Amp & Adapter

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A Review

The Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, now with 16-40A adjustment, Wi-Fi and a NACS option — plus the one certification claim we could not verify in EPA's own database.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

The Grizzl-E Classic has been the easiest recommendation on this site for years, and always for the same reason: it is a heavy cast-metal box from Ontario that charges your car and does nothing else. No account, no app, no firmware, nothing to fail. The Classic Connect 40A is United Chargers’ next-generation version of that box — and it puts a Wi-Fi radio inside it.

That is the tension this review is about. The Connect keeps the enclosure, the 25 ft cable and the plug-in install, and adds two things the Classic never had: output current you can dial from 16A to 40A, and connectivity. One of those is a genuine upgrade that changes who the charger suits. The other is the exact feature the Classic’s buyers were choosing to avoid.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Everything below is read from United Chargers’ own published product record, the live Amazon listings, and EPA’s ENERGY STAR certified-charger database, all checked on 2 September 2026. Where those sources disagree, we say so rather than quoting the flattering number.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Our pick — the J1772 model
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

The same charger with a factory NACS handle instead of a J1772 one — the version to buy if your car has a Tesla-style port and you would rather not leave an adapter hanging off the connector for the next decade. Everything else about it, good and bad, is identical to the J1772 model.

Same charger, native NACS handle
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Our pick — the J1772 model

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Same charger, native NACS handle

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

The same charger with a factory NACS handle instead of a J1772 one — the version to buy if your car has a Tesla-style port and you would rather not leave an adapter hanging off the connector for the next decade. Everything else about it, good and bad, is identical to the J1772 model.

Strengths

  • Native NACS handle — a Tesla, or any NACS-port EV, plugs straight in
  • Identical hardware to the J1772 model: 16–40A adjustable, UL Type 4 metal enclosure, 25 ft cable, Wi-Fi
  • Plug-in on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no electrician beyond the outlet itself
  • 3-year warranty, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C

Trade-offs

  • A non-NACS EV needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, which is not in the box
  • Same missing ENERGY STAR listing as the J1772 model as of 2 September 2026
  • Same forced Wi-Fi, and the same loss of the NEMA 6-50 plug option the Classic offered
  • The Black NACS colorway was unavailable on Amazon when we checked; the White one is the live listing
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Mechanically and electrically the same unit as the J1772 model — United Chargers lists the connector as the only difference, offering the Classic Connect with a “Type 1 (SAE J1772); NACS” output cable across the same four colorways. Same 40A adjustable to 16A, same NEMA 14-50 plug, same 25 ft cord, same UL Type 4 rating and UL/cUL E510712 listing, same Wi-Fi and same 3-year warranty. The ENERGY STAR caveat on the J1772 model applies here too: no Classic Connect row appears in EPA's certified-EVSE database.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

What actually changed from the Classic

United Chargers describes the Connect as the Classic design with updated electronics and improved performance. In practice, four things are different, and it is worth being precise about which is which because the marketing does not separate them.

  • Adjustable output. The Connect is rated 40A and adjustable down to 16A. The Classic was a fixed-40A unit with no field adjustment. This is the biggest functional change.
  • Wi-Fi and an app. The Connect has a 2.4 GHz radio and pairs with the Grizzl-E Connect application for charging statistics, schedules, remote control and utility demand-response programs. The Classic had none of that by design.
  • A NACS option. The Connect is sold with either a J1772 or a native NACS output cable. The Classic was J1772 only.
  • One plug type instead of two. The Classic was offered with a NEMA 14-50 or a NEMA 6-50 plug. The Connect is NEMA 14-50 only. If your garage already has a 6-50 outlet, that is a real regression, and the fix is an adapter rather than a configuration option.

What did not change is most of the reason people bought the Classic: the same 25 ft cable, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor metal enclosure, the same 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in footprint, the same −30 °C to +50 °C operating range, the same 3-year warranty and the same made-in-Canada build.

The certification, and the one claim we could not verify

A home charger holds its rated current for hours, unattended, in a garage, while you sleep. Testing to a recognized standard is the floor, not a feature — our certification guide explains what the individual marks cover and how to check one yourself.

United Chargers publishes a UL/cUL listing under file E510712 for the Classic Connect, and both live Amazon listings describe it as “UL Tested and Certified”. That is the mark that matters most, and it is consistent across the manufacturer’s record and the retail listing.

ENERGY STAR is the part that does not line up. We checked EPA’s certified-EVSE database on 2 September 2026. It returns eight Grizzl-E models under the partner name United Chargers Inc. — the Smart, the Classic, the Mini, the Ultimate, the Ultimate 48A, the Ultimate Fleet 80A, the Ultimate Pro 80A and the Duo Smart 80A. There is no Classic Connect row. The Classic it succeeds is listed (model GR1-14-24-PB, qualified August 2024); the Connect, so far, is not.

