Amp & Adapter

40 Amp vs 48 Amp EV Charger: Which Should You Buy?

Eight amps apart, and the gap shows up in your electrical panel rather than in your morning. What the step to 48A actually buys, what it actually costs, and the three cases where it earns the money.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

The short answer is 40 amps, for most people, most of the time — and the reason has almost nothing to do with the charger. A 40A charger runs on a 50A circuit and can hang off a NEMA 14-50 plug you may already have. A 48A charger needs a 60A circuit and must be hardwired. That is the entire decision. The box on the wall is nearly incidental to it.

Which is why comparing the two by price tag misleads people. The chargers themselves sit within a few dollars of each other — two of the pairs below are the same model in both amperages — while the installs can differ by hundreds, or by thousands if the 60A circuit forces a panel or service upgrade. You are not choosing between two chargers. You are choosing between two circuits, and buying whichever charger fits the one you can actually have.

So this page is built as matched pairs: the same charger, or the same brand, offered at both amperages, so the amperage is the only variable you are looking at. We rank on the four things that decide this purchase — the circuit your panel can spare, what your car’s onboard charger accepts, whether the unit can be reconfigured later, and what the install really costs. As everywhere on this site we have not bench-tested these units; the figures are the manufacturers’ own published specifications, and anything a brand does not publish reads “Not published” rather than being guessed at.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

A deliberately dumb wall box with a certification sheet most chargers at this price cannot match: tested to UL 2594, ETL listed, IP66, and present in EPA's own ENERGY STAR database rather than merely claiming the logo. You give up the app entirely. If that trade appeals, the 23 ft cable and the plug-in install make this the easiest version of it to live with.

Best 40A overall
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

The same box and the same certification set, hardwired at 48A for 11.5 kW. It is the right buy for a large-battery EV on a panel that can carry a 60A circuit — and the wrong buy for most people, who will pay for amps their car cannot draw and lose the ability to unplug and take it with them.

Best 48A overall
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Best 40A now, 48A later
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Most adjustable
$494.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Best value at 40A
$395.98 · View on Amazon

$469.9916% off

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (48A, Hardwired)

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (48A, Hardwired)

The step up for a panel that can genuinely feed a 60A circuit: 48A hardwired, at a price that undercuts the premium names by a wide margin. It is only the right buy if an electrician has already told you the circuit is available — otherwise you are paying for amps you cannot use.

Best value at 48A
$428.98 · View on Amazon

$479.0010% off

Price as of September 4, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best 40A overall

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

A deliberately dumb wall box with a certification sheet most chargers at this price cannot match: tested to UL 2594, ETL listed, IP66, and present in EPA's own ENERGY STAR database rather than merely claiming the logo. You give up the app entirely. If that trade appeals, the 23 ft cable and the plug-in install make this the easiest version of it to live with.

Strengths

  • Tested to UL 2594, UL 2231 and UL 2251 and ETL listed — whole-unit certification, not just the handle
  • Listed in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database, so the certification claim is independently checkable
  • 23 ft published cable (22 ft on the ENERGY STAR record) — far more reach than the 16 ft common at this price
  • IP66 housing, so an outdoor wall is a supported install rather than a gamble
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring and it moves with you
  • 3-year warranty published by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • New model — ENERGY STAR records it as available from April 2026, so there is very little long-term owner feedback yet
  • No app, no WiFi, no scheduling: ENERGY STAR records network capability as 'No'
  • Lectron does not publish an amperage-adjustment setting, so treat 40A as fixed and size the circuit for it
  • Lectron sells the Nexus on its own store as well as Amazon, and the two prices are not always the same
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingIP66 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Lectron publishes 40A at 240V (9.6 kW), a J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 23 ft cable, an IP66 housing, a 3-year warranty and testing to UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 2251 and UL 817 with ETL listing. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database carries the same model (LECHGNexusNEMA14-50J1772) at 40A / 9.6 kW with 8 AWG cable, network capability 'No', and an output cord length of 22 ft — a foot shorter than the marketing figure. If reach is tight, plan around 22 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best 48A overall

