Amp & Adapter

Best Home EV Chargers for a Nissan Leaf

Nissan publishes the number that decides this purchase: 6.6 kW on the outgoing Leaf, 7.2 kW on the 2026 car. Both mean 32 amps is the ceiling worth paying for — and on the 2026 Leaf, the NACS port is not the one that charges it at home.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

Most cars make you hunt for the number that decides this purchase. The Leaf does not. Nissan publishes it on the spec sheet: a 6.6 kW onboard charger, with a stated 6.0 kW output, on the 2025 car, and a 7.2 kW onboard charger standard across all three trims of the redesigned 2026 Leaf. At 240 volts those work out to roughly 28 and 30 amps of draw. A 32A wall charger already covers both, which means the 48A charger and 60A circuit a showroom or a forum may point you at deliver exactly zero extra miles on this car.

There is a second trap on the 2026 Leaf, and it is new enough that it catches careful buyers. The car has two charge ports. Nissan describes the NACS socket on the passenger-side fender as the fast charge port that “unlocks the faster speeds of over 20,000 Tesla Superchargers,” and the J1772 socket on the driver’s-side fender as the one that “allows for plugging in at home and many Level 2 public chargers.” Buy a native-NACS wall charger because your new Leaf has a NACS port, and it will hang on the garage wall unable to charge the car without an adapter.

So we ranked these six in the order that actually matters for this car. 1. The 32A ceiling, because nothing above it reaches the battery. 2. A J1772 handle, which is what every Leaf sold in the US charges on at home, the 2026 car included. 3. The install route— plug-in or hardwired, which decides the electrician’s bill and whether a GFCI breaker becomes your problem. 4. Cable reach, since the Leaf’s AC socket is up at the front of the car rather than on a rear corner. 5. Certification you can check in EPA’s own records rather than in a product title. Price breaks ties, and on this car it breaks a lot of them.

We own none of these units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is what we do instead. Specs come from the maker’s page where one exists and the seller’s listing where it does not, and each card says which. The Leaf figures are Nissan’s own, read from its 2025 and 2026 press material. Availability and prices were checked on 25 September 2026.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Battery Tender eCharge 32 (Level 1 + 2)

Battery Tender eCharge 32 (Level 1 + 2)

A 32A plug-in charger from a long-established battery-charger brand, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, with a 120V adapter in the box so it doubles as a Level 1 travel cord. It has no app by design. You pay well over the budget 32A units for that paper trail and the 3-year warranty.

Best overall for a Leaf
$403.53 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 25, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest route to 32A in our roundup that still publishes a safety listing, a 3-year warranty and a 25 ft cable. Every figure is the seller's own claim, and the model number is not among the families EPA certifies, so this is the pick for a buyer who wants the price and accepts a thinner paper trail.

Best value
$141.53 · View on Amazon

$148.985% off

Price as of September 25, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Best hardwired
$649.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 25, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Best if the Leaf is not your last EV
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 25, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

The genuinely useful dual-voltage unit: 12A from an ordinary household socket, 16A from a 240V NEMA 6-20, with a 25 ft cable and an ETL listing. It is not a fast charger and does not pretend to be — it is the one to keep in the trunk for wherever you end up parked.

Best no-install option
$119.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 25, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
EVDANCE Tesla to J1772 Adapter (80A)

EVDANCE Tesla to J1772 Adapter (80A)

The value pick for opening Tesla's AC network to a non-Tesla EV: the same job as Lectron's adapter at a noticeably lower price, with a higher published amp rating. If you want one adapter in the glovebox for Tesla Destination chargers, start here.

Best fix for a Tesla charger already on the wall
$49.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 25, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for a Leaf

Battery Tender eCharge 32 (Level 1 + 2)

A 32A plug-in charger from a long-established battery-charger brand, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, with a 120V adapter in the box so it doubles as a Level 1 travel cord. It has no app by design. You pay well over the budget 32A units for that paper trail and the 3-year warranty.

