Amp & Adapter

Best 40A Home EV Chargers

The amperage almost everyone should actually buy: a full overnight charge, a 50A circuit most panels can spare, and no hardwiring bill.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Forty amps is the answer to a question most buyers ask backwards. They start with “what is the fastest home charger?” and end up looking at 48A and 50A units, when the question that actually determines the bill is “what circuit can my panel give me?”A 40A charger runs on a 50A circuit. A 48A charger needs a 60A circuit. That one step up is frequently the difference between an afternoon’s work for an electrician and a service upgrade costing more than the car’s first two years of fuel savings.

And here is what you give up by staying at 40A: roughly eight miles of range per hour. A 40A charger delivers about 9.6 kW, which is around 30 miles of range per hour for a typical EV — so over a ten-hour overnight window, about 300 miles. A 48A charger delivers about 11.5 kW, or roughly 38 miles per hour, so about 380 miles overnight. Unless you are regularly arriving home near empty and leaving before dawn with a full battery required, both numbers are simply “full by morning”.

That is why 40A is the amperage we recommend to most people, and why this page exists separately from the 48A roundup. We ranked these five on certification first, then cable length, then whether the unit is a permanent wall station or a portable that can double as one. Everything is read from the manufacturer’s or seller’s published figures on the date shown under each pick; unpublished figures read “Not published” rather than being guessed.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Best overall 40A
$395.98 · View on Amazon

$469.9916% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
EVPOVO Level 2 Wall Charger (40A, 25 ft)

EVPOVO Level 2 Wall Charger (40A, 25 ft)

A wall-mounted 40A charger with a published 25 ft cable, at a price that normally buys a portable unit. Cable length is the spec most budget chargers quietly shorten, so a unit that publishes 25 ft at this price is worth a look — with the usual small-brand caveats.

Best long cable for the money
$243.19 · View on Amazon

$255.995% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger (40A, NEMA 14-50)

ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger (40A, NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest way we found to get a genuinely ETL-certified 40A charger with a long cable. It is a plain plug-in unit with no app and no frills, which is exactly why it undercuts the name brands — buy it if the budget is the binding constraint and you already have a 14-50 outlet.

Cheapest certified 40A
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Best dual-purpose
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

A strong-value alternative to the Lectron portable: 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 plug, usually with adjustable amperage and a clear display. If the Lectron is out of stock or pricier on the day, this is the like-for-like swap.

Best sealed connector
$199.98 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall 40A

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW is the amperage sweet spot — a full overnight charge for any car on the road
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so there is no hardwiring and it comes with you if you move
  • Purpose-built wall-mounted station, not a portable unit hung on a bracket

Trade-offs

  • 40A is the ceiling — there is no upgrade path to 48A the way the Emporia has
  • EVIQO is a young brand; long-term firmware and support are the open question
  • The listing does not publish an enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, 240V, a J1772 connector and a NEMA 14-50 plug on a wall-mounted station. It does not publish a cable length, enclosure rating or warranty term in the title, so those read as not published here. A 40A charger requires a 50A circuit under the 80% continuous-load rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best long cable for the money

EVPOVO Level 2 Wall Charger (40A, 25 ft)

A wall-mounted 40A charger with a published 25 ft cable, at a price that normally buys a portable unit. Cable length is the spec most budget chargers quietly shorten, so a unit that publishes 25 ft at this price is worth a look — with the usual small-brand caveats.

Strengths

  • 25 ft cable is published up front — enough to reach a charge port on the far side of the car
  • 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, so no hardwiring is required
  • Wall-mounted design at a price closer to the portable units

Trade-offs

  • EVPOVO is a small brand with essentially no service track record
  • The listing does not name a certification body, an enclosure rating or a warranty
  • No app or scheduling — if your utility has time-of-use rates, check the car can schedule instead
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, a J1772 connector, a NEMA 14-50 plug, wall-mounted construction and a 25 ft cable. It does not name a certification body, an enclosure rating or a warranty term, so those read as not published. Verify the certification on the listing page before buying — it is the one spec we would not trade away.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Cheapest certified 40A

ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger (40A, NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest way we found to get a genuinely ETL-certified 40A charger with a long cable. It is a plain plug-in unit with no app and no frills, which is exactly why it undercuts the name brands — buy it if the budget is the binding constraint and you already have a 14-50 outlet.

