Amp & Adapter

Autel MaxiCharger vs Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla asks for a 60-amp circuit to give you 48 amps. Autel asks for 70 to give you 50. Both are hardwired, both are good, and only one of them publishes what it does at 20 degrees below zero.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

If your garage is Tesla-only and your panel can feed a 60-amp circuit, buy the Tesla Wall Connector. Everyone else should buy the Autel MaxiCharger — in the NACS version for a Tesla-style inlet, or the J1772 version for everything else. The Tesla wins on two specifics: it reaches its full output on a smaller circuit than the Autel needs for its own, and Tesla’s charging-equipment warranty runs 48 months residential against Autel’s three years. The Autel wins on almost everything else that is written down.

This is a closer comparison than the price gap suggests, and the price gap is real: in our registry the Autel sits in the mid price tier and the Tesla in the premium one, which is why the live prices on the cards below usually tell the same story. But the specification that decides most installs is not the price or the output. It is the circuit each maker publishes, because that is the number your electrician quotes against.

Tesla’s Gen 3 Wall Connector manual publishes 12 to 48 amps of output and a 60-amp breakerfor the full 48. Autel’s own US store page publishes a 70-amp circuitfor the 50-amp MaxiCharger’s full output — which is correct arithmetic, not a typo: a 50-amp continuous load sized at 125% is 62.5 amps, and the next standard breaker above that is 70. So the Autel’s two extra amps ask for ten extra amps of feed.

We own neither unit and we do not bench-test chargers — here is what we do instead. Every figure below is one of these two makers’ own published specification, read on the dates in the sources list, and where a maker publishes nothing we say so rather than filling the gap.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla's own home charger, and the tidiest thing you can bolt to the wall of a Tesla-only garage: a native NACS handle, 48A output and scheduling from the app you already have open for the car. The handle fits nothing else without an adapter, and it is hardwired only, so it earns its premium in one specific household rather than in general.

Buy this for a Tesla-only garage
$883.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Autel MaxiCharger Home NACS (50A)

Autel MaxiCharger Home NACS (50A)

The fastest and best-protected NACS unit on this list: 50A output, a NEMA 4X enclosure and a genuinely flexible cable that still coils in the cold. Worth it only if your panel can actually feed a 60A circuit.

Buy this for any NACS-inlet car
$569.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Buy this for a J1772-inlet car
$529.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0012% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Buy this for a Tesla-only garage

Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla's own home charger, and the tidiest thing you can bolt to the wall of a Tesla-only garage: a native NACS handle, 48A output and scheduling from the app you already have open for the car. The handle fits nothing else without an adapter, and it is hardwired only, so it earns its premium in one specific household rather than in general.

Strengths

  • Native NACS handle — a Tesla plugs straight in with nothing hanging off the connector
  • Up to 48A / 11.5 kW with a published 24 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, over-the-air updates and load management, managed from the Tesla app

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — Tesla's manual does not permit a cord-and-plug install, so the electrician is part of the purchase
  • Tesla's manual for it cautions that no adapters or conversion adapters are to be used, so a J1772 car is really the Universal version's job
  • Typically the most expensive route to 48A at home
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length24 ft
InstallHardwired (60A circuit for full output)
Outdoor ratingIndoor/outdoor rated
Warranty4 years (residential)

Spec note. The listing publishes Level 2, up to 48A and a 24 ft cable. Tesla's own support material adds the rest: hardwired only — cord-and-plug connection is not permitted — a double-pole 60A breaker for full output, approval for indoor or outdoor installation, Wi-Fi, and a 48-month residential warranty. This is the NACS-handle unit (Tesla's Gen 3 Wall Connector manual covers part number 1457768), distinct from the Universal Wall Connector, which docks Tesla's own J1772 adapter on the side of the unit. That manual's safety section states: "No adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used" (read 2026-09-16).

