Amp & Adapter

Best EV Chargers for Cold Weather

Cold does not slow your charger down — it slows your car down. So the only thing to shop for here is a charger that keeps working at -22°F, and the specification most brands quietly decline to publish.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect. It is a cast-metal, UL Type 4 charger that United Chargers publishes at -30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F), it costs less than most plastic chargers, and it is built in Canada by people who have to live with their own warranty claims. If your panel can spare a 70-amp circuit and you want the widest published temperature range on this page, the Autel MaxiChargerat pick two is rated to -40 °F.

Before the picks, the thing that makes this page shorter than it looks. There is a widespread belief that a winter-rated charger charges faster in the cold. It does not. Cold weather slows the car, not the charger.A lithium-ion pack below freezing has to be warmed before it will accept full current, and the car’s battery-management system is what decides that — the box on your wall simply offers the amps and waits. Our cold-weather charging guide covers that side of it, and our slow-charging guide explains why buying a bigger charger never fixes a ceiling set by the car.

So the winter question is narrow and unglamorous: does this charger still work in February, and will the cable bend?That turns out to be an unusually easy page to write honestly, because the answer lives in a single published specification — the operating temperature range — and roughly half the chargers sold in the US do not publish one at all. Every pick below does. We say what each manufacturer publishes, and where a brand publishes nothing we say that instead of estimating.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers, and we have certainly not left one in a Minnesota driveway for a winter — here is exactly what we do instead. Every figure below is the manufacturer’s own published specification, read from its own page or datasheet on the date in the sources list.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Best overall for a cold climate
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Widest published temperature range
$529.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0012% off

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Best hardwired, with a published cable claim
$649.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

The same charger with a factory NACS handle instead of a J1772 one — the version to buy if your car has a Tesla-style port and you would rather not leave an adapter hanging off the connector for the next decade. Everything else about it, good and bad, is identical to the J1772 model.

Best for a Tesla or any NACS car
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Best app, range published in the datasheet
$599.00 · View on Amazon

$657.999% off

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable (J1772)

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable (J1772)

The same cast-aluminum Mini with a J1772 handle, and — on the evidence of its own listing — without the Wi-Fi radio. For the great majority of EVs on American roads, which still have a J1772 inlet, this is the version to buy, and the missing radio is a feature rather than a loss if you were never going to open the app.

Best portable for winter trips
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for a cold climate

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Widest published temperature range

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, adjustable down to 16A in the app
  • IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure rated -40 to 131 °F — the widest published range of any charger here
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet, with scheduling and access control
  • Autel lists Adaptive Load Management and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing
  • CSA certified and ENERGY STAR certified, with a 3-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • Autel publishes a 70A circuit for full 50A output — more than the 60A a 48A charger needs, and more than many panels can spare
  • Hardwired only at this output; the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 versions are separate 40A models
  • Autel does not publish what sensor hardware Adaptive Load Management needs, so you cannot cost the feature before buying
  • Connectivity adds a failure point a charger with no radio does not have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (70A circuit for 50A); plug-in sold as separate 40A models
Outdoor ratingIP65 / NEMA 4X (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Autel sells this as the MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A. Autel's own US store listing publishes: "Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)" adjustable 16-50A, hardwired with a 70A circuit required for full output, an SAE J1772 connector on a "25 ft. (7.5 m)" cable, "IP65 / NEMA 4X", "-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)" operating temperature, Bluetooth / Wi-Fi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485, "Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", CSA and ENERGY STAR certification, a 3-year warranty and about 15.4 lb with the in-body holster. Autel's product page repeats the NEMA 4X rating and the -40°F to 131°F figure and describes ALM as sharing power between loads in the home, but neither page states what sensor hardware ALM requires or (on the product page) the circuit size for 50A. The 50A unit is hardwired — the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions are separate 40A models, so the install type is chosen at purchase rather than configured on the wall. The listing we link is the hardwired 50A.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best hardwired, with a published cable claim

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Strengths

  • Hardwired, so a plain breaker feeds it and there is no receptacle to wear, overheat or trip a GFCI
  • Leviton publishes its full standards list, including UL 2594, and EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset lists the EV320 by model number
  • NEMA Type 3R enclosure and a cable Leviton says is designed not to freeze and crack, rated -30°C to 50°C
  • Optional RFID access control, switched off out of the box

