Amp & Adapter

Best J1772 Adapter Locks for Tesla

Your Tesla locks the adapter into its charge port. Nothing locks the station's handle to the adapter — which is how a public charging session gets ended by a stranger. The rings that close that gap, chosen on fit first, because fit is the only thing they do.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

You plug your Tesla into a public J1772 station through its adapter, walk away, and come back to a car that stopped charging an hour ago. Nobody touched your car. Somebody pressed the thumb button on the station’s handle, pulled it off your adapter and plugged it into theirs. A J1772 adapter lock is a small ring that makes that impossible — and it is one of the cheapest things you can buy for a Tesla.

Three things decide which one to buy, and the brand is not one of them:

  • Your car, by model and year. The sellers do not all claim the same cars, and several listings in this category exclude the Model S and X outright.
  • Your adapter’s shape. A lock is molded around a particular adapter body. Two of our three picks state a narrower fit than “any adapter”.
  • Whether you need one at all. At home you do not. The case for one is public stations shared between several cars.

We own none of these and we do not bench-test accessories — here is exactly what we do instead. Every pick below was checked against its live Amazon listing on 11 September 2026, including the seller’s own compatibility text, and the latch behavior is taken from Tesla’s owner’s manuals rather than from forum lore.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
LENZ Charger Lock for J1772-to-Tesla Adapter (2-pack)

LENZ Charger Lock for J1772-to-Tesla Adapter (2-pack)

The one to start with. It claims the broadest fit of any lock we could verify — every J1772-to-Tesla adapter and every current Tesla model — comes as a two-pack, and its listing is honest enough to print the condition every lock of this kind depends on: the car has to be locked, with your phone or key out of range, before it does anything at all.

Best overall — widest stated fit
$10.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 11, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
MELBLU Tesla Charger Lock for J1772 Adapter (2-pack)

MELBLU Tesla Charger Lock for J1772 Adapter (2-pack)

The most specific listing in the category, which is exactly what you want from a part whose only job is to fit. It names the cars by model year — Model 3 and Y, Model S from 2022 and Model X from 2023 — and says plainly that it fits non-flange adapters only. If your car and your adapter match that description, this is the lock with the least guesswork.

Best for a newer Model S or X
$11.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 11, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Electric Vehicle Gear Charger Locking Ring for Tesla J1772 Adapter

Electric Vehicle Gear Charger Locking Ring for Tesla J1772 Adapter

The listing that explains the mechanism most plainly — it holds down the locking tab on the station's plug — and the only ring we found with “CHARGER IS LOCKED TO CAR” printed into it, which tells the next driver why the handle will not come out instead of leaving them to force it. Stock was thin when we checked, and its stated fit is Tesla's original adapter only.

Best for busy shared stations
$12.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 11, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall — widest stated fit

LENZ Charger Lock for J1772-to-Tesla Adapter (2-pack)

The one to start with. It claims the broadest fit of any lock we could verify — every J1772-to-Tesla adapter and every current Tesla model — comes as a two-pack, and its listing is honest enough to print the condition every lock of this kind depends on: the car has to be locked, with your phone or key out of range, before it does anything at all.

Strengths

  • Broadest stated fit: the seller claims all J1772-to-Tesla adapters and Model 3, Y, S, X and Cybertruck
  • Two rings in the pack — one for the adapter you use, one for the spare that lives in the glovebox
  • Sold as weatherproof, in what the listing calls durable, corrosion-resistant materials
  • The only listing here that states the car must be locked, key or phone out of range, for the lock to engage
  • Snaps onto the adapter with no tools

Trade-offs

  • “All J1772 to Tesla adapters” is a broad claim, while the pack note names only Tesla's own OEM adapter — treat aftermarket-adapter fit as unconfirmed
  • “Most Tesla models” is hedged: the listing does not say which Model S or X years, if any, it excludes
  • The material is described, not named
  • No published warranty term
  • Like every lock here, it protects only while the car's own charge-port latch is holding the adapter
ConnectorFits J1772-to-Tesla (NACS) adapters
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallSnap-on ring; engages only when the car is locked
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes: a two-pack of locking rings that snap onto a J1772-to-Tesla charging adapter to prevent unwanted unplugging; durable, corrosion-resistant materials rated by the seller for hard weather and extreme temperatures; compatibility with 'all J1772 to Tesla charging adapters' and 'most Tesla models including Model X, Y, 3, S, and Cybertruck'; a pack note naming OEM J1772 Tesla adapters; and the instruction that the car must be locked — phone with the Tesla app and/or key out of range — for the lock to engage. It does not publish a material, a Model S/X year range or a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best for a newer Model S or X

MELBLU Tesla Charger Lock for J1772 Adapter (2-pack)

The most specific listing in the category, which is exactly what you want from a part whose only job is to fit. It names the cars by model year — Model 3 and Y, Model S from 2022 and Model X from 2023 — and says plainly that it fits non-flange adapters only. If your car and your adapter match that description, this is the lock with the least guesswork.

Strengths

  • Names supported cars by model year rather than “most Teslas”: Model 3/Y, Model S 2022+, Model X 2023+
  • Injection-molded in a heat-resistant material, per the listing — relevant for a part that sits in summer parking lots
  • Clicks onto the adapter and can stay on it in storage, so it is already fitted next time
  • Two-pack, sold in black or red

Trade-offs

  • Non-flange adapters only — and the listing defines “non-flange” by photo, so compare your adapter against the images before ordering
  • Model S before 2022 and Model X before 2023 are outside the stated fit
  • Names one aftermarket adapter as compatible, but by a product name that describes the opposite adapter direction — treat aftermarket fit as unverified
  • No published warranty term
  • Like every lock here, it depends on the car's latch holding the adapter
ConnectorFits J1772-to-Tesla (NACS) adapters, non-flange only
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallClip-on ring; engages only when the car is locked
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes: an injection-molded charger lock in a durable, heat-resistant material, sold as a two-pack; compatibility with Tesla Model 3/Y, Model S 2022 and later and Model X 2023 and later; fit with non-flange adapters only, 'as depicted in the images'; installation by pushing it onto the adapter until it clicks; and that it works by 'preventing the extraction mechanism of the charger until you have unlocked your charging port'. It does not publish a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best for busy shared stations

Electric Vehicle Gear Charger Locking Ring for Tesla J1772 Adapter

The listing that explains the mechanism most plainly — it holds down the locking tab on the station's plug — and the only ring we found with “CHARGER IS LOCKED TO CAR” printed into it, which tells the next driver why the handle will not come out instead of leaving them to force it. Stock was thin when we checked, and its stated fit is Tesla's original adapter only.

Strengths

  • States the mechanism in plain words: it holds down the locking tab on the charging station's plug
  • “CHARGER IS LOCKED TO CAR” is printed into the part, so a waiting driver knows not to force the handle
  • The seller describes the current version as thicker, stronger and more tamper-resistant than its previous generation
  • The listing names ChargePoint and Blink stations as compatible

Trade-offs

  • Stock was thin on 11 September 2026 — the listing read “Only 13 left in stock”
  • Stated fit is Tesla's original J1772 adapter only; no aftermarket adapter is named
  • Publishes no list of compatible Tesla models or years
  • Does not state a pack quantity, a material or a warranty term
  • Like every lock here, it depends on the car's latch holding the adapter
ConnectorFits Tesla's original J1772 adapter
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallRing over the adapter; holds the station plug's locking tab down
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes: a charger locking ring for Tesla's original J1772 adapter (adapter not included) that 'holds down locking tab on charging station plug to prevent unauthorized disconnection'; compatibility with third-party networks 'such as ChargePoint and Blink'; the words 'CHARGER IS LOCKED TO CAR' printed into the part; and an updated design described as thicker, stronger and more tamper-resistant than the previous generation. It does not publish a compatible-model list, a pack quantity, a material or a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

What a J1772 adapter lock actually locks

Charging a Tesla at a J1772 station puts three parts in a chain: the station’s handle, your J1772-to-Tesla adapter, and the car. Two different latches hold that chain together, and only one of them is yours.

The car’s latch grips the adapter. Tesla’s owner’s manuals describe the charge-port latch as staying locked, “to prevent unauthorized unplugging”, until the car is unlocked or recognizes its key. With an adapter in the port, the thing that latch is holding is the adapter — so the adapter is already secured to your car.

The station handle’s latch grips the adapter too — and anyone can release it. Every J1772 handle is held in its socket by a hook-shaped locking tab, released by the thumb button on top of the handle. On a car with a native J1772 port, that tab hooks onto the car. On a Tesla, it hooks onto your adapter, which your car has no way to control. Press the button, pull, and the session is over.

