Amp & Adapter

NACS-to-CCS Adapters for a Honda Prologue

The badge on the hood is not the badge that answers this question — why Prologue charging support tracks a different automaker's program, and what to check first.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

The Prologue causes more adapter confusion than any other vehicle we write about, and the reason is structural rather than technical. It was developed with General Motors and is built on GM’s EV platform. So when you go looking for the answer to “can I Supercharge this?”, the guidance you find for Honda’s other vehicles frequently does not apply, and the guidance for GM’s vehicles frequently does — while the customer-facing programs, apps and support you are entitled to use are Honda’s.

The practical consequence: you have two sources to check rather than one, and forum answers that confidently say “Hondas do X” are not reliable for this car. That is worth knowing before you spend money on an adapter that may not be the one you need.

As with every vehicle guide on this site, we will not assert a compatibility pairing we have not verified for your specific model year. Charge port arrangements, automaker adapter programs and which Supercharger sites accept which vehicles all change. Below is the order to check things in, then the adapters worth considering if the manufacturer route is not open to you.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
A2Z NACS to CCS1 Adapter (Typhoon Pro)

A2Z NACS to CCS1 Adapter (Typhoon Pro)

This is the DC-fast adapter that lets a CCS car (before its NACS retrofit) pull power from a Tesla Supercharger. A2Z's version is the enthusiast favorite for build quality and higher sustained current — a serious piece of kit, priced like one.

Best built
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
FOCSPROD NACS to CCS1 Adapter (Interlock, 500A)

FOCSPROD NACS to CCS1 Adapter (Interlock, 500A)

The mid-price NACS-to-CCS option that still publishes the two things that matter on a DC adapter: a UL 2252 reference and an electronic interlock. It sits between the budget units and the A2Z, and the interlock is the reason to prefer it over anything cheaper.

Best interlock for the price
$109.99 · View on Amazon

$125.9913% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron Vortex NACS to CCS1 Adapter

Lectron Vortex NACS to CCS1 Adapter

Lectron's take on the NACS-to-CCS DC adapter, generally a step cheaper than the A2Z while covering the same core job — Supercharging a CCS car. A sensible value option if your vehicle is on the supported list.

Best-known brand
$199.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best built

A2Z NACS to CCS1 Adapter (Typhoon Pro)

This is the DC-fast adapter that lets a CCS car (before its NACS retrofit) pull power from a Tesla Supercharger. A2Z's version is the enthusiast favorite for build quality and higher sustained current — a serious piece of kit, priced like one.

Strengths

  • Unlocks the Tesla Supercharger network for a CCS1 vehicle
  • Built for high sustained DC current with a metal housing
  • Widely reported to work across V3 Superchargers with Magic Dock-style support

Trade-offs

  • Expensive — this is the priciest adapter category by far
  • Your car and the network must both allow it; compatibility is vehicle-specific
ConnectorNACS (Tesla) → CCS1
Max outputNot published
Max power500 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on DC adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
Warranty1 year

Spec note. DC fast charging adapter. Compatibility depends on the specific vehicle and the Supercharger site — confirm your car is on the supported list before relying on it for a trip.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best interlock for the price

FOCSPROD NACS to CCS1 Adapter (Interlock, 500A)

The mid-price NACS-to-CCS option that still publishes the two things that matter on a DC adapter: a UL 2252 reference and an electronic interlock. It sits between the budget units and the A2Z, and the interlock is the reason to prefer it over anything cheaper.

Strengths

  • Publishes an electronic interlock, so the adapter cannot be pulled off under load
  • Rated to 500A / 1000V — the full envelope of a Supercharger stall
  • Cites UL 2252, the standard written for exactly this part

Trade-offs

  • Smaller brand than Lectron or A2Z, with less of a support track record
  • Supercharger access still depends on your vehicle and account being enabled — the adapter alone is not enough
  • The listing does not publish a warranty term or a cable/handle weight
ConnectorNACS → CCS1
Max output500 A
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes a maximum 500A / 1000V rating, an interlock mechanism and a UL 2252 reference. It does not publish a kW figure, a warranty term or an operating temperature range, so those read as not published. Confirm your own vehicle is enabled for non-Tesla Supercharging before buying any adapter.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best-known brand

Lectron Vortex NACS to CCS1 Adapter

Lectron's take on the NACS-to-CCS DC adapter, generally a step cheaper than the A2Z while covering the same core job — Supercharging a CCS car. A sensible value option if your vehicle is on the supported list.

Strengths

  • Cheaper route to Tesla Supercharger access for a CCS car
  • Compact, from a brand that specializes in adapters
  • Covers the common DC-fast use case

Trade-offs

  • Sustained-current ceiling is generally below the priciest options
  • Same vehicle/site compatibility caveats as any NACS-to-CCS adapter
ConnectorNACS (Tesla) → CCS1
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on DC adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
Warranty1 year

Spec note. A DC fast-charging adapter, not an AC one. As with every NACS-to-CCS adapter, whether it works depends on your specific EV and the Supercharger — check the supported-vehicle list first.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Check your charge port first — it may make this page unnecessary

The industry is midway through the switch to native NACSports, and vehicles built on shared platforms have moved at the platform’s pace rather than the badge’s. Go and look:

  • A CCS1 port— a J1772 shape on top with two large DC pins below — is the case this page is about. A NACS-to-CCS adapter is what lets it use a Supercharger.
  • A native NACS port means you plug into a Supercharger directly and need nothing here. What you would want instead is the opposite adapter, so the car can use CCS stations.

Our connector guide has photographs of each if you are unsure. This is a two-minute check that saves buying the wrong part.

The order to check things in

1. Honda’s own adapter program.Start here. Where an automaker supplies or endorses an adapter for its vehicles, use it — it has been validated against your car’s charging hardware and it avoids awkward warranty conversations if something goes wrong at a stall. Check Honda’s owner site and app for your model year specifically.

2. GM’s technical guidance for the platform.This is the Prologue-specific step. Because the vehicle shares GM’s architecture, GM technical documentation about how the platformhandles adapters, handshakes and DC charging is frequently the more accurate description of what your car will actually do — even though your dealer, warranty and app are Honda’s. Treat it as engineering context, not as a substitute for Honda’s official answer.

3. Account enrollment and site availability.Non-Tesla Supercharger access is account-based and rolls out site by site. Being physically able to plug in is not the same as being authorized to charge. The Tesla app, Honda’s own app and the DOE’s Alternative Fuels Data Center station finder all show which locations are open to non-Tesla vehicles.

4. Then buy the adapter, prioritizing one whose listing names UL 2252— the safety standard written for EV coupler adapters. This part carries several hundred volts of DC in the weather while you hold it, which is why our main NACS-to-CCS roundup ranks the whole category on certification before price.

What an adapter does not do

Worth stating plainly, because it is the source of most disappointment. An adapter is a passive connector translator. It changes the shape of the plug and passes the pins through. It does not:

  • Convert voltage. Whatever the station and the car negotiate is what happens. If the architectures do not match well, the adapter cannot fix it.
  • Authorize you. If your account or your vehicle is not enabled for non-Tesla Supercharging, the session will not start.
  • Increase your car’s DC charging ceiling. Your vehicle accepts what it accepts.

Our guide to what an adapter does and does not cost you in charging speedgoes into this properly — it is the question owners ask most and the one with the most confident wrong answers online.

The practical stuff at the stall

The parking problem.Supercharger stalls were laid out around Tesla’s own charge port position and short cables. If your port sits somewhere else on the car, you may find yourself reversing in at an odd angle or straddling two bays. Annoying at a quiet site, genuinely awkward at a busy one, and worth discovering in a parking lot near home rather than on a trip.

Support the weight. The adapter adds length and mass to the connector, and all of it hangs on your charge port. Take the weight with a hand while seating it, and rest the assembly rather than letting it dangle for the whole session.

Prefer an interlock. An adapter with an electronic interlock cannot be pulled off while current is flowing. On a DC part this is a meaningful safety feature rather than a convenience one, and it is why the FOCSPROD unit is on this list at its price.

Is it worth buying at all?

The honest calculus for most Prologue owners: an adapter buys you coverage, not speed. The Supercharger network’s advantage is that there is one nearby, it works, and the stalls are not all broken — which on a long trip matters more than peak kilowatts. If your normal routes have solid CCS coverage, you may genuinely not need one.

Where it earns its money is thin-coverage regions, unfamiliar routes, and the evening when the one CCS site on your route is occupied or down. Our public charging guide covers how to set up accounts and apps before you need them, which is the free half of solving this problem.

And for the charging you do most — at home, overnight, on AC — none of this applies. That is a different connector, a different adapter and a different decision, covered in our home charger roundup.

Frequently asked questions

Can a Honda Prologue use a Tesla Supercharger?

It depends on your model year's charge port, whether your vehicle and account are enabled for non-Tesla Supercharging, and whether the specific site supports it. If your car has a CCS1 port, a NACS-to-CCS adapter is the hardware half of the answer — but confirm the account and site half before buying, because the adapter alone is not sufficient.

Why does Honda Prologue advice differ from other Honda EVs?

Because the Prologue was developed with General Motors and is built on GM's EV platform. Its charging hardware and software behavior follow that platform rather than Honda's other vehicles, even though your dealer, warranty and app are Honda's. Check both sources: Honda for the official program, GM technical material for how the platform actually behaves.

Should I buy Honda's adapter or a third-party one?

Start with the automaker's own program if one is available to you — it has been validated against your car's charging hardware and avoids warranty ambiguity. Third-party adapters are for owners without that option, or who want a spare. If you buy third-party, prioritize a listing that names UL 2252.

Will an adapter slow down my charging?

The adapter itself is a passive connector translator and is not the limiting factor in a well-made unit. What limits your speed is the match between your car's electrical architecture and the station's, plus the normal charge-curve taper as the battery fills. Our adapter charging-speed guide explains where the time actually goes.

Do I need an adapter for home charging?

Not for this. Home charging is AC through a J1772 or NACS connector, which is a completely separate problem from DC fast charging. If you want to use Tesla's AC equipment at home or at a destination charger, that is a Tesla-to-J1772 adapter — a different and much cheaper part.

Sources

Keep reading