Trade-offs

  • 18 ft cable, the shortest in our 32A roundup
  • 2-year limited warranty, against 3 to 5 years on the other 32A picks
  • No Wi-Fi or app, so any scheduling has to come from the car
  • Amazon showed 'Only 11 left in stock (more on the way)' when we checked on 18 September 2026
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length18 ft
InstallHardwired (40A breaker)
Outdoor ratingNEMA Type 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty2 years (limited)

Spec note. Leviton publishes: 32A, 208/240 VAC, 7.6 kW output, a 40A breaker, an 18 ft (5.5 m) cable, hardwired only, a PC+PBT plastic NEMA Type 3R enclosure, -30°C to 50°C operation, a 20 mA CCID per UL 2231, certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-1/-2, UL 2251 and others with cETLus, and ENERGY STAR. Its published standards line also includes "OCPP 1.6 Compliant", which is unusual on a charger with no radio. EPA's dataset lists model EV320 (qualified 2022-10-24, 18 ft cord). It has no Wi-Fi; the Wi-Fi sibling is the EV32W. Leviton's own store listed it above the Amazon price when we checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best for a Tesla or any NACS car

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

The same charger with a factory NACS handle instead of a J1772 one — the version to buy if your car has a Tesla-style port and you would rather not leave an adapter hanging off the connector for the next decade. Everything else about it, good and bad, is identical to the J1772 model.

Strengths

  • Native NACS handle — a Tesla, or any NACS-port EV, plugs straight in
  • Identical hardware to the J1772 model: 16–40A adjustable, UL Type 4 metal enclosure, 25 ft cable, Wi-Fi
  • Plug-in on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no electrician beyond the outlet itself
  • 3-year warranty, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C

Trade-offs

  • A non-NACS EV needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, which is not in the box
  • Same missing ENERGY STAR listing as the J1772 model as of 2 September 2026
  • Same forced Wi-Fi, and the same loss of the NEMA 6-50 plug option the Classic offered
  • The Black NACS colorway was unavailable on Amazon when we checked; the White one is the live listing
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Mechanically and electrically the same unit as the J1772 model — United Chargers lists the connector as the only difference, offering the Classic Connect with a “Type 1 (SAE J1772); NACS” output cable across the same four colorways. Same 40A adjustable to 16A, same NEMA 14-50 plug, same 25 ft cord, same UL Type 4 rating and UL/cUL E510712 listing, same Wi-Fi and same 3-year warranty. The ENERGY STAR caveat on the J1772 model applies here too: no Classic Connect row appears in EPA's certified-EVSE database.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best app, range published in the datasheet

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet at up to 40A / 9.6 kW, which is a full overnight charge for almost any EV
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration, backed by ChargePoint's network account
  • UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified and rated NEMA 3R for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a 23 ft cable
  • 3-year parts warranty

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than 48A hardwired units that deliver more power
  • The plug-in model runs only at 32A or 40A; the 16-50A range that made the Home Flex famous is the hardwired model, which Amazon does not currently list
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50); hardwired 50A and NEMA 6-50 sold as separate models
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as three separate models, and the one linked here is the NEMA 14-50 plug-in (part CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23). ChargePoint publishes it for circuits rated 40A or 50A, delivering 32A or 40A respectively (up to 9.6 kW) — its installation FAQ states that all other amperage settings require the hardwired model, which takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches 50A on a 60A breaker. Both are UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified, NEMA 3R rated, carry a 23 ft cable and a 3-year warranty. Use an industrial-grade 14-50 receptacle: the charger is only as safe as the outlet it plugs into.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#6Best portable for winter trips

Grizzl-E Mini 40A Portable (J1772)

The same cast-aluminum Mini with a J1772 handle, and — on the evidence of its own listing — without the Wi-Fi radio. For the great majority of EVs on American roads, which still have a J1772 inlet, this is the version to buy, and the missing radio is a feature rather than a loss if you were never going to open the app.

Strengths

  • J1772 handle, which fits almost every non-Tesla EV and plug-in hybrid sold in North America
  • Same 7A-40A adjustment and the same four plug adapters plus carrying case as the NACS model
  • Same cast-aluminum NEMA 4X enclosure, and Amazon's item weight for this one is 9.8 lb — genuinely portable
  • Its own feature text states the compatibility claim plainly: "Compatible with all EVs and PHEVs sold in North America"
  • No Wi-Fi radio to fail, with local settings, scheduling and consumption tracking still available in range of the charger
  • Sold on Amazon by United Chargers Inc. itself rather than a reseller