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (48A, hardwired)

The same box and the same certification set, hardwired at 48A for 11.5 kW. It is the right buy for a large-battery EV on a panel that can carry a 60A circuit — and the wrong buy for most people, who will pay for amps their car cannot draw and lose the ability to unplug and take it with them.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW for the minority of EVs whose onboard charger can actually accept it
  • Same certification set as the plug-in model: UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 2251, ETL listed, ENERGY STAR
  • Hardwiring removes the NEMA 14-50 receptacle, which is the part of a plug-in install that overheats
  • Same 23 ft cable and IP66 housing

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — there is no plug, so moving it later is an electrician's job
  • Needs a 60A dedicated circuit, which plenty of 100A panels cannot spare
  • Most EVs sold in the US cap AC charging below 48A, so the headroom is often unusable
  • Amazon stock on this variant read as a low remaining count when we checked, so availability may be patchy
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallHardwired only
Outdoor ratingIP66 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Lectron publishes 48A at 240V (11.5 kW), hardwired only, with the same 23 ft cable, IP66 housing, 3-year warranty and UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 testing with ETL listing as the 40A model. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database carries it as LECHGNexusHWJ1772 at 48A / 11.52 kW, 8 AWG, network capability 'No', output cord 22 ft. A 48A continuous load requires a 60A circuit under the 80% rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best 40A now, 48A later

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW on a 60A circuit — near the top of home output
  • Load management and scheduling in the app, at a budget price
  • Plug-in or hardwired, NEMA 4 outdoor-rated

Trade-offs

  • 48A requires a 60A circuit, which not every panel has room for
  • Newer brand than ChargePoint or Wallbox, with a shorter track record
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50), convertible to hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which limits it to 40A; to pull the full 48A an electrician hardwires it on a 60A breaker. Pairs with Emporia's energy monitor for whole-home load management. Emporia now markets this unit as the Emporia Classic on its own store; the Amazon listing still uses the original name.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Most adjustable

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Strengths

  • Amperage is dial-set from 16A to 50A, so it matches whatever circuit your electrician can give you
  • Sold hardwired or with a NEMA 14-50 / 6-50 plug, so there is a version for the install you want
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than a bare-bones 40A unit that does the same core job
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallHardwired (plug-in 14-50 / 6-50 sold as separate models)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as separate hardwired and plug-in models, so pick the install before you buy. The hardwired version — the one linked here — takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches the full 50A, which needs a 60A breaker at full output (the continuous-load 80% rule). The NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 plug-in versions are capped at 40A / 9.6 kW, which is plenty for overnight charging.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best value at 40A

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW is the amperage sweet spot — a full overnight charge for any car on the road
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so there is no hardwiring and it comes with you if you move
  • Purpose-built wall-mounted station, not a portable unit hung on a bracket

Trade-offs

  • 40A is the ceiling — there is no upgrade path to 48A the way the Emporia has
  • EVIQO is a young brand; long-term firmware and support are the open question
  • The listing does not publish an enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, 240V, a J1772 connector and a NEMA 14-50 plug on a wall-mounted station. It does not publish a cable length, enclosure rating or warranty term in the title, so those read as not published here. A 40A charger requires a 50A circuit under the 80% continuous-load rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#6Best value at 48A

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (48A, Hardwired)

The step up for a panel that can genuinely feed a 60A circuit: 48A hardwired, at a price that undercuts the premium names by a wide margin. It is only the right buy if an electrician has already told you the circuit is available — otherwise you are paying for amps you cannot use.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW is near the top of what a house can deliver on AC
  • Hardwired install removes the receptacle as a failure point
  • Considerably cheaper than the premium 48A units it competes with

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — an electrician is mandatory and the charger stays with the house
  • 48A needs a 60A breaker that many older panels cannot spare
  • The listing does not publish a cable length, enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallHardwired
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 48A, 240V, a J1772 connector and a hardwired wall-mounted station. Cable length, enclosure rating and warranty are not stated in the title and read as not published. 48A requires a 60A circuit under the 80% continuous-load rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The whole decision, in four numbers

Before you compare a single product, write these four down. The charger you should buy falls out of them, and no amount of spec-sheet reading changes the order.

