 60A breaker, and in most houses that step is the difference between an ordinary afternoon’s work and a conversation about the service panel. Our amps and circuits guide has the full breaker table, and our installation cost guide explains why the same charger can cost wildly different amounts to fit.

The honest conclusion for most Ioniq 5 owners: 40A is the right answer, and it is the right answer even if your onboard charger is rated a little above it, because the difference is a few miles of range per hour on a car that sits for ten hours. Our 40A roundup makes that case in full.

Check your charge port before you buy anything

The industry is midway through the switch to native NACS ports, and Hyundai is part of that transition. Go and look at your car:

  • A J1772 port (round, five pins visible on the AC section) is what the picks on this page plug into directly. Nothing else needed.
  • A NACS port(smaller, flatter) needs either a native-NACS wall charger — see our NACS home charger roundup, which covers every factory-NACS unit regardless of what car you drive — or a J1772-to-NACS adapter hanging off a J1772 charger. Both work. The adapter is far cheaper; the native charger is tidier and puts nothing extra in the weather.

If you are unsure which you have, our connector guide has photographs of each.

Why we picked these four

ChargePoint Home Flexis the pick when you do not yet know your onboard charger rating or your panel’s headroom, because its output is dial-set across a wide range. You buy once and set it correctly afterwards, which removes the only genuinely irreversible decision here. Our full Home Flex review covers what that flexibility does and does not buy you.

Emporia Level 2 answers the same uncertainty from the other direction: it ships configured for a NEMA 14-50 plug and converts to a hardwired higher-output install later. Start cheap, upgrade only if the numbers say so. The Emporia review goes deeper.

EVIQO 40A is the straightforward choice if you already have a NEMA 14-50 outlet or are having one fitted: a purpose-built wall station on a plug, no electrician needed for the charger itself, no app to manage.

Lectron 40A Portable is here because the Ioniq 5 is a road-trip car and this unit does two jobs. It hangs on the wall at home and rides in the frunk for the weekends where the destination has a dryer outlet and nothing else. Our road-trip charger guide covers what else belongs in that bag.

Two Ioniq 5 details worth knowing

Vehicle-to-load.If your car and trim support V2L, it can supply household AC out of the pack through an adapter Hyundai supplies or sells. That is not a charging feature and no wall charger interacts with it — but it is worth knowing you own it before you buy a separate power station.

Preconditioning and the schedule.Charging schedules set in the car and schedules set in the charger app can fight each other, and the usual symptom is a car that did not charge overnight. Pick one and disable the other. In a cold climate we would set it in the car, because the car is the only one of the two that knows the battery temperature — see our cold-weather guide for why that matters more than it sounds.

What about Supercharger access?

Different problem, different hardware, and a genuinely different answer for this car because of that 800V architecture. We wrote it up separately in NACS-to-CCS adapters for an Ioniq 5, including why the fastest-charging car on the road can be unremarkable at a Supercharger stall. Nothing on this page affects that, and nothing on that page affects this one.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Ioniq 5's 800V system need a special home charger?

No. Home charging is AC, and the car's onboard charger converts it to DC at whatever voltage the pack wants — the 800V architecture is entirely internal to the car. Any Level 2 charger with the right connector works. The 800V figure only matters at DC fast chargers, which bypass the onboard converter.

Do I need a 48A charger for an Ioniq 5?

Only if your car's onboard AC charger is rated high enough to use it, and only if your panel can spare a 60A circuit. Look up the onboard charger rating in your owner's manual first: if it is around 7.2 kW, a 48A charger delivers nothing a 32A charger would not, and you would be paying for a bigger circuit for no gain.

My Ioniq 5 has a NACS port. Can I still use these chargers?

Yes, with a J1772-to-NACS adapter, which is inexpensive and widely available. The tidier option is a wall charger sold with a factory NACS connector — our NACS home charger roundup lists them. Both charge the car identically; the difference is whether something extra hangs off the handle in the rain.

How long does a full charge take at home?

Divide your usable battery capacity in kWh by the charging rate in kW, then add roughly 10% for conversion losses. At around 9.6 kW — a 40A charger — a large-battery EV goes from low to full comfortably inside a normal overnight window. Our how-long-to-charge guide works the arithmetic through in full.

Should I use the portable charger that came with the car?

For occasional use, yes. As a primary home charger, usually not: the supplied cordset is typically a low-amperage unit intended for a household outlet, which adds only a few miles of range per hour. If you drive normal daily distances a Level 2 install pays for itself in convenience within weeks.

Sources

Keep reading