Specs read from the product listing, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Buy this for any NACS-inlet car

Autel MaxiCharger Home NACS (50A)

The fastest and best-protected NACS unit on this list: 50A output, a NEMA 4X enclosure and a genuinely flexible cable that still coils in the cold. Worth it only if your panel can actually feed a 60A circuit.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW — the highest AC output here — and app-adjustable down to 6A
  • NEMA 4X dust-tight and water-tight enclosure, plus surge and over-temperature protection
  • Flexible 25 ft cable reaches across a two-car garage without fighting you

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only, and 50A needs a 60A breaker most older panels do not have spare
  • Your Tesla's onboard charger caps what it can accept, so many cars will never use all 50A
  • Connectivity (Wi-Fi/Bluetooth/Ethernet) is one more thing that can need a reconnect
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4X (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Autel publishes an adjustable 6A-50A range on a dedicated 20A-80A circuit depending on the setting, and roughly 48 miles of range per hour at 50A. This is the NACS sibling of the J1772 MaxiCharger we cover in the main home-charger roundup.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Buy this for a J1772-inlet car

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, adjustable down to 16A in the app
  • IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure rated -40 to 131 °F — the widest published range of any charger here
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet, with scheduling and access control
  • Autel lists Adaptive Load Management and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing
  • CSA certified and ENERGY STAR certified, with a 3-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • Autel publishes a 70A circuit for full 50A output — more than the 60A a 48A charger needs, and more than many panels can spare
  • Hardwired only at this output; the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 versions are separate 40A models
  • Autel does not publish what sensor hardware Adaptive Load Management needs, so you cannot cost the feature before buying
  • Connectivity adds a failure point a charger with no radio does not have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (70A circuit for 50A); plug-in sold as separate 40A models
Outdoor ratingIP65 / NEMA 4X (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Autel sells this as the MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A. Autel's own US store listing publishes: "Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)" adjustable 16-50A, hardwired with a 70A circuit required for full output, an SAE J1772 connector on a "25 ft. (7.5 m)" cable, "IP65 / NEMA 4X", "-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)" operating temperature, Bluetooth / Wi-Fi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485, "Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", CSA and ENERGY STAR certification, a 3-year warranty and about 15.4 lb with the in-body holster. Autel's product page repeats the NEMA 4X rating and the -40°F to 131°F figure and describes ALM as sharing power between loads in the home, but neither page states what sensor hardware ALM requires or (on the product page) the circuit size for 50A. The 50A unit is hardwired — the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions are separate 40A models, so the install type is chosen at purchase rather than configured on the wall. The listing we link is the hardwired 50A.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The circuit is the real decision

Both of these are hardwired chargers at full output, which means the install cost is driven by the breaker and the wire run rather than by the box on the wall. Here the two makers ask different things of your panel:

  • Tesla:48 amps on a 60-amp double-pole breaker, commissioned down to 40, 32, 24, 16 or 12 amps if the panel cannot carry it.
  • Autel:50 amps with a 70-amp circuit per its own store page, adjustable down to 16 amps in the app — and its NACS listing publishes the same unit as adjustable from 6 to 50 amps on a 20- to 80-amp circuit depending on the setting.

In other words, both chargers can be dialed down to fit a modest panel, but only one of them reaches its headline number on a circuit that is common in US houses. If your service is 100 or 125 amps, or the panel is already full, the honest reading is that the Tesla’s 48 amps on 60 is the easier install and the Autel set to 40 amps on a 50-amp circuit is the cheaper one. Amps, circuits and the 125% rule walks through the arithmetic, and best for a 100-amp panel is the page to read if the service is your constraint.

And remember what the car does with all this. Two extra amps is about 480 watts, or roughly 2 miles of range per hour on a typical EV — and only on a car whose onboard charger can accept 50 amps in the first place, which most cannot. Our 40 amps vs 48 amps page is the long version of why that gap is smaller than the marketing implies.

