Amp & Adapter

Best Home EV Chargers for a Nissan Ariya

Nissan publishes a 7.2-kW onboard charger on every Ariya grade. That is about 30 amps at 240 volts — so the 40- and 48-amp chargers the internet recommends by default cannot give this car one extra kilowatt.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A and set it to 32 amps. It is adjustable from 16 to 40 amps, so it runs on the 40-amp circuit an Ariya needs today and still has headroom for whatever car replaces it, inside a cast-metal UL Type 4 shell on a 25-foot cord. If you would rather have a permanent box with no receptacle behind it, buy the Leviton EV320at pick two — a fixed 32 amps, hardwired, with the fullest published standards list of any charger on this page.

Here is the figure that makes the rest of this page short. Nissan’s own Ariya press kit lists a “7.2-kW onboard charger” as standard equipment on everygrade, front-wheel drive and e-4ORCE alike. At 240 volts, 7.2 kW is 30 amps. The onboard charger is the part of the car that converts AC from your wall into DC for the battery, and it is a hard ceiling: a 48-amp charger offered to an Ariya is a 30-amp charge, exactly like a 32-amp one, for roughly twice the hardware cost and a much bigger ask of your electrical panel.

The second published fact is the connector. The press kit lists “CCS Standard”as the Ariya’s charge port, and the top half of a CCS1 inlet isa J1772 socket. So an ordinary J1772 home charger plugs straight into this car with no adapter at all. The NACS adapter Nissan sells for the Ariya — listed in the same kit as a $235 port-installed accessory — is for Tesla Superchargers on the DC side. It has nothing to do with your garage.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Every Ariya figure below is read from Nissan’s own press kit on the date in the sources list; every charger figure is the manufacturer’s or the listing’s published specification; ENERGY STAR claims are checked against EPA’s own certified-EVSE database rather than taken from a product page; and prices come from our daily live check, never typed into the page.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Best overall — dial it to 32 amps
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Best hardwired 32 amps
$649.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest route to 32A in our roundup that still publishes a safety listing, a 3-year warranty and a 25 ft cable. Every figure is the seller's own claim, and the model number is not among the families EPA certifies, so this is the pick for a buyer who wants the price and accepts a thinner paper trail.

Best budget 32 amps
$141.53 · View on Amazon

$148.985% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

A deliberately dumb wall box with a certification sheet most chargers at this price cannot match: tested to UL 2594, ETL listed, IP66, and present in EPA's own ENERGY STAR database rather than merely claiming the logo. You give up the app entirely. If that trade appeals, the 23 ft cable and the plug-in install make this the easiest version of it to live with.

Best certification for the money
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Best app and utility-rate integration
$599.00 · View on Amazon

$657.999% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall — dial it to 32 amps

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best hardwired 32 amps

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Strengths

  • Hardwired, so a plain breaker feeds it and there is no receptacle to wear, overheat or trip a GFCI
  • Leviton publishes its full standards list, including UL 2594, and EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset lists the EV320 by model number
  • NEMA Type 3R enclosure and a cable Leviton says is designed not to freeze and crack, rated -30°C to 50°C
  • Optional RFID access control, switched off out of the box

Trade-offs

  • 18 ft cable, the shortest in our 32A roundup
  • 2-year limited warranty, against 3 to 5 years on the other 32A picks
  • No Wi-Fi or app, so any scheduling has to come from the car
  • Amazon showed 'Only 11 left in stock (more on the way)' when we checked on 18 September 2026
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length18 ft
InstallHardwired (40A breaker)
Outdoor ratingNEMA Type 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty2 years (limited)

Spec note. Leviton publishes: 32A, 208/240 VAC, 7.6 kW output, a 40A breaker, an 18 ft (5.5 m) cable, hardwired only, a PC+PBT plastic NEMA Type 3R enclosure, -30°C to 50°C operation, a 20 mA CCID per UL 2231, certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-1/-2, UL 2251 and others with cETLus, and ENERGY STAR. Its published standards line also includes "OCPP 1.6 Compliant", which is unusual on a charger with no radio. EPA's dataset lists model EV320 (qualified 2022-10-24, 18 ft cord). It has no Wi-Fi; the Wi-Fi sibling is the EV32W. Leviton's own store listed it above the Amazon price when we checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best budget 32 amps

EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest route to 32A in our roundup that still publishes a safety listing, a 3-year warranty and a 25 ft cable. Every figure is the seller's own claim, and the model number is not among the families EPA certifies, so this is the pick for a buyer who wants the price and accepts a thinner paper trail.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16/20/24/32A from the buttons or the app, so it fits a 20A to 40A circuit
  • The listing claims ETL listing to UL 2594 and UL 2231-1/-2, with CCID20 leakage protection
  • 25 ft cable the seller says stays flexible down to -22°F
  • 3-year warranty per the listing, and optional Wi-Fi scheduling (Smart Life app, 2.4 GHz)

Trade-offs

  • Its model number (ZA11 prefix) is not among the families EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset certifies, so it will not satisfy a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • The listing publishes no numeric enclosure rating
  • Plug-in, so a GFCI-protected garage receptacle can trip with it
  • A young brand with far less owner history than Leviton or Battery Tender
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
Warranty3 years

Spec note. The listing publishes: 32A, 7.68 kW, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft TPU cable rated flexible to -22°F, adjustable 16/20/24/32A, Wi-Fi through the Smart Life app (2.4 GHz) or button control, ETL listing to UL 2594 and UL 2231-1/-2, CCID20 leakage protection and a 3-year warranty, with the seller's estimate of about 22-25 miles of range per hour. Amazon reports model ZA11-U007KBF-F004. EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset certifies the Zopoise ZA05 and ZA10 families at 32A but not ZA11, so we do not treat it as ENERGY STAR certified. The enclosure is described only as weather-resistant, with no rating number.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best certification for the money

Lectron Nexus Level 2 (40A, plug-in)

A deliberately dumb wall box with a certification sheet most chargers at this price cannot match: tested to UL 2594, ETL listed, IP66, and present in EPA's own ENERGY STAR database rather than merely claiming the logo. You give up the app entirely. If that trade appeals, the 23 ft cable and the plug-in install make this the easiest version of it to live with.

Strengths

  • Tested to UL 2594, UL 2231 and UL 2251 and ETL listed — whole-unit certification, not just the handle
  • Listed in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database, so the certification claim is independently checkable
  • 23 ft published cable (22 ft on the ENERGY STAR record) — far more reach than the 16 ft common at this price
  • IP66 housing, so an outdoor wall is a supported install rather than a gamble
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring and it moves with you
  • 3-year warranty published by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • New model — ENERGY STAR records it as available from April 2026, so there is very little long-term owner feedback yet
  • No app, no WiFi, no scheduling: ENERGY STAR records network capability as 'No'
  • Lectron does not publish an amperage-adjustment setting, so treat 40A as fixed and size the circuit for it
  • Lectron sells the Nexus on its own store as well as Amazon, and the two prices are not always the same
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingIP66 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Lectron publishes 40A at 240V (9.6 kW), a J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 23 ft cable, an IP66 housing, a 3-year warranty and testing to UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 2251 and UL 817 with ETL listing. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database carries the same model (LECHGNexusNEMA14-50J1772) at 40A / 9.6 kW with 8 AWG cable, network capability 'No', and an output cord length of 22 ft — a foot shorter than the marketing figure. If reach is tight, plan around 22 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best app and utility-rate integration

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet at up to 40A / 9.6 kW, which is a full overnight charge for almost any EV
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration, backed by ChargePoint's network account
  • UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified and rated NEMA 3R for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a 23 ft cable
  • 3-year parts warranty

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than 48A hardwired units that deliver more power
  • The plug-in model runs only at 32A or 40A; the 16-50A range that made the Home Flex famous is the hardwired model, which Amazon does not currently list
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50); hardwired 50A and NEMA 6-50 sold as separate models
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as three separate models, and the one linked here is the NEMA 14-50 plug-in (part CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23). ChargePoint publishes it for circuits rated 40A or 50A, delivering 32A or 40A respectively (up to 9.6 kW) — its installation FAQ states that all other amperage settings require the hardwired model, which takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches 50A on a 60A breaker. Both are UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified, NEMA 3R rated, carry a 23 ft cable and a 3-year warranty. Use an industrial-grade 14-50 receptacle: the charger is only as safe as the outlet it plugs into.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Why 7.2 kW ends the amperage argument

Charging at home is a negotiation with one winner. The charger on the wall tells the car the most it is allowed to draw; the car’s onboard charger decides the most it candraw; and the session runs at whichever number is lower. On an Ariya that lower number is published and it does not change with trim, battery size or model year: 7.2 kW, which is 30 amps at 240 volts.

That makes 32 amps the right purchase, because 32 is the smallest standard charger rating that clears 30. Buy a 40-amp charger and the Ariya draws 30. Buy a 48-amp charger, pay for a 60-amp circuit and an electrician’s afternoon, and the Ariya still draws 30. There is no “future-proofing” argument inside the car either — an onboard charger is not a setting, it is hardware.

The only honest reason to buy more than 32 amps for an Ariya is a different car: a second EV now, or the one that replaces the Ariya later. That is a real reason, and it is why picks four and five are here — both are fixed 40-amp units, so the Ariya will draw 30 and the extra capability waits for the next car. If that is your situation, read 40 amps vs 48 amps before you spend, and amps, circuits and the 125% rule to find out what your panel can actually feed. A 32-amp charger needs a 40-amp circuit, which Leviton publishes for its own unit; a fixed 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp one.

What Nissan’s own charge times tell you

The press kit publishes Level 2 charge times for 0 to 100%: 10.5 hours on the 66 kWh pack (63 kWh usable) and 14 hourson the 91 kWh pack (87 kWh usable). Those are Nissan’s figures, not ours, and they are worth more than the arithmetic. Divide 63 kWh by 7.2 kW and you get about 8.75 hours; Nissan says 10.5. The gap is charging losses and the taper near the top of the pack, and it is normal — but it means the long-range Ariya is a 14-hour car from empty, which no overnight window covers.

The practical conclusion is a habit rather than a purchase: plug in daily and top up, rather than running the pack down and trying to refill it in one night. That also happens to be the gentler routine for the battery, which is the argument in EV battery health and charging limits. If you want the per-hour view instead, EVPOVO estimates about 22 to 25 miles of range per hour at 32 amps — a seller’s own estimate rather than an EPA figure, but the right order of magnitude for what an Ariya will see.

Your Ariya already takes a J1772 plug

This is the part Ariya owners most often get sold something they do not need for. The car has a CCS1 combo inlet: a J1772 socket on top for AC, two big DC pins below it for fast charging. Every charger on this page terminates in a J1772 handle, so each one plugs directly into the top half of that inlet. No adapter, no dongle, nothing hanging off the connector in the weather.

Where an adapter does earn its money on an Ariya is away from home, because the Supercharger network uses NACS. Nissan sells its own NACS adapter as a port-installed accessory and the press kit prices it at $235; the aftermarket alternatives are in best CCS-to-Tesla adapters, and if the three connector names are still a blur, J1772, NACS and CCS explained is the 10-minute fix. Keep adapters for the road. In a garage they are a part that can be lost or left out in the rain for no benefit.

Plug-in or hardwired?

Three of the five picks plug into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and two are permanent. For a 30-amp car the practical differences are these.

  • Plug-in means the charger is a tenant improvement you can take with you, and if it fails you swap it yourself. The cost is the receptacle: a 14-50 outlet is the part of this install that wears, loosens and overheats, so buy an industrial-grade receptacle rather than the cheapest one on the shelf.
  • Hardwired removes the receptacle entirely, which removes the failure point. It also means an electrician is part of the purchase and the charger stays with the house.
  • The GFCI wrinkleapplies to plug-in units only. Current code requires GFCI protection on garage and EV-charging receptacles, and a charger with its own internal leakage protection can occasionally trip that breaker. If a listing ever tells you to remove the GFCI breaker, ignore it and call an electrician — that protection is required, not optional.

Our NEMA 14-50 vs hardwired guide works through the cost side of that choice properly, and what installation actually costs covers what an electrician is likely to quote for either route.

The published figures, side by side

Every figure below is the manufacturer’s or the listing’s own published specification. The last column is arithmetic from Nissan’s published 7.2 kW onboard rating, not a measurement.

ChargerOutputInstallCordEnclosureIn EPA’s ENERGY STAR dataWhat an Ariya draws
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A40 A, adj. 16-40 APlug-in 14-5025 ft publishedUL Type 4, −30 °C to +50 °CNo Classic Connect row30 A
Leviton EV32032 A / 7.6 kWHardwired, 40 A breaker18 ftNEMA Type 3RYes (model EV320)30 A
EVPOVO Level 2 32A32 A / 7.68 kW, adj. 16-32 APlug-in 14-5025 ftNot publishedNo (ZA11 not listed)30 A
Lectron Nexus 40A40 A / 9.6 kW, fixedPlug-in 14-5023 ft (22 ft on EPA’s record)IP66Yes (LECHGNexusNEMA14-50J1772)30 A
ChargePoint Home Flex (14-50 plug)40 A / 9.6 kWPlug-in 14-5023 ftNEMA 3RYes30 A

Read the last column as the whole argument of the page. Five chargers, five different price brackets, one identical result in an Ariya’s charge port. What you are actually choosing between is cord length, enclosure rating, paperwork and whether you want an app — not speed.

Two of those columns deserve a word. Cord lengthdecides where the charger can live: the Leviton’s 18 feet is the shortest here and it is the one spec people regret, so measure from the mounting spot to the car’s charge port before you buy, around the car rather than through it. And the ENERGY STAR column is a rebate question, not a quality one: plenty of good chargers are not certified, but a utility rebate that requires certification will not take a product EPA does not list. Check your program first — the certified roundup is the shortlist if a rebate is on the table.

What we left out, and why

  • Every 48-amp charger. They are the default recommendation across the internet and they are the wrong buy for this car. A 48-amp unit needs a 60-amp circuit to deliver amps an Ariya cannot accept. If a second EV changes that, the 48-amp field is in best 48-amp chargers.
  • Native NACS chargers.The Ariya’s inlet is CCS1, so a Tesla-style charger would need an adapter permanently installed on the handle at the wall. That is a workable solution for a Tesla-first household and a needless failure point for everyone else. If you are in that position, the adapter roundup explains which direction you actually need.
  • Dual-level travel cordsets.They are a genuinely good second purchase for an Ariya — a 30-amp car gets most of a dual-voltage cordset’s capability — but they belong in the trunk rather than on the wall. Best portable chargers is the page for that shortlist.
  • The Battery Tender eCharge 32, which would otherwise have led this page. It is a 32-amp, ENERGY STAR certified, Level 1 and 2 unit and exactly the right shape for this car — and a live availability check on 19 October 2026 returned its Amazon listing as “Currently unavailable,” with no live listing for the 32-amp model (022-3017) under any other number. We do not feature a product you cannot buy today. If it comes back, it belongs at pick one.
  • Level 1 as a plan.It works — the DOE’s Alternative Fuels Data Center puts Level 1 at a few miles of range per hour — and on a 91 kWh battery it is a multi-day proposition. Fine as a backstop, not as the charger you rely on.

The short answer

32 amps, a J1772 handle, and the longest cord you can get for the money. Pick one if you have (or can get) a 14-50 outlet and want one charger that fits this car now and the next one later; pick two if you want it hardwired and documented to the last standard; pick three if price is the binding constraint and you accept a thinner paper trail. Picks four and five are fixed 40-amp units on 50-amp circuits — worth it for the certification record or the app, never for speed, because in an Ariya they are 30 amps the same as everything else here.

Frequently asked questions

What home charger should I buy for a Nissan Ariya?

A 32-amp Level 2 charger with a J1772 connector. Nissan publishes a 7.2-kW onboard charger on every Ariya grade, which is about 30 amps at 240 volts, so 32 amps is the smallest standard charger size that covers the car completely and anything larger is unused capacity. Our top pick is the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A set to 32 amps — it is adjustable from 16 to 40 amps, so it fits the 40-amp circuit this car needs and still covers a faster EV later; the Leviton EV320 is the fixed 32-amp hardwired alternative.

How many kW can a Nissan Ariya charge at on AC?

7.2 kW. Nissan's own Ariya press kit lists a "7.2-kW onboard charger" as standard equipment on every grade, front-wheel drive and e-4ORCE, with both the 66 kWh and 91 kWh batteries. At 240 volts that is 30 amps. The onboard charger is hardware, not a setting, so no home charger can raise it.

Is a 40-amp or 48-amp charger wasted on an Ariya?

Above 30 amps, yes. A home charger tells the car the maximum it may draw and the car takes the lesser of that and its own onboard limit, so a 40-amp or 48-amp charger delivers exactly the same 30 amps to an Ariya that a 32-amp charger does. The only reason to buy more is a different vehicle — a second EV now, or the car that replaces the Ariya later.

How long does it take to charge a Nissan Ariya on a Level 2 charger?

Nissan publishes 10.5 hours for 0-100% on the 66 kWh battery (63 kWh usable) and 14 hours on the 91 kWh battery (87 kWh usable). Those are the maker's own Level 2 figures and they are longer than dividing the pack size by 7.2 kW suggests, because of charging losses and the taper near a full pack. In practice it means topping up daily rather than running the battery down and refilling it in one night.

Does a Nissan Ariya need a NACS charger or a J1772 charger?

J1772. Nissan's press kit lists the Ariya's port as "CCS Standard", and the top half of a CCS1 inlet is a J1772 socket, so an ordinary J1772 home charger plugs straight in with no adapter. The NACS adapter Nissan sells for the Ariya — a $235 port-installed accessory in the same press kit — is for DC fast charging at Tesla Superchargers, not for home charging.

What size circuit does an Ariya charger need?

A 40-amp circuit for a 32-amp charger. Leviton publishes that requirement for its own 32-amp unit, and it follows from the continuous-load rule: a 32-amp continuous load sized at 125% is 40 amps. A 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp circuit and a 48-amp charger needs 60 — neither of which buys an Ariya anything.

Can I just charge an Ariya from a normal household outlet?

As a backstop, not as a plan. Level 1 charging from a standard 120-volt outlet adds a few miles of range per hour by the DOE's own figures, which on the 91 kWh long-range pack is a multi-day recharge. If you want one cordset that works on both a household outlet and a 240-volt one, that is a dual-level portable charger rather than a wall charger — our portable roundup covers the ones worth buying.

Sources

  • Nissan USA Newsroom — 2025 Ariya Press Kit — Nissan's own Ariya release: a "7.2-kW onboard charger" standard on every grade (FWD and e-4ORCE), a "130-kW DC fast charger" standard, "CCS Standard" as the charge port, a "NACS Adapter" listed as a $235 port-installed accessory on all trims, batteries of 66 kWh total / 63 kWh usable (standard range) and 91 kWh total / 87 kWh usable (long range), a Level 2 0-100% charge time of "10.5 hours" on the 66 kWh pack and "14 hours" on the 91 kWh pack, quick-charge figures of 35 and 40 minutes at 130 kW and 65 and 90 minutes at 50 kW, and range by trim from 205 to 289 miles. The kit publishes no charger amperage and no circuit guidance (accessed October 19, 2026)
  • Leviton — EV320 32 Amp Level 2 Electric Vehicle Charging Station — Leviton's own specification: 32A, 208/240 VAC, 7.6 kW, a 40A breaker, an 18 ft cable, hardwired only, NEMA Type 3R, -30°C to 50°C, UL 2594 among its listed standards, ENERGY STAR, no Wi-Fi, and a 2-year limited warranty (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Leviton — EV320 32 A Level 2 Charging Station (specifications tab) — Leviton's published specification list, read in full on this date: 32 A, 208/240 VAC, "7.6kW Output", a 40 A breaker, an "18 ft. (5.5 m)" cable, "HARDWIRED ONLY", a "Plastic (PC+PBT)" enclosure at "NEMA Type 3R", -30 °C to 50 °C operation, a "20 mA CCID per UL 2231", "Optional access control; station comes with RFID disabled", "Energy Star Certified", a "2-Year Limited" warranty, and a standards line reading "UL2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 2251, UL 62, UL 991, UL 1998, NFPA 70 Article 625, UL840, CSA Std. C22.2#280, OCPP 1.6 Compliant, cETLus". The Wi-Fi sibling is named as the EV32W; no price is listed on the page (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A — The maker's own specification block: "Adjustable current 40A - 16A", "Max power 40A 10kW", "Plug type NEMA 14-50", "Connector Type 1 (SAE J1772); NACS", "Output cable length 25ft (7.6m)", a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure with "UL Type 4 Indoor/Outdoor Rating", "Operating temperature -30C .. +50C (-22F .. 122F)", "Certifications UL/cUL E510712", "Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Mobile Application", and a 3-year or 5-year warranty choice. The description calls it "made-in-Canada"; the formal country-of-origin field is blank (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home charging (Home Flex models) — ChargePoint's own model split: the hardwired Home Flex "Works with circuits rated from 20 to 80A" and "Delivers up to 50A of power", while BOTH plug-in models (NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50) "Work with circuits rated 40 or 50A" and "Deliver up to 40A of power (30 miles of range per hour)". UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified, J1772 or NACS, a 3-year warranty and 24/7 support. The page publishes no cable length, enclosure rating or temperature range (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment, AC-Output (dataset 5jwe-c8xm) — EPA's machine-readable list of certified chargers. It carries both Tesla wall units, each qualified 2023-09-18 at 48A / 11.52 kW: model 1457768 under brand "Tesla" and model 1734412 under brand "Universal Wall Connector", both with a 22 ft cord on the record (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • Qmerit — NEMA 14-50 and GFCI Protection for EV Chargers (May 1, 2026) — An installer network's explanation: NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- through 250-volt garage receptacles, NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging, the charger's own ground-fault protection can conflict with an external GFCI, and hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — DOE guidance on Level 1 vs Level 2 home charging, 120V/240V service and installation (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) for Electric Vehicles — The SAE standard for the NACS connector (Tesla's plug), alongside the J1772 AC standard (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading