Amp & Adapter

Best Home EV Chargers for a Rivian R1T or R1S

A big battery is the one case where paying for amperage genuinely pays back — the arithmetic that proves it, and the four chargers that can actually deliver.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

We spend most of this site talking buyers down from high-amperage chargers, because for most cars the extra amps are money spent on a number that never gets used. A Rivian is the exception, and it is worth understanding exactly why rather than just taking the conclusion.

The overnight charging window is roughly fixed — call it ten hours between arriving home and leaving. What varies is how much energy has to move into the pack in that window. A commuter EV with a modest battery replaces a day’s driving in a couple of hours at almost any amperage. An R1T or R1S carries one of the largest batteries sold in a consumer vehicle, and a truck that has actually been used as a truck — towing, roof rack, off-road, four adults — can arrive home genuinely empty.

That is the whole argument. Refilling a large pack from a low state of charge is the one scenario where the difference between 9.6 kW and 11.5 kW is the difference between full by morning and not. Below: the arithmetic so you can check it against your own driving, the circuit that a high-amperage charger really demands, and the four units we would put on the wall.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Best overall
2
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Best for outdoor installs
$529.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Best app (40A plug-in)
$599.00 · View on Amazon

$657.999% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (48A, Hardwired)

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (48A, Hardwired)

The step up for a panel that can genuinely feed a 60A circuit: 48A hardwired, at a price that undercuts the premium names by a wide margin. It is only the right buy if an electrician has already told you the circuit is available — otherwise you are paying for amps you cannot use.

Cheapest 48A
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW on a 60A circuit — near the top of home output
  • Load management and scheduling in the app, at a budget price
  • Plug-in or hardwired, NEMA 4 outdoor-rated

Trade-offs

  • 48A requires a 60A circuit, which not every panel has room for
  • Newer brand than ChargePoint or Wallbox, with a shorter track record
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50), convertible to hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which limits it to 40A; to pull the full 48A an electrician hardwires it on a 60A breaker. Pairs with Emporia's energy monitor for whole-home load management. Emporia now markets this unit as the Emporia Classic on its own store; the Amazon listing still uses the original name.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best for outdoor installs

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, adjustable down to 16A in the app
  • IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure rated -40 to 131 °F — the widest published range of any charger here
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet, with scheduling and access control
  • Autel lists Adaptive Load Management and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing
  • CSA certified and ENERGY STAR certified, with a 3-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • Autel publishes a 70A circuit for full 50A output — more than the 60A a 48A charger needs, and more than many panels can spare
  • Hardwired only at this output; the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 versions are separate 40A models
  • Autel does not publish what sensor hardware Adaptive Load Management needs, so you cannot cost the feature before buying
  • Connectivity adds a failure point a charger with no radio does not have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (70A circuit for 50A); plug-in sold as separate 40A models
Outdoor ratingIP65 / NEMA 4X (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Autel sells this as the MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A. Autel's own US store listing publishes: "Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)" adjustable 16-50A, hardwired with a 70A circuit required for full output, an SAE J1772 connector on a "25 ft. (7.5 m)" cable, "IP65 / NEMA 4X", "-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)" operating temperature, Bluetooth / Wi-Fi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485, "Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", CSA and ENERGY STAR certification, a 3-year warranty and about 15.4 lb with the in-body holster. Autel's product page repeats the NEMA 4X rating and the -40°F to 131°F figure and describes ALM as sharing power between loads in the home, but neither page states what sensor hardware ALM requires or (on the product page) the circuit size for 50A. The 50A unit is hardwired — the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions are separate 40A models, so the install type is chosen at purchase rather than configured on the wall. The listing we link is the hardwired 50A.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best app (40A plug-in)

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet at up to 40A / 9.6 kW, which is a full overnight charge for almost any EV
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration, backed by ChargePoint's network account
  • UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified and rated NEMA 3R for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a 23 ft cable
  • 3-year parts warranty

