Amp & Adapter

ELEGRP Level 2 40A EV Charger Review

The cheapest ETL-certified 40A charger with a 25 ft cable we can find — where the money was saved, and the one specification it does not compromise.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

There is a floor to how cheap a home EV charger can honestly get, and the ELEGRP is close to it. It is a 40A Level 2 charger on a NEMA 14-50 plug, with a 25 ft cable and an ETL listing, at a price that undercuts the established brands by a wide margin. The interesting question is not whether it charges your car — it does — but which corners were cut to get there, and whether any of them matter.

The answer is unusually clean. What ELEGRP gave up is software, brand and published documentation. What it did not give up is the safety certification and the cable length— which happen to be the two specifications that most affect whether you are happy in five years. That is a better set of trade-offs than most budget chargers make.

ELEGRP is worth a word of context. It is not an EV brand; it is an electrical fixtures manufacturer — outlets, switches, dimmers — that has moved into charging. That is a meaningfully different provenance from the anonymous marketplace sellers that populate the bottom of this category, and it is part of why this unit is on our budget roundup when most units at this price are not.

We own no units and have run no bench tests. Everything below is read from the published listing on the date shown under the pick; figures the listing does not publish read “Not published” rather than being guessed at.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger (40A, NEMA 14-50)

ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger (40A, NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest way we found to get a genuinely ETL-certified 40A charger with a long cable. It is a plain plug-in unit with no app and no frills, which is exactly why it undercuts the name brands — buy it if the budget is the binding constraint and you already have a 14-50 outlet.

Our pick — cheapest certified 40A
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Our pick — cheapest certified 40A

ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger (40A, NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest way we found to get a genuinely ETL-certified 40A charger with a long cable. It is a plain plug-in unit with no app and no frills, which is exactly why it undercuts the name brands — buy it if the budget is the binding constraint and you already have a 14-50 outlet.

Strengths

  • ETL certified at 40A — the safety listing is the one thing you should never cut
  • 25 ft cable is longer than several units costing considerably more
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so there is no electrician bill for the charger itself

Trade-offs

  • No app, no scheduling — if you need off-peak automation, look at the Emporia
  • ELEGRP is a fixtures brand rather than an EV specialist; long-term support is the open question
  • The listing does not publish an outdoor enclosure rating, so treat it as a garage unit
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, 240V, an ETL certification, a NEMA 14-50 plug and a 25 ft cable. It does not publish a NEMA/IP enclosure rating or a warranty term, so both read as not published here. A 40A charger requires a 50A circuit under the 80% rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The one thing it does not compromise

It is ETL certified. This is the line we will not cross on a charger recommendation, and it is why this unit is here while most things at this price are not.

An ETL listing means Intertek — an independent, nationally recognized testing laboratory — tested the device against the applicable safety standard. UL listing means the same from Underwriters Laboratories. Either is acceptable. What is notacceptable is a listing that says only “certified”, or names a mark that is a self-declaration rather than a lab test, or says nothing at all.

The reason this matters more here than on almost any other consumer purchase is the duty cycle. A Level 2 charger draws its full rated current, continuously, for eight to twelve hours, unattended, usually in an attached garage, several nights a week, for a decade. Very few household devices work that hard. The EPA’s ENERGY STAR program publishes a searchable list of certified EV chargers, and cross-checking a model against it takes under a minute. Do that before buying anything, including this.

Where the money was saved

No app, no Wi-Fi, no scheduling.This is the largest single saving and, for most buyers, the least consequential. The main thing a charger app buys you is scheduling to off-peak electricity rates — and most modern EVs can schedule charging from the car’s own screen, for free, in a way that works at any charger you plug into. Check your car first. If it can set a departure time or charging window, a charger app is a duplicate feature. Our smart charger roundup works through what connectivity is genuinely worth.

No published enclosure rating.The listing does not state a NEMA or IP rating, so we treat this as an indoor / garage charger. If your charger is going on an exterior wall, this is the specification that should move you to a different unit — our outdoor charger roundup covers what those ratings actually mean and which units genuinely hold them.

No published warranty term. Worth naming plainly, because a warranty length is a manufacturer betting its own money on its failure rate. The practical mitigation here is the form factor: a plug-in charger that fails is a five-minute swap, not a service call. That is a real argument for plug-in units at the budget end, and it is covered in our plug-in vs hardwired guide.

Brand depth.ELEGRP makes electrical fixtures competently and has a real corporate existence, but it does not have ChargePoint’s decade of EV-specific service history. On a non-connected charger this matters much less than it would on a cloud-dependent one — there is no account to lose access to and no server that has to stay up for your car to charge.

What it does not skimp on: the cable

A 25 ft cable at this price is genuinely notable, and it is the second reason this unit is worth your attention. Cable length is the most under-rated specification in the category and the source of the most common regret. Buyers fixate on amperage — a difference of eight miles of range per hour they will never notice — and then discover that a 16 ft cord cannot reach a charge port on the opposite side of the car from where the outlet is.

Before buying any charger, walk the actual cable path: down the wall, across the floor, around the vehicle to the port, plus slack so the cable is not under tension. Add a couple of feet. If the answer is more than the charger’s cable, either move the charger, buy a longer-cabled unit, or add a properly rated extension — our cables and extensions guide covers doing that safely.

One caveat on budget cables

Cheaper cables are stiffer, and stiffness gets dramatically worse below freezing. In a cold garage in January, a budget cable can be genuinely hard to coil, and forcing a stiff cable is how jackets crack. If you live somewhere with real winters, our cold weather charging guide covers what actually changes — and a wall hook or holster costing a few dollars keeps the cable off a cold concrete floor, which helps more than people expect.

Who should buy it, and who should not

Buy it if the budget is the binding constraint, you already have or are getting a NEMA 14-50 outlet, the charger is going in a garage rather than on an exterior wall, and either your car handles its own charge scheduling or your utility has no time-of-use rates. That is a large and entirely reasonable set of people, and they should not feel they are settling.

Buy something else ifany of the following are true. If the charger is going outside, buy a unit with a published outdoor rating. If your panel is uncertain and you might end up on a smaller circuit, buy a charger that configures down — the ChargePoint Home Flex goes to 16A. If you might want 48A later, buy the Emporia, which converts from a 40A plug to a 48A hardwired install. And if your utility has genuine off-peak pricing and your car cannot schedule itself, the app on a smarter charger will pay for the price difference.

Do not forget the outlet

If you are saving money on the charger, do not then save money on the receptacle. A continuous 40A EV load is far harder on a NEMA 14-50 outlet than the oven the cheap ones were designed for, and overheated and melted receptacles are a well-documented failure mode in home EV installs. An industrial-grade 14-50 costs very little more than a bargain one and is the single best few dollars in the whole project — see our NEMA 14-50 outlet guide.

Frequently asked questions

Is the ELEGRP 40A charger safe?

It carries an ETL listing, meaning an independent testing laboratory tested it against the applicable safety standard. That is the specification that matters most on a device drawing full rated current continuously for hours, unattended, and it is the reason this unit is recommendable when many at similar prices are not.

What is the difference between UL and ETL certification?

Practically none for your purposes. Both are nationally recognized testing laboratories — UL is Underwriters Laboratories, ETL is Intertek — and both mean an independent lab tested the product against the same standard. What matters is that a named lab is stated at all. A listing that says only 'certified' with no body named has told you nothing.

Can the ELEGRP charger be installed outdoors?

The listing does not publish a NEMA or IP enclosure rating, so we treat it as a garage or indoor unit and would not put it on an exterior wall. If outdoor installation is the plan, choose a charger that publishes a rating — our outdoor roundup covers what those numbers mean.

Does the ELEGRP have an app?

No, and that is where much of the price saving comes from. The main thing a charger app provides is off-peak scheduling, and most modern EVs can schedule charging from the car itself for free. Check your car before paying extra for the feature.

What outlet does the ELEGRP charger need?

A NEMA 14-50 on a 50A circuit, installed by a licensed electrician to code. Use an industrial-grade receptacle rather than a bargain one — a continuous 40A EV load is far harder on the contacts than the appliance loads cheap 14-50 outlets were designed for.

Sources

Keep reading