Hardwired, and in Tesla’s case hardwired by rule

Neither of these is a plug-in charger. The difference is how firmly each maker says so. Tesla’s installation manual is explicit — “Do NOT install cord-and-plug type connections”— so there is no sanctioned way to put this unit on a NEMA 14-50 outlet. Autel’s 50-amp MaxiCharger is likewise hardwired, but Autel sells plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions as separate 40-amp models, so the install type is a choice you make at purchase.

That matters most to renters and to anyone who expects to move. A hardwired charger stays with the house; a plug-in one comes with you. NEMA 14-50 vs hardwired covers the trade-off in full, and best for renters is the right page if taking the charger with you is non-negotiable.

Connector: the one difference that is not negotiable

The Tesla Wall Connector has a NACS handle and nothing else. Its manual’s safety section states that “No adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used”, so a J1772 car is not this product’s job — that is what the Universal Wall Connector, with Tesla’s own adapter docked on the side of the unit, exists for. Our Wall Connector vs Universal comparison is the page for that decision.

Autel sells the same charger in both connectors, which is the quiet advantage in this matchup. A NACS Autel plugs into a Tesla, a Kia EV9, a Toyota bZ or a Cadillac LYRIQ; a J1772 Autel plugs into everything else, including a Nissan Ariyaor an ID.4. If the household’s next car might not wear the same plug as this one, that flexibility is worth more than two amps. If you need to bridge the two worlds instead, the J1772-to-Tesla adaptersdo it for a fraction of a charger’s price — though we would not design a nightly routine around an adapter.

What each maker publishes — and what it does not

Published specTesla Wall Connector (Gen 3)Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A
Maximum output48 A / 11.5 kW50 A / 12 kW
Adjustable range12-48 A, set at commissioning16-50 A in the app (6-50 A on the NACS listing)
Circuit for full output60 A double-pole breaker70 A (Autel’s own store page)
InstallHardwired only — “Do NOT install cord-and-plug type connections”Hardwired at 50 A; plug-in 14-50 / 6-50 sold as separate 40 A models
ConnectorNACS only; no adapters permitted per the manualJ1772 or NACS, chosen at purchase
Cable24 ft on the listing; 22 ft on EPA’s ENERGY STAR record25 ft (7.5 m)
EnclosureApproved for indoor or outdoor installationIP65 / NEMA 4X
Operating temperatureNot published in the Gen 3 manual−40 °F to 131 °F
ConnectivityWi-Fi with over-the-air updates, managed in the Tesla appWi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN, RS485
Load managementPower sharing across up to six unitsAdaptive Load Management and Dynamic Load Balancing; required sensor hardware not published
CertificationENERGY STAR certified — EPA lists model 1457768 at 48 A / 11.52 kWCSA certified and ENERGY STAR certified
Warranty48 months residential, 12 months commercial3 years
WeightAbout 10 lb with the wireboxAbout 15.4 lb with the in-body holster

The temperature row is the most under-rated line in the table

Autel publishes an operating range of −40 °F to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell — the widest low-temperature figure of any charger in our registry. Tesla’s Gen 3 installation manual approves indoor or outdoor installation but publishes no ambient temperature range at all.

That is not evidence the Tesla fails in the cold; plenty of them work through Minnesota winters. It is evidence that if you need a figure — for an unheated detached garage, a north-facing exterior wall, or simply your own peace of mind — only one of these makers gives you one. That is the argument of best chargers for cold weather, and best outdoor chargers decodes the enclosure ratings themselves.

Load management, if you will ever charge two cars

Both makers publish a way to avoid upgrading your service when a second EV arrives, and they are different kinds of answer. Tesla’s is simple and closed: power sharing across up to six Wall Connectors, all in the Tesla app, which is excellent if every charger and every car is Tesla. Autel lists Adaptive Load Management, which shares capacity with the rest of the house, and Dynamic Load Balancing between chargers — but Autel does not publish what sensor hardware ALM needs, so you cannot cost the feature before you buy it. We flag that as a gap on every page where it comes up rather than guessing at it.

