Amp & Adapter

Best EV Charger Pedestals & Mounting Stands

What to buy when there is no wall where the car parks — and the two numbers (standing height and weight capacity) that almost no listing in this category publishes.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

A pedestal is not an upgrade to your charging setup. It is what you buy when there is no wall within cable reach of where the car parks — a detached carport, a parking bay in the middle of a yard, a shared driveway, a garage whose only free wall is on the wrong side.

That makes this the rare category where the honest first question is whether you need the product at all. If a wall will take the charger, bolt it to the wall: it is more rigid, it costs nothing extra, and it skips the concrete anchoring entirely. Our installation guide covers siting a wall unit well.

If you genuinely have no wall, then this page is about a product category with a specific problem: almost nobody publishes the numbers. Of the six pedestals below, two publish a standing height, one publishes a weight capacity, and three publish no dimensions whatsoever. So that is what we ranked on — published fitment, published capacity, published warranty, and whether the seller names the chargers it has actually made a plate for instead of saying “universal.”

Everything below was read from published listings and, where the manufacturer has its own page, cross-checked against it on the date shown under each pick. All six were verified live and in stock on 2 October 2026. Unpublished figures read “Not published,” because that is the useful answer.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
VIVO Outdoor EV Charging Stand (STAND-EV01C)

VIVO Outdoor EV Charging Stand (STAND-EV01C)

The only pedestal in this category that publishes the numbers you actually need to check before buying — a standing height, a base footprint, a pole section and a weight capacity — and it backs them with the longest warranty here. That is why it is first, not because it is the most expensive thing we could point at.

Best overall — the one that publishes its numbers
$99.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Ufixed Universal EV Charger Pedestal (Metallic Black)

Ufixed Universal EV Charger Pedestal (Metallic Black)

The cheapest pedestal here that routes the wiring inside the post instead of strapping it to the outside, which is the one construction detail in this price band worth paying for. It publishes almost nothing else, and we would not pretend otherwise.

Best value
$85.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
lukar EV Charger Pedestal with Roof and Side Protection

lukar EV Charger Pedestal with Roof and Side Protection

The only pedestal we found under the premium tier with both a top cover and side panels. That matters for the reason the covers page argues at length — sunlight ages a charger long before water bothers it — but the warranty behind it is the shortest on this page.

Best weather protection
$109.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Inteset Universal Single Port EV Charger Pedestal (U-PED60)

Inteset Universal Single Port EV Charger Pedestal (U-PED60)

The only pedestal here that names the chargers it has made mounting plates for rather than calling itself universal, and it ships the holster and anchor bolts a real install needs. It also costs several times what the steel pedestals do, and nothing about a one-car driveway requires that.

Best fitment, if the budget allows
$440.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Wallbox Eiffel Basic Pedestal, Dual (PED-EIFBS-DUAL)

Wallbox Eiffel Basic Pedestal, Dual (PED-EIFBS-DUAL)

The only pedestal on this page built by a charger manufacturer for its own hardware, which turns fitment from a measuring exercise into a part number. Buy it if your chargers are Wallboxes; it is worth nothing to you if they are not.

Best for two Wallbox chargers
$459.45 · View on Amazon

$488.996% off

Price as of October 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Maizengauto EV Charger Pedestal (MZTH-US-007-1)

Maizengauto EV Charger Pedestal (MZTH-US-007-1)

A one-piece galvanized column with a published model number and the only mid-price claim of taking a second charger later. It publishes less than the VIVO while asking more, so it earns a place rather than a recommendation.

Best one-piece column
$129.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall — the one that publishes its numbers

VIVO Outdoor EV Charging Stand (STAND-EV01C)

The only pedestal in this category that publishes the numbers you actually need to check before buying — a standing height, a base footprint, a pole section and a weight capacity — and it backs them with the longest warranty here. That is why it is first, not because it is the most expensive thing we could point at.