Trade-offs

  • This listing's own text publishes 24 ft of cable where the NACS "Connect" listing says 25 ft — a foot less reach for the same money
  • Listed at the same price as the NACS Mini Connect, so you pay the Connect price without getting Wi-Fi
  • Local smart features only: "Can connect within range of charger", so no remote scheduling from indoors
  • 10 AWG cord, per EPA's record for the Mini family — the thinnest in the Grizzl-E line at 40A
  • Neither the title nor the feature text names a warranty term, so the 3-year figure comes from the manufacturer's own site rather than the listing
  • Amazon's part-number field reads only "GRM", so a rebate requiring an ENERGY STAR model number needs confirming with United Chargers
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length24 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50, with four included adapters)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4X cast aluminum (indoor/outdoor)
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes: Level 2 240V / 40A, a NEMA 14-50 plug with NEMA 5-15P, TT-30P, 14-30P and 6-50P adapters, "24 Feet Cable", a heavy-duty cast aluminum NEMA-4X water-resistant enclosure made in Canada, over-current, over-voltage, under-voltage, missing-diode, ground-fault and over-temperature protection with a built-in GFCI and power-outage recovery, "Adjustable amperage 7A-40A", a soft carrying case, and "Local Smart Features … Can connect within range of charger". It does NOT publish a warranty term, an operating-temperature range or a UL file number — those figures come from United Chargers' own Mini page and are cited there, not here. The 24 ft it publishes matches EPA's ENERGY STAR measurement for the Mini family (24 ft, 10 AWG) and contradicts the 25 ft that both the manufacturer's page and the NACS listing carry.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 5, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

What we ranked on, in order

Four criteria, and they are deliberately in this order. The first one eliminates more chargers than the other three combined.

1. A published operating temperature range

This is the whole page. A charger that states “-30 °C to +50 °C” on the manufacturer’s own specification sheet has had that range designed in and tested, and the manufacturer has to honor it. A charger whose page says nothing about temperature may well survive a Vermont winter — but you are buying on hope, and if it dies in January you have no published figure to point at.

The useful thing is how consistent the numbers are among brands that do publish. -22 °F (-30 °C) is the industry’s de facto floor: Grizzl-E, Leviton and ChargePoint all publish it, within a degree. That means for most buyers in most of the Lower 48, any charger with a published range is cold enough, and the decision moves on to the next three criteria. Only one charger here goes meaningfully further.

It also explains something you will notice immediately about the picks: Grizzl-E appears three times.That is not brand loyalty. United Chargers publishes the same -30 °C figure and the same UL Type 4 metal enclosure across its whole line — the plug-in wall unit, the NACS version of it and the portable — so when you filter the market down to what manufacturers will actually put in writing, one line covers three different form factors. We would rather look repetitive than rank a charger whose maker publishes nothing.

2. The enclosure: cast metal beats plastic, and the rating says which

Winter is a freeze-thaw problem more than a cold problem. Water gets in, freezes, expands and then a seal that was fine in October is not fine in March. The enclosure rating is how a manufacturer tells you it thought about that.

NEMA Type 4 and 4Xmean the enclosure is rated against windblown dust, rain, splashing water and hose-directed water — 4X adds corrosion resistance, which matters on a driveway that gets road salt walked onto it all winter. Type 3Ris a lower bar: rain, sleet and snow, but not hose-directed water. Both are genuinely outdoor ratings. The practical difference in a cold climate is usually the material rather than the digits — a cast aluminum shell has no plastic to go brittle and no plastic seam to open up, and three of the six picks here are metal.

3. The cable, which is what actually annoys you

Ask anyone who charges outdoors in a real winter what they hate and they will not say the charger failed. They will say the cable turned into a garden hose left out in January — stiff, coiled in the shape it froze in, and unwilling to reach the charge port. This is the single most under-published specification in the category. Leviton is one of very few brands to make a claim about it directly, which is why it is pick three — though its cable is also the shortest here, which our Leviton EV320 review is blunt about.

Length interacts with this. A 25 ft cable gives you slack to work with when it is stiff; an 18 ft cable that only just reached in summer may not reach at all once it stops bending. If your charger will live outdoors or in an unheated garage, buy more cable than you think you need — see our long-cable roundup for the full range.

4. Hardwired, if the choice is yours

A plug-in charger adds a NEMA 14-50 receptacle to the circuit, and a receptacle outdoors is one more place for water to sit and freeze. There is a code dimension too: NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- to 250-volt garage receptacles and NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging, and a charger’s own ground-fault protection can conflict with an external GFCI breaker — the nuisance-tripping complaint. A hardwired charger is not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement at all. Our plug-in versus hardwired guideworks through the trade-off properly, and if you do go plug-in, the receptacle grade is worth real money — see NEMA 14-50 outlets.