United Chargers’ own product record for the Connect is consistent with that: it names the UL/cUL file and does not claim ENERGY STAR, where the record for the Classic names both. A separate Classic Connect listing on Amazon — a black NACS colorway that was itself unavailable when we checked, so we do not link it — does carry “Energy Star” in its title. We are not going to repeat a claim we cannot corroborate in the certifying body’s own database.

For most buyers this changes nothing. But if you are counting on a utility rebate, it can change everything: plenty of programs pay several hundred dollars specifically for an ENERGY STAR-certified connected charger, and they verify by model number. If that is your situation, confirm the exact model with your program before you order, or buy something already on the list. This is the single most important sentence in this review.

The 16-40A adjustment is the real upgrade

Amperage is the specification people get wrong most often, in both directions. A charger draws its rated current continuously, so code sizes the circuit about 25% above the draw — the 80% continuous-load rule. A 40A charger therefore needs a 50A breaker, which is more spare panel capacity than a lot of older houses have. Our amps and circuits guide has the full arithmetic.

The Classic could not help you there. It was 40A or nothing, so if the electrician came back and said your panel could spare a 30A circuit, you had bought the wrong charger. The Connect dials down to 24A on a 30A circuit, or 16A on a 20A circuit, and back up later if you ever upgrade the service. That is the difference between a charger you buy for the house you have and one you buy for the house you hope to have.

It is also worth saying plainly that 40A is enough. At 240V that is 9.6 kW, roughly 250 to 300 miles of range across a ten-hour night — far more than a typical household drives in a day. Our 40A roundup makes the longer case; the 48A page covers the minority of households where more genuinely pays.

One number to be careful with. United Chargers publishes the output as “40A 10 kW”, while the Amazon listings say 9.6 kW. Forty amps at 240 volts is 9.6 kW; 10 kW implies 250 volts, which is a nominal ceiling rather than what comes out of a normal residential panel. Neither figure is wrong, but size your circuit off the 40 amps, not off either kW number.

The cable, and how much reach you actually get

United Chargers publishes 25 ft (7.6 m) of output cable. That is more reach than most wall chargers at any price, and cable length is the specification that causes the most buyer regret, because a cord two feet short is a daily annoyance you cannot fix without moving the charger or the car.

A caution from the sibling model, though. The Classic carries the same 25 ft marketing figure, and EPA’s ENERGY STAR record measures its output cord at 24 ft in 8 AWG. There is no ENERGY STAR record for the Connect to check against, so we cannot say whether the same gap applies. If reach is tight, plan around 24 ft, measure from where the outlet will actually go to where the charge port sits when the car is parked the way you really park it, and add slack for the days you nose in instead of reversing.

Outdoors, and what UL Type 4 means

The enclosure is rated UL Type 4, indoor or outdoor. Type 4 is a real rating — it covers windblown dust, rain, splashing water and hose-directed water — and it is a meaningfully stronger claim than the “weather resistant” phrasing unrated units use. Combined with a −30 °C rating, this is a charger designed for a wall in a cold climate rather than one that merely tolerates a garage. Our outdoor roundup compares the ratings across the field.

The usual caveat applies and it is not the charger’s fault: a rated enclosure does not make a plug-in install outdoor-safe on its own. The receptacle and its in-use cover have to be rated for the location too, and that is the electrician’s call. A cover or a shaded position still helps on a fully exposed wall.

J1772 or NACS?

Buy the connector your car actually has. The J1772 model fits almost every non-Tesla EV and plug-in hybrid sold in North America. The NACS model fits Teslas and the growing number of other EVs shipping with the Tesla-style port, with nothing hanging off the handle — our Tesla and NACS charger roundup compares the native-NACS field.

Either can be made to work with the other type of car using an adapter — a J1772-to-Tesla adapter for a NACS car on the J1772 unit, or a Tesla-to-J1772 adapterthe other way — but an adapter permanently parked on a wall charger is a wear point and a thing to lose. If your household is all one connector type, buy that one.

Who should buy it

The Connect suits a specific buyer: you want a rugged metal charger on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, you are not certain yet what circuit your panel can spare, and you are fine with a connected unit. The adjustment covers the electrical uncertainty, the Type 4 enclosure covers the wall, and 25 ft of cable covers the garage. That is a genuinely useful combination and the Classic could only offer two thirds of it.

It also suits anyone who wants the Grizzl-E build quality but has a NACS car, which simply was not an option before, and anyone whose utility runs a time-of-use tariff their car cannot schedule around on its own. Where the charger genuinely has to be the smart component, our load management guide explains why.