Strengths

  • ENERGY STAR certified: EPA's dataset lists the 022-3017 family, and the maker publishes cETLus to UL 2594
  • Level 1 and Level 2 in one box: a NEMA 14-50 plug plus a 14-50R-to-5-15P adapter
  • 25 ft output cord, an IP66 rating and a 3-year warranty
  • No app to set up or fail; status and error messages show on an LCD

Trade-offs

  • Costs well over twice the cheapest 32A plug-in units
  • Plug-in, so a GFCI-protected garage receptacle can trip with it
  • No scheduling app, so off-peak timing has to come from the car
  • Amazon showed 'Only 4 left in stock (more on the way)' when we checked on 18 September 2026
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50; 120V 5-15 adapter included)
Outdoor ratingIP66
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Battery Tender publishes: 32A Level 2 at about 7.7 kW (about 20-25 miles of range per hour), about 1.9 kW on 120V, a dedicated 240V 40 Amp circuit minimum, a 25 ft output cord, IP66, cETLus (UL 2594), ENERGY STAR, FCC and ICES, 6.37 lb, and a 3-year warranty. EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset lists the 022-3017-XX-XX family as a Level 1/Level 2 dual-input charger (qualified 2024-01-04, 25 ft cord). The maker's own store listed it above the Amazon price when we checked. A bundle with a Tesla adapter is sold as a separate listing.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best value

EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest route to 32A in our roundup that still publishes a safety listing, a 3-year warranty and a 25 ft cable. Every figure is the seller's own claim, and the model number is not among the families EPA certifies, so this is the pick for a buyer who wants the price and accepts a thinner paper trail.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16/20/24/32A from the buttons or the app, so it fits a 20A to 40A circuit
  • The listing claims ETL listing to UL 2594 and UL 2231-1/-2, with CCID20 leakage protection
  • 25 ft cable the seller says stays flexible down to -22°F
  • 3-year warranty per the listing, and optional Wi-Fi scheduling (Smart Life app, 2.4 GHz)

Trade-offs

  • Its model number (ZA11 prefix) is not among the families EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset certifies, so it will not satisfy a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • The listing publishes no numeric enclosure rating
  • Plug-in, so a GFCI-protected garage receptacle can trip with it
  • A young brand with far less owner history than Leviton or Battery Tender
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
Warranty3 years

Spec note. The listing publishes: 32A, 7.68 kW, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft TPU cable rated flexible to -22°F, adjustable 16/20/24/32A, Wi-Fi through the Smart Life app (2.4 GHz) or button control, ETL listing to UL 2594 and UL 2231-1/-2, CCID20 leakage protection and a 3-year warranty, with the seller's estimate of about 22-25 miles of range per hour. Amazon reports model ZA11-U007KBF-F004. EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset certifies the Zopoise ZA05 and ZA10 families at 32A but not ZA11, so we do not treat it as ENERGY STAR certified. The enclosure is described only as weather-resistant, with no rating number.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best hardwired

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Strengths

  • Hardwired, so a plain breaker feeds it and there is no receptacle to wear, overheat or trip a GFCI
  • Leviton publishes its full standards list, including UL 2594, and EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset lists the EV320 by model number
  • NEMA Type 3R enclosure and a cable Leviton says is designed not to freeze and crack, rated -30°C to 50°C
  • Optional RFID access control, switched off out of the box

Trade-offs

  • 18 ft cable, the shortest in our 32A roundup
  • 2-year limited warranty, against 3 to 5 years on the other 32A picks
  • No Wi-Fi or app, so any scheduling has to come from the car
  • Amazon showed 'Only 11 left in stock (more on the way)' when we checked on 18 September 2026
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length18 ft
InstallHardwired (40A breaker)
Outdoor ratingNEMA Type 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty2 years (limited)

Spec note. Leviton publishes: 32A, 208/240 VAC, 7.6 kW output, a 40A breaker, an 18 ft (5.5 m) cable, hardwired only, a PC+PBT plastic NEMA Type 3R enclosure, -30°C to 50°C operation, a 20 mA CCID per UL 2231, certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-1/-2, UL 2251 and others with cETLus, and ENERGY STAR. EPA's dataset lists model EV320 (qualified 2022-10-24, 18 ft cord). It has no Wi-Fi; the Wi-Fi sibling is the EV32W. Leviton's own store listed it above the Amazon price when we checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best if the Leaf is not your last EV

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best no-install option

EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

The genuinely useful dual-voltage unit: 12A from an ordinary household socket, 16A from a 240V NEMA 6-20, with a 25 ft cable and an ETL listing. It is not a fast charger and does not pretend to be — it is the one to keep in the trunk for wherever you end up parked.

Strengths

  • ETL listed — a named testing lab, which several cheaper travel units cannot claim
  • Runs from a standard 120V socket or a 240V NEMA 6-20, roughly doubling the rate on the latter
  • 25 ft cable is unusually long for a travel unit, which matters when the outlet is nowhere near the car

Trade-offs

  • 16A maximum — this is a top-up charger, not a replacement for a 40A home install
  • The 240V mode needs a NEMA 6-20 outlet, which most houses do not have
  • No published enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output16 A
Max power3.8 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 5-15 or 6-20)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 12A at 120V and 16A at 240V, a 25 ft cable, an ETL listing and both NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plug options, stated as compatible with all EVs and PHEVs. It does not publish an enclosure rating or a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#6Best fix for a Tesla charger already on the wall

EVDANCE Tesla to J1772 Adapter (80A)

The value pick for opening Tesla's AC network to a non-Tesla EV: the same job as Lectron's adapter at a noticeably lower price, with a higher published amp rating. If you want one adapter in the glovebox for Tesla Destination chargers, start here.

Strengths

  • Published 80A / 250V rating — more headroom than any Level 2 circuit will ask of it
  • Opens Tesla Destination chargers and a friend's Wall Connector to a J1772 car
  • Small enough to live in the glovebox permanently

Trade-offs

  • AC only — it will not let you Supercharge, and no adapter of this type can
  • Some Tesla Wall Connectors are configured to reject non-Tesla vehicles regardless of adapter
  • The listing does not publish a warranty term
ConnectorNACS (Tesla) → J1772
Max output80 A
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallPlug-on adapter
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes a maximum 80A at 250V and compatibility with Tesla Destination Chargers. It does not publish a kW figure — the real ceiling is whatever the AC charger and your car's onboard charger allow — nor a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

What the Leaf actually draws, and what it ignores

A wall charger does not charge the battery. It supplies 240V AC, and the onboard charger inside the car converts it to DC. That onboard unit is a hard ceiling: a bigger box on the wall cannot push past it. On the Leaf the ceiling is published, so the whole decision is visible in one table. The last two columns are what the car accepts, not what the charger offers. Circuit sizes use the same 80% continuous-load rule as our amps and circuits guide.

ChargerCircuitSupplies2025 Leaf2026 Leaf
16A20A3.8 kW3.8 kW3.8 kW
24A30A5.8 kW5.8 kW5.8 kW
32A40A7.7 kW~6.0 kW7.2 kW
40A50A9.6 kW~6.0 kW7.2 kW
48A60A11.5 kW~6.0 kW7.2 kW

Read the bottom three rows across and the argument is done. From 32 amps upward the car, not the charger, is the constraint, so the only thing a 40A or 48A unit adds on a Leaf is a larger breaker, thicker wire and a bigger invoice. The one honest exception is price: if a certified 40A charger happens to cost less than a 32A one on the day you buy, take it and run it on the circuit you already have. You are not buying the extra amps, you are buying the cheaper certified box.

Nissan’s own charging estimates land where the table says they should. For the 2025 Leaf it publishes about 11.5 hours on 240V for a full charge, alongside 40 kWh and 60 kWh battery options rated at 149 and 212 miles. For the 2026 car, with its 75 kWh pack and 303, 288 and 259 miles of range depending on trim, the 240V figure in Nissan’s spec table is still listed as TBD. The arithmetic is not hard to do in the meantime: 75 kWh at 7.2 kW is a little over ten hours before charging losses, and a 32A charger is already feeding it faster than it can accept.

The 2026 Leaf has two ports, and only one of them charges it at home

This is the single most expensive mistake available to a new Leaf owner right now. The 2026 car genuinely has a NACS socket — the same connector shape Tesla uses, standardized as SAE J3400— and Nissan markets it exactly as what it is: access to Tesla’s Supercharger network. It is the fast charge port. The port Nissan names for home and Level 2 public charging is the J1772 socket on the other fender.

For this purchase, then, a 2026 Leaf is a J1772 car, no different from a 2013 one. Every native-NACS wall charger we recommend elsewhere on this site — including everything on our NACS home charger roundup— is the wrong buy for this garage unless you add an adapter to it. The question to take into a store is never “does my car have a NACS port?” but “which port does my car use for Level 2 AC charging?” The owner’s manual charging section answers it in one line.