We did not rank hardwired above plug-in outright, because for most people the plug-in unit is the one that actually gets installed this month rather than next spring, and an installed 40-amp charger beats a hardwired 48-amp charger still in its box. Pick one is plug-in for exactly that reason.

The published temperature ranges, side by side

Every figure here is the manufacturer’s own, read from its own page or datasheet. Where a row says “Not published” it means we looked and the manufacturer does not state it — not that the charger is unsuitable.

ChargerPublished operating rangeEnclosureCable
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A-30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F)UL Type 4, metal25 ft
Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)IP65 / NEMA 4X25 ft
Leviton EV320-30 °C to 50 °CNEMA Type 3R, PC+PBT plastic18 ft, “designed not to freeze and crack”
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)-30 °C to +50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F)UL Type 4, metal25 ft
ChargePoint Home Flex-30 °C to 50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F)Type 3R per UL 50E23 ft
Grizzl-E Level 2 Portable 40A-30 °C to +50 °CNEMA 4X, cast aluminum24 ft on the listing

Two notes on reading that table. ChargePoint’s figure is in its Home Flex datasheet rather than on the product page — the datasheet also publishes a storagerange of -40 °C to 60 °C, so the charger can sit through a harder winter than it can work through. That is the pattern across this whole category: the honest number is in the datasheet or the installation manual, almost never on the page that is trying to sell you the charger. The second note is that these are ambient ratings for the enclosure, not promises about charging speed. None of them says anything about how fast your car will take current at that temperature, because none of them can.

The 70-amp footnote on pick two

The Autel has the best cold-weather specification here by a wide margin, and we have still not made it pick one. The reason is a single line on Autel’s own store page: full 50-amp output needs a 70-amp circuit.

That is worth pausing on, because it is not the number the usual arithmetic gives you. A continuous load is sized at 125% of its draw, so 50 A × 1.25 = 62.5 A, and the next standard breaker above that is 70 A. Most buyers reading “50 amps” assume the 60-amp circuit that a 48-amp charger needs. A 70-amp feed is a materially bigger ask of a panel, and on a 100- or 125-amp service it is frequently the thing that makes the project a service upgrade instead of an afternoon. Autel is being straight with you by publishing it; we are repeating it because almost nobody else does.

You can dial the Autel down — Autel publishes 16 A to 50 A adjustable — and a 40-amp setting on a 50-amp circuit gets you the -40 °F enclosure without the panel work. That is a perfectly sensible way to buy it, and it is the configuration we would choose. Our 40A versus 48A page and 100-amp panel roundup cover the panel side, and Autel vs ChargePoint Home Flex works the 70-amp question against the charger that needs no new circuit at all.

Wi-Fi in an unheated garage

One winter failure mode nobody puts on a spec sheet: the charger is fine and the network is not. A cloud-dependent charger in a detached garage at the edge of your Wi-Fi is a charger that occasionally will not start a scheduled session, and cold weather is exactly when you want the overnight schedule to just work.

Two defenses, both cheap. First, prefer a charger that will charge with no network at all once set — all six picks here will, and pick three has no radio to begin with. Second, do your scheduling in the carrather than in the charger’s app. Every EV sold in the US can schedule departure or charging windows itself, and the car always knows its own state of charge. Our no-Wi-Fi roundup makes that argument at length, and our troubleshooting guide starts in the same place.

Preconditioning does more than any charger on this page

If you take one piece of buying advice from here, it is this: the cheapest winter charging upgrade is not a charger. It is plugging in while the car is still warm from driving, and using the car’s own scheduled-departure feature so it heats the pack on your electricity rather than on the pack’s own.

A cold pack refuses current; a preconditioned pack accepts it. That single habit will do more for your February charging than the difference between a -22 °F charger and a -40 °F one, and it costs nothing. The charger’s job is to be available, reliably, every night, for years — which is precisely why we weighted published ratings and enclosure material over amperage on this page.

What we left out, and why

  • Every charger with no published temperature range.That includes units we recommend warmly elsewhere on this site — the EVIQO J1772 wall chargers among them, whose listings publish amperage and connector but state no enclosure rating or operating range at all. They are not bad chargers. They just cannot be ranked on the one criterion this page is about.
  • The EVPOVO 32A,which came closer than any unit we left out. Its listing publishes a 25 ft TPU cable the seller says stays flexible down to -22 °F — the cable claim we said is the most under-published figure in the category — but no operating range for the charger itself. If cable stiffness is your specific complaint and 32 amps is enough, it is worth a look on our 32-amp roundup.
  • The Emporia Pro,which is our top pick on several other pages. Emporia publishes a NEMA 4 enclosure, which is a genuine outdoor rating, but we could not find a published operating temperature range for it. For a cold-climate page that is a disqualifying gap rather than a mark against the hardware — see our Emporia Pro review for what it is good at.
  • The Tesla Wall Connector,which would otherwise be the obvious pick for a Tesla. Tesla’s Gen 3 Wall Connector installation manual — the document we cite for its 48-amp output and its blunt “do NOT install cord-and-plug type connections” instruction — publishes no ambient temperature range. The Universal Wall Connector’s material does publish -22 °F to 122 °F, but that listing returned no live price when we checked for this page, and we do not feature a product we cannot show you a real price for. Pick four is a plug-in NACS charger with the figure published instead; if you want Tesla’s own box, our Wall Connector review covers it on its merits.
  • Heated or heated-cable chargers. There is no mainstream residential Level 2 charger in the US with a heated cable. If you see one claimed, check whose specification sheet the claim is on.
  • Enclosures and covers as a substitute.A weatherproof box over a charger that is already Type 4 rated buys you very little; over a charger with no published rating it buys you a guess inside a box. Where a cover genuinely helps is sun and sleet on a wall with no eave — see charger covers.

The short answer

For almost everybody in almost every US climate: buy a charger with a published operating range, prefer metal over plastic, buy 25 ft of cable rather than 18, and hardwire it if the choice is yours. Pick one does all four at the lowest price on this page, which is why it leads. Pick two is the one to buy if you are genuinely in interior Alaska or northern Minnesota and your panel can take the circuit. Then go and set up scheduled departure in the car, which will help more than either.

One buying note. Several of these brands sell direct as well as on Amazon and the prices are not always the same — Autel’s own store was running the AC Elite below the Amazon price when we checked. We earn a commission on the links here and nothing on the direct ones, and we would still rather you paid less. Check both.

Frequently asked questions

Does cold weather damage an EV charger?

Not within its published operating range. Every pick on this page is published by its manufacturer to work at -22°F or colder, and the Autel MaxiCharger is published to -40°F. The risk in a cold climate is less about cold itself than freeze-thaw cycling — water getting into a seam, freezing and expanding — which is what the enclosure rating addresses. A charger with no published temperature range is the one to be cautious about, because you have no manufacturer figure to rely on.

Will a better charger make my EV charge faster in winter?

No. Cold slows the car, not the charger. A lithium-ion pack below freezing has to be warmed before it will accept full current, and the car's battery-management system controls that — the charger offers amps and the car takes what it will take. The fix is preconditioning: plug in while the car is still warm from driving, and use the car's scheduled-departure feature so it heats the pack before you leave.

What temperature are EV chargers rated to?

Among brands that publish a figure, -22°F (-30°C) is the de facto floor: Grizzl-E, Leviton and ChargePoint all publish it within a degree. Autel publishes the widest range we found, -40°F to 131°F. A large share of chargers sold in the US publish no operating temperature range at all — Tesla's Gen 3 Wall Connector installation manual does not state one — which is the single most useful thing to check before buying for a cold climate.

Should I hardwire my charger in a cold climate?

If the choice is yours, yes. A plug-in charger adds an outdoor receptacle, which is another place for water to sit and freeze, and receptacles installed for EV charging require GFCI protection under NEC 625.54 — protection that can conflict with the charger's own ground-fault detection and cause nuisance trips. Hardwired chargers are not subject to that receptacle requirement. That said, an installed plug-in charger beats a hardwired one you have not scheduled an electrician for.

Does the charging cable get stiff in the cold?

Yes, and it is the complaint most owners in cold climates actually have. Very few manufacturers publish a cable cold-flexibility figure; Leviton is one of the few to state that the EV320's cable is designed not to freeze and crack. Buying extra cable length helps regardless, because a stiff 25 ft cable still reaches where a stiff 18 ft one may not.

Can I put my EV charger outside in the winter?

If the manufacturer publishes an outdoor enclosure rating, yes. NEMA Type 4 and 4X are rated against windblown dust, rain, splashing and hose-directed water, with 4X adding corrosion resistance — useful where road salt gets tracked around. Type 3R covers rain, sleet and snow but not hose-directed water. All six picks here carry a published outdoor rating; a charger with no rating published should go indoors.

Is a cast metal charger better than a plastic one for winter?

It is the safer buy, though the published rating matters more than the material. A cast aluminum shell has no plastic to go brittle over years of freeze-thaw and no plastic seam to open up. That said, Leviton publishes the same -30°C figure for a PC+PBT plastic enclosure, so a plastic charger with a published range beats a metal one without.

Sources

  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A — The maker's own specification block: "Adjustable current 40A - 16A", "Max power 40A 10kW", "Plug type NEMA 14-50", "Connector Type 1 (SAE J1772); NACS", "Output cable length 25ft (7.6m)", a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure with "UL Type 4 Indoor/Outdoor Rating", "Operating temperature -30C .. +50C (-22F .. 122F)", "Certifications UL/cUL E510712", "Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Mobile Application", and a 3-year or 5-year warranty choice. The description calls it "made-in-Canada"; the formal country-of-origin field is blank (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Autel Energy (official store) — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A 12 kW EV Charger — Autel's own US store listing: "Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)" adjustable 16-50 A, hardwired, and a 70 A circuit required for full output; an SAE J1772 connector on a "25 ft. (7.5 m)" cable; "IP65 / NEMA 4X"; "-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)" operating temperature; "Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485"; "Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)"; CSA and ENERGY STAR certified; "3 years warranty"; about 15.4 lb with the in-body holster (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite (product page) — Autel's own product page: a "NEMA 4X protection rating", charging at full power from "-40°F to 131°F", up to a maximum of 50 A, and "Adaptive Load Management shares power between loads in the home, so you can charge and do your laundry at the same time." It does NOT state what sensor hardware Adaptive Load Management requires, and it does not state the circuit size needed for 50 A output (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Leviton — EV320 32 A Level 2 Charging Station (specifications tab) — Leviton's published specification list, read in full on this date: 32 A, 208/240 VAC, "7.6kW Output", a 40 A breaker, an "18 ft. (5.5 m)" cable, "HARDWIRED ONLY", a "Plastic (PC+PBT)" enclosure at "NEMA Type 3R", -30 °C to 50 °C operation, a "20 mA CCID per UL 2231", "Optional access control; station comes with RFID disabled", "Energy Star Certified", a "2-Year Limited" warranty, and a standards line reading "UL2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 2251, UL 62, UL 991, UL 1998, NFPA 70 Article 625, UL840, CSA Std. C22.2#280, OCPP 1.6 Compliant, cETLus". The Wi-Fi sibling is named as the EV32W; no price is listed on the page (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Tesla Energy Library — Gen 3 Wall Connector Manual, 48A Single Phase (part number 1457768) — The standard (NACS-handle) Wall Connector: 12-48A output, 60A breaker for 48A, "Do NOT install cord-and-plug type connections", 13.6 x 6.1 x 4.3 in, 10 lb with wirebox, and the safety caution "No adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used" (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex (CPH50) datasheet — ChargePoint's own datasheet: a "Station Enclosure Rating Type 3R per UL 50E", an operating ambient of -30 °C to 50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F), storage from -40 °C to 60 °C, operating humidity to 95% at 50 °C non-condensing, a 23 ft (7010.4 mm) cable, and UL and cUL listing to UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2 with NEC Article 625 compliance (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Mini Connect 40A — The maker's own page for the Mini: "Adjustable current 7A-40A", AC Level 2, "40A 9.6kW" in the headline against "40A 10kW" in the technical block, a NEMA 14-50 plug "(includes 4 adapters)", a 25 ft (7.6 m) cable, a J1772 or NACS connector option, an aluminum enclosure with a Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, −30 °C to +50 °C, Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with a mobile application, UL file E510712, a 3-year or 5-year warranty, and a 9.00 kg / 19.84 lb shipping weight on a 6.9 × 3.1 × 2.4 in enclosure (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • Qmerit — NEMA 14-50 and GFCI Protection for EV Chargers (May 1, 2026) — An installer network's explanation: NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- through 250-volt garage receptacles, NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging, the charger's own ground-fault protection can conflict with an external GFCI, and hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment, AC-Output (dataset 5jwe-c8xm) — EPA's machine-readable list of certified chargers. It carries both Tesla wall units, each qualified 2023-09-18 at 48A / 11.52 kW: model 1457768 under brand "Tesla" and model 1734412 under brand "Universal Wall Connector", both with a 22 ft cord on the record (accessed September 16, 2026)

Keep reading