1. The circuit your panel can actually spare. Not what you hope it can spare — what an electrician says after a load calculation. A 40A charger needs a 50A circuit; a 48A charger needs a 60A one. On a 100A service already feeding an electric range, a dryer and air conditioning, the difference between those two requests is frequently the difference between “yes, next Tuesday” and “you need a service upgrade first”.

2. What your car’s onboard charger accepts. Every EV converts AC to DC with an onboard charger that has its own current ceiling, and plenty of them stop at 32A or 40A. If yours does, a 48A wall unit delivers exactly what the car allows and not one amp more. You would have paid for a bigger breaker, thicker conductors and a hardwire bill to buy nothing at all.

3. How many hours the car is genuinely plugged in. The amperage argument only exists inside a short charging window. Across a normal overnight plug-in, both amperages finish the job long before you wake up.

4. What each route costs installed. Two written quotes — one for a 50A plug-in install, one for a 60A hardwired install — settle this question faster than any comparison table, this one included.

Notice what is not on that list: the number printed on the charger. It is the output of this decision, not an input to it.

What eight amps actually buys you

The arithmetic is simple and not in dispute. At 240V, 40A is 9.6 kW and 48A is 11.52 kW— about 20% more power.

The cleanest real-world figure comes from a manufacturer that sells the same charger in both amperages. In its launch announcement of 28 July 2026, Lectron publishes up to 38 miles of range per hour for the 40A plug-in Nexus and up to 46 miles per hourfor the 48A hardwired version — identical cable, identical enclosure, identical certification set, eight miles an hour apart. Because both numbers come from one manufacturer describing one product line, that gap is a fair like-for-like reading of what the amperage is worth, which cross-brand marketing claims rarely are.

Two honest caveats on those figures. They are up tonumbers that assume an efficient car; the U.S. Department of Energy’s own generic figure for Level 2 charging is around 25 miles of range per hour, and a heavy SUV or a truck in winter will land nearer that than the marketing number. And they assume the car will accept the amperage in the first place, which brings us back to item two on the list above.

Now put the gap in the window it lives in. Over a ten-hour overnight charge, 40A adds roughly 380 miles and 48A roughly 460 — on those manufacturer figures, and both far beyond what almost anyone drives in a day. The eight miles an hour you bought were added while you were asleep, and the car was full either way. That is the crux of it: 48A is not faster in any way you will experience, unless one of three things is true.

The three cases where 48A genuinely pays

A short charging window. You arrive home late near empty and leave early. Four hours at 9.6 kW is roughly 150 miles of range; at 11.52 kW it is roughly 180. When the window is the constraint rather than the night, 20% more power is 20% more range in the battery at 7am.

Two EVs sharing one charger.Two cars alternating on one unit halves everyone’s window, so the extra power compounds. If that is your household, read our guide to charging two cars first — power sharing across one circuit is often a better answer than more amps.

A very large pack that regularly runs low. A truck with a 130 kWh battery taken from near-empty to full is a genuinely long job, and the one case on this page where the amperage shows up in daily life rather than in a spreadsheet.

The gate is your panel, not your budget

Electrical code treats EV charging as a continuousload — current drawn for hours without pause — and requires the circuit to be rated about 25% above that draw. Stated the other way round, a charger may use at most 80% of the circuit’s rating. So:

  • 40A ÷ 0.8 = 50, so a 40A charger needs a 50A circuit.
  • 48A ÷ 0.8 = 60, so a 48A charger needs a 60A circuit.

