Amp & Adapter

Autel MaxiCharger vs ChargePoint Home Flex

Autel publishes more amps, a tougher shell and a wider temperature range, for less money. ChargePoint publishes a circuit most houses already have — and for most buyers that is the spec that decides it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

If you already have a NEMA 14-50 outlet in the garage, buy the ChargePoint Home Flex. It plugs into what you have, and the cost of the charger is the whole cost of the project. If you are paying an electrician anyway, buy the Autel MaxiCharger. It was the cheaper of the two when we checked, it is rated for more current, its enclosure is better sealed and it publishes a far wider temperature range — and the install is hardwired either way, so the electrician’s visit is the same visit.

That is the whole decision, and it is not the one the spec sheets look like they are about. On paper the Autel wins almost every row: 50 amps against 40, IP65 / NEMA 4X against Type 3R, -40 °F against -22 °F, plus load-management features the ChargePoint does not claim. If this were a scorecard the Autel would take it comfortably.

But one line on Autel’s own store page undoes most of that advantage for most houses: reaching the full 50 amps needs a 70-amp circuit. Not the 60-amp circuit people assume, and not the 50-amp circuit a NEMA 14-50 outlet already sits on. Meanwhile ChargePoint sells the Home Flex in a version that runs on exactly the circuit a lot of garages already have. One charger is better; the other is installable this weekend.

We own no units and we do not bench-test chargers — here is exactly what we do instead. Every figure below is read from Autel’s or ChargePoint’s own published material on the date in the sources list, and where one of them does not publish something the table says so rather than being filled in.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Buy this if you are hardwiring anyway
$529.00 · View on Amazon

$599.0012% off

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Buy this if you already have a 14-50 outlet
$599.00 · View on Amazon

$657.999% off

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Buy this if you are hardwiring anyway

Autel MaxiCharger Home

A polished 50A unit with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a clean app, built to a higher hardware standard than most — and the widest published temperature range in this registry, -40 to 131 °F behind an IP65 / NEMA 4X shell. The catch is the circuit: Autel's own store page asks for a 70-amp feed to reach 50 amps, which is a bigger panel ask than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs.

Strengths

  • Up to 50A / 12 kW, adjustable down to 16A in the app
  • IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure rated -40 to 131 °F — the widest published range of any charger here
  • Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet, with scheduling and access control
  • Autel lists Adaptive Load Management and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing
  • CSA certified and ENERGY STAR certified, with a 3-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • Autel publishes a 70A circuit for full 50A output — more than the 60A a 48A charger needs, and more than many panels can spare
  • Hardwired only at this output; the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 versions are separate 40A models
  • Autel does not publish what sensor hardware Adaptive Load Management needs, so you cannot cost the feature before buying
  • Connectivity adds a failure point a charger with no radio does not have
ConnectorJ1772
Max output50 A
Max power12 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (70A circuit for 50A); plug-in sold as separate 40A models
Outdoor ratingIP65 / NEMA 4X (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. Autel sells this as the MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A. Autel's own US store listing publishes: "Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)" adjustable 16-50A, hardwired with a 70A circuit required for full output, an SAE J1772 connector on a "25 ft. (7.5 m)" cable, "IP65 / NEMA 4X", "-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)" operating temperature, Bluetooth / Wi-Fi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485, "Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)", CSA and ENERGY STAR certification, a 3-year warranty and about 15.4 lb with the in-body holster. Autel's product page repeats the NEMA 4X rating and the -40°F to 131°F figure and describes ALM as sharing power between loads in the home, but neither page states what sensor hardware ALM requires or (on the product page) the circuit size for 50A. The 50A unit is hardwired — the plug-in NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50 versions are separate 40A models, so the install type is chosen at purchase rather than configured on the wall. The listing we link is the hardwired 50A.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 12, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Buy this if you already have a 14-50 outlet

ChargePoint Home Flex (NEMA 14-50 plug)

The plug-in Home Flex: 40A on an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, UL Listed and ENERGY STAR certified, with the most mature app in the category. You pay more than a bare 40A box for the polish and the ChargePoint name, and you no longer get the 16-50A dial — that is the hardwired model, which is not currently sold on Amazon.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet at up to 40A / 9.6 kW, which is a full overnight charge for almost any EV
  • Mature app with scheduling, energy tracking and utility rate integration, backed by ChargePoint's network account
  • UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified and rated NEMA 3R for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a 23 ft cable
  • 3-year parts warranty