One neat consequence of that J1772 socket: on the 2026 car it is also how you get power back out. Nissan lists 1,500 watts of vehicle-to-load capability as standard, noting it “requires adapter for exterior J1772 port,” with a dedicated cargo-area outlet on the PLATINUM+ trim.

If there is already a Tesla charger on the wall

Mixed households are the common version of this problem: a Tesla in one bay, a Leaf in the other, and a NACS wall unit already installed. A NACS-to-J1772 adapter is the cheap fix, and it is the sixth pick on this page for that reason — roughly the price of a tank of gas against several hundred dollars for a second charger and circuit. Two honest caveats come with it. Tesla’s own Gen 3 Wall Connector manual states that no adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used, and its charging warranty excludes damage from non-genuine accessories, so that is Tesla’s stated position to weigh rather than ours to dismiss. And some Wall Connectors are configured to reject vehicles they do not recognize regardless of the adapter fitted. Our Tesla-to-J1772 adapter roundup covers the alternatives in full.

Check the trunk before you buy anything

Nissan lists a portable charge cable (120V / 240V EVSE) as standard equipment on both the 2025 and the 2026 Leaf. If yours is still in its bag, you may already own a dual-voltage cord, and what you are shopping for is convenience and speed rather than the ability to charge at all. Nissan does not publish that cable’s amperage in the spec table, so read the label on your own unit before spending: a 240V-capable travel cord plugged into a real outlet can carry a modest daily commute on its own, and a bought charger only earns its price once the daily miles outrun it.

That is also the honest case for Level 1 on the cheapest Leaf. The US Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center puts Level 1 at about 5 miles of range per hour of charging at 1.9 kW, and Level 2 at about 25 miles per hour across a 2.9 to 19.2 kW band. Twelve hours on a household socket is therefore around 60 miles — comfortably more than the average US commute, and a real answer for a 40 kWh Leaf that mostly does short trips. Our Level 1 charger roundup is the page for that route. A 75 kWh 2026 Leaf that gets driven hard is a different story, and wants the 240V circuit.

Older Leafs: the DC side is why the home side matters more

Every Leaf before the 2026 car fast-charges on CHAdeMO, which the AFDC describes as a DC fast connector common among Japanese automakers and which is being phased out of the public network as it ages. The 2026 Leaf’s Supercharger access does nothing for those cars. That changes nothing about which charger to buy — the AC side is J1772 either way, and the onboard ceiling is no higher — but it does change how much rides on the garage. On an older Leaf, home charging is close to the whole plan, which is an argument for a proper 240V circuit and a cable long enough to reach, not for a bigger charger.

The install route, and the dryer-outlet shortcut

A 32A charger wants a 40A circuit; a 24A charger wants a 30A one. Because a Leaf cannot draw more than about 30 amps in the first place, that second option is genuinely interesting here in a way it is not for a long-range EV. A 24A charger on an existing 30A circuit supplies about 5.8 kW — within roughly a fifth of what the car can take — which for many households is the difference between an electrician’s quote and no electrician at all. Three of the picks on this page adjust down to fit: the EVPOVO steps through 16, 20, 24 and 32A, and the Grizzl-E Classic Connect covers 16 to 40A. Our NEMA adapter guide covers the plug-shape side of that, including the 14-30 dryer configuration and the current limits each adapter publishes. Have an electrician confirm the circuit, the wire and the breaker before you count on it.

The other half of the install question is GFCI protection. Per the installer network Qmerit, NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection on 125–250V garage receptacles and NEC 625.54 requires it on receptacles installed for EV charging, while a charger’s own ground-fault detection can overlap with that breaker and trip a perfectly good session. Hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle rule, which is the strongest argument for the Leviton on this list. If a plug-in charger keeps tripping a GFCI breaker, call the electrician — never remove the protection, whatever a product listing tells you.

Cable reach, because the socket is at the front

Nissan puts the 2026 car’s J1772 socket on the driver’s-side fender, and earlier Leafs also carry their charge port toward the front of the car rather than on a rear corner. That matters more than it sounds: the cable has to reach the nose of the car as it is actually parked, which for a nose-out driveway can mean running the full length of the vehicle. Measure it before you choose, and treat published cable lengths as approximate — EPA’s ENERGY STAR records show the Grizzl-E Classic’s cord at 24 ft against a 25 ft marketing figure. Four of the picks here publish 25 ft; the Leviton’s 18 ft is the one to check against your own garage.