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than 48A hardwired units that deliver more power
  • The plug-in model runs only at 32A or 40A; the 16-50A range that made the Home Flex famous is the hardwired model, which Amazon does not currently list
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50); hardwired 50A and NEMA 6-50 sold as separate models
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as three separate models, and the one linked here is the NEMA 14-50 plug-in (part CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23). ChargePoint publishes it for circuits rated 40A or 50A, delivering 32A or 40A respectively (up to 9.6 kW) — its installation FAQ states that all other amperage settings require the hardwired model, which takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches 50A on a 60A breaker. Both are UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified, NEMA 3R rated, carry a 23 ft cable and a 3-year warranty. Use an industrial-grade 14-50 receptacle: the charger is only as safe as the outlet it plugs into.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest 48A

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (48A, Hardwired)

The step up for a panel that can genuinely feed a 60A circuit: 48A hardwired, at a price that undercuts the premium names by a wide margin. It is only the right buy if an electrician has already told you the circuit is available — otherwise you are paying for amps you cannot use.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW is near the top of what a house can deliver on AC
  • Hardwired install removes the receptacle as a failure point
  • Considerably cheaper than the premium 48A units it competes with

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — an electrician is mandatory and the charger stays with the house
  • 48A needs a 60A breaker that many older panels cannot spare
  • The listing does not publish a cable length, enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallHardwired
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 48A, 240V, a J1772 connector and a hardwired wall-mounted station. Cable length, enclosure rating and warranty are not stated in the title and read as not published. 48A requires a 60A circuit under the 80% continuous-load rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Do the arithmetic on your own truck

Three numbers, and you will know whether to pay for 48A. Charging power in kW is simply amps × 240 ÷ 1000:

  • 32A→ about 7.7 kW
  • 40A→ about 9.6 kW
  • 48A→ about 11.5 kW

Now take the usable capacity of your pack in kWh, decide the worst realistic state of charge you will come home at, and divide the gap by each of those figures. Add roughly 10% for conversion losses, which are real and which nobody includes. If the 40A answer fits inside your overnight window with margin, buy 40A and spend the difference on the install. If it does not, 48A is doing real work for you rather than decorating a spec sheet. Our how-long-to-charge guide walks the same equation with worked examples.

One ceiling still applies, and it is the car’s: whatever your onboard AC chargeris rated at caps everything. A wall charger rated above it delivers nothing extra. Find the figure in your owner’s manual or Rivian’s published specification for your model year and configuration, and buy to that number rather than to the biggest one on the shelf.

The 48A circuit is the real cost

Under the 80% continuous-load rule, a 48A charger requires a 60A circuit, and 48A units are typically hardwired rather than plug-in. Two consequences worth pricing before you commit:

  • A 60A branch is where panels run out of room.A 50A circuit for a 40A charger is an ordinary job in most houses. Sixty amps is where the electrician starts talking about a load calculation and sometimes a service upgrade — which can cost more than the charger several times over.
  • Hardwired means it stays. A plug-in charger unplugs and comes with you, and swaps out in five minutes if it fails. A hardwired one does neither. Our plug-in vs hardwired guide covers that trade properly.

Get a load calculation before you shortlist on amperage. If your panel cannot spare 60A, do not give up on a decent charger — our load management guide covers circuit sharing and load-managed chargers, which are frequently the cheaper answer than the panel upgrade.

Outdoor installs: the specification Rivian owners actually need

More Rivians live outside than the average EV — driveways, carports, cabins, job sites. If your charger is going on an exterior wall, the enclosure rating matters more than two amps ever will:

  • NEMA 3R protects against falling rain, sleet and snow. Adequate under an eave or in a garage.
  • NEMA 4 adds windblown dust and hose-directed water. This is what you want on a genuinely exposed wall.
  • NEMA 4Xadds corrosion resistance — the specification for salt air or anywhere the truck and the wall both get washed down.

And the part nobody puts on the box: UV, not water, is what kills outdoor charging hardware. A cable jacket baked by a summer of direct sun is the one that cracks in January. Our outdoor charger roundup decodes the ratings in full and our covers and enclosures guide covers the cheaper protection route.

Why we picked these four

Emporia Level 2is the overall pick because it is the hedge: it ships for a NEMA 14-50 plug at 40A and converts to hardwired 48A later. You can order it before the electrician has given you a final answer on the 60A circuit, start on the cheaper install, and step up only if your own arithmetic above says 40A is not enough. On a purchase where the circuit is the uncertain half, that is worth real money — see the Emporia review.

Autel MaxiChargeris the outdoor pick: the strongest published enclosure rating in our registry, the highest output, and a long cable — which matters on a vehicle this size, where the port and the wall are rarely close together. The Autel review covers the panel headroom it quietly assumes.

ChargePoint Home Flexheld the overall slot here for its 16–50A amperage dial, but ChargePoint now sells the hardwired and plug-in versions separately and, as of 20 September 2026, the hardwired one is not listed on Amazon. The model we link is the NEMA 14-50 plug-in, a fixed 40A unit. It stays on the list for the Rivian owner whose arithmetic says 40A fits and who wants the most mature charging app in the category on a plug-in — see the full review for what changed.

EVIQO 48Ais the cheapest route to a genuine 48A hardwired unit. Buy it only once an electrician has confirmed the 60A circuit exists — otherwise you have bought amps you cannot use and lost the plug-in flexibility that would have let you adapt.

Rivian-specific notes

Check what Rivian offers first.Where an automaker sells or endorses its own wall charger for your vehicle, it is worth pricing against the third-party options — not because it will charge faster, but because support and app integration are simpler when one company owns both ends.

Cable length is a truck problem.Measure from where the outlet or junction box will be to where the charge port sits when the vehicle is parked the way you actually park it — nose-in one week, backed in the next. Then add slack. A cable that is two feet short is a daily annoyance you cannot fix without moving the charger. The same problem on the other electric truck is covered in our Ford charger roundup, and the units that actually reach are in the long-cable roundup.

Supercharger access is a separate purchase. Our NACS-to-CCS adapters for a Rivian guide covers the road-trip side, including why the automaker’s own adapter program is the first thing to check. Nothing on this page changes that answer.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a 48A charger for a Rivian?

More likely than for most EVs, but check rather than assume. Take your usable battery capacity, subtract the lowest state of charge you realistically arrive home at, and divide by 9.6 kW (40A) and 11.5 kW (48A). If the 40A figure fits comfortably inside your overnight window, 40A is enough and the cheaper 50A circuit saves you real money.

What circuit does a 48A charger need?

A 60A circuit. EV charging is a continuous load, and code requires the breaker to be sized about 25% above the draw — the 80% rule. Sixty amps is where many panels run out of spare capacity, so get a load calculation from an electrician before you buy a 48A unit.

Can I install a home charger outdoors for a Rivian?

Yes, provided the unit publishes an outdoor enclosure rating. NEMA 3R handles falling rain, NEMA 4 adds windblown dust and hose-directed water, and NEMA 4X adds corrosion resistance for salt air. The under-discussed threat is UV: sun-aged cable jackets are what crack in winter, so shade or a cover extends the life of the cable more than anything else.

Does the charger brand change how fast a Rivian charges?

No. Charging speed is set by the lowest of three limits: your car's onboard AC charger, the wall charger's amperage, and the circuit behind it. Two chargers set to the same amperage on the same circuit charge identically. Brand affects build, warranty, app and support — not speed.

Should I get a plug-in or hardwired charger?

Plug-in if you can live within 40A: it installs on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, comes with you if you move, and can be swapped in minutes if it fails. Hardwired if you genuinely need 48A, since that output is not available on a plug. The plug also caps the install at a 50A circuit, which is often the cheaper job by a wide margin.

Sources

Keep reading