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than 48A hardwired units that deliver more power
  • The plug-in model runs only at 32A or 40A; the 16-50A range that made the Home Flex famous is the hardwired model, which Amazon does not currently list
  • App-forward design is more than a set-and-forget owner needs
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length23 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50); hardwired 50A and NEMA 6-50 sold as separate models
Outdoor ratingNEMA 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. ChargePoint sells the Home Flex as three separate models, and the one linked here is the NEMA 14-50 plug-in (part CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23). ChargePoint publishes it for circuits rated 40A or 50A, delivering 32A or 40A respectively (up to 9.6 kW) — its installation FAQ states that all other amperage settings require the hardwired model, which takes circuits from 20A to 80A and reaches 50A on a 60A breaker. Both are UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified, NEMA 3R rated, carry a 23 ft cable and a 3-year warranty. Use an industrial-grade 14-50 receptacle: the charger is only as safe as the outlet it plugs into.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

The specifications, side by side

Every figure here is the manufacturer’s own published number. The ChargePoint column describes the NEMA 14-50 plug-in model, because that is the Home Flex variant currently sold on Amazon — see the note below the table, because this matters more than it sounds like it should.

SpecificationAutel MaxiCharger AC Elite HomeChargePoint Home Flex (14-50 plug)
Maximum output50A / “Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)”“Up to 40A of power (30 miles of range per hour)”
Adjustable range16–50A in the app32A or 40A, set by the circuit
Circuit needed at full output70A — Autel’s own figure40A or 50A
InstallHardwired at this output; plug-in versions are separate 40A modelsPlug-in, NEMA 14-50
ConnectorSAE J1772J1772 (ChargePoint also sells NACS versions)
Cable“25 ft. (7.5 m)”23 ft (7010.4 mm)
Enclosure“IP65 / NEMA 4X”“Type 3R per UL 50E”
Operating temperature“-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)”-30 °C to 50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F)
CertificationsCSA, ENERGY STARUL and cUL to UL 2594 / UL 2231-1 / UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625, ENERGY STAR
Connectivity“Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485”Wi-Fi, with the ChargePoint network account
Load managementLists “Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)”; the required sensor hardware is not publishedNot published for the Home Flex
Warranty3 years3 years, with 24/7 support

The ChargePoint model split, which trips up a lot of buyers

The Home Flex has a reputation built on a feature the version most people can buy no longer has. ChargePoint’s own home-charging page splits it into three models: the hardwiredHome Flex, which “works with circuits rated from 20 to 80A” and “delivers up to 50A of power”, and the NEMA 6-50 and NEMA 14-50 plugmodels, which both “work with circuits rated 40 or 50A” and both deliver “up to 40A of power”.

The famous 16-to-50-amp dial — the thing that made the Home Flex the charger every electrician recommended, because you could put it on whatever circuit the panel could spare — belongs to the hardwired model. And the hardwired model is not currently listed on Amazon; the variant that is live, and the one the card above links, is the 14-50 plug at up to 40 amps. If you have read a three-year-old review praising the Home Flex’s flexibility, that review was about a different box than the one you can add to a cart today.

This is not a knock on the plug-in unit, which is a good charger. It is a correction to the reason people buy it. Buy the plug-in Home Flex because it is a polished 40-amp charger with the most mature app in the category that plugs into an outlet you already have — not because of a dial it does not have.

What a 70-amp circuit actually means

Autel publishes it plainly on its own store listing, and almost nobody repeats it: full 50-amp output requires a 70-amp circuit.

The arithmetic is standard and the result is unintuitive. EV charging is a continuous load, so the circuit is sized at 125% of the draw: 50 A × 1.25 = 62.5 A, and the next standard breaker above 62.5 is 70 A. Nearly every buyer reading “50 amps” mentally files it next to the 60-amp circuit that a 48-amp charger needs, and it is a size up from that.

On a 200-amp service with a modern panel, a 70-amp circuit is usually available. On a 100- or 125-amp service it frequently is not, and chasing it turns a half-day installation into a load calculation, possibly a panel change and possibly a service upgrade — the single largest line item in home EV charging. Our installation-cost guide has the ranges, and our 100-amp panel roundup is the page to read if that is your house.

The good news is that you do not have to buy the Autel at 50 amps. Autel publishes the output as adjustable from 16 A to 50 A in the app, so a 40-amp setting on a 50-amp circuit is a legitimate configuration — and that is the one we would choose for most houses. It gets you the IP65 / NEMA 4X shell, the -40 °F rating and the 25 ft cable at the same real-world charging speed as the ChargePoint, usually for less money. Our 40A versus 48A comparisonexplains why the amps above 40 are invisible to most cars anyway: the ceiling is the car’s onboard charger, not the wall box.

Hardwired versus plug-in, which is the real fork in the road

Because the Autel is hardwired at this output and the live ChargePoint is plug-in, this comparison is partly a proxy for the install question, and it is worth separating the two arguments.

The case for the plug-in ChargePointis immediacy and portability. If a 14-50 receptacle is already there — very common in garages wired for a dryer, a welder or an RV — the charger arrives, plugs in and works, with no electrician and no permit for the charger itself. It also unplugs and moves with you, which matters if you rent; see chargers for renters.

The case for hardwiring the Autelis that the receptacle is the weakest part of a plug-in install. NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- to 250-volt garage receptacles and NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging; a charger’s own ground-fault detection can conflict with an external GFCI breaker, which is the nuisance-tripping complaint you will find in every owner forum. Hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement at all. A 14-50 receptacle also carries 40 amps continuously for hours every night, and a cheap one is a known failure point — if you are going plug-in, do not economize there (see NEMA 14-50 outlets). The full argument is in our plug-in versus hardwired guide.

The apps, and what each company is really selling

These two companies are in slightly different businesses, and it shows in the software.

ChargePoint runs a public charging network, and the Home Flex is the home end of a single account: the same app that starts your garage session finds and pays for public charging, tracks cost and handles scheduling, with 24/7 support behind it. If you use public charging regularly, having one account and one history for both is a genuine convenience that no spec row captures. Our public charging guide covers how those networks work.

Autel comes from automotive diagnostics and sells hardware, and the AC Elite is specified like a piece of equipment: Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 on the connectivity line, a holster built into the body, and ALM and DLB listed as features. Ethernet on a home charger is unusual and genuinely useful if the garage Wi-Fi is weak — a wired charger does not drop its schedule.

One honest gap on the Autel side. Autel lists Adaptive Load Management and says it “shares power between loads in the home, so you can charge and do your laundry at the same time”, but neither its store listing nor its product page states what sensor hardware ALM requires — a meter, CT clamps, or an installer-configured setting. Whole-home load management normally needs something watching the main feed, so we would treat ALM as a feature to confirm with Autel before you count on it to avoid a service upgrade. If load management is the reason you are shopping, the charger that ships the panel monitor in the box is the Emporia Pro, and our Autel versus Emporia comparison is that matchup directly. The load-management guide explains what the feature can and cannot do for a small panel.

Where each one genuinely wins

Buy the Autel MaxiCharger if

  • You are hiring an electrician regardless, so hardwiring costs you nothing extra.
  • The charger lives outdoors or in a hard climate. IP65 / NEMA 4X and a published -40 °F to 131 °F range are the best figures of any charger we have registered — see our cold-weather roundup.
  • You want the cheaper unit, which it was when we checked, with the longer cable.
  • You have a 200-amp service with room for a 70-amp circuit and a car that can actually use 50 amps — a short list that mostly means a large-battery truck or SUV.

Buy the ChargePoint Home Flex if

  • There is already a NEMA 14-50 outlet where the car parks. This is the big one: it turns a project into a purchase.
  • You use public charging and want one app and one account for home and away.
  • You want the fuller certification list. ChargePoint publishes UL and cUL listing to UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2 with NEC Article 625 compliance; Autel publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR. Both are legitimate — see our certification guide for what each mark covers.
  • You rent, or expect to move, and want the charger to come with you.

The short answer

Both are good chargers and the choice is almost never about the chargers. Look at the wall first. An existing 14-50 outlet points at the plug-in ChargePoint and saves you an electrician. No outlet, and an electrician in the picture either way, points at the Autel — which we would have installed at 40 amps on a 50-amp circuit unless someone has confirmed a 70-amp feed is available and your car can use it.

And do not buy either one for amperage you cannot use. The number that caps your charging speed is your car’s onboard charger, which on most EVs sold in the US is between 7.2 and 11.5 kW — why a bigger charger changes nothing walks through it with published figures.

One buying note. Both brands sell direct as well as on Amazon and the prices are not always the same — Autel’s own store was running the AC Elite below the Amazon price when we checked for this page. We earn a commission on the links here and nothing on the direct ones, and we would still rather you paid less. Check both.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Autel MaxiCharger better than the ChargePoint Home Flex?

On published specifications, yes: 50A against 40A, IP65/NEMA 4X against Type 3R, a -40°F to 131°F operating range against -22°F to 122°F, a 25 ft cable against 23 ft, and it was cheaper when we checked. The catch is installation. The Autel is hardwired at that output and Autel's own store page says full 50A output needs a 70-amp circuit, while the Home Flex model currently sold on Amazon plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet on a 40 or 50-amp circuit. If that outlet already exists, the ChargePoint is usually the better buy despite the thinner spec sheet.