Who should buy something else

  • Anyone whose rebate requires ENERGY STAR. Covered above, and it is the one disqualifier that costs real money. Verify the model number with the program first, or buy from our smart charger roundup, where the connected picks we list publish their certifications.
  • Anyone who wanted the Classic precisely because it was dumb. The Wi-Fi is not optional here. If “nothing to fail” was the whole appeal, the Lectron Nexus is the current no-radio equivalent, and its ENERGY STAR record confirms it carries no network hardware at all.
  • Anyone with a NEMA 6-50 outlet already installed. The Connect does not come in a 6-50 version. You can adapt, but adapting a continuous 40A load is not a place to economize.
  • Anyone who needs 48A. This is a 40A unit and always will be. If your panel can carry a 60A circuit and your car’s onboard charger can actually accept 48A on AC — two conditions, not one — the 48A page is the right one to read.
  • Anyone on the tightest budget. The Connect sits above the Classic on price, and the radio is most of what you are paying for. Our budget roundup is explicit about what you give up further down.

The one upgrade to buy alongside it

Spend money on the receptacle. An inexpensive NEMA 14-50 outlet is the cheapest part of a plug-in install and the likeliest to fail: ordinary ones are built for the intermittent loads of ranges and RVs, not a 40A draw held for eight hours a night, and overheated outlets are a documented failure mode. An industrial-grade receptacle is the single cheapest safety upgrade in the whole job — our NEMA 14-50 outlet roundup covers the ones worth buying, and our plug-in versus hardwired guide makes the case for skipping the outlet entirely if you are installing outdoors.

The verdict

A good charger, and a more flexible one than the Classic it follows. The 16-40A adjustment is the upgrade that matters, the UL Type 4 metal enclosure and 25 ft cable are unchanged strengths, and the NACS option finally makes Grizzl-E an answer for Tesla owners. If you want a rugged plug-in 40A unit that can be sized to whatever circuit you end up with, this is an easy recommendation.

The honest caveats are three. It is not in EPA’s ENERGY STAR database as we write this, which matters only for rebates but matters a lot there. The Wi-Fi you may not have wanted is not removable. And it has been on the market since December 2025, so it has months of owner feedback behind it rather than the Classic’s years — on a product line whose reputation is built on longevity, that is worth weighing.

One buying note. United Chargers sells the Classic Connect direct as well as on Amazon, and the two prices are not always the same. We earn a commission on the Amazon link and nothing on the direct one, and we would still rather you paid less — check both.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Grizzl-E Classic and the Classic Connect?

Four things. The Connect adjusts its output from 16A to 40A where the Classic was fixed at 40A; the Connect has 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and the Grizzl-E Connect app where the Classic had no connectivity at all; the Connect is offered with a native NACS cable as well as J1772; and the Connect is NEMA 14-50 only, where the Classic also came in a NEMA 6-50 version. The enclosure, the 25 ft cable, the UL Type 4 rating, the -30C to +50C range and the 3-year warranty are the same on both.

Is the Grizzl-E Classic Connect ENERGY STAR certified?

We could not verify that it is. Checking EPA's certified-EVSE database on 2 September 2026 returns eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. — Smart, Classic, Mini, Ultimate, Ultimate 48A, Ultimate Fleet 80A, Ultimate Pro 80A and Duo Smart 80A — with no Classic Connect among them. United Chargers' own product record for the Connect names a UL/cUL listing (file E510712) and does not claim ENERGY STAR, though one sibling Amazon listing does. If a utility rebate you are counting on requires ENERGY STAR certification, confirm the exact model number with the program before ordering.

How long is the Grizzl-E Classic Connect cable?

United Chargers publishes 25 ft (7.6 m). One caution: the Grizzl-E Classic carries the same 25 ft marketing figure and EPA's ENERGY STAR record measures its cord at 24 ft in 8 AWG. There is no ENERGY STAR record for the Connect to check against, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft rather than 25.

What circuit does the Classic Connect need?

At its full 40A output it needs a 50A breaker, because electrical code sizes a continuous load at 125% of its draw. Because it adjusts down to 16A, it can also run on a 40A, 30A or 20A circuit at reduced output — 32A, 24A and 16A respectively. That flexibility is the main reason to choose it over the fixed-40A Classic.

Can the Grizzl-E Classic Connect be installed outdoors?

Yes. United Chargers publishes a UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and an operating range of -30C to +50C, which is a genuine outdoor rating rather than a 'weather resistant' claim. Remember that on a plug-in install the receptacle and its in-use cover must be rated for the location too — that part is the electrician's responsibility, not the charger's.

Will the Classic Connect charge a Tesla?

Yes. Buy the NACS version and a Tesla plugs straight in with no adapter. The J1772 version will also charge a Tesla using the adapter that came with the car, but leaving an adapter permanently attached to a wall charger is a wear point we would avoid if you have the choice.

Does it need an electrician?

The charger itself plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so mounting it and plugging it in is a homeowner job. Installing that outlet on a 50A circuit is licensed work — a continuous 40A load is not a DIY receptacle job, and the outlet is where plug-in installs fail.

Sources

Keep reading