A 60A dedicated circuit is a substantial addition to a modest service, and it needs heavier conductors than a 50A one — a price gap that grows with every foot between the panel and the garage wall. If the load calculation comes back short, your options are a subpanel, a service upgrade, or load management, and the first two routinely cost more than every charger on this page put together. Our amps and circuits guide works through the full breaker table, and the load management guide covers the third route — which is how a 48A charger legitimately lives on a panel that could not otherwise feed it.

At 48A, the plug disappears

This is the consequence people discover after they have bought. A NEMA 14-50 receptacle — the outlet nearly every plug-in charger uses — is a 50A device, so the same 80% rule caps it at 40A continuous. There is no plug in common residential use rated to carry 48A for hours. Every genuine 48A charger is therefore hardwired, and if a listing advertises 48A on a plug, something in that claim is wrong.

Hardwiring changes three things beyond the bill. An electrician becomes mandatory rather than optional. The charger becomes part of the house — if you move, it stays, which matters more than buyers expect. And the receptacle, the component in a plug-in install most likely to overheat, is removed from the system altogether. That last one is a real engineering advantage of 48A, and the only one that has nothing to do with speed. Our plug-in vs hardwired guide takes the trade-off apart properly; if you are staying on a plug, buy an industrial-grade receptacle rather than the cheapest one on the shelf.

Your car is probably the real ceiling

Charging speed is set by the lowestof three numbers: the circuit, the charger, and the car’s onboard AC charger. Buyers optimize the second and ignore the third, which is how a 48A charger ends up feeding a car that draws 32A.

The number you need is in the owner’s manual, in the charging section, usually expressed in kW rather than amps: divide by 240 to get the amperage. An 11.5 kW onboard charger accepts 48A; a 7.7 kW one accepts 32A and will never do more, whatever you hang on the wall. It is model-and-year specific, so check yours rather than a forum post about a different trim. Our Chevy Bolt and Ioniq 5 pages work through two cars where this catches buyers out for opposite reasons.

One legitimate exception: if you expect to replace the car within a few years with something that does accept 48A, and the 60A circuit is available now, installing for the future car is reasonable. Buying 48A for a car that cannot use it and never will is not.

Where the money actually goes

Here is the fact that reframes the whole comparison. On the two matched pairs above, the 48A hardware premium is small to nonexistent — when we checked the live listings on 4 September 2026, one brand priced its 40A and 48A models identically, and the other separated them by less than a tenth of the cheaper unit’s price. (Live prices sit in the cards above; we do not quote a number in prose that could be stale by the time you read it.)

The install premium is the opposite. Heavier conductors, hardwire labor instead of a plug, a 60A breaker that needs space in the panel, and the permit and inspection any competent job includes — before you even reach the possibility of a subpanel. In practice the gap between a 50A plug-in install and a 60A hardwired one is usually larger than the gap between the chargers, and occasionally larger by an order of magnitude.

So the question is never “can I afford the 48A charger”. It is “can I afford the 48A circuit” — and only your electrician can answer it. Get both routes quoted on the same visit. Our installation guide covers what to ask for, and what the work typically costs.

Buy 48A only if all three are true

  • An electrician has confirmed 60A of headroomwithout a panel or service upgrade — or you are willing to pay for load management instead.
  • Your car’s onboard charger accepts 48A, or the car that replaces it will.
  • Your charging window is genuinely short, two EVs share the unit, or the pack is very large.

Buy 40A if any of these is true

  • The panel is tight, or the service is 100A and already busy.
  • You rent, or expect to move — a plug-in charger comes off the wall and goes with you, and the renter’s case is built around exactly that.
  • Your car caps AC charging at 32A or 40A.
  • The car sits plugged in for eight hours or more most nights — which describes the large majority of home charging.

The hedge: buy a charger that can be both

If you cannot yet answer the panel question, do not guess at it. Two of the picks above are designed to defer the decision.

The Emporia ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug and runs at 40A there, then converts to a hardwired 48A install later. You buy once and decide twice: live on the cheap install for a year, and step up only if the short-window problem turns out to be real. For most people arriving at this page undecided, that is the smartest path through it.

The ChargePoint Home Flexmakes the same argument from the other direction — its amperage is dial-set across a wide range, so it fits whatever circuit the electrician actually delivers rather than the one you hoped for. A charger you cannot down-configure becomes scrap if the panel says no.

What we would skip

Skip 48A the moment a quote includes a panel or service upgrade to support it; buy 40A, spend a fraction of the difference on a proper receptacle, and put the rest back in your pocket. Skip any fixed-amperage 48A unit before the circuit is confirmed in writing — fixed high amperage is the most fragile thing you can buy in this category. And skip the assumption that a bigger number on the box is a faster morning: on a car that caps at 40A, on a circuit that tops out at 50A, or across a night that runs eight hours, it is simply a more expensive way to arrive at the same full battery. If you have settled the question, our 40A roundup and 48A roundup go deeper on each tier.

Frequently asked questions

Is a 48A EV charger worth it over a 40A one?

For most homes, no. The step buys about 20% more power — roughly 8 more miles of range per hour on the manufacturer figures — which is invisible across an overnight charge that both amperages finish comfortably. It becomes worth it in three cases: a genuinely short charging window, two EVs sharing one charger, or a very large battery that regularly runs low. It is only possible at all if your panel can feed a 60A circuit and your car's onboard charger accepts 48A.

What size breaker does each one need?

A 40A charger needs a 50A circuit and a 48A charger needs a 60A circuit. EV charging is a continuous load, so code requires the circuit to be rated about 25% above the charger's draw — equivalently, the charger may use at most 80% of the breaker rating. 40 ÷ 0.8 = 50, and 48 ÷ 0.8 = 60.

Can a 48A charger plug into a NEMA 14-50 outlet?

No. A NEMA 14-50 is a 50A receptacle, which the same 80% rule caps at 40A continuous. No plug in common residential use is rated to carry 48A for hours, which is why every genuine 48A charger is hardwired. If a listing advertises 48A on a plug, treat the claim as unreliable.

How much faster is 48A than 40A in real terms?

At 240V, 40A is 9.6 kW and 48A is 11.52 kW — about 20% more. Lectron, which sells the same charger in both amperages, publishes up to 38 miles of range per hour for the 40A model and up to 46 for the 48A model. Those are best-case figures for an efficient car; the U.S. Department of Energy's generic Level 2 figure is closer to 25 miles per hour, and a heavy vehicle in cold weather will land nearer that.

Will my car actually charge at 48A?

Only if its onboard AC charger is rated for it, and many are not — plenty of EVs stop at 32A or 40A. The charging rate is the lowest of three numbers: the circuit, the charger and the car. Check the charging section of your owner's manual for the onboard AC rating; if it is given in kW, divide by 240 to get amps. An 11.5 kW onboard charger accepts 48A; a 7.7 kW one accepts 32A and will not do more whatever you install.

Can I buy a 48A charger now and run it at 40A?

Only if the model publishes an adjustable amperage range — several do, and that adjustability is worth more than the top number on the box. A fixed 48A unit installed on a 50A circuit is not compliant. The other hedge is a charger that ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug at 40A and converts to a hardwired 48A install later, which lets you start on the cheaper install and step up only if you need it.

Does charging at 48A wear the battery faster than 40A?

No. Both are AC Level 2 rates, far below the DC fast-charging power levels that battery-longevity guidance is concerned with. What affects pack health at home is the state of charge you leave the car sitting at, not the amperage that got it there — which is why most manufacturers suggest a daily charge limit below 100%.

Sources

Keep reading