Does the ChargePoint Home Flex still do 50 amps?

Only the hardwired model. ChargePoint's own home page says the hardwired Home Flex works with circuits rated from 20 to 80A and delivers up to 50A, while both plug-in models (NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50) work with 40 or 50A circuits and deliver up to 40A. The hardwired model is not currently listed on Amazon, so the unit we link is the 40A plug-in. Reviews praising the Home Flex's 16-50A dial are describing the hardwired version.

Why does the Autel need a 70-amp circuit for 50 amps?

Because EV charging is a continuous load and the circuit is sized at 125% of the draw. 50A × 1.25 = 62.5A, and the next standard breaker above that is 70A. Autel publishes the 70A requirement on its own store listing. It is a size larger than the 60-amp circuit a 48-amp charger needs, which is the number most buyers assume.

Can I run the Autel on a 50-amp circuit?

Yes. Autel publishes the output as adjustable from 16A to 50A in the app, so setting it to 40A on a 50-amp circuit is a normal configuration — and for most cars it is no slower in practice, because the ceiling is the car's onboard charger rather than the wall unit. You keep the IP65/NEMA 4X enclosure, the -40°F rating and the 25 ft cable without the panel work.

Which one is better for outdoor installation?

The Autel, on published figures. It states IP65 / NEMA 4X and an operating range of -40 to 131 °F; ChargePoint's Home Flex datasheet states a Type 3R enclosure per UL 50E and -30 °C to 50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F). Both are legitimately outdoor rated — Type 3R covers rain, sleet and snow, while 4X adds hose-directed water and corrosion resistance, which matters where road salt gets tracked around.

Does the Autel MaxiCharger have whole-home load management?

Autel lists Adaptive Load Management and Dynamic Load Balancing as supported features and describes ALM as sharing power between loads in the home. What it does not publish, on either its store listing or its product page, is what sensor hardware ALM requires — and whole-home load management normally needs something monitoring the main feed. Confirm it with Autel before relying on it to avoid a service upgrade. A charger that ships the panel monitor in the box is the Emporia Pro.

Do both work with a Tesla?

Both are J1772 chargers in the versions compared here, and a Tesla charges from J1772 with the adapter Tesla supplies or sells. ChargePoint also sells NACS versions of the Home Flex. If you want a native NACS handle on the wall instead of an adapter joint in the cable every night, our best-for-Tesla roundup covers the options.

Sources

  • Autel Energy (official store) — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A 12 kW EV Charger — Autel's own US store listing: "Maximum 12 kW (240 VAC @ 50 A model)" adjustable 16-50 A, hardwired, and a 70 A circuit required for full output; an SAE J1772 connector on a "25 ft. (7.5 m)" cable; "IP65 / NEMA 4X"; "-40 to 131 °F (-40 to 55 °C)" operating temperature; "Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485"; "Adaptive Load Management (ALM); Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB)"; CSA and ENERGY STAR certified; "3 years warranty"; about 15.4 lb with the in-body holster (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite (product page) — Autel's own product page: a "NEMA 4X protection rating", charging at full power from "-40°F to 131°F", up to a maximum of 50 A, and "Adaptive Load Management shares power between loads in the home, so you can charge and do your laundry at the same time." It does NOT state what sensor hardware Adaptive Load Management requires, and it does not state the circuit size needed for 50 A output (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home charging (Home Flex models) — ChargePoint's own model split: the hardwired Home Flex "Works with circuits rated from 20 to 80A" and "Delivers up to 50A of power", while BOTH plug-in models (NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 6-50) "Work with circuits rated 40 or 50A" and "Deliver up to 40A of power (30 miles of range per hour)". UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified, J1772 or NACS, a 3-year warranty and 24/7 support. The page publishes no cable length, enclosure rating or temperature range (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex (CPH50) datasheet — ChargePoint's own datasheet: a "Station Enclosure Rating Type 3R per UL 50E", an operating ambient of -30 °C to 50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F), storage from -40 °C to 60 °C, operating humidity to 95% at 50 °C non-condensing, a 23 ft (7010.4 mm) cable, and UL and cUL listing to UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2 with NEC Article 625 compliance (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Qmerit — NEMA 14-50 and GFCI Protection for EV Chargers (May 1, 2026) — An installer network's explanation: NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- through 250-volt garage receptacles, NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging, the charger's own ground-fault protection can conflict with an external GFCI, and hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on certified EV chargers, safety certification and standby energy use (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — DOE guidance on Level 1 vs Level 2 home charging, 120V/240V service and installation (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading