Amp & Adapter

Best 48A and 50A Home EV Chargers

The fastest Level 2 chargers you can put in a house — and the honest test for whether your panel, your car and your driving actually justify one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

48 amps is the top of residential Level 2 charging. Above it you are into commercial equipment and service upgrades; below it, at 40A, you are on a plug rather than a hardwire and the install is meaningfully cheaper. So this page is really about one question: is the step from 40A to 48A worth what it costs you?

The arithmetic is unforgiving. A 48A charger delivers about 20% more power than a 40A one — roughly 46 miles of range per hour against roughly 38, using manufacturers’ own published figures. But it requires a 60A circuit instead of a 50A one under the 80% continuous-load rule, it must be hardwired (no plug is rated to carry it continuously), and on an older panel that combination is exactly what triggers a service upgrade costing more than every charger on this page put together.

We ranked these on the criteria that separate high-amperage units from each other: whether the amperage is adjustable so the charger survives a change of circuit, install flexibility, enclosure rating, and cable length. As everywhere on this site, we have not bench-tested these units; the figures come from published specifications on the date under each pick, and anything the manufacturer does not publish reads “Not published”.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Best overall
2
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Best for maximum output
$529.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Most compact
$699.00 · View on Amazon

$799.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger (NACS)

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger (NACS)

The most NACS charger per dollar right now. It ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug at 40A and converts to hardwired for the full 48A, so one purchase covers both installs — and it is UL-listed and ENERGY STAR certified, which not every budget NACS unit is.

Best 48A for a Tesla

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW on a 60A circuit — near the top of home output
  • Load management and scheduling in the app, at a budget price
  • Plug-in or hardwired, NEMA 4 outdoor-rated

Trade-offs

  • 48A requires a 60A circuit, which not every panel has room for
  • Newer brand than ChargePoint or Wallbox, with a shorter track record
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50), convertible to hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which limits it to 40A; to pull the full 48A an electrician hardwires it on a 60A breaker. Pairs with Emporia's energy monitor for whole-home load management. Emporia now markets this unit as the Emporia Classic on its own store; the Amazon listing still uses the original name.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best for maximum output

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, adjustable down to 16A in the app
  • IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure rated -40 to 131 °F — the widest published range of any charger here
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet, with scheduling and access control
  • Autel lists Adaptive Load Management and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing
  • CSA certified and ENERGY STAR certified, with a 3-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • Autel publishes a 70A circuit for full 50A output — more than the 60A a 48A charger needs, and more than many panels can spare
  • Hardwired only at this output; the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 versions are separate 40A models
  • Autel does not publish what sensor hardware Adaptive Load Management needs, so you cannot cost the feature before buying
  • Connectivity adds a failure point a charger with no radio does not have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (70A circuit for 50A); plug-in sold as separate 40A models
Outdoor ratingIP65 / NEMA 4X (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Autel sells this as the MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A. Autel's own US store listing publishes: "Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)" adjustable 16-50A, hardwired with a 70A circuit required for full output, an SAE J1772 connector on a "25 ft. (7.5 m)" cable, "IP65 / NEMA 4X", "-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)" operating temperature, Bluetooth / Wi-Fi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485, "Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", CSA and ENERGY STAR certification, a 3-year warranty and about 15.4 lb with the in-body holster. Autel's product page repeats the NEMA 4X rating and the -40°F to 131°F figure and describes ALM as sharing power between loads in the home, but neither page states what sensor hardware ALM requires or (on the product page) the circuit size for 50A. The 50A unit is hardwired — the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions are separate 40A models, so the install type is chosen at purchase rather than configured on the wall. The listing we link is the hardwired 50A.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Most compact

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Strengths

  • Up to 48A / 11.5 kW in the smallest housing in its class
  • Power Boost and Power Sharing for multi-car or limited-panel homes
  • App scheduling and energy metering

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only for the 48A version — no plug option at full output
  • The compact body runs the cable management tighter than a bigger box
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (48A) or plug-in (40A)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. The 40A plug-in variant exists, but the 48A model is hardwired on a 60A circuit. Power Sharing lets two Pulsar Plus units split one circuit — the cleanest answer to charging two EVs without a panel upgrade.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best 48A for a Tesla

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger (NACS)

The most NACS charger per dollar right now. It ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug at 40A and converts to hardwired for the full 48A, so one purchase covers both installs — and it is UL-listed and ENERGY STAR certified, which not every budget NACS unit is.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, or 40A on the included NEMA 14-50 plug — you choose later
  • UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with a NEMA 4 outdoor-rated enclosure
  • App scheduling and energy tracking that ties into Emporia's whole-home monitoring

Trade-offs

  • The mounted connector faces upward, so grit and water can settle in the pins outdoors — use a holster
  • 48A means a 60A circuit and a hardwire conversion; on the plug you are capped at 40A
  • Newer brand than ChargePoint, with a shorter service track record
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50) or hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Ships preconfigured for a NEMA 14-50 plug, which limits it to 40A; converting to hardwired on a 60A breaker unlocks the full 48A. Emporia publishes roughly 46 miles of range per hour at 48A and 38 at 40A.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Do you actually need 48A?

Here is the test, and it has three parts. You need all three to be true.

1. Your panel can feed a 60A circuit.Not “probably” — ask an electrician for a load calculation. A 60A dedicated circuit is a substantial addition to a 100A service that already runs an electric range, a dryer and air conditioning. If the answer is that you need a panel or service upgrade, stop here and buy a 40A charger; you will save thousands and lose eight miles of range per hour that you almost certainly will not miss.

2. Your car can accept it. This is the one people skip. Charging speed is set by the lowestof three numbers: the circuit, the charger and your car’s onboard AC charger. Plenty of EVs cap AC charging at 32A or 40A regardless of what you hang on the wall. A 48A charger feeding a car that accepts 32A charges at exactly 32A — you have paid for a bigger breaker, thicker wire and a more expensive install to get nothing. Check your specific model and year in the owner’s manual before you spend.

3. Your driving pattern rewards it.Over a normal eight-hour overnight charge, 40A adds over 300 miles and 48A adds roughly 370. Both numbers exceed what nearly anyone drives in a day. The step to 48A only pays when your window is short — you arrive late near empty and leave early — or when two EVs share one charger and you are trying to fit both into one night.

If all three are true

Then the Emporiais the pick, and it has a genuinely useful property: it ships preconfigured on a NEMA 14-50 plug at 40A and converts to a hardwired 48A install later. That means you can start on the cheaper install, live with 40A for a year, and step up if it turns out you actually need it — without buying a second charger. A charger you cannot down-configure is a charger that becomes scrap if you move house or discover the panel will not take 60A; this one covers both outcomes. For most people reading this page, that is the smartest path through the decision.

The ChargePoint Home Flexused to lead this page on the strength of its 16–50A amperage dial. ChargePoint now sells the hardwired and plug-in Home Flex as separate models, and as of 20 September 2026 the hardwired one — the only version that reaches 50A — is not listed on Amazon. The Home Flex on sale there is the NEMA 14-50 plug-in, a 40A unit, so it no longer belongs on a 48A list; our Home Flex review covers what that model is and is not.

If the electrician comes back and says there is simply no room for a 60A circuit, do not give up on 48A yet. The Emporia Pro is the same 48A charger with dynamic load management and a panel monitor bundled in, which throttles charging to whatever headroom the service has left — the recognized way to run a big charger on a small panel without a service upgrade.

Why 48A must be hardwired

Because of the 80% rule. A charger draws its rated current continuously, and code requires a continuous load to sit at or below 80% of the circuit’s rating. 48A is 80% of 60A, so a 48A charger needs a 60A circuit. The NEMA 14-50 receptacle everyone uses for plug-in installs is a 50A device — it tops out at 40A continuous. There is no plug in common residential use rated to carry 48A continuously, which is why every genuine 48A unit is hardwired. If a listing advertises 48A on a plug, something in the claim is wrong. Our amps and circuits guide works through the whole table.

What the install really costs

A 60A circuit needs heavier conductors than a 50A one, and the price gap grows with distance from the panel. Add the hardwire labor, the permit and inspection, and the possibility of a subpanel or service upgrade, and the delta between a 40A plug-in install and a 48A hardwired one is frequently larger than the price difference between the chargers themselves. Get two written quotes with both options priced before you decide — that single step resolves this question faster than any spec comparison. The installation guide covers what to ask, and our 40A vs 48A comparison lines the two routes up on the same charger so the amperage is the only variable.

The Tesla case

Before that, two pages worth reading alongside this one. The Volkswagen ID.4 is the clearest example of a car that genuinely needs 48A, because VW publishes an 11 kW ceiling that a 40A charger cannot fill. And if a 60A circuit is what your panel cannot spare, our 100-amp panel roundup covers the load-managed route to the same amperage.

If you drive a Tesla, the Emporia Level 2 NACSversion does the same 48A job with a factory Tesla connector, so there is no adapter hanging off the handle. It is the same trade-off as the J1772 model in every other respect. If you might not always own a Tesla, the J1772 version plus the adapter that came with your car is the more flexible buy — our Tesla charger roundup argues both sides properly.

What we would skip

Skip 48A entirely if your panel is tight; buy a 40A charger and spend the difference on a proper industrial receptacle. Skip any high-amperage unit that does not publish an adjustable range — fixed 48A is fragile if your circuit turns out smaller. And skip the assumption that more amps means faster charging on your particular car; check the vehicle’s onboard AC limit first, because that is the number that will actually govern your mornings.

One car makes the case for 48A better than most, and it is a useful worked example of the arithmetic above: Kia publishes a 10.9 kW onboard charger for the EV6, which is about 45 amps — just past what a 40A charger can deliver. Our home chargers for the Kia EV6 shows what that gap costs in real overnight hours, and what the connector change in 2025 does to the shortlist.

And one car makes the case the other way, by running straight past this tier. Cadillac lists a 19.2 kW AC onboard charging module on some LYRIQ trims, which is 80 amps — more AC power than any residential charger on this site can supply, so on that car even 48A leaves capability on the table. Our home chargers for the Cadillac LYRIQ works through what to do about it. And if you would rather see this tier next to every other one on published specs, the Level 2 comparison chart puts all of them in a single table.

Frequently asked questions

What size breaker does a 48A EV charger need?

A 60A breaker. Electrical code treats EV charging as a continuous load, so the circuit must be rated at least 125% of the charger's draw — equivalently, the charger may draw no more than 80% of the circuit rating. 48A is 80% of 60A. A 40A charger, by the same rule, needs a 50A circuit.

Can a 48A charger plug into a NEMA 14-50 outlet?

No. A NEMA 14-50 is a 50A receptacle, which caps continuous draw at 40A. Every genuine 48A charger is hardwired for this reason. If a listing claims 48A on a plug, treat the claim as unreliable.

Is 48A meaningfully faster than 40A?

About 20% faster in theory — roughly 46 miles of range per hour versus 38, using manufacturers' published figures. Across a normal overnight charge that is the difference between roughly 370 miles and roughly 300, both of which exceed typical daily driving. It matters when your charging window is short or two cars share one charger.

Will a 48A charger charge my car faster?

Only if your car's onboard AC charger accepts 48A. Many EVs cap AC charging at 32A or 40A, and in that case a 48A wall charger delivers exactly what the car allows and no more. Check your specific model and year before paying for the higher amperage or the bigger circuit.

Should I future-proof by installing 48A now?

Only if the panel supports it without an upgrade. A better form of future-proofing is an adjustable-amperage charger on the circuit you can afford today — it can be reconfigured upward later if you ever add capacity, whereas a fixed 48A unit on an inadequate panel is just an expensive 40A charger.

Sources

Keep reading