Amp & Adapter

Best Smart Home EV Chargers

The Wi-Fi chargers whose apps do something worth having — scheduling to off-peak rates, load management, energy data — and the honest test for whether you need one at all.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

“Smart” is the most abused word in this category. Almost every charger sold today claims it, and for most of them it means the unit can connect to Wi-Fi and show you a graph. A graph is not worth $200. So before the picks, here is the test we applied to every unit on this page: does the app do something that saves you money or prevents a problem, which your car cannot already do by itself?

There are exactly three things that pass that test. Off-peak scheduling saves real money, but only if your utility has time-of-use pricing andyour car cannot schedule charging from its own screen — and most modern EVs can. Load management is the big one: a charger that can throttle itself, or share a circuit with a second charger, can be the difference between charging at home and paying four figures for a panel upgrade. Access control matters if the charger is somewhere other people can reach it.

Everything else — energy dashboards, monthly reports, charging history, voice assistants — is pleasant and almost never acted on. We have ranked these five on the three things that pass the test, and we say plainly under each one whether you would notice the app after the first fortnight.

We have not bench-tested these units and will not pretend otherwise. Every specification below is read from the manufacturer’s or seller’s published figures on the date shown under each pick. Where a figure is not published, the table says “Not published” rather than guessing.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Best overall smart charger
$456.74 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Best smart value
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most. The one to look at if you want ChargePoint-grade features and outdoor toughness but want to compare on price.

Best hardware
$450.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0025% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Best for two cars
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Best plug-in smart charger
$395.98 · View on Amazon

$469.9916% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall smart charger

ChargePoint Home Flex

The default recommendation for most homes: an adjustable amperage from 16A up to 50A means one unit fits almost any panel, and the app is the most mature in the category. You pay a little for the polish, but it's the safe pick.

Strengths

  • Amperage is dial-set from 16A to 50A, so it matches whatever circuit your electrician can give you
  • Sold hardwired or with a NEMA 14-50 / 6-50 plug, so there is a version for the install you want
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than a bare-bones 40A unit that does the same core job
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallHardwired (plug-in 14-50 / 6-50 sold as separate models)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as separate hardwired and plug-in models, so pick the install before you buy. The hardwired version — the one linked here — takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches the full 50A, which needs a 60A breaker at full output (the continuous-load 80% rule). The NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 plug-in versions are capped at 40A / 9.6 kW, which is plenty for overnight charging.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best smart value

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The most charger for the money right now: 48A output and a genuinely useful app at a price that undercuts the premium names. If you have (or can get) a 60A circuit, this is the one that turns the extra amps into the lowest cost per kW installed.

Strengths

  • 48A / 11.5 kW on a 60A circuit — near the top of home output
  • Load management and scheduling in the app, at a budget price
  • Plug-in or hardwired, NEMA 4 outdoor-rated

Trade-offs

  • 48A requires a 60A circuit, which not every panel has room for
  • Newer brand than ChargePoint or Wallbox, with a shorter track record
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50), convertible to hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Ships on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which limits it to 40A; to pull the full 48A an electrician hardwires it on a 60A breaker. Pairs with Emporia's energy monitor for whole-home load management. Emporia now markets this unit as the Emporia Classic on its own store; the Amazon listing still uses the original name.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best hardware

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most. The one to look at if you want ChargePoint-grade features and outdoor toughness but want to compare on price.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, dial-adjustable to smaller circuits
  • Wi-Fi + Bluetooth, scheduling and access control
  • Solid outdoor build, NEMA 4 rating

Trade-offs

  • Full 50A needs a 60A circuit and hardwiring
  • App occasionally needs a reconnect — connectivity adds a failure point a dumb charger doesn't have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50) or hardwired
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Sold in 40A and 50A versions; the 50A is the one worth buying if your panel supports a 60A circuit. Long 25 ft cable reaches across a two-car garage.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best for two cars

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The compact one. It's the smallest 48A charger here by a wide margin, so it suits a tight garage wall or a design-conscious install — with power sharing if you end up charging two cars.

Strengths

  • Up to 48A / 11.5 kW in the smallest housing in its class
  • Power Boost and Power Sharing for multi-car or limited-panel homes
  • App scheduling and energy metering

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only for the 48A version — no plug option at full output
  • The compact body runs the cable management tighter than a bigger box
ConnectorJ1772
Max output48 A
Max power11.5 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (48A) or plug-in (40A)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. The 40A plug-in variant exists, but the 48A model is hardwired on a 60A circuit. Power Sharing lets two Pulsar Plus units split one circuit — the cleanest answer to charging two EVs without a panel upgrade.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best plug-in smart charger

EVIQO Level 2 J1772 Charger (40A, Plug-in)

The J1772 sibling of the NACS unit we already rate, and the same argument applies: 40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug is the install almost everyone should be doing, and this is a wall-mounted charger rather than a portable pretending to be one. Buy it if you want a permanent box without an electrician's hardwire bill.

Strengths

  • 40A / 9.6 kW is the amperage sweet spot — a full overnight charge for any car on the road
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so there is no hardwiring and it comes with you if you move
  • Purpose-built wall-mounted station, not a portable unit hung on a bracket

Trade-offs

  • 40A is the ceiling — there is no upgrade path to 48A the way the Emporia has
  • EVIQO is a young brand; long-term firmware and support are the open question
  • The listing does not publish an enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 40A, 240V, a J1772 connector and a NEMA 14-50 plug on a wall-mounted station. It does not publish a cable length, enclosure rating or warranty term in the title, so those read as not published here. A 40A charger requires a 50A circuit under the 80% continuous-load rule.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The three features that justify a smart charger

1. Off-peak scheduling. Many utilities charge substantially less for electricity overnight than during the late-afternoon peak. Shifting a full charge into that window is the single largest ongoing saving available to a home charger owner, and over a year it dwarfs the price difference between any two chargers on this page. The catch is that this is not a charger feature so much as a scheduling feature, and your car very likely has it. Check the car first. If it can set a departure time or a charging window, you do not need to pay a charger for the same function. Our cost-to-charge guide shows how to work out what the shift is actually worth on your own rate.