Strengths

  • Publishes a full dimension set on VIVO's own page — 61.7 in tall, an 11 x 7.9 in base, a 2.4 x 1.6 in pole — where most listings in this category publish nothing
  • Publishes a 33 lb weight capacity, which is the one figure that tells you whether your charger can go on it
  • Three-year warranty, the longest published term of any pedestal we found
  • Includes an overhead baffle plus a magnetic waterproof cover for the connector and a cable holder, so the connector has somewhere to live

Trade-offs

  • The 33 lb capacity is a real ceiling — check your charger's published weight, including its wirebox, before you order
  • Fitment turns on a detail most charger listings never state: VIVO requires an M4 thread base on the back of the charger, or a wall-mount/adapter plate
  • The Amazon listing title says "Stainless Steel" where VIVO's own specification says "Steel, Plastic" with a powder-coated finish — the base is the steel part
  • No NEMA or IP enclosure rating is published for the stand, so your charger's own outdoor rating is still doing all the weatherproofing work
ConnectorNot published
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallFreestanding pedestal; anchors to concrete. Charger needs an M4 thread base or its own wall-mount/adapter plate
Outdoor ratingOverhead baffle; no NEMA or IP rating published
Warranty3 years

Spec note. VIVO's own product page for STAND-EV01C (read 2 October 2026) publishes a 61.7 in total height, an 11 x 7.9 in base, a 2.4 x 1.6 in pole, a 33 lb weight capacity, "Material: Steel, Plastic" with "Surface Finish: Powder Coating", a 3-year warranty, and the compatibility statement "Works with all US EV's. AS (American Standard) only. EV charger must have an M4 thread base on back or include a wall mount/adapter plate". The Amazon listing adds an overhead baffle, a magnetic waterproof cover that secures to the car over the charge port, a cable holder with a universal nozzle, and a stated 33 lb capacity, and describes the base as stainless steel — which VIVO's own material line does not say. Neither source publishes a NEMA or IP rating, a wind rating, or an anchor-bolt specification.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Best value

Ufixed Universal EV Charger Pedestal (Metallic Black)

The cheapest pedestal here that routes the wiring inside the post instead of strapping it to the outside, which is the one construction detail in this price band worth paying for. It publishes almost nothing else, and we would not pretend otherwise.

Strengths

  • Routes the electrical wiring through the inside of the post, which protects it and is the difference between a finished install and an obvious one
  • Powder-coated steel with a reinforced base that anchors to concrete
  • Publishes a one-year warranty, which several pedestals in this bracket do not

Trade-offs

  • Publishes no standing height, no weight capacity and no list of chargers it has actually been fitted to
  • The 17.3 x 10 x 7 in figure on the listing is the shipping carton, not the assembled pedestal — do not read it as a height
  • No roof, cover or baffle, so everything about weather protection falls to the charger's own enclosure rating
  • "Universal compatibility" is the seller's claim, not a measured hole pattern; measure your charger's mounting spacing first
ConnectorNot published
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallFreestanding pedestal; reinforced base anchors to concrete, internal cable routing
Outdoor ratingPowder-coated steel; no cover or roof
Warranty1 year

Spec note. The listing publishes powder-coated steel construction, internal cable routing through the post, a reinforced base that "securely anchors to concrete surfaces", a mounting plate stated to accommodate "a wide range of Level 2 EV charging stations", the color Metallic Black and a one-year warranty. Its item-dimension fields read 17.3 x 10 x 7 in, which is the packaged carton rather than the assembled height — no standing height is published anywhere on the listing. No weight capacity, no fitment list, no hole pattern, no anchor specification and no NEMA or IP rating.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Best weather protection

lukar EV Charger Pedestal with Roof and Side Protection

The only pedestal we found under the premium tier with both a top cover and side panels. That matters for the reason the covers page argues at length — sunlight ages a charger long before water bothers it — but the warranty behind it is the shortest on this page.

Strengths

  • A top cover plus side protection, stated to shield the charger from rain, snow and sunlight — overhead shade is the feature that actually earns its money outdoors
  • Galvanized steel, which is the corrosion-resistant choice for a post standing in a puddle
  • Ships with hardware and step-by-step assembly instructions

Trade-offs

  • A six-month warranty — by a wide margin the shortest published term of any pedestal here
  • Publishes no dimensions at all: no height, no footprint, no weight capacity, so there is nothing to check your charger against
  • Compatibility is stated for "most J1772 electric vehicle charging stations"; a native-NACS wall unit may need a different hole pattern
  • A roof is not a NEMA rating and this listing publishes neither — it shades the charger, it does not seal it
ConnectorNot published
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallFreestanding pedestal with roof and side panels; hardware and instructions included
Outdoor ratingTop cover and side protection; no NEMA or IP rating published
Warranty6 months