Strengths

  • ETL certified at 40A — the safety listing is the one thing you should never cut
  • 25 ft cable is longer than several units costing considerably more
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so there is no electrician bill for the charger itself

Trade-offs

  • No app, no scheduling — if you need off-peak automation, look at the Emporia
  • ELEGRP is a fixtures brand rather than an EV specialist; long-term support is the open question
  • The listing does not publish an outdoor enclosure rating, so treat it as a garage unit
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, 240V, an ETL certification, a NEMA 14-50 plug and a 25 ft cable. It does not publish a NEMA/IP enclosure rating or a warranty term, so both read as not published here. A 40A charger requires a 50A circuit under the 80% rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best dual-purpose

Lectron 40A Portable Level 1/2 Charger

The best all-round portable: a real 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a Level 1 adapter for a standard outlet. For many people this is all the home charger they need, and it comes with you on trips.

Strengths

  • True 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 outlet — same overnight speed as a wall unit
  • Includes a 120V adapter to fall back to any standard outlet
  • Packs in the trunk for road trips and destination charging

Trade-offs

  • Needs a 14-50 outlet installed to hit full speed at home
  • No wall bracket or scheduling — it's a cable, not a smart charger
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length21 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50 + 5-15 adapter)
Outdoor ratingIP66 connector
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Adjustable amperage on some units lets you dial it down for a weaker outlet. On a standard 120V outlet it drops to Level 1 speed (a few miles of range per hour), which is the physics of the outlet, not the charger.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best sealed connector

EVDANCE 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

A strong-value alternative to the Lectron portable: 40A Level 2 on a 14-50 plug, usually with adjustable amperage and a clear display. If the Lectron is out of stock or pricier on the day, this is the like-for-like swap.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW Level 2 at a competitive price
  • Adjustable current and a readable display on most models
  • Often bundled with plug adapters

Trade-offs

  • Brand track record is shorter than the established names
  • Same 14-50-outlet requirement to reach full speed
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50, adapters vary)
Outdoor ratingIP67 connector
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Configurations and included adapters vary by listing — check the plug type and stated amperage on the exact unit before buying.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Why 40A is the sweet spot

The arithmetic behind the recommendation is simple and worth doing yourself. Under the National Electrical Code, a continuous load may draw no more than 80% of its circuit’s rating — and EV charging is the textbook continuous load. So a 50A circuit permits a 40A charger, and a 60A circuit permits 48A. Our amps and circuits guide works through this in full.

The reason that 80% rule matters so much to your wallet is that 50A circuits are ordinary and 60A circuits often are not. A 50A branch is the same size circuit an electric range or an RV outlet uses; many panels have room for one, and the parts are commodity. Sixty amps is where panels start running out of space and where the conversation turns to a service upgrade. Our installation cost guide breaks down what actually drives the quote.

The other 40A advantage: the plug

A 40A charger can run on a NEMA 14-50 receptacle. A 48A charger cannot — at that output it must be hardwired. That difference is worth more than the eight miles per hour you gave up:

  • You can take it with you. A plug-in charger unplugs when you move. A hardwired one stays with the house.
  • A failed unit is a swap, not a service call. Unplug the dead one, plug in the replacement.
  • You can install the charger yourself.The circuit and outlet are absolutely an electrician’s job. Hanging the charger on the wall and plugging it in is not.

The trade-off is that the receptacle becomes a component that can fail, and cheap ones genuinely do — a continuous 40A draw is far harder on a 14-50 outlet than the oven it was designed for. Do not put a bargain-bin receptacle behind a 40A charger; our NEMA 14-50 outlet guide shows what separates an industrial-grade one. The whole plug-versus-hardwire question is covered in plug-in vs hardwired.

