Amp & Adapter

EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger Review

A dual-voltage travel charger with an ETL listing and a 25 ft cable — and an honest look at the 240V outlet it needs to be worth buying.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

“Level 1 and 2” on a charger listing is doing a lot of work, and it is worth unpacking before you buy anything sold that way. It means the unit can run from a standard 120V household socket or from a 240V outlet, roughly doubling its rate on the latter. It does not mean the 240V mode is equivalent to a home wall charger, and the gap is large.

This unit is a genuinely useful example of the type. It publishes 12A at 120V and 16A at 240V, an ETL listing— a named testing laboratory, which several cheaper travel units cannot claim — and a 25 ft cable, which is unusually long for something that lives in a trunk.

But 16A at 240V is roughly 3.8 kW. A proper home charger is 9.6 kW. So the honest framing of this product is: a very good travel and top-up charger that happens to double its rate where a 240V outlet exists— not a home charging solution. Everything below is read from the published listing on the date shown under the pick.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

The genuinely useful dual-voltage unit: 12A from an ordinary household socket, 16A from a 240V NEMA 6-20, with a 25 ft cable and an ETL listing. It is not a fast charger and does not pretend to be — it is the one to keep in the trunk for wherever you end up parked.

Our pick — best dual-level travel charger
$119.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Our pick — best dual-level travel charger

EVDANCE Level 1 & 2 Portable Charger (16A, 25 ft)

The genuinely useful dual-voltage unit: 12A from an ordinary household socket, 16A from a 240V NEMA 6-20, with a 25 ft cable and an ETL listing. It is not a fast charger and does not pretend to be — it is the one to keep in the trunk for wherever you end up parked.

Strengths

  • ETL listed — a named testing lab, which several cheaper travel units cannot claim
  • Runs from a standard 120V socket or a 240V NEMA 6-20, roughly doubling the rate on the latter
  • 25 ft cable is unusually long for a travel unit, which matters when the outlet is nowhere near the car

Trade-offs

  • 16A maximum — this is a top-up charger, not a replacement for a 40A home install
  • The 240V mode needs a NEMA 6-20 outlet, which most houses do not have
  • No published enclosure rating or warranty term
ConnectorJ1772
Max output16 A
Max power3.8 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 5-15 or 6-20)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 12A at 120V and 16A at 240V, a 25 ft cable, an ETL listing and both NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plug options, stated as compatible with all EVs and PHEVs. It does not publish an enclosure rating or a warranty term.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

What the two modes actually deliver

Charging power is volts × amps ÷ 1000. Worked through for both modes of this unit:

  • 120V at 12A→ roughly 1.4 kW. In range terms that is typically a few miles per hour — call it 30 to 50 miles across a long overnight stop, depending on the car and the weather.
  • 240V at 16A→ roughly 3.8 kW. Somewhere near two and a half times the rate, so plausibly 100 miles or more across the same overnight window.

That second figure is the reason to buy this rather than a 120V-only cordset. It is the difference between “I gained a bit of buffer overnight” and “I left with meaningfully more range than I arrived with”. Our how-long-to-charge guide works the arithmetic through properly, including why the figures shift in the cold.

The catch: the outlet it needs

The 240V mode uses a NEMA 6-20 plug configuration, and most houses do not have that outlet. It appears in workshops, some garages, and occasionally where a window air conditioner or a piece of equipment was once fitted. It is not standard domestic equipment.

So before buying this forthe 240V mode, go and check what outlets actually exist where you intend to charge. If the answer is “ordinary sockets only”, you are buying a Level 1 charger with a good cable and an ETL listing — still a reasonable purchase, but a different one. Our NEMA outlet types guide explains what the numbers mean and how to identify what you have.

Having an electrician add a 6-20 outlet is a comparatively modest job, and if you are in a rental or a temporary situation where a full 50A circuit is out of the question, that is a legitimate middle path worth pricing. Our renters guide covers the wider set of options there.

The ETL listing is the reason this one and not a cheaper one

Travel chargers are the category where certification gets skipped most often, because the units are cheap, sold in volume by nameplate brands, and bought as afterthoughts. That is exactly backwards: a travel charger is the unit most likely to be plugged into an unknown outlet, in an unfamiliar building, with wiring nobody has inspected.

An ETL listing means a recognized testing laboratory has assessed the product against the applicable safety standard. It is the same class of assurance as a UL listing, from a different lab. On this category we treat it as the floor rather than a feature, and it is the single reason this unit is our pick over several cheaper ones. Our certification guide explains the marks and how to verify them.

The 25 ft cable matters more than you would guess

On a home charger, cable length is about where the car parks. On a travel charger it is about something more basic: whether you can reach the outlet at all.

The outlet at a rental cottage is inside a garage the car does not fit in. The one at a relative’s house is behind a workbench. The one at the campsite is on a post ten feet from where you are allowed to park. Twenty-five feet turns a substantial fraction of those from impossible into fine, and it is the specification we would not trade away on a unit bought for travel.

One safety note that follows from it: do not add a household extension cord to reach further. An ordinary extension cord is not built for a continuous hours-long load and is a genuine fire risk in this application. If you need more reach, our cables and extensions guide covers the rated way to do it.

What is not published

The listing does not state an enclosure rating or a warranty term. Our spec table prints “Not published” rather than guessing.

The enclosure gap is worth taking seriously on a travel unit specifically, because travel charging happens outdoors more often than home charging does — a driveway, a campsite, a parking lot. Without a published rating, keep the body of the unit out of standing water and rain, and do not leave it lying on wet ground for a multi-hour session. Elevate it, or put it in a bag with the connector routed out.

On the warranty, treat the retailer’s return window as your practical recourse. At this price that is a reasonable trade for the ETL listing you are getting.

Who should buy it

  • Anyone who travels and might find only a household outlet. This is the core case and it is well served here.
  • PHEV owners.A plug-in hybrid’s battery is small enough that this unit’s output is genuinely adequate rather than a compromise — see our PHEV charging guide, which makes the case that the whole amperage argument inverts for these vehicles.
  • Anyone with a 6-20 outlet already. You get the doubled rate for nothing.
  • As a backup to a proper home charger. Cheap insurance that lives in the trunk.

Who should buy something else

  • Anyone who needs a primary home charger.3.8 kW is not enough for a full-size EV replacing real daily driving. You want 40A — see our 40A roundup.
  • Anyone who wants a portable that can also be the home charger. That is a 40A unit on a NEMA 14-50, and the Lectron 40A portable is our pick for it.
  • Anyone charging outdoors regularly in bad weather. No published enclosure rating means treat it accordingly.

The verdict

The right travel charger for most people, and better than the cordset that came with many cars. The ETL listing is the reason to pick it over cheaper dual-level units, the 25 ft cable is the reason you will actually be able to use it, and the 240V mode is a genuine bonus wherever a 6-20 outlet turns up. Just buy it understanding what it is: the charger for when you are not at home, not the one that replaces a proper installation.

Frequently asked questions

Is a Level 1 and 2 portable charger enough for daily home charging?

For a full-size EV, usually not. At 240V this unit delivers around 3.8 kW against a home charger's 9.6 kW, so a large battery replacing real daily driving will fall behind. For a PHEV, or for a low-mileage driver who plugs in every night, it can genuinely be sufficient.

What outlet does the 240V mode need?

A NEMA 6-20, which most houses do not have — it turns up in workshops and garages more than in living spaces. Check what outlets exist where you plan to charge before buying for the 240V mode. Adding a 6-20 is a comparatively modest electrical job if you decide it is worth it.

Why does the ETL listing matter on a travel charger?

Because a travel charger is the unit most likely to be plugged into an unfamiliar outlet in a building whose wiring nobody has inspected. An ETL listing means a recognized laboratory assessed it against the applicable safety standard — the same class of assurance as UL, from a different lab. On this category we treat it as a floor, not a feature.

Can I use an extension cord to reach further?

Not an ordinary household one. Extension cords are not built for continuous hours-long loads and are a genuine fire risk in this application. The 25 ft cable is part of why this unit is worth buying; if you need more reach than that, use a properly rated EV extension.

Can I leave it outside while charging?

The listing does not publish an enclosure rating, so we would not leave the body of the unit exposed to rain or lying in standing water for a multi-hour session. Elevate it, keep it under cover, or put it in a bag with the connector routed out.

Sources

Keep reading