Spec note. The listing publishes high-quality galvanized steel construction, "a sturdy top cover and side protection, which can protect the charger from rain, snow, and sunlight", support for "all U.S. standard secondary charging stations" and "most J1772 electric vehicle charging stations", included hardware with step-by-step assembly instructions, the color black, and a six-month warranty. It publishes no height, footprint, weight capacity, hole pattern, fitment list or NEMA/IP rating. No manufacturer page for the brand was found to cross-check.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#4Best fitment, if the budget allows

Inteset Universal Single Port EV Charger Pedestal (U-PED60)

The only pedestal here that names the chargers it has made mounting plates for rather than calling itself universal, and it ships the holster and anchor bolts a real install needs. It also costs several times what the steel pedestals do, and nothing about a one-car driveway requires that.

Strengths

  • Names its mounting plates by charger — Wallbox Pulsar, Tesla Gen 3, United Chargers Grizzl-E and Inteset's own unit — plus blank plates for anything else, which is a fitment answer instead of a fitment claim
  • Publishes the post dimensions (60 in H x 8 in W x 4 in D) and the M5 screw-hole size, so you can check a hole pattern before you buy
  • One-piece commercial-grade aluminum with a powder-coated finish and stainless hardware — no spliced post to work loose
  • Ships with a J1772 plug holster, cable hooks and stainless 4 in concrete anchor bolts in the box

Trade-offs

  • Several times the price of the plain steel pedestals on this page, and a home driveway gets no electrical benefit from the difference
  • The NACS holster and the cable-management retractor are separate purchases, so the real total is above the listed price for a Tesla-handle charger
  • Inteset's own two listings disagree on the warranty — the single-port record reads "Two Years for Defects" while the dual-port bullet text claims a "3-year limited warranty" — and we found no Inteset spec sheet to settle it
  • No roof, cover or baffle, and no NEMA or IP rating published
ConnectorNot published
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallFreestanding one-piece aluminum post; stainless 4 in anchor bolts into concrete
Outdoor ratingPowder-coated aluminum; no NEMA or IP rating published
Warranty2 years (defects)

Spec note. The listing publishes a 60 in H x 8 in W x 4 in D one-piece commercial-grade aluminum post in a dark gray powder-coated finish; charger mounting plates for "Wallbox Pulsar, Tesla Gen 3, United Charger Grizzl-E, Inteset evPlugMate, and more" with blank plates provided for other makes; an M5 screw-hole size; a J1772 plug with holster and cable hooks, and stainless steel 4 in anchor bolts, included; and an optional industrial cable-management retractor with a 12 ft reach rated for 18 lb of tension, sold separately. The Amazon warranty field reads "Two Years for Defects"; the sibling dual-port listing's own bullet text claims a "3-year limited warranty on all parts and options". We could not find an Inteset product page or spec sheet to resolve the two, so the registry carries the two-year figure that the listing we link publishes. No NEMA or IP rating is published.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#5Best for two Wallbox chargers

Wallbox Eiffel Basic Pedestal, Dual (PED-EIFBS-DUAL)

The only pedestal on this page built by a charger manufacturer for its own hardware, which turns fitment from a measuring exercise into a part number. Buy it if your chargers are Wallboxes; it is worth nothing to you if they are not.

Strengths

  • Made by the charger's own manufacturer, so the mounting pattern is not something you have to verify with a tape measure
  • Wallbox's own support documentation lists the Eiffel pedestal as a single-or-dual mount for six of its chargers — Pulsar, Pulsar Plus, Pulsar Max, Pulsar Pro, Copper SB and Commander 2/2s — a wider list than the Amazon bullet gives
  • Aluminum body on a stainless steel base, and Wallbox publishes a real height and weight for it (55 x 7.9 x 7.9 in, 26.5 lb)
  • Takes two chargers on one post and one concrete anchor point, which is the cheaper half of a two-charger install

