Amp & Adapter

Best CCS-to-Tesla Adapters

The DC adapters that let a Tesla fast-charge at a CCS station — ranked on the safety standard first, because this is the highest-current part you will ever hold.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

This adapter does something the AC adapters elsewhere on this site cannot: it bridges DC fast charging. A CCS1-to-NACS adapter lets a Tesla use the CCS network — Electrify America, EVgo, and the large number of CCS stalls at highway sites — instead of queuing for a Supercharger. On a long trip through an area where Superchargers are sparse or busy, that is a genuinely useful part to have in the frunk.

It is also, by a wide margin, the most electrically serious accessory an EV owner buys. This part carries several hundred volts of direct current at up to hundreds of amps, in the rain, held by hand. So we ranked these differently from everything else on the site: the named safety standard comes first, ahead of price and ahead of the headline kW number.

After that we looked at the published power rating, whether the listing states vehicle and model-year compatibility, and whether the unit also handles AC (some are 2-in-1 parts that cover J1772 as well). We own no units and have run no tests — every figure below is read from the seller’s published listing on the date shown under each pick, and anything not published reads “Not published”.

Before you buy anything on this page: confirm your specific Tesla supports CCS charging. This is a vehicle capability, not an adapter feature, and no adapter can add it. See the compatibility section below.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
LENZ CCS1 to NACS Adapter

LENZ CCS1 to NACS Adapter

The one we would buy. It is the only CCS-to-Tesla adapter here whose listing names an actual safety standard — UL 2252 — which on a part carrying hundreds of volts of DC is the difference that matters far more than the price gap.

Best overall
$69.99 · View on Amazon

$79.9913% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Raylix 2-in-1 CCS & J1772 to Tesla Adapter

Raylix 2-in-1 CCS & J1772 to Tesla Adapter

The other 2-in-1, and the only one here that publishes both sides of its rating — 250 kW on DC and 80A on AC. If you want one adapter that covers Level 1, 2 and 3 sources, this is the most completely specified of the combined units.

Best 2-in-1
$99.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
JEEKVISEN CCS & J1772 to Tesla Adapter (2-in-1)

JEEKVISEN CCS & J1772 to Tesla Adapter (2-in-1)

A 2-in-1 that handles both the DC (CCS) and AC (J1772) side of the non-Tesla charging world in one part. Convenient if you would otherwise carry two adapters, with the usual caveat that a combined part is a single point of failure.

Alternative 2-in-1
$79.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
YLITES CCS1 to Tesla Adapter

YLITES CCS1 to Tesla Adapter

The budget entry: DC-only, 250 kW published, and the cheapest CCS-to-Tesla adapter we found that is actually in stock. It does the job, but on a part that carries this much DC current we would rather pay the small premium for the UL-tested LENZ.

Cheapest
$66.99 · View on Amazon

$79.9916% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

LENZ CCS1 to NACS Adapter

The one we would buy. It is the only CCS-to-Tesla adapter here whose listing names an actual safety standard — UL 2252 — which on a part carrying hundreds of volts of DC is the difference that matters far more than the price gap.

Strengths

  • Listing cites UL 2252, the safety standard for EV coupler adapters
  • 500V published rating covers the CCS stations a Tesla will realistically use
  • LENZ is an established adapter brand rather than a marketplace nameplate

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than the unbranded CCS adapters, which is the point
  • Your Tesla still has to support CCS charging — older cars may need Tesla's retrofit
  • Not every CCS station handshakes cleanly with every adapter
ConnectorCCS1 → NACS (Tesla)
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes a 500V rating and UL 2252 testing for DC fast charging into NACS vehicles. It does not publish a peak kW or amp figure, so those read as not published — the real ceiling is set by the station and the car.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best 2-in-1

Raylix 2-in-1 CCS & J1772 to Tesla Adapter

The other 2-in-1, and the only one here that publishes both sides of its rating — 250 kW on DC and 80A on AC. If you want one adapter that covers Level 1, 2 and 3 sources, this is the most completely specified of the combined units.

Strengths

  • Publishes both ratings — 250 kW DC and 80A AC — rather than only the headline number
  • Handles CCS DC stations and J1772 AC stations from one part
  • Priced with the other 2-in-1 units despite the fuller spec

Trade-offs

  • No named safety standard in the listing
  • Newer listing with little long-term feedback
  • Still bound by whether your Tesla supports CCS at all
ConnectorCCS1 / J1772 → NACS (Tesla)
Max output80 A
Max power250 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 250 kW on DC and 80A on AC, covering Level 1, 2 and 3 sources. It does not publish a certification body or warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Alternative 2-in-1

JEEKVISEN CCS & J1772 to Tesla Adapter (2-in-1)

A 2-in-1 that handles both the DC (CCS) and AC (J1772) side of the non-Tesla charging world in one part. Convenient if you would otherwise carry two adapters, with the usual caveat that a combined part is a single point of failure.

Strengths

  • Covers CCS DC fast charging and J1772 AC charging in a single part
  • Published 250 kW rating covers the fastest CCS stations a Tesla can use
  • One thing to carry instead of two

Trade-offs

  • The listing does not name a safety-listing body the way the LENZ does
  • A combined adapter means losing both functions if it fails
  • Vehicle support for CCS on your specific Tesla is still the gating factor
ConnectorCCS1 / J1772 → NACS (Tesla)
Max outputNot published
Max power250 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 250 kW DC fast charging and compatibility with Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X and Cybertruck. It does not publish a certification body or warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest

YLITES CCS1 to Tesla Adapter

The budget entry: DC-only, 250 kW published, and the cheapest CCS-to-Tesla adapter we found that is actually in stock. It does the job, but on a part that carries this much DC current we would rather pay the small premium for the UL-tested LENZ.

Strengths

  • Cheapest in-stock CCS-to-Tesla adapter in this comparison
  • Published 250 kW rating matches the more expensive units
  • Listing states compatibility across Tesla model years 2021-2026

Trade-offs

  • No safety-listing body named anywhere in the listing — our main reservation
  • DC only, so it does nothing for J1772 AC stations
  • Unknown brand with no service history to judge
ConnectorCCS1 → NACS (Tesla)
Max outputNot published
Max power250 kW
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 250 kW DC fast charging and states compatibility with Tesla models from 2021 to 2026. It does not publish a certification body, an amp rating or a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Check your car first — this is not optional

A CCS-to-Tesla adapter is a passive connector translator. It does not add a capability to your car; it exposes one the car already has. Whether your Tesla can charge from CCS depends on the model, the year and the market it was built for, and some vehicles require a Tesla-supplied retrofit to the onboard hardware before any adapter will work at all.

Check your specific vehicle in the owner’s manual or with Tesla before buying. If your car does not support CCS, an adapter will not make it work — it will simply fail the handshake at the station, and you will have spent money on a part you cannot use. This is the single most common disappointment in this category, and it is entirely avoidable.

Why the safety standard leads our ranking

UL 2252is the safety standard covering EV coupler adapters. When a listing cites it, an independent laboratory has evaluated the part against a written specification for exactly this application. When a listing cites nothing, the only assurance you have is the seller’s own confidence.

On a $20 cable hook that distinction is academic. On a part conducting DC at several hundred volts, in wet weather, that you handle with bare hands, it is not. That is why the LENZ heads this list despite not being the cheapest and despite publishing fewer headline numbers than its rivals: its listing names a standard, and the others do not. If you buy one thing from this page, buy the one that has been tested against something.

What the kW numbers do and do not mean

Several of these adapters publish a 250 kW rating. Read that as a ceiling, not a promise. Your actual charging speed is set by the lowest of four things: the station’s output, the adapter’s rating, your car’s maximum DC charge rate, and — usually the binding constraint — the battery’s state of charge and temperature.

DC fast charging tapers hard as the battery fills. The headline rate applies to a low, preconditioned battery and falls away steeply past roughly 50–60%. An adapter rated at 250 kW attached to a car that peaks at 170 kW, on a station that delivers 150 kW, charging a battery at 70%, will deliver a fraction of any of those numbers — and that is normal physics rather than a fault. Our AC vs DC charging guide explains the taper and why DC is a different world from the AC charging you do at home.

2-in-1 adapters: convenient, with a caveat

Two picks here handle both CCS (DC) and J1772 (AC) in one part. That is genuinely convenient — one thing in the frunk instead of two, covering both the highway fast-charge case and the destination AC case.

The caveat is straightforward: a combined part is a single point of failure, and if it goes wrong you lose both capabilities at once. There is also a practical argument for keeping them separate, which is that most Teslas already shipped with a J1772 adapter, making the AC half of a 2-in-1 a duplicate. If you have that adapter in the frunk already, a DC-only unit like the LENZ is the cleaner buy. If you have lost it, the 2-in-1 replaces both.

Using one at the station

Fit the adapter to the station’s CCS connector first, then plug the assembly into your car — that order keeps the weight off your charge port while you are lining things up. Support the connector rather than letting it hang; a CCS cable is heavy and the leverage lands on your port. Expect the adapter to get warm, which is normal for a part passing this much current.

Some station and vehicle combinations simply refuse to handshake, and this is not always the adapter’s fault — network software, station firmware and vehicle software all participate. If one station fails, another often works. And do not leave the adapter attached to the station when you unplug: it is a small expensive part that is easy to walk away from.

What we would skip

Skip anything that publishes no voltage or power rating at all. Skip the temptation to buy the cheapest option on a part like this — the price spread across this page is small in absolute terms and the downside is not. And skip this category entirely if you drive a non-Tesla car: you want a NACS-to-CCS adapter, which is the opposite direction and lets a CCS car use a Supercharger where Tesla permits it. If the naming has you lost, our connector guide sorts out which plug is which.

Frequently asked questions

Will a CCS-to-Tesla adapter work with my Tesla?

It depends on the model, year and market — CCS charging is a vehicle capability, and some Teslas require a Tesla-supplied retrofit before any adapter works. Check your specific car in the owner's manual or with Tesla before buying. No adapter can add a capability the car does not have.

Do I really need a UL-listed adapter?

We think so. UL 2252 is the safety standard for EV coupler adapters, and this is a part carrying several hundred volts of DC in the weather while you hold it. The price difference between a listed and an unlisted adapter is small relative to what it covers.

Will I get the full 250 kW the listing advertises?

Almost never. Your speed is the lowest of the station's output, the adapter's rating, your car's peak DC rate, and the battery's state of charge and temperature. DC charging tapers steeply as the battery fills, so the headline figure applies only to a low, preconditioned battery on a powerful station.

Should I buy a 2-in-1 CCS and J1772 adapter?

Only if you do not already have a J1772 adapter. Most Teslas shipped with one, which makes the AC half of a 2-in-1 a duplicate — and a combined part means losing both functions if it fails. If you have lost your original J1772 adapter, the 2-in-1 replaces both in one purchase.

Is this the same as a NACS-to-CCS adapter?

No, it is the opposite direction. A CCS-to-Tesla adapter lets a Tesla use a CCS station. A NACS-to-CCS adapter lets a CCS car use a Tesla Supercharger, where Tesla permits it. Buying the wrong direction is the most common mistake with DC adapters.

Sources

Keep reading