Amp & Adapter

Best EV Chargers With a Long Cable

25 feet is the practical ceiling on a home charger, and four of the five picks here hit it. The reason nobody sells 40 ft is worth understanding before you go looking for one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect: 25 ft of cable, cast metal, UL Type 4 outdoor rated. It pairs the longest cable on the market with the best published weather rating of any pick here, which is the combination most people in this situation actually need — a long cable usually means the box went somewhere awkward, and awkward is often outdoors. If you also need 48 amps, buy the Emporia Proinstead — same 25 ft, NEMA 4, and it manages your panel while it is at it.

Cable length is the spec people discover they got wrong after the charger is already on the wall. The car parks nose-in one week and tail-in the next; the port is on the opposite corner from the only usable stud; the panel is in the basement and the only sensible mounting point is 18 feet from where the car sits. A charger that cannot reach is a charger you resent.

Here is the thing to know before you start shopping: 25 feet is the ceiling. Every wall charger in our registry that publishes a cable length publishes 25 ft or less, and that is not a coincidence — it is what the standards and the voltage-drop arithmetic allow for a cable a human has to coil every day. If you have seen a 40 ft figure advertised, it is almost certainly an extension, which is a different product with different trade-offs. We cover that honestly at the bottom.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Every length below is the manufacturer’s own published figure, read from the listing or the maker’s page, and we say where a listing publishes no enclosure rating.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Best overall — 25 ft, built for outdoors
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Not a faster charger than the Emporia Classic — Emporia's own comparison puts both at 48A — but a charger you can install where 48A would not otherwise fit. The premium buys PowerSmart load management and the Vue 3 panel monitor it depends on, which throttles charging to whatever headroom your service has left. On a 100A panel that is the difference between charging fast and rewiring the house; on a roomy 200A panel it is a feature you are paying for and will not use.

Best 25 ft at 48A
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVPOVO Level 2 Wall Charger (40A, 25 ft)

EVPOVO Level 2 Wall Charger (40A, 25 ft)

A wall-mounted 40A charger with a published 25 ft cable, at a price that normally buys a portable unit. Cable length is the spec most budget chargers quietly shorten, so a unit that publishes 25 ft at this price is worth a look — with the usual small-brand caveats.

Best value — 25 ft on a budget
$243.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most. The one to look at if you want ChargePoint-grade features and outdoor toughness but want to compare on price.

Best for a long hardwired run — 25 ft
$529.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0012% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
VEVOR J1772 Extension Cable (40A, 40 ft)

VEVOR J1772 Extension Cable (40A, 40 ft)

The fix for a charger cord that won't quite reach the charge port. A properly rated J1772 extension is the safe way to add length — the key is buying one rated for your charger's amperage, not the cheapest one.

Best if the charger is already mounted
$160.90 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall — 25 ft, built for outdoors

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best 25 ft at 48A

Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Not a faster charger than the Emporia Classic — Emporia's own comparison puts both at 48A — but a charger you can install where 48A would not otherwise fit. The premium buys PowerSmart load management and the Vue 3 panel monitor it depends on, which throttles charging to whatever headroom your service has left. On a 100A panel that is the difference between charging fast and rewiring the house; on a roomy 200A panel it is a feature you are paying for and will not use.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management is bundled, not an upsell — the Vue 3 panel monitor it needs is in the box
  • 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, from the same unit
  • NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor installation, with a 25 ft cable
  • Rear-entry hardwire option the Classic does not offer, which hides the conduit
  • Solar excess-charging and whole-home energy monitoring in the same app, with no subscription
  • 3-year warranty, and Emporia publishes UL Listed, NEMA rated and ENERGY STAR certification

Trade-offs

  • No faster than the cheaper Emporia Classic — both are 48A, so if you do not need load management you are paying for nothing
  • PowerSmart depends on the Vue 3 sending load data to Emporia's cloud, so the throttling that protects your panel is a connected service, not local hardware
  • The Vue 3 clamps onto your service mains, so an electrician still has to open the panel — 'no panel upgrade' does not mean 'no panel work'
  • Emporia's own “$3,000-$8,000 panel upgrade” saving is the manufacturer's marketing figure, not an independent estimate
  • Emporia does not publish the Pro's ENERGY STAR model number, which rebate forms usually ask for
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (48A); a NEMA 14-50 plug-in SKU runs at 40A
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Emporia publishes: up to 48A hardwired on a 60A circuit, up to 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet (50A circuit), a 25 ft cable, a NEMA 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a rear-entry hardwire option, a 3-year warranty, and UL Listed / NEMA Rated / ENERGY STAR Certified marks. Its own Classic-vs-Pro table lists BOTH models at up to 48A, 25 ft and 3 years — the Pro's differences are PowerSmart load management, the bundled Vue 3 energy monitor, solar and peak-demand features, the square case and rear entry. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database holds one Emporia Corp. family record (EMEVSE1, 48A, 25 ft output cord, 6 AWG, network capability 'Yes', qualified May 2022) covering fifteen further model numbers; Emporia does not publish which one the Pro carries, so confirm the model number with Emporia before filing a rebate that requires it.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best value — 25 ft on a budget

EVPOVO Level 2 Wall Charger (40A, 25 ft)

A wall-mounted 40A charger with a published 25 ft cable, at a price that normally buys a portable unit. Cable length is the spec most budget chargers quietly shorten, so a unit that publishes 25 ft at this price is worth a look — with the usual small-brand caveats.

Strengths

  • 25 ft cable is published up front — enough to reach a charge port on the far side of the car
  • 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, so no hardwiring is required
  • Wall-mounted design at a price closer to the portable units

Trade-offs

  • EVPOVO is a small brand with essentially no service track record
  • The listing does not name a certification body, an enclosure rating or a warranty
  • No app or scheduling — if your utility has time-of-use rates, check the car can schedule instead
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, a J1772 connector, a NEMA 14-50 plug, wall-mounted construction and a 25 ft cable. It does not name a certification body, an enclosure rating or a warranty term, so those read as not published. Verify the certification on the listing page before buying — it is the one spec we would not trade away.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best for a long hardwired run — 25 ft

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most. The one to look at if you want ChargePoint-grade features and outdoor toughness but want to compare on price.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, dial-adjustable to smaller circuits
  • Wi-Fi + Bluetooth, scheduling and access control
  • Solid outdoor build, NEMA 4 rating

Trade-offs

  • Full 50A needs a 60A circuit and hardwiring
  • App occasionally needs a reconnect — connectivity adds a failure point a dumb charger doesn't have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired; plug-in sold as separate 40A models
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Autel sells this as the MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A. The 50A unit is hardwired — the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions are separate 40A models, so the install type is chosen at purchase rather than configured on the wall. The listing we link is the hardwired 50A. Long 25 ft cable reaches across a two-car garage.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 23, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best if the charger is already mounted

VEVOR J1772 Extension Cable (40A, 40 ft)

The fix for a charger cord that won't quite reach the charge port. A properly rated J1772 extension is the safe way to add length — the key is buying one rated for your charger's amperage, not the cheapest one.

Strengths

  • Adds reach without relocating the charger or the outlet
  • Rated for Level 2 amperage when you buy the correct gauge
  • Weather-resistant connectors

Trade-offs

  • Every extra connection is a small resistance point — buy the right amp rating
  • Not a substitute for a correctly placed charger on a permanent install
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length40 ft
InstallIn-line extension
Outdoor ratingNot published
Warranty1 year

Spec note. Match the extension's amp rating to your charger — a 40A charger needs a 40A-rated cable. Sold in 20 ft and 40 ft lengths and different amperages.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Measure the run before you read any further

Almost everybody measures this wrong, in the same way: they measure the straight line from the box to the car’s charge port. The cable does not travel in a straight line. It travels down the wall, along the floor, aroundthe vehicle, and then up to the port — and it needs slack at both ends so it is not under tension.

Do it like this, with a tape measure and the car parked where it normally parks:

  1. From the planned box height (typically around 4 ft) down to the floor. Call it 4 ft.
  2. Along the floor to the nearest corner of the car, then around the car’s body to the side the port is on. This is the step people skip and it is frequently 10 to 15 ft on its own.
  3. Up from the floor to the port, usually 2 to 3 ft.
  4. Add 3 ft of slack. A cable pulled taut stresses the connector and the strain relief, and those are the two parts that fail.

Add them up. If the total is under 18 ft, every pick on this page is more cable than you need and you should buy on amperage and enclosure instead — our main roundup is the right page. If the total is 20 to 25 ft, buy a 25 ft charger from this page. If it is over 25 ft, read the last section before you buy anything, because the answer is probably to move the box rather than to lengthen the cable.

Why nothing is longer than 25 feet

Three reasons, and they compound.

Voltage drop. A longer conductor at the same gauge loses more voltage, and the loss shows up as heat in the cable rather than power in the car. Makers either accept the loss or move to a heavier gauge, and heavier gauge means a stiffer, heavier cable.

Weight and handling.A 40A cable at a gauge heavy enough to run 35 ft without meaningful drop is genuinely difficult to coil, and it will be coiled every day for a decade. The two picks that publish their conductor gauge are worth comparing on exactly this: the Emporia’s ENERGY STAR record lists 6 AWG at 25 ft, where the Grizzl-E Classic’s record lists 8 AWG at 24 ft. Heavier copper, less drop, more effort in your hands.

Certification. The safety standards these units are listed under cover the assembly as a whole, cable included. A longer cable is not a thing a manufacturer can simply offer; it is a different listed product.

Which is why, if 25 ft does not reach, the right fix is almost always to move the charger closer to the car rather than to extend the cable to the charger. That is a conduit run, which is cheaper and far less consequential than it sounds. Our installation cost guide covers what a longer circuit run typically adds.

How we chose

  1. Published cable length, longest first. Four of the five picks publish 25 ft, which is the market ceiling. We rank among them on what else they get right rather than pretending there is a length difference.
  2. Amperage, because reach should not cost you speed. One pick is 48A, one is 50A hardwired, two are 40A. Nothing below 40A is here.
  3. Enclosure rating, published and named. A long cable usually means the box is mounted somewhere awkward, and awkward is often outdoors. Two picks carry a named NEMA or UL Type rating; we say so where a listing does not publish one.
  4. Purchasable right now. Every pick returned a real price and a stock state when we checked.

The extension cable question, answered honestly

Pick five is a 40 ft J1772 extension, and we have ranked it last deliberately rather than first, even though it is by far the longest thing on this page.

An extension is the right product in exactly one situation: the charger is already mounted, moving it is genuinely impractical, and you need another ten or fifteen feet. A rented garage, a shared wall, a charger installed by a previous owner in the wrong place. In that case it is a cheap fix to an expensive problem and we would rather tell you it exists.

It is the wrong product if you are buying a charger today, because every joint you add is a connection that can loosen, corrode or overheat, and you have added two of them. Both extensions in our registry are rated below the chargers above — 40A on one, 32A on the other — so the extension can become the limit on your charging rate as well as the weakest link in the assembly.

And to be completely clear about the thing people actually ask: an EV charger extension is not the same as a household extension cord, and a household extension cord is not an acceptable substitute for either. Our extension cord guide sets out exactly why, and our charging cable roundup ranks the extensions themselves.

What we left out, and why

  • Chargers advertising 30 ft or more.We could not verify one from a manufacturer’s own published specification. Where a listing claims a length the maker does not publish, we treat the listing as unverified rather than repeating it.
  • Portable chargers. Several publish 25 ft and they are a legitimate answer, but their cable includes the supply cord rather than being 25 ft of output lead. Our portable roundup covers them on their own terms.
  • Household extension cords. Not a product for this, at any length.

The short answer

Measure the real run — around the car, not through it, plus 3 ft of slack. Under 18 ft, buy on amperage instead. Between 20 and 25 ft, buy the Emporia Pro for speed or the Grizzl-E for weather. Over 25 ft, pay an electrician to move the box closer rather than buying your way around the problem, and use an extension only if the charger is already on the wall and staying there.

One buying note. Several of these brands sell direct as well as on Amazon, and the prices are not always the same. We earn a commission on the links here and nothing on the direct ones, and we would still rather you paid less — check both.

Frequently asked questions

What is the longest EV charger cable you can buy?

For a home wall charger, 25 feet. Every unit in our registry that publishes a cable length publishes 25 ft or less, and that is a limit set by voltage drop, cable weight and the safety listing the assembly is certified under rather than by what manufacturers feel like offering. Longer figures you see advertised are usually extension cables, which are a separate product.

How long a cable do I actually need?

Measure the real path: down from the box to the floor, along the floor and around the car to the side the port is on, up to the port, then add 3 ft of slack. Most people underestimate by 10 to 15 ft because they measure a straight line instead of going around the vehicle. Under 18 ft, buy on amperage instead of length.

Can I use an extension cable with an EV charger?

A purpose-made J1772 extension exists and is the right answer in one situation: the charger is already mounted, moving it is impractical, and you need another ten or fifteen feet. It is the wrong answer if you are buying a charger today, because each joint is a connection that can loosen or overheat and the extension's own amperage rating can become your charging limit. A household extension cord is never an acceptable substitute.

Does a longer cable charge more slowly?

Not meaningfully on a properly specified charger, because the manufacturer sizes the conductor for the length it ships. Longer conductors do lose more voltage, which is why the heavier 6 AWG cable on a 25 ft unit matters. Where length does cost you speed is with an extension rated below your charger — then the extension sets the ceiling.

Is it better to move the charger or extend the cable?

Move the charger. A longer circuit run inside conduit is a one-time electrical cost with no ongoing failure points, where an extension adds two connections to an assembly that gets handled daily and lives in the weather. Moving the box is also the only route that keeps the charger's safety listing intact as the manufacturer certified it.

Sources

Keep reading