Amp & Adapter

Emporia vs Grizzl-E

48A hardwired with panel-aware load management against a 40A plug-in metal box that adjusts to whatever circuit you have — and the availability problem that decides it for NACS cars.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

These are the two brands this site recommends more often than any others, and they are recommended for opposite reasons. Emporia sells software: an app, whole-home energy monitoring, and load management that reads your panel and throttles the car so you do not have to upgrade your service. Grizzl-E sells metal: a cast enclosure made in Ontario, rated for a Canadian winter, with as little between the breaker and the car as possible.

That makes the comparison unusually clean, because the two are not really competing on charging speed. The question is which problem you have. If your electrical panel is the constraint, Emporia solves a problem Grizzl-E cannot. If it is not, you are paying for software to manage headroom you already have.

One thing has to be said before anything else, because it changes the answer for a lot of readers. When we checked every live Amazon listing for both brands on 5 October 2026, Emporia had exactly one purchasable charger there — the Pro, 48A, hardwired, J1772. Emporia’s cheaper plug-in Level 2, its hardwired Level 2 and bothof its NACS models all returned “Currently unavailable”. Grizzl-E’s Classic Connect was live in both J1772 and NACS. So if your car has a Tesla-style port, this comparison is already decided on availability and you can skip to the last section.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Everything below is read from each manufacturer’s published specifications, the live listings, and EPA’s ENERGY STAR certified-charger database.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Our pick for most J1772 garages
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Not a faster charger than the Emporia Classic — Emporia's own comparison puts both at 48A — but a charger you can install where 48A would not otherwise fit. The premium buys PowerSmart load management and the Vue 3 panel monitor it depends on, which throttles charging to whatever headroom your service has left. On a 100A panel that is the difference between charging fast and rewiring the house; on a roomy 200A panel it is a feature you are paying for and will not use.

Buy this one when the panel is the problem
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

The same charger with a factory NACS handle instead of a J1772 one — the version to buy if your car has a Tesla-style port and you would rather not leave an adapter hanging off the connector for the next decade. Everything else about it, good and bad, is identical to the J1772 model.

The NACS answer — Emporia currently has none
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Our pick for most J1772 garages

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Buy this one when the panel is the problem

Emporia Pro (48A, hardwired, J1772)

Not a faster charger than the Emporia Classic — Emporia's own comparison puts both at 48A — but a charger you can install where 48A would not otherwise fit. The premium buys PowerSmart load management and the Vue 3 panel monitor it depends on, which throttles charging to whatever headroom your service has left. On a 100A panel that is the difference between charging fast and rewiring the house; on a roomy 200A panel it is a feature you are paying for and will not use.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart load management is bundled, not an upsell — the Vue 3 panel monitor it needs is in the box
  • 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, from the same unit
  • NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor installation, with a 25 ft cable
  • Rear-entry hardwire option the Classic does not offer, which hides the conduit
  • Solar excess-charging and whole-home energy monitoring in the same app, with no subscription
  • 3-year warranty, and Emporia publishes UL Listed, NEMA rated and ENERGY STAR certification

Trade-offs

  • No faster than the cheaper Emporia Classic — both are 48A, so if you do not need load management you are paying for nothing
  • PowerSmart depends on the Vue 3 sending load data to Emporia's cloud, so the throttling that protects your panel is a connected service, not local hardware
  • The Vue 3 clamps onto your service mains, so an electrician still has to open the panel — 'no panel upgrade' does not mean 'no panel work'
  • Emporia's own “$3,000-$8,000 panel upgrade” saving is the manufacturer's marketing figure, not an independent estimate
  • Emporia does not publish the Pro's ENERGY STAR model number, which rebate forms usually ask for
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (48A); a NEMA 14-50 plug-in SKU runs at 40A
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Emporia publishes: up to 48A hardwired on a 60A circuit, up to 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet (50A circuit), a 25 ft cable, a NEMA 4 indoor/outdoor rating, a rear-entry hardwire option, a 3-year warranty, and UL Listed / NEMA Rated / ENERGY STAR Certified marks. Its own Classic-vs-Pro table lists BOTH models at up to 48A, 25 ft and 3 years — the Pro's differences are PowerSmart load management, the bundled Vue 3 energy monitor, solar and peak-demand features, the square case and rear entry. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database holds one Emporia Corp. family record (EMEVSE1, 48A, 25 ft output cord, 6 AWG, network capability 'Yes', qualified May 2022) covering fifteen further model numbers; Emporia does not publish which one the Pro carries, so confirm the model number with Emporia before filing a rebate that requires it.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3The NACS answer — Emporia currently has none

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (NACS)

The same charger with a factory NACS handle instead of a J1772 one — the version to buy if your car has a Tesla-style port and you would rather not leave an adapter hanging off the connector for the next decade. Everything else about it, good and bad, is identical to the J1772 model.

Strengths

  • Native NACS handle — a Tesla, or any NACS-port EV, plugs straight in
  • Identical hardware to the J1772 model: 16–40A adjustable, UL Type 4 metal enclosure, 25 ft cable, Wi-Fi
  • Plug-in on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no electrician beyond the outlet itself
  • 3-year warranty, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C

Trade-offs

  • A non-NACS EV needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, which is not in the box
  • Same missing ENERGY STAR listing as the J1772 model as of 2 September 2026
  • Same forced Wi-Fi, and the same loss of the NEMA 6-50 plug option the Classic offered
  • The Black NACS colorway was unavailable on Amazon when we checked; the White one is the live listing
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Mechanically and electrically the same unit as the J1772 model — United Chargers lists the connector as the only difference, offering the Classic Connect with a “Type 1 (SAE J1772); NACS” output cable across the same four colorways. Same 40A adjustable to 16A, same NEMA 14-50 plug, same 25 ft cord, same UL Type 4 rating and UL/cUL E510712 listing, same Wi-Fi and same 3-year warranty. The ENERGY STAR caveat on the J1772 model applies here too: no Classic Connect row appears in EPA's certified-EVSE database.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The specifications, side by side

Every figure in this table is the manufacturer’s own published number, read on 5 October 2026. Where the two brands measure the same thing differently, both readings are given rather than one being chosen.

SpecificationEmporia ProGrizzl-E Classic Connect 40A
Maximum output48A / 11.5 kW hardwired; 40A on a NEMA 14-5040A / 9.6 kW, adjustable down to 16A
InstallHardwired (rear entry available) or plug-in SKUPlug-in, NEMA 14-50 only
Circuit needed at full output60A50A
Cable25 ft (ENERGY STAR record: 25 ft, 6 AWG)25 ft published; ENERGY STAR records 24 ft, 8 AWG on the Classic
EnclosureNEMA 4, outdoor ratedUL Type 4, cast metal, made in Canada
Temperature rangeNot published−30 °C to +50 °C
ConnectivityWi-Fi, app, PowerSmart load management, solar surplusWi-Fi 2.4 GHz, app, schedules, demand response
Connector options on AmazonJ1772 only (both NACS SKUs unavailable 5 Oct 2026)J1772 or native NACS, both live
Warranty3 years3 years, 5-year extension sold separately
ENERGY STARFamily record exists (EMEVSE1); Pro’s own model number not publishedNo Classic Connect row in EPA’s database; the Classic it replaces is listed
Price bandPremiumMid

48A versus 40A is not the deciding factor

It is the first thing everyone compares and it decides almost nothing. At 240 volts, 48A is 11.5 kW and 40A is 9.6 kW. Across a ten-hour night that is roughly 115 kWh against 96 kWh — call it 400 miles against 335 at a typical 3.5 miles per kWh. Both numbers are several times what an average household drives in a day.

The extra 8 amps only becomes real if twothings are true: your car’s onboard charger can actually accept 48A on AC, and your panel can carry a 60A circuit. Plenty of EVs cap their AC intake well below that — our 40A versus 48A page works through the arithmetic, and the 48A roundupcovers the minority of households where the upgrade genuinely pays. For everyone else, the honest summary is that the Grizzl-E’s 40A is enough and the argument lies elsewhere.

There is one twist worth knowing. The Pro is not a faster charger than Emporia’s own cheaper model — Emporia’s own comparison puts both at 48A. What the Pro adds is load management, and on the plug-in version of the Pro you get 40A anyway, exactly like the Grizzl-E. So if you were planning to buy the Pro and plug it in, you have paid a premium for a charger running at the Grizzl-E’s amperage.

The real difference: who manages your panel

This is the argument, and it is the one case where Emporia does something the Grizzl-E cannot do at any price.

A 48A charger wants a 60A circuit. A 100A service with a range, a dryer, air conditioning and a water heater on it frequently does not have 60 spare amps, and the quoted fix is a panel or service upgrade that costs multiples of the charger. Emporia’s PowerSmart attacks that directly: a Vue 3 energy monitor clamps onto your service mains, reads the whole house in real time, and throttles the car down when the rest of the house is drawing hard. The monitor is included in the box rather than sold as an upsell, which is unusual and genuinely good value if you need it.

Three honest limits on that, though. The throttling depends on the Vue 3 sending load data through Emporia’s cloud, so the thing protecting your panel is a connected service rather than local hardware. The clamps go onto your service mains, which means an electrician still opens the panel — “no panel upgrade” is not “no panel work”. And the dollar savings Emporia quotes for the upgrade you avoid is the manufacturer’s own marketing figure, not an independent estimate. Our load management guide explains the alternatives, including the much cheaper one of simply running less current.

Because that is the Grizzl-E’s answer to the same problem, and it is a good one. The Classic Connect is adjustable from 16A to 40A in the unit itself. If your electrician says you can spare a 30A circuit, you set it to 24A and charge at 5.8 kW — still about 200 miles overnight — with no monitor, no cloud and no second device. You lose the dynamic part: a fixed setting cannot borrow headroom back when the dryer stops. For most households that borrowing is a luxury, because charging overnight already avoids the peaks it would be borrowing from.

Hardwired versus plug-in

The Pro is primarily a hardwired charger, with a rear-entry conduit option that hides the wiring. The Classic Connect is plug-in only, on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, and the NEMA 6-50 option its predecessor offered is gone.

Hardwiring is electrically the better install. There is no receptacle to overheat, and it sidesteps the GFCI conflict that makes plug-in chargers trip breakers: NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection on garage receptacles and NEC 625.54 requires it on receptacles installed for EV charging, and a charger’s own ground-fault protection can fight an external GFCI breaker. Hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle rule at all. Our plug-in versus hardwired guide has the full case.

Plug-in wins on everything else that is not electrical. You can take it with you when you move, you can swap a failed unit without an electrician, and if the outlet already exists the install cost is zero. Just do not economize on the receptacle — an ordinary 14-50 outlet is built for the intermittent loads of ranges and RVs, not 40A held for eight hours a night, and overheated outlets are a documented failure mode. Our NEMA 14-50 outlet roundup covers the industrial-grade ones worth buying.

Outdoors, cold, and what the ratings mean

Both publish a NEMA 4 / UL Type 4 enclosure, which is a real rating covering windblown dust, rain, splashing and hose-directed water, and a meaningfully stronger claim than the “weather resistant” phrasing unrated units use. On that specification they tie.

They do not tie on cold. Grizzl-E publishes an operating range of −30 °C to +50 °Cand a cast-metal case made in Canada; Emporia does not publish an operating-temperature range for the Pro at all. If the charger is going on an exposed wall in a climate with real winters, that absence matters, and it is the clearest point in Grizzl-E’s favor on hardware. Our outdoor roundup compares the field on exactly this, and cold-weather charging covers what the car does about it.

A plug-in install on an outdoor wall carries the usual caveat regardless of the charger’s rating: the receptacle and its in-use cover must be rated for the location too, and that is the electrician’s responsibility. A charger cover helps on a fully exposed wall.

Certification, and the rebate paperwork

Both brands publish UL listing, and that is the mark that matters most. ENERGY STAR is where both get awkward, in mirror-image ways, and we checked EPA’s own certified-EVSE database rather than taking either listing’s word.

Emporiahas a family record — EMEVSE1, 48A, 11.52 kW, 25 ft of 6 AWG cord, network capability “Yes”, qualified May 2022 — covering fifteen further model numbers including EMC2-A and EMC2-B. The Pro’s own part number on Amazon reads EMC2V3-B. Close, but not identical, and Emporia does not publish which certified model number the Pro carries.

Grizzl-Ehas the opposite problem. EPA’s database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc., and the Classic Connect is not among them — though the Classic it replaces is. One sibling Amazon listing carries an “Energy Star” claim in its title that EPA’s database does not corroborate for this model, and we are not going to repeat it.

So: if a utility rebate requiring ENERGY STAR certification is part of your budget, verify the exact model number with the program before you order, whichever brand you choose. Programs verify by model number, and several pay enough to change which charger is cheaper. Our certification guide shows how to check a claim yourself in a couple of minutes.

The connector, and why it may end the argument

If your car has a J1772 inlet — which is still most EVs on American roads — both brands serve you and the rest of this page applies.

If your car has a native NACS port, as every Tesla does and as Kia, Hyundai, Ford, GM and others now ship, the practical answer on 5 October 2026 is Grizzl-E, because Emporia’s NACS models were not purchasable on Amazon when we checked and Grizzl-E’s was. You can of course charge a NACS car from a J1772 charger using the adapter that came with it — our J1772-to-Tesla adapter roundupcovers those — but an adapter living permanently on a wall charger is a wear point and a thing to lose. Where a factory NACS handle is available at the same price, buy it. Our NACS home charger roundup is the wider field.

So which one?

Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect if you have, or can get, a NEMA 14-50 outlet; if you want a metal box rated for weather you can name; if your car is NACS; or if you are not sure yet what circuit your panel can spare and want a charger that adapts to the answer. It is the cheaper unit and it covers the common case properly. Full detail in our Classic Connect review.

Buy the Emporia Pro if your panel is the constraint and you have been quoted for a service upgrade; if you want whole-home energy monitoring and solar-surplus charging in the same app without a subscription; if you want a clean hardwired install with the conduit hidden; or if your car genuinely accepts 48A and you have the 60A circuit to feed it. Full detail in our Emporia Pro review.

And a third answer, which is the one we would give most often: if neither the panel nor the connector forces your hand, the money is better spent on the installation than on the charger. An industrial-grade receptacle, or hardwiring instead of a plug, buys more reliability over ten years than eight extra amps you cannot use. Our installation cost guide covers where that money actually goes.

One more Grizzl-E worth knowing about if the charger might not stay on this wall: the same generation is sold as a portable, and our Grizzl-E Mini Connect review covers what it costs to have the same enclosure and the same adjustable output in a box you can pack. Emporia has no equivalent product.

One buying note that applies to both. Each brand sells direct as well as on Amazon, and the prices are not always the same. We earn a commission on the Amazon links and nothing on the direct ones, and we would still rather you paid less — check both.

Frequently asked questions

Is Emporia or Grizzl-E better?

They answer different problems. Emporia's Pro is better if your electrical panel cannot spare a full 60A circuit, because its included PowerSmart load management reads the whole house and throttles the car instead of requiring a service upgrade. Grizzl-E's Classic Connect is better if you want a cast-metal enclosure with a published -30 C to +50 C range on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, if your car has a NACS port, or if you simply want the cheaper unit — 40A is enough for almost every household.

Is the Emporia Pro faster than the Grizzl-E?

Hardwired, yes, but only slightly in practice: 48A / 11.5 kW against 40A / 9.6 kW, which over a ten-hour night is roughly 400 miles of range versus 335 at 3.5 miles per kWh. It only matters if your car's onboard charger accepts 48A on AC and your panel can carry a 60A circuit. The plug-in version of the Emporia Pro runs at 40A, the same as the Grizzl-E.

Which one works with a Tesla?

On 5 October 2026 the practical answer is Grizzl-E. Its Classic Connect is sold with a factory NACS cable and that listing was live and in stock when we checked, while both of Emporia's NACS models returned 'Currently unavailable' on Amazon. You can charge a NACS car from either brand's J1772 model using the adapter that came with the car, but a factory NACS handle avoids leaving an adapter permanently attached to a wall charger.

Do I need the Emporia Vue 3 monitor for PowerSmart to work?

Yes. PowerSmart's throttling is driven by load data from the Vue 3 energy monitor, which clamps onto your service mains. Emporia includes the Vue 3 in the Pro's box rather than selling it separately, which is a genuine value. Two caveats: the clamps mean an electrician still has to open the panel, and the load data travels through Emporia's cloud, so the protection is a connected service rather than local hardware.

Are both chargers ENERGY STAR certified?

Neither can be confirmed cleanly, in mirror-image ways. EPA's certified-EVSE database holds one Emporia Corp. family record (EMEVSE1, 48A, 25 ft of 6 AWG, qualified May 2022) covering fifteen further model numbers including EMC2-A and EMC2-B, but the Pro's Amazon part number reads EMC2V3-B and Emporia does not publish which certified number it carries. For Grizzl-E, the database lists eight models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, although the Classic it replaces is. If a rebate requires ENERGY STAR, confirm the model number with the program before ordering.

Which has the better cable?

Both publish 25 ft. EPA's ENERGY STAR record measures the Emporia family's output cord at 25 ft in 6 AWG; the comparable record for the Grizzl-E Classic measures 24 ft in 8 AWG against the same 25 ft marketing figure, and there is no Classic Connect record to check. On the published evidence Emporia's cord is the longer and thicker of the two, so if reach is tight, plan the Grizzl-E around 24 ft.

Can I install either one outdoors?

Both publish a NEMA 4 / UL Type 4 enclosure, which covers rain, splashing and hose-directed water. Grizzl-E additionally publishes a -30 C to +50 C operating range; Emporia does not publish a temperature range for the Pro, which matters on an exposed wall in a cold climate. On a plug-in install the receptacle and its in-use cover must also be rated for the location, which is the electrician's responsibility rather than the charger's.

Sources

Keep reading