How we ranked these five

The EVIQO J1772 40A leadsbecause it is a purpose-built wall-mounted station that still runs on a plug — the combination most buyers actually want and few products deliver. It is a young brand, which is the honest caveat, and the listing publishes less than the established names do. Our full EVIQO review goes into what it does and does not tell you.

The EVPOVO is here for one specification: a published 25 ft cable at a price closer to a portable unit. Cable length is the most common regret in this category, because a 16 ft cord that cannot reach a charge port on the far side of the car makes the entire install useless. Measure the actual path — down the wall, across the floor, around the car — before you buy anything. The caveat is that this listing does not name a certification body, so check that on the page before ordering.

The ELEGRP is the price floor with a real certification. ETL listed, 25 ft cable, no app, no frills. If the budget is the binding constraint and you already have a 14-50 outlet, this is where the list bottoms out honestly. Read the ELEGRP review for where the money was saved.

The Lectron and EVDANCE portables are on a home-charger page deliberately.A 40A portable plugged into a NEMA 14-50 does precisely what a wall-mounted 40A charger does — it is simply not bolted down, and it packs into the trunk when you travel. For a renter, or anyone who wants one device covering home and away, that is better value than a fixed box. The EVDANCE earns its spot on a sealed IP67-rated connector, which matters more on a unit that gets carried around. Our portable roundup covers the category properly.

When 40A is the wrong answer

Two situations genuinely justify going higher. The first is a large-battery vehicle on a short charging window— a truck with a 130 kWh pack, plugged in at midnight and needed full at 6am, is a real case for 48A. The second is two EVs on one charger, where the extra throughput compresses the nightly queue. Both are covered in the 48A and 50A roundup.

Going loweralso has legitimate cases. If your panel can only spare a 30A or 40A circuit, a charger that dials down — like the ChargePoint Home Flex, which configures from 16A — is worth more to you than a fixed-40A unit you cannot legally run at full output. And if you drive fewer than about 40 miles a day, Level 1 charging from an ordinary socket genuinely covers it; our Level 1 roundup makes that case honestly.

The one thing not to compromise

Buy nothing that will not name its certification body in plain text. UL and ETL listings both mean an independent lab tested the unit. A listing that says only “certified” or nothing at all means nobody you can name has checked a device that pulls 40 amps continuously for hours, unattended, on a wall in your house. The EPA’s ENERGY STAR program publishes a searchable list of certified EV chargers and cross-checking a model against it takes under a minute.

Frequently asked questions

What size circuit does a 40A EV charger need?

A 50A circuit. EV charging counts as a continuous load, so the National Electrical Code limits the draw to 80% of the circuit rating — 80% of 50A is 40A. That circuit is also what a NEMA 14-50 receptacle sits on, which is why 40A and the 14-50 plug go together.

How much range does a 40A charger add per hour?

About 30 miles per hour for a typical EV, from roughly 9.6 kW of output. Over a ten-hour overnight window that is around 300 miles — more than almost anyone drives in a day. Your exact figure depends on your car's efficiency; our cost-to-charge guide has the math.

Is 40A enough, or should I get 48A?

For the vast majority of drivers, 40A is enough and 48A is headroom you will never notice. The exceptions are a very large battery on a short charging window, or two EVs sharing one charger. The real cost of 48A is not the charger — it is the 60A circuit it requires, which many panels cannot spare without an upgrade.

Can I install a 40A charger myself?

You can mount a plug-in unit and plug it in. The 240V circuit and the NEMA 14-50 receptacle behind it must be installed by a licensed electrician to code, and any hardwired charger is entirely an electrician's job. Nothing on this site is electrical advice.

Do I need a special outlet for a 40A charger?

Yes — a NEMA 14-50, and specifically an industrial-grade one. Cheap residential 14-50 receptacles are built for appliances that cycle on and off, not for a car drawing 40A continuously for ten hours, and melted outlets are a documented failure mode. It is the cheapest place on the whole install not to save money.

Sources

Keep reading