What we left out, and why

  • Every 48A charger on the site. The Emporia Level 2 is our overall pick for the site as a whole and it is a good charger. On a Leaf its extra 16 amps are unreachable, and its 60A circuit is a real cost. That comparison is worth reading only if your next car is bigger.
  • Native NACS chargers. Correct for a Tesla, wrong for every Leaf ever sold in the US, including the 2026 car with a NACS port on its fender.
  • The Enphase IQ 40. Also a 32A hardwired unit, with a NEMA 4 enclosure, a 25 ft cable and a five-year warranty — the longest in the class. We left it off on price for this audience, and it is the pick to revisit if you run an Enphase solar system and want charging to follow it. It is ranked in full on our 32A roundup.
  • Cheap 40A plug-in units. The ELEGRP and EVIQO 40A chargers are certified and inexpensive, and we recommend them elsewhere. They are not wrong on a Leaf, they are simply not aimed at it: you would be buying amps the car cannot use, and on the day we checked the cheapest 32A pick here undercut both.

Which should you buy?

Already have a 240V outlet, or can get one cheaply? Buy the Battery Tender eCharge 32. It is certified under its own model number in EPA’s ENERGY STAR dataset, its 32A output matches the Leaf exactly, and the 120V adapter in the box means it doubles as the travel cord. Stock was thin when we checked, at four units with more on the way, so if the listing is out, the value pick below does the same job.

Want the cheapest way to full speed? Buy the EVPOVO 32A, understanding what you are accepting: the safety listing is the seller’s claim rather than an EPA record, and its model prefix is not among the certified families, so a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR will not take it.

Hardwiring anyway, or fighting a GFCI breaker? Buy the Leviton EV320 and check the 18 ft cable against your parking spot first.

Is the Leaf a stepping stone? Buy the Grizzl-E Classic Connect, run it at 24 or 32A for the Leaf, and let it step up to 40A the day a bigger car and a bigger circuit arrive.

Renting, or not ready to spend? The EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 cord costs a fraction of a wall unit and, on a 40 kWh Leaf doing ordinary miles, may be all the charger you ever buy.

Frequently asked questions

What size home charger does a Nissan Leaf need?

A 32A charger on a 40A circuit is the sensible ceiling. Nissan publishes a 6.6 kW onboard charger with a 6.0 kW output on the 2025 Leaf and a 7.2 kW onboard charger on the 2026 car, which is roughly 28 to 30 amps of draw at 240 volts. A 32A charger covers that with a little to spare, and a 48A charger cannot deliver a single extra mile to the car.

Does the 2026 Nissan Leaf charge at home through its NACS port?

No. Nissan describes the NACS port on the passenger-side fender as the fast charge port for Tesla Superchargers, and the J1772 port on the driver's-side fender as the one for plugging in at home and at Level 2 public chargers. A native-NACS wall charger will not charge the car without a NACS-to-J1772 adapter, even though the car visibly has a NACS socket.

Can I charge a Nissan Leaf with a Tesla Wall Connector?

On AC, yes, with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter such as the sixth pick on this page. Two caveats: Tesla's Gen 3 Wall Connector manual says no adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used and its charging warranty excludes non-genuine accessories, and some Wall Connectors are configured to reject vehicles they do not recognize. Superchargers are a separate question — the 2026 Leaf has its own NACS DC port for those, and earlier Leafs use CHAdeMO, which no AC adapter changes.

How long does it take to charge a Nissan Leaf on a Level 2 charger?

Nissan publishes about 11.5 hours on 240V for a full charge on the 2025 Leaf. For the 2026 car, the 240V figure in Nissan's own spec table is still listed as TBD; its 75 kWh pack at the published 7.2 kW onboard rate works out to a little over ten hours before charging losses. Neither figure improves with a bigger wall charger, because the car's onboard unit sets the rate.

Is a 48A charger worth it for a Nissan Leaf?

No. The Leaf's onboard charger tops out around 6.0 to 7.2 kW, so a 32A charger already saturates it. A 48A unit adds a 60A breaker, heavier wire and usually an electrician's hardwire bill for zero additional range. The only reason to buy above 32A on this car is if a specific certified charger happens to cost less, or if a faster-charging EV is already in your plans.

Can I charge a Nissan Leaf on a normal household outlet?

Yes, and both the 2025 and 2026 Leaf ship with a portable 120V/240V charge cable as standard equipment. The US Department of Energy's AFDC puts Level 1 charging at about 5 miles of range per hour, so an overnight session is roughly 50 to 60 miles — enough for many commutes on a 40 kWh Leaf, and not enough to keep up with a hard-driven 75 kWh 2026 car.

Can I use a 30 amp dryer circuit for a Leaf charger?

Often yes, with an adjustable charger set to 24A and the right NEMA adapter, which supplies about 5.8 kW — within a fifth of what the car can take. The EVPOVO and the Grizzl-E Classic Connect on this page both dial down that far. Have an electrician confirm the circuit, conductors and breaker, and never run a charger above the current the adapter and circuit are rated for.

Do older Leafs need a different home charger from the 2026 model?

No. Every Leaf sold in the US charges on AC through a J1772 port, so the same wall charger suits a 2013 car and a 2026 one. What changed is DC fast charging: cars before the 2026 model use CHAdeMO, while the 2026 Leaf uses a NACS port for Superchargers. That difference has no effect on which home charger you buy.

Sources

  • Nissan USA Newsroom — 2026 Nissan LEAF Press Kit — Nissan's own release for the redesigned Leaf: a 7.2 kW onboard charger standard on S+, SV+ and PLATINUM+, a 75-kWh liquid-cooled pack, "a familiar J1772 charge port on the driver's-side fender allows for plugging in at home and many Level 2 public chargers", "the NACS fast charge port on the passenger-side fender unlocks the faster speeds of over 20,000 Tesla Superchargers", DC fast charging from 10% to 80% in 35 minutes at up to 150 kW, 303/288/259 miles of range by trim, V2L of 1,500 watts that "requires adapter for exterior J1772 port", a portable charge cable (120V / 240V EVSE) as standard equipment, and a 240V charging time still listed as TBD (accessed September 25, 2026)
  • Nissan USA Newsroom — 2025 Nissan LEAF Press Kit — Nissan's own release for the outgoing Leaf: a "6.6 kW onboard charger (6.0 kW output)", a 40 kWh battery on the S and 60 kWh on the SV PLUS (149 and 212 miles), an estimated 240V charging time of "~ 11.5 hours", quick charge to 80% in 40 minutes (S) or 60 minutes (SV PLUS), and a portable charge cable (120V / 240V EVSE) in the standard equipment list (accessed September 25, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — DOE overview of charging levels, power output and connector types (J1772, CCS, NACS) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — DOE guidance on Level 1 vs Level 2 home charging, 120V/240V service and installation (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) for Electric Vehicles — The SAE standard for the NACS connector (Tesla's plug), alongside the J1772 AC standard (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Qmerit — NEMA 14-50 and GFCI Protection for EV Chargers (May 1, 2026) — An installer network's explanation: NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- through 250-volt garage receptacles, NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging, the charger's own ground-fault protection can conflict with an external GFCI, and hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment, AC-Output (dataset 5jwe-c8xm) — EPA's machine-readable list of certified chargers. It carries both Tesla wall units, each qualified 2023-09-18 at 48A / 11.52 kW: model 1457768 under brand "Tesla" and model 1734412 under brand "Universal Wall Connector", both with a 22 ft cord on the record (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • Battery Tender — eCharge 32 Amp Level 1+2 EV Charger — The maker's page: about 7.7 kW and 20-25 miles of range per hour on 240V, about 1.9 kW on 120V, a dedicated 240V 40 Amp circuit minimum, a 25 ft output cord, IP66, cETLus (UL 2594), ENERGY STAR and a 3-year warranty (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Leviton — EV320 32 Amp Level 2 Electric Vehicle Charging Station — Leviton's own specification: 32A, 208/240 VAC, 7.6 kW, a 40A breaker, an 18 ft cable, hardwired only, NEMA Type 3R, -30°C to 50°C, UL 2594 among its listed standards, ENERGY STAR, no Wi-Fi, and a 2-year limited warranty (accessed September 18, 2026)

Keep reading