2. Load management.This is the feature that genuinely cannot be replicated by the car, and it is the reason to buy a smart charger even if you never open the app again. A load-managed charger watches the rest of the house — or a second charger on the same circuit — and reduces its own draw when everything else is running. That means you can sometimes fit a charger onto a panel that a load calculation says is full, avoiding a service upgrade that can cost more than the car’s first year of fuel savings. Our load management guide walks through when it works and when it does not.

3. Access control. If the charger is on a driveway, in a shared garage, or anywhere a neighbor could plug in, being able to require authorization is worth having. In a locked private garage it is irrelevant.

What does not justify the price

Energy dashboards are the headline feature in nearly every listing and the least useful in practice. You will look at the graph enthusiastically for two weeks and then never again, because there is nothing actionable in it — you already know the car charges overnight and you already know roughly what it costs. Firmware-updatable, Alexa-compatible, and “charging reports” are similar: real features that change nothing about your week.

How we ranked these five

The ChargePoint Home Flex leads because its app is the only one here with a genuinely long track record, and because the amperage is configurable from 16A upward. That bottom end is a smart feature in disguise: it means the charger can adapt to whatever circuit you end up with rather than forcing the circuit to adapt to the charger. Our full Home Flex review covers what the dial buys you.

The Emporia is the value answer, and for a lot of buyers the better one. It is a 48A-capable charger with scheduling and load management at a price the premium brands do not approach, and it pairs with Emporia’s whole-home energy monitoring if you want the panel-level picture. The trade-off is a shorter service history. The Emporia vs ChargePoint comparison works through the decision in detail. Emporia also sells a Pro version, which is the same 48A charger with PowerSmart load management and a panel monitor bundled in — the one case on this page where paying for the app genuinely buys you a circuit you could not otherwise have.

The Autel MaxiCharger wins on hardware, not software: 50A output, a NEMA 4 enclosure and a 25 ft cable. If the charger is going outside and you want the highest output available to a house, this is the one whose physical build is doing the most work. The app is competent rather than remarkable.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus is the two-car answer.Power Sharing lets two Pulsar Plus units split a single circuit, which is the cleanest solution to a two-EV household short of a panel upgrade — and it is a capability the other units here do not have. It is also by far the smallest box on the wall. See the Autel vs Wallbox comparison for the two premium units head to head.

The EVIQO is the plug-in smart option.Every other charger here reaches its headline amperage only when hardwired. If you have a NEMA 14-50 outlet and no appetite for an electrician, this is a wall-mounted 40A station you fit yourself — and 40A is a full overnight charge for any car on the road.

Smart chargers and your panel

The single most expensive decision in home charging is not which charger you buy — it is what circuit you run to it. A 48A charger needs a 60A breaker, and if your panel cannot spare one, the upgrade will cost more than any charger on this page. Before you shortlist on features, get a load calculation and find out what your panel can actually give you. Our amps and circuits guide covers the 80% continuous-load rule and the breaker sizes; the installation cost guide covers what drives the bill.

Connectivity is a failure point too

It is worth saying the quiet part: every one of these chargers has a radio, a firmware image and a cloud account, and all three are things a dumb charger cannot fail at. Apps get redesigned, servers go down, and a charger that requires an account to start a session is a charger that can be inconvenienced by a company’s outage. Every unit here will charge without the app, but check that before you buy anything not on this list — some cheaper connected units genuinely will not. If none of the three features above apply to you, a plain 40A box is not a downgrade. Our 40A roundup and budget roundup cover that route.

Frequently asked questions

Do I actually need a smart EV charger?

Only if one of three things is true: your utility has time-of-use rates and your car cannot schedule charging itself; your electrical panel is tight enough that load management could avoid an upgrade; or the charger is somewhere other people could use it. If none of those apply, a plain 40A charger does the same job for less money and has fewer things that can fail.

Can a smart charger charge without Wi-Fi?

Every charger on this page will charge with no network connection — you lose scheduling and data, not the ability to charge. That is not universally true of cheaper connected chargers, so verify it before buying anything not listed here. A charger that requires a cloud account to start a session is one outage away from a problem.

What is load management and do I need it?

Load management lets a charger reduce its own draw when the rest of the house is drawing heavily, or share one circuit between two chargers. It matters when your panel does not have comfortable headroom for a new 50A or 60A circuit — in that situation it can be the difference between charging at home and paying for a service upgrade. If your panel has plenty of spare capacity, it changes nothing.

Does a smart charger charge faster?

No. Charging speed comes from amperage, your car's onboard charger and the circuit behind the outlet — not from connectivity. A 40A smart charger and a 40A dumb charger deliver identical power. The app can shift when you charge, never how fast.

Is scheduling better done from the car or the charger?

From the car, if the car can do it. Car-side scheduling is free, survives a charger replacement and works at any charger you plug into, including a friend's. Charger-side scheduling is the fallback for older EVs that lack the feature, and it is the reason to buy a smart charger if your utility has off-peak rates.

Sources

Keep reading