The lock is a ring that sits over the adapter and holds that tab down — Electric Vehicle Gear’s listing puts it in exactly those words. With the tab held and the adapter held by the car, the handle cannot come off the adapter and the adapter cannot come out of the car, so nobody can end your session without you. That is the whole product. It is not an anti-theft device for the car, and it does nothing at all on a station with a native NACS handle, because there is no adapter in the chain and the car’s own latch holds the plug directly.

The one condition every lock here depends on

A lock ring is only as strong as the car’s latch it leans on, and that latch only holds when the car is locked. LENZ is the one seller that prints this in its listing: the car must be locked, with your phone or key out of range, for the lock to engage. If you are sitting in the car, or standing beside it with a phone that works as a key, the port is unlocked and the ring is decoration.

Cold weather is the second exception, and Tesla documents it. The Model 3 owner’s manual states that on cars with an early-generation charge port, the port stays unlocked whenever the car is not charging and the ambient temperature is below 41 °F (5 °C) — even when the car is locked. So on a winter evening, once your session finishes or pauses for scheduled charging, the car may let go of the adapter. The ring still keeps the station handle on the adapter, but the whole assembly can now come out of the car together. If you charge outdoors in the cold on an older car, a lock is less protection than it looks.

Do you actually need one?

  • At home, no. Nobody unplugs you in your own garage, and if your home charger has a native NACS handle there is no adapter to lock — our home charger guide for Tesla covers that side.
  • At busy public J1772 stations, yes. Workplace chargers, hotel lots and shopping-center stations where one handle serves several cars are exactly where handles get moved. For the price, it is cheap insurance against coming back to a flat session.
  • At stations with a NACS handle, no. Wherever a station offers a native NACS connector, the adapter — and with it the need for a lock — disappears. Our public charging guide covers which kind of station you are likely to find.

One piece of etiquette the listings never mention: a lock also stops the courteous swap. At shared workplace stations, drivers often unplug a car that has finished so the next one can charge. Lock your adapter and nobody can do that for you — so move the car when it is done, or at least leave a way to be reached. The Electric Vehicle Gear ring’s printed “CHARGER IS LOCKED TO CAR” is the only design here that tells the next driver what is going on instead of leaving them to force the handle.

How to choose a J1772 adapter lock

1. Your car, by model and year

This is the first line to read on any listing, because the rings interact with the shape of the car’s port surround as well as the adapter. What our three picks state:

  • LENZ: “most Tesla models including Model X, Y, 3, S, and Cybertruck”, with no year range given.
  • MELBLU: Model 3 and Y, Model S from 2022, Model X from 2023.
  • Electric Vehicle Gear: no model list; fit is stated against Tesla’s original adapter rather than the car.

Several other listings in this category are explicit that they fit only the Model 3, Model Y and Cybertruck, and say “not for Model S/X” in so many words. If you drive an older S or X, that is the sentence to look for before anything else. If you drive a non-Tesla EV with a NACS port, no seller here claims compatibility at all.

2. Your adapter’s shape

A lock ring is molded around one adapter body. MELBLU says its ring fits non-flange adapters only and defines that by photo; Electric Vehicle Gear states fit with Tesla’s original adapter and names nothing else; LENZ claims every J1772-to-Tesla adapter, while its own pack note names only Tesla’s OEM one. The practical rule: compare your adapter against the listing photos before you order. If you use an aftermarket adapter such as the Lectron J1772-to-Tesla, treat every fit claim as unconfirmed until it is on your adapter.

3. Material and weather

These rings live outdoors, clipped to a plug that sits in the sun. MELBLU publishes an injection-molded, heat-resistant material; LENZ describes durable, corrosion-resistant materials without naming them; Electric Vehicle Gear describes its current version as thicker and more tamper-resistant than the last. Aluminum and carbon-composite rings exist too, but every one we found was sold under a generic brand name, and we do not list products we cannot attribute to a maker.

4. Pack size and warranty

A small loose part in a car gets lost, so a two-pack is worth having — LENZ and MELBLU both ship two. None of our three picks publishes a warranty term. At this price, buy the one whose stated fit matches your car and adapter, and do not pay more for anything else.

Fitting one, checking it works, and getting it off again

These rings are simple, but the order you do things in matters, because the car decides when the lock is live.

  1. Fit the ring to your adapter at home first. MELBLU describes pushing it on until it clicks; LENZ says it snaps into place. Finding out that it does not fit is better done in your driveway than at a busy station.
  2. At the station, the order is car, adapter, handle. Adapter into the car, then the station’s handle into the adapter, with the ring fitted the way its listing photos show.
  3. Walk away and let the car lock. Until it does, the charge port is unlocked and the ring holds nothing.
  4. Confirm it from the app. Before you are out of sight, check that the Tesla app shows the car as both locked and charging. A ring on an unlocked car protects nothing. Do not test the lock by pressing the station handle’s button while it charges — if the ring is not holding, you have just unplugged yourself.
  5. Coming back, unlock the car first. Tesla’s manuals are explicit that the car must be unlocked, or recognize its key, before the cable can be disconnected. Then press the handle’s button, remove it, and take the adapter with you. MELBLU notes its ring can stay on the adapter in storage, which saves fitting it next time.

One thing not to do: leave the adapter behind on the station when you drive off. Our Tesla accessories guide covers keeping it in the car, in a case, where it is actually useful.

What we left out, and why

  • Generic-brand listings, including the aluminum and carbon-composite rings. The product may be fine; the listing does not tell you who makes it.
  • A listing whose title leaves out the brand its own seller details report. We only register products whose listing title and brand agree.
  • Listings with broken compatibility text — bullets that trail off mid-sentence or name no car. On a part whose only job is to fit, an unreadable fit statement is disqualifying.
  • An adapter sold “with security lock” whose listing never says what the lock does or locks.

If you own a 3D printer, free printable designs for this exact part are published on the major model-sharing sites. Print it in a material that will not soften in a hot parking lot, and check the fit before relying on it.

The verdict

Buy the LENZ if you are not sure which adapter or car year you have — it claims the broadest fit, comes as a pair, and is the only listing that tells you the condition it depends on. Buy the MELBLU if you drive a 2022-or-later Model S or 2023-or-later Model X and want the listing that names your car. Buy the Electric Vehicle Gear ring if you charge at a crowded workplace station and would rather the next driver read a message than fight your handle — while it is in stock.

And keep the limits in view. A lock protects a session only while the car is locked and its latch is holding, which Tesla’s own manual says is not always true in the cold. It is worth a few dollars for anyone who uses public J1772 stations regularly. It is worth nothing at home, and nothing on a NACS handle.

Frequently asked questions

What does a J1772 adapter lock do?

It stops anyone removing the charging station's J1772 handle from your Tesla's J1772 adapter while you are away. The ring sits over the adapter and holds down the locking tab on the station's plug. Your car already locks the adapter into its charge port, so with both held, nobody can end your session without you.

Doesn't my Tesla already lock the charger?

It locks what is in its charge port. Tesla's owner's manuals describe the charge-port latch staying locked, to prevent unauthorized unplugging, until the car is unlocked or recognizes its key. When you charge through a J1772 adapter, the thing in the port is the adapter — the station's handle is latched to the adapter, not the car, and anyone can release it with the thumb button. That gap is what the lock closes.

Why doesn't the lock work when I'm standing next to the car?

Because it depends on the car's charge-port latch, and the car unlocks the port when it recognizes your phone or key. LENZ's listing says so directly: the car must be locked, with the phone or key out of range, for the lock to engage. Walk away and let the car lock before you count on it.

Does a J1772 adapter lock work in cold weather?

Only partly on some cars. Tesla's Model 3 owner's manual says that on cars with an early-generation charge port, the port stays unlocked whenever the car is not charging and the temperature is below 41°F (5°C), even when the car is locked. Once the session ends or pauses in the cold, the car may release the adapter, and the ring then only keeps the station handle attached to it.

Will a J1772 adapter lock fit my Model S or Model X?

It depends on the lock and the year. MELBLU states fit with Model S from 2022 and Model X from 2023. LENZ claims most Tesla models including the S and X, without a year range. Several other listings fit only the Model 3, Model Y and Cybertruck and say 'not for Model S/X' outright, so read the compatibility line before anything else.

Do I need a J1772 adapter lock for home charging?

No. Nobody unplugs your car in your own garage, and if your home charger has a native NACS handle there is no adapter involved to lock. The lock is for public J1772 stations shared between several cars.

Will a lock fit a non-Tesla EV with a NACS port?

No seller we checked claims it. Every listing states fit against Tesla models or Tesla's own adapter. If you drive a non-Tesla with a NACS port, assume these rings are not designed for your car.

Sources

Keep reading