If two cars is the plan, how load management works and best chargers for two EVs are the pages that rank the whole field on exactly this question.

Who should buy which

  • Buy the Tesla if every car in the household is a Tesla, you want charging scheduled in the app that is already on your phone, your panel can take a 60-amp circuit, and the longest warranty in the category matters to you. The fit-and-finish is the best in this comparison, and a NACS handle with nothing clipped onto it is genuinely nicer to live with.
  • Buy the Autel NACSif your car has a NACS inlet but is not a Tesla — or is a Tesla today and might not be next time. Same native handle, more amps, a published temperature range, and a price bracket below Tesla’s.
  • Buy the Autel J1772 if your car has a J1772 or CCS1 inlet. The Tesla Wall Connector is simply the wrong product for that car, and its own manual says so.
  • Buy neitherif your car’s onboard charger is below about 40 amps and you have a NEMA 14-50 outlet already. A good plug-in 40-amp charger will charge it just as fully overnight for a fraction of the install cost — which is the case we make in best 40-amp chargers.

The short answer

Two well-built hardwired chargers, one meaningful specification apart. The Tesla gets to 48 amps on a circuit more houses have and carries a four-year residential warranty; the Autel goes two amps higher if your panel allows, publishes the cold-weather figure Tesla does not, comes in the connector your car actually has, and sits a price bracket below it. Unless the garage is Tesla-only, the Autel is the one we would buy — and if you want the fuller field rather than this pair, start at best home EV chargers or the comparison chart.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Autel MaxiCharger better than the Tesla Wall Connector?

For most households, yes — but not for all. The Autel publishes more output (50 amps against 48), a wider operating temperature range (-40 °F to 131 °F against no published range from Tesla), a longer cable, both connector types and a lower price bracket. The Tesla's advantages are a smaller circuit for its full output (60 amps against Autel's published 70), a 48-month residential warranty against Autel's three years, and integration with the app Tesla owners already use.

Can a Tesla Wall Connector charge a non-Tesla EV?

Only one with a NACS inlet, and even then Tesla's own documentation does not list other brands. The Wall Connector has a NACS handle and its manual's safety section states that no adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used, so a J1772 car needs either the Universal Wall Connector — which docks Tesla's own J1772 adapter on the unit — or a charger with a J1772 handle in the first place.

What size breaker does each charger need?

Tesla publishes a 60-amp double-pole breaker for the Wall Connector's full 48 amps, with commissioning options down to 12 amps. Autel's own US store page publishes a 70-amp circuit for the 50-amp MaxiCharger's full output, because a 50-amp continuous load sized at 125% is 62.5 amps and the next standard breaker is 70; Autel's NACS listing publishes the same unit as adjustable from 6 to 50 amps on a 20- to 80-amp circuit depending on the setting.

Can either charger be plugged into a NEMA 14-50 outlet?

Not these two units. Tesla's installation manual says "Do NOT install cord-and-plug type connections", and the 50-amp Autel is hardwired. Autel does sell plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions of the MaxiCharger, but they are separate 40-amp models — so if you want a plug, that is the model to buy rather than a modification to make.

Which one is better in a cold garage?

On published figures, the Autel. It publishes an operating range of -40 °F to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure. Tesla's Gen 3 Wall Connector manual approves indoor or outdoor installation but publishes no ambient temperature range, so there is no figure to compare against — which is a documentation gap rather than a demonstrated failure.

Do both support charging two cars on one circuit?

Both publish a way to do it, in different styles. Tesla supports power sharing across up to six Wall Connectors, managed in the Tesla app, which suits an all-Tesla household. Autel lists Adaptive Load Management, which shares capacity with the rest of the home, and Dynamic Load Balancing between chargers — but Autel does not publish what sensor hardware ALM requires, so the true cost of that feature is not knowable before purchase.

Sources

Keep reading