Amp & Adapter

Wallbox Pulsar Plus vs Tesla Wall Connector

Both are 48-amp hardwired chargers on a 60-amp circuit. The specifications are close enough that the connector on the end of the cable decides it for almost every household — and Tesla's own manual is unusually blunt about adapters.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

If every car that will ever use this charger is a Tesla, buy the Tesla Wall Connector: a native NACS handle, 48 amps, and a four-year residential warranty. If anything in the household is not a Tesla — now or plausibly in three years — buy the Wallbox Pulsar Plus. It is the cheaper of the two, it is J1772 so it fits almost every EV sold in the US, and a Tesla plugs into it with the adapter that came with the car.

The electrical side is close to a tie. Both deliver 48A / 11.5 kW. Both are hardwired at full output on a 60-amp circuit. Both are rated for an indoor or outdoor wall. Both carry Wi-Fi and an app. Neither is a compromise.

Two things genuinely differ, and one of them is not a spec. The Wallbox has Power Sharing, which lets two units split a single circuit. And Tesla’s own installation manual for the Wall Connector carries a safety line that most buyers never read: “No adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used”. If you were planning to run a J1772 car off a Tesla handle with a third-party adapter, that sentence is the whole argument.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Every figure below is the manufacturer’s own published specification, the live listing, or EPA’s ENERGY STAR record.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Buy this unless the garage is Tesla-only
$699.00 · View on Amazon

$799.9913% off

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla's own home charger, and the tidiest thing you can bolt to the wall of a Tesla-only garage: a native NACS handle, 48A output and scheduling from the app you already have open for the car. The handle fits nothing else without an adapter, and it is hardwired only, so it earns its premium in one specific household rather than in general.

Buy this for a Tesla-only garage
$883.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 10, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Buy this unless the garage is Tesla-only

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Strengths

  • Up to 48A / 11.5 kW in the smallest housing in its class
  • Power Boost and Power Sharing for multi-car or limited-panel homes
  • App scheduling and energy metering

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only for the 48A version — no plug option at full output
  • The compact body runs the cable management tighter than a bigger box
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (48A) or plug-in (40A)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. The 40A plug-in variant exists, but the 48A model is hardwired on a 60A circuit. Power Sharing lets two Pulsar Plus units split one circuit — the cleanest answer to charging two EVs without a panel upgrade.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Buy this for a Tesla-only garage

Tesla Wall Connector

Tesla's own home charger, and the tidiest thing you can bolt to the wall of a Tesla-only garage: a native NACS handle, 48A output and scheduling from the app you already have open for the car. The handle fits nothing else without an adapter, and it is hardwired only, so it earns its premium in one specific household rather than in general.

Strengths

  • Native NACS handle — a Tesla plugs straight in with nothing hanging off the connector
  • Up to 48A / 11.5 kW with a published 24 ft cable
  • Wi-Fi, over-the-air updates and load management, managed from the Tesla app

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — Tesla's manual does not permit a cord-and-plug install, so the electrician is part of the purchase
  • Tesla's manual for it cautions that no adapters or conversion adapters are to be used, so a J1772 car is really the Universal version's job
  • Typically the most expensive route to 48A at home
ConnectorNACS (Tesla)
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length24 ft
InstallHardwired (60A circuit for full output)
Outdoor ratingIndoor/outdoor rated
Warranty4 years (residential)

Spec note. The listing publishes Level 2, up to 48A and a 24 ft cable. Tesla's own support material adds the rest: hardwired only — cord-and-plug connection is not permitted — a double-pole 60A breaker for full output, approval for indoor or outdoor installation, Wi-Fi, and a 48-month residential warranty. This is the NACS-handle unit (Tesla's Gen 3 Wall Connector manual covers part number 1457768), distinct from the Universal Wall Connector, which docks Tesla's own J1772 adapter on the side of the unit. That manual's safety section states: "No adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used" (read 2026-09-16).

Specs read from the product listing, on September 30, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The specifications, side by side

Every figure in this table is the manufacturer’s own published number, the live listing’s, or EPA’s certification record. Where something is not published, the row says so rather than being filled in.

SpecificationWallbox Pulsar PlusTesla Wall Connector
Maximum output48A / 11.5 kW48A / 11.5 kW
ConnectorJ1772NACS (Tesla)
Install at full outputHardwired on 60A; a 40A plug-in variant existsHardwired on 60A only — Tesla’s manual does not permit a cord-and-plug connection
Cable25 ft24 ft published; 22 ft on the ENERGY STAR record
EnclosureNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)Approved for indoor or outdoor installation
Warranty3 years4 years residential (48 months from invoice)
Circuit sharing between two unitsYes — Power Sharing, plus Power BoostYes — load management across Tesla units
ENERGY STARNot confirmed in EPA’s dataset by usYes — model 1457768, 48A / 11.52 kW, qualified 18 September 2023
Physical footprintThe smallest 48A housing in its class13.6 × 6.1 × 4.3 in, about 10 lb with wirebox

The connector is the decision

Everything else on this page is a footnote to this section.

The Tesla Wall Connector ends in a NACS handle. A Tesla plugs into it with nothing dangling off the connector, which is genuinely nicer to live with every night than an adapter joint at the car. Any other EV — a Ford, a Hyundai, a BMW, a Chevy — needs an adapter to use it, and Tesla’s own Gen 3 installation manual states in its safety section that no adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used. Tesla also excludes damage from the “use of non-genuine Tesla accessories or parts” from its charging-equipment warranty.

You can read that strictly or loosely, but you cannot read it as encouragement. If your household is mixed, or might become mixed, Tesla sells a unit designed for exactly that — the Universal Wall Connector, which docks Tesla’s own J1772 adapter on the side of the box, released by a button on the adapter. That is a supported arrangement rather than a workaround, and we compare the two in Wall Connector vs Universal Wall Connector.

The Pulsar Plus ends in J1772, which is the North American Level 2 standard. Every non-Tesla EV plugs straight in, and a Tesla plugs in through the J1772 adapter Tesla supplies with the car. That is one adapter, at the car end, on a cable you are already handling — and it is the arrangement millions of Teslas use at public Level 2 stations every day. Our J1772 to Tesla adapters page covers the spares if the original has wandered off.

Price, and what the gap buys

The Wallbox is the cheaper unit, and the gap is not small. What the Tesla premium buys, concretely: the native handle, an extra year of warranty, a certification record you can look up in EPA’s database under model 1457768, and integration into the app you already have open for the car. What it does not buy is more power — both units are 48 amps.

For a two-Tesla household that premium is defensible, because scheduling, load management and charge history all live in one place. For a single Tesla where the charger is just a cable on a wall, it is a lot of money for a plug shape.

Power Sharing, the Wallbox’s real advantage

If two EVs will eventually share one circuit, the Pulsar Plus has the cleaner answer. Power Sharing lets two Pulsar Plus units split a single circuit between them, so a second car does not mean a second 60-amp run. Power Boost adds whole-home awareness, so the charger backs off when the house is drawing hard.

Tesla has load management across its own units too, so this is an advantage rather than a monopoly — but the Wallbox gets you there with J1772 handles, which means the two cars sharing the circuit do not both have to be Teslas. Our two-EV page works through the options, including the single-charger routes.

The install is the same bill, with one exception

Both units are hardwired on a 60-amp circuit for 48-amp output, so the electrician’s quote is broadly the same: a 60A double-pole breaker, the run to the garage wall, and the box mounted. Our installation cost guide covers what that typically involves.

The exception is the fallback. The Pulsar Plus has a 40A plug-in variant, so if your panel turns out not to have 60 amps spare, there is a version of this purchase that plugs into a NEMA 14-50 and runs at 40 amps. The Tesla Wall Connector has no such route — its manual explicitly rules out a cord-and-plug install — so if the load calculation comes back tight, you are shopping again. Worth knowing before the electrician visits rather than after. Our 100-amp panel page is the right read if you suspect that is you.

The cable, and the figure that differs

Wallbox publishes 25 ft. Tesla publishes 24 ft — and EPA’s ENERGY STAR record for model 1457768 says 22 ft. We do not know which measurement convention produced each number, so we report both rather than picking one.

If reach is tight, plan around 22 ft for the Tesla and measure the real path: down the wall, along the floor, around the car to the side the port is on, up to the port, plus three feet of slack. Teslas take the cable at the rear left, which is often the far side from a wall-mounted charger. Our long-cable roundup covers the units that buy you more reach if neither of these is enough.

The short answer

Tesla-only garage, hardwiring anyway, want the tidiest possible nightly routine: the Tesla Wall Connector earns its premium. Anything else — a non-Tesla EV, a mixed household, a panel you are not sure about, two cars that will share a circuit, or simply a preference for keeping several hundred dollars — the Wallbox Pulsar Plus is the better buy and gives up nothing electrically.

One buying note. Both brands sell direct as well as on Amazon and the prices are not always the same. We earn a commission on the links here and nothing on the direct ones, and we would still rather you paid less — check both.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Wallbox Pulsar Plus as fast as the Tesla Wall Connector?

Yes. Both are rated 48A / 11.5 kW and both need a 60-amp circuit for that output, so on identical wiring they charge at the same rate. The real ceiling in most garages is the car's onboard charger, not either of these units.

Can I use a Tesla Wall Connector with a non-Tesla EV?

Not in a way Tesla supports. The Wall Connector has a NACS handle, and Tesla's Gen 3 installation manual states in its safety section that no adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used. Tesla's charging-equipment warranty also excludes damage from non-genuine Tesla accessories. For a mixed household Tesla sells the Universal Wall Connector, which docks Tesla's own J1772 adapter on the unit.

Can I use a Wallbox Pulsar Plus with a Tesla?

Yes. It has a J1772 connector and Teslas come with a J1772 adapter, which is the same arrangement a Tesla uses at any public Level 2 station. The adapter sits at the car end of the cable rather than being wired into the installation.

Which has the longer cable?

Wallbox publishes 25 ft and Tesla publishes 24 ft, but EPA's ENERGY STAR record for the Tesla unit (model 1457768) lists a 22 ft cord. If reach is tight, plan around 22 ft for the Tesla and measure the real path around the car rather than a straight line.

Can either one be plugged into an outlet instead of hardwired?

The Wallbox can, in a sense: Wallbox sells a 40A plug-in variant, so a NEMA 14-50 install is possible at lower output. The Tesla Wall Connector cannot — its installation manual says not to install cord-and-plug type connections, so hardwiring is the only route.

Is the Tesla Wall Connector worth the extra money?

For a Tesla-only garage, often yes: you get the native handle with no adapter in the nightly routine, four years of residential warranty against three, a certification record checkable in EPA's database, and control from the car's own app. For any household with a non-Tesla EV in it, the premium buys a connector shape that works against you.

Sources

Keep reading