Trade-offs

  • Wallbox-only. There is no blank plate, so a Grizzl-E, Emporia or Tesla unit cannot go on it
  • No warranty term is published for the pedestal on the Amazon listing or on Wallbox's own store page
  • The dimension fields on the Amazon listing (11 x 19.7 x 19.7 in) are the base plate and carton, not the post — the 55 in height comes from Wallbox, not from Amazon
  • A dual pedestal costs more than two plain steel single pedestals, and buys you fitment certainty rather than anything structural
ConnectorNot published
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallFreestanding pedestal for one or two Wallbox chargers; mounting hardware included
Outdoor ratingAluminum body with stainless steel base; weather-resistant, no NEMA or IP rating published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. Wallbox's own store page for the Eiffel Basic Pedestal (read 2 October 2026) publishes "Aluminium and stainless steel" and "55" x 7,9" x 7,9" // 26,5lb", and Wallbox's support documentation describes the Eiffel pedestal as "single or dual mounting" for the "Pulsar/Pulsar Plus/Pulsar Max/Pulsar Pro", "Copper SB" and "Commander 2/2s". The Amazon listing is narrower — "Designed exclusively for Wallbox Pulsar Plus chargers" — and publishes only an 11 x 19.7 x 19.7 in dimension set, which is the base plate and packaging rather than the post. Model PED-EIFBS-DUAL. Neither source publishes a warranty term for the pedestal, a NEMA or IP rating, or an anchor-bolt specification; the store page shows mono and dual under one price display, so no per-configuration store price is quoted here.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#6Best one-piece column

Maizengauto EV Charger Pedestal (MZTH-US-007-1)

A one-piece galvanized column with a published model number and the only mid-price claim of taking a second charger later. It publishes less than the VIVO while asking more, so it earns a place rather than a recommendation.

Strengths

  • A one-piece column with no spliced joint, which is where a cheap post works loose
  • Galvanized steel with an electrostatic-sprayed finish, stated for long-term outdoor use
  • Publishes a real model number (MZTH-US-007-1) and a one-year warranty, so there is something to warranty-claim against

Trade-offs

  • Costs appreciably more than the plain steel pedestals here while publishing less: no height, no footprint, no weight capacity
  • The "expandable to accommodate a second charger" claim is not explained and no second mounting plate is listed in the box
  • No roof, cover or baffle, and no NEMA or IP rating published
  • The category has relabeled clones in it: a separate brand name on Amazon repeats this listing's bullet text verbatim, Maizengauto's own name included, which tells you how little of this is designed rather than sourced
ConnectorNot published
Max outputNot published
Max powerNot published
Cable lengthNot published
InstallFreestanding one-piece galvanized-steel column; bracket mounting system
Outdoor ratingGalvanized steel with electrostatic-spray finish; no cover or roof
Warranty1 year

Spec note. The listing publishes galvanized steel finished by an electrostatic spraying process, an "integral column, eliminating the need for splicing", a bracket system stated to allow installation "anywhere", support for "all North [American] level 2 chargers" and expandability "to accommodate a second charger", model MZTH-US-007-1, the color black and a one-year warranty. It publishes no height, footprint, weight capacity, hole pattern or NEMA/IP rating, and does not state what the second-charger expansion requires. A separate Amazon listing under the brand name Pmxloes (B0HHRJHGDL) carries this listing's bullet text verbatim, including the words "this Maizengauto EV charger pedestal" — recorded here because it bears on how much of this product is designed rather than relabeled.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

How we ranked these, in order

This category is full of listings that look identical because many of them substantially are. Four criteria separate them, and they are deliberately not the ones the listings lead with.

  1. Published fitment. Not the word “universal” — an actual hole pattern, thread size or named charger plate. Two pedestals here publish one: VIVO states an M4 thread base requirement, and Inteset publishes an M5 screw hole plus plates named for Wallbox Pulsar, Tesla Gen 3 and the Grizzl-E. Everything else asks you to measure and hope.
  2. Published weight capacity. Exactly one pedestal on this page publishes one (VIVO, 33 lb). That is a genuine data point, not a marketing number, and the table below gives you something to check it against.
  3. Published standing height. Two publish one. Several publish a carton dimension that reads like a height and is not — if a “17 x 10 x 7 in” figure appears on a 5 ft pedestal, you are looking at the box.
  4. Warranty term. Six months to three years across these six. On a steel post anchored outdoors, that spread tells you something about how much confidence each seller has in its own powder coating.

We own none of these and we do not claim to have installed one. Our methodology page explains what that means for every ranking on this site.

The fitment check nobody sets up for you

Here is the structural oddity of this category. Pedestal listings publish a weight capacity (sometimes). Charger documents publish a weight and a footprint (sometimes). Nobody puts the two side by side, so the buyer does the join — and usually skips it.

These are the published figures for chargers we cover, read from the manufacturer documents cited at the bottom of this page:

ChargerSizeWeightNote
Tesla Gen 3 Wall Connector13.6 x 6.1 x 4.3 in10 lb with wireboxHardwired only — Tesla's manual says not to use a cord-and-plug connection
Tesla Universal Wall Connector13.6 x 6.1 x 5.9 inAbout 13 lbHardwired only; deeper than the standard unit because of the adapter dock
Leviton EV320Not published on the maker's pageNot publishedHardwired only, NEMA Type 3R
Wallbox Pulsar PlusNot published for the pedestal fitNot publishedThe one charger family with a manufacturer's own pedestal

The useful conclusion from that table is a reassuring one: a 33 lb capacity is comfortable for the two chargers whose weights are actually published. Tesla’s Gen 3 Wall Connector is 10 lb with its wirebox and the Universal about 13 lb. The capacity figure becomes a real constraint only on the heavy end of the market — a long-cable 50A unit with a cast enclosure — and the honest position is that most chargers do not publish their weight at all, so if yours does not, weigh the box.

The second thing the table shows is that most of these chargers are hardwire-only. Tesla’s own Gen 3 manual says plainly: “Do NOT install cord-and-plug type connections.” That matters enormously for a pedestal, and it is the subject of the next section.

The pedestal is the cheapest part of a pedestal install

This is the sentence the listings will not write for you, so we will.

A wall install runs a circuit from the panel to a wall. A pedestal install runs a circuit from the panel to a point in the middle of open ground. In practice that means a trench, conduit rated for direct burial, a stub-up at the pedestal location, and either an existing concrete slab to anchor into or a new footing poured for the purpose. Every pedestal here ships anchor hardware for concrete and none of them ships concrete.

So the pedestal is a small line on that invoice. Our installation cost guide walks through what drives the rest of it, and the short version is: distance from the panel, and whether a trench is involved. A pedestal install usually involves both.

Two consequences worth planning around before you buy anything:

  • Hardwired is usually the right call on a pedestal. It is what most of the chargers above require anyway, and it avoids the receptacle rule described below. Our hardwired versus NEMA 14-50 guide makes the general case; outdoors, in the open, on a post, it is stronger than usual.
  • Position it for the cable, not for the look. A 20–25 ft cord from a wall has one job: reach the port. From a pedestal it has to reach the port and get there around a parked car. Work out where the charge port sits on the cars that will use the bay — and remember that a second car may park nose-in while the first parks nose-out.

The receptacle rule, and why it bites harder outdoors

If your installer puts a receptacle on the pedestal so a plug-in charger can live on it, the relevant code requirements follow the receptacle, not the charger. NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- through 250-volt garage receptacles, and NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging — which is exactly what a pedestal receptacle is.

That is not a reason to be nervous; it is a reason to say “hardwired” when the electrician asks. A hardwired charger is not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement at all, and it also avoids the known overlap between a charger’s own internal ground-fault protection and an external GFCI breaker that causes nuisance trips. Our 32A roundup goes into that interaction in detail, because it is most common on smaller circuits.

Nothing on this site is electrical advice. The point of raising it here is that the decision — receptacle or hardwired — is cheapest to make before the trench is dug, and a pedestal is the install type where it is easiest to get wrong.

Height: what the published numbers actually give you

Where a standing height is published at all, these pedestals cluster between about 55 and 62 inches — Wallbox publishes 55 in for the Eiffel Basic, Inteset 60 in for its post, VIVO 61.7 in for its stand. That puts a charger body somewhere around chest height.

That is a sensible place for it, for two reasons that have nothing to do with ergonomics. First, it keeps the charger and its connector well clear of standing water and snow — Tesla’s own Mobile Connector documentation asks for the supply outlet to be at least 18 in above the ground, and a pedestal clears that by a wide margin. Second, it lets the cable hang in a loop rather than pooling on the floor, which is the single biggest cause of jacket damage over a charger’s life. A cable hook on the post finishes that job for a few dollars.

What a tall pedestal does not do is protect the charger from the weather. Only two picks here publish any overhead structure, and neither publishes a NEMA or IP rating for it.

Roofs, baffles and what they are really for

The “with roof” pedestals are the most common upgrade in this category and the most commonly misunderstood. A roof is not weatherproofing. Your charger’s own enclosure rating is the weatherproofing — that is what a NEMA 3R, NEMA 4 or IP65 rating means, and our outdoor charger roundup decodes those.

What a roof or a baffle does buy you is shade, and that is a real benefit for a reason no ingress rating covers: ultraviolet light. Sun degrades polymer housings and stiffens cable jackets over years, and no NEMA number has anything to say about it. Our covers and enclosures page makes that argument at length. A pedestal in the open, with no carport or overhang above it, is the most UV-exposed place you can put a charger — so overhead protection is worth more here than it is on a wall under an eave.

The honest ranking consequence: the pick with the best overhead protection on this page also has the shortest warranty on this page. Those are both true at once, and which matters more depends on whether your pedestal site has shade already.

What we left out, and why

Four things we found and did not feature, because this category needs the negative list more than most.

Relabeled clones. One listing we checked, under a different brand name entirely, carries the Maizengauto listing’s bullet text word for word — including the phrase “this Maizengauto EV charger pedestal” inside its own product description. We are not linking a product whose seller did not rewrite the copy it inherited. It also tells you what this category is: a small number of steel fabrications sold under many names.

Listings with garbled specifications. A cheap 59-inch pedestal looked promising until we read its feature text, which contains mangled fragments (“this [V charger stand”, “your FVcharger manufacturer’s instructions”). It publishes no warranty term and reported thin remaining stock on the day we checked. When the listing text has not been proofread, the specifications in it are not worth quoting.

Commercial pedestals above the top pick. Dual-port and cable-retractor pedestals exist well above everything here, including a retractable cable-management pedestal in four figures. They are built for fleet yards and workplace charging, and recommending one for a home driveway would be selling the reader the wrong product at the highest commission on the page.

Charger-brand pedestals with no live listing. Several charger manufacturers make their own pedestals; only one of them had a verified, in-stock Amazon listing when we checked. We list the one that did.

When not to buy any of these

Most people reading a page about charger pedestals have a wall. If you do, the honest recommendation is to spend a small fraction of a pedestal’s price on the two accessories that actually extend a charger’s life: a holster to keep the connector off the floor, and a hook to keep the cable off cold concrete. Together they cost less than the cheapest pedestal here and they prevent the failure that actually happens.

There is also a middle option this page cannot sell you, and should mention anyway: moving the charger. If the only problem is that the wall is on the wrong side of the garage, relocating the circuit at install time is often cheaper than a pedestal plus a trench, and it leaves you with a wall-mounted charger. Ask for both quotes.

Buy a pedestal when there is no wall, when the parking position is fixed and worth pouring concrete for, or when two cars need to share one post. Those are good reasons. “It looks more professional” is not one, at the price of a trench.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a pedestal, or will a wall mount do?

If there is a wall within cable reach of where the car parks, mount it on the wall. It is more rigid, needs no concrete anchor and costs nothing extra. A pedestal is for parking positions with no usable wall — detached carports, bays in the middle of a yard, shared driveways — or for putting two chargers on one anchored post.

How tall is an EV charger pedestal?

Where a height is published at all, these cluster between about 55 and 62 inches: Wallbox publishes 55 in for the Eiffel Basic, Inteset 60 in for its post, VIVO 61.7 in for its stand. Three of the six pedestals on this page publish no height. Watch for a carton dimension — a figure like 17 x 10 x 7 in on a 5 ft pedestal is the box, not the product.

Will my charger fit the pedestal?

That depends on a detail most listings never state: the mounting-hole pattern, and whether your charger has a bracket or adapter plate. VIVO publishes an M4 thread-base requirement. Inteset publishes an M5 screw hole and names its plates by charger (Wallbox Pulsar, Tesla Gen 3, Grizzl-E, and blanks for the rest). Everything else on this page says 'universal' without publishing a pattern, so measure your charger's hole spacing before ordering.

How much weight can a pedestal hold?

Only one pedestal here publishes a figure — 33 lb for the VIