Amp & Adapter

Best Outdoor Home EV Chargers

The Level 2 chargers actually rated to live on an exterior wall — with the NEMA and IP numbers decoded, and the cold-weather cable problem nobody mentions until January.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

If your charger is going on a driveway wall, a carport post or the outside of a detached garage, the enclosure rating stops being a spec-sheet curiosity and becomes the whole decision. Every unit on this page publishes a real outdoor rating from a recognized scheme — and we have left off several popular chargers, including some we recommend elsewhere, precisely because their listings do not.

Here is what the numbers mean, because the marketing uses them interchangeably and they are not the same. NEMA 3R is the entry point for outdoor use: protected against falling rain, sleet and snow. It is genuinely fine under an eave or a soffit. NEMA 4 adds protection against windblown dust and splashing and hose-directed water— that is the one you want on an exposed wall that catches driving rain or sits near where you wash the car. NEMA 4X adds corrosion resistance, which matters near the coast or anywhere roads get salted. IP66 is the international equivalent of roughly NEMA 4: dust-tight, protected against powerful water jets.

We ranked on the rating first, then on the two things that actually go wrong outdoors: the published temperature range, and how the cable behaves when it is cold. A stiff cable in a warm showroom is a stiff cable you cannot coil at 10°F. As always, we have not bench-tested these units — everything below is read from published specifications on the date shown under each pick, and unpublished figures read “Not published” rather than being filled in.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most. The one to look at if you want ChargePoint-grade features and outdoor toughness but want to compare on price.

Best overall for outdoors
$450.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0025% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Best value NEMA 4
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO NACS Level 2 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

EVIQO NACS Level 2 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The plug-in answer. If you already have (or are getting) a NEMA 14-50 outlet, this is a fully-featured 40A NACS charger you install yourself in minutes — and 40A is all the overnight charging almost anyone needs.

Best sealed plug-in
$399.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0022% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Best under cover
$456.74 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Most compact
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for outdoors

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most. The one to look at if you want ChargePoint-grade features and outdoor toughness but want to compare on price.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, dial-adjustable to smaller circuits
  • Wi-Fi + Bluetooth, scheduling and access control
  • Solid outdoor build, NEMA 4 rating

Trade-offs

  • Full 50A needs a 60A circuit and hardwiring
  • App occasionally needs a reconnect — connectivity adds a failure point a dumb charger doesn't have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50) or hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Sold in 40A and 50A versions; the 50A is the one worth buying if your panel supports a 60A circuit. Long 25 ft cable reaches across a two-car garage.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best value NEMA 4

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW on a 60A circuit — near the top of home output
  • Load management and scheduling in the app, at a budget price
  • Plug-in or hardwired, NEMA 4 outdoor-rated

Trade-offs

  • 48A requires a 60A circuit, which not every panel has room for
  • Newer brand than ChargePoint or Wallbox, with a shorter track record
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50), convertible to hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which limits it to 40A; to pull the full 48A an electrician hardwires it on a 60A breaker. Pairs with Emporia's energy monitor for whole-home load management. Emporia now markets this unit as the Emporia Classic on its own store; the Amazon listing still uses the original name.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best sealed plug-in

EVIQO NACS Level 2 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The plug-in answer. If you already have (or are getting) a NEMA 14-50 outlet, this is a fully-featured 40A NACS charger you install yourself in minutes — and 40A is all the overnight charging almost anyone needs.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet — no hardwiring, and it comes with you if you move
  • IP66 / NEMA 4 sealed and rated from -22°F to 122°F, so an outdoor wall is fine
  • Amperage is app-adjustable from 6A to 40A, which matters on a shared or older panel

Trade-offs

  • 40A is the ceiling — there is no path to 48A the way there is with the Emporia
  • Smallest brand here; support and long-term firmware are the open question
  • Non-Tesla EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, which is not in the box
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingIP66 / NEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR certified. EVIQO publishes roughly 38 miles of range per hour at 40A, a 25 ft charging cable and a 37 in input cable. A 40A charger needs a 50A circuit under the 80% rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best under cover

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Strengths

  • Amperage is dial-set from 16A to 50A, so it matches whatever circuit your electrician can give you
  • Sold hardwired or with a NEMA 14-50 / 6-50 plug, so there is a version for the install you want
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than a bare-bones 40A unit that does the same core job
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallHardwired (plug-in 14-50 / 6-50 sold as separate models)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as separate hardwired and plug-in models, so pick the install before you buy. The hardwired version — the one linked here — takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches the full 50A, which needs a 60A breaker at full output (the continuous-load 80% rule). The NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 plug-in versions are capped at 40A / 9.6 kW, which is plenty for overnight charging.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Most compact

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Strengths

  • Up to 48A / 11.5 kW in the smallest housing in its class
  • Power Boost and Power Sharing for multi-car or limited-panel homes
  • App scheduling and energy metering

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only for the 48A version — no plug option at full output
  • The compact body runs the cable management tighter than a bigger box
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (48A) or plug-in (40A)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. The 40A plug-in variant exists, but the 48A model is hardwired on a 60A circuit. Power Sharing lets two Pulsar Plus units split one circuit — the cleanest answer to charging two EVs without a panel upgrade.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

How to choose an outdoor charger

Start by being honest about the wall. There is a large practical difference between “outdoors” meaning a sheltered spot under a deep eave and “outdoors” meaning a south-facing wall that takes horizontal rain every winter. The first is comfortably NEMA 3R territory, and the ChargePoint Home Flex— a charger we recommend broadly for its 16–50A amperage dial — is a perfectly sound choice there, as is the compact Wallbox Pulsar Plus. The second wants NEMA 4 or better, which is where the Autel, the Emporia and the sealed EVIQO come in.

If you are anywhere near salt — coastal air or salted winter roads — look specifically for the X suffix. NEMA 4X adds corrosion resistance that plain NEMA 4 does not have, and corrosion is the failure mode that quietly kills outdoor electrical equipment years after the water ingress question has been settled.

The cold-cable problem

This is the complaint that shows up every January and almost never appears in a buying guide. EVSE cables are thick, heavily insulated and full of copper, and most of them stiffen dramatically below freezing. A cable that coils neatly in a 70°F garage can behave like steel rope at 10°F, which makes plugging in a genuine two-handed wrestling match and puts strain on the connector and the port.

Two things help. First, check whether the manufacturer publishes a cabletemperature rating rather than only a unit operating range — they are different specs and the cable is usually the limiting one. Second, mount the charger so the cable hangs in a natural loop rather than being coiled tightly; a proper cable hookcosts a few dollars and stops the cable from taking a permanent set in the cold. Several manufacturers sell a cold-weather cable variant of the same charger — if you live somewhere with real winters, it is worth checking whether the model you want offers one.

Mounting, conduit and the drip loop

An outdoor install has requirements a garage install does not, and they are the electrician’s domain rather than yours. Outdoor-rated conduit, a weatherproof disconnect where your jurisdiction requires one, and a drip loopso water runs off the cable rather than down into the enclosure are all standard practice. If you are plugging into an outdoor NEMA 14-50 receptacle rather than hardwiring, that receptacle needs a weatherproof in-use cover — the kind that closes over the plug while it is inserted, not just over an empty socket.

Hardwiring is generally the better outdoor answer where you can afford it, simply because it removes the receptacle as a point where water and corrosion can get in. Our plug-in vs hardwired guide walks the full comparison, and the installation guide covers what to expect from the job.

Direct sun, and the spec nobody publishes

Enclosure ratings cover water and dust. They say nothing about ultraviolet exposure or heat soak, and a charger on a west-facing wall in Arizona lives a different life from the same charger in Oregon. Most manufacturers publish an operating temperature range; comparatively few publish anything about UV stability of the housing. Where a figure is not published, our spec tables say so. If you have a genuinely brutal sun exposure, a small purpose-made hood or simply choosing a shaded wall does more for the charger’s lifespan than any rating on the box.

What an outdoor rating does not buy you

It does not make the charger faster, and it does not change the circuit math. A NEMA 4 40A charger still needs a 50A breaker under the 80% continuous-load rule, and a 48A unit still needs 60A — see our amps and circuits guide. It also does not make the unit theft-proof or vandal-proof; if the charger is on a street-facing wall, a lockable holster and a cable lock are worth more than another notch of ingress protection.

And it does not mean you should skip the rest of the buying decision. If two chargers both carry NEMA 4, the choice comes back to amperage, install type, cable length and whether you want an app — exactly the criteria in our main home charger roundup. The rating is a filter, not a ranking.

Frequently asked questions

What NEMA rating do I need for an outdoor EV charger?

NEMA 3R is adequate under an eave or other shelter — it protects against falling rain, sleet and snow. For an exposed wall, look for NEMA 4, which adds protection against windblown dust and splashing or hose-directed water. Near the coast or on salted roads, look for NEMA 4X, which adds corrosion resistance. IP66 is roughly equivalent to NEMA 4.

Can I leave an EV charger outside in winter?

Yes, if it carries an outdoor rating and you install it to code. The practical winter issue is not the electronics but the cable, which stiffens considerably in the cold and can be awkward to handle. Check the published temperature range, mount the charger so the cable hangs in a loop rather than a tight coil, and consider a cold-weather cable variant if the manufacturer offers one.

Is an outdoor charger different from an indoor one?

Usually the same electronics in a better-sealed enclosure, sometimes with a wider published temperature range and a more flexible cable. The rating is what you are paying for. Many chargers sold for garages are already NEMA 3R or better — check the specification rather than assuming.

Should I hardwire an outdoor charger instead of plugging it in?

Where the budget allows, yes. Hardwiring removes the receptacle, which is the most likely place for water and corrosion to cause trouble outdoors. If you do plug in, the outlet needs a weatherproof in-use cover that closes over the plug while it is inserted, and an industrial-grade receptacle rather than a hardware-store one.

Does an outdoor charger need a hood or cover?

Not for water ingress if it is properly rated. A hood mainly helps with direct sun and heat soak, which enclosure ratings do not address at all. If you have a choice of walls, a shaded one does more for the unit's lifespan than any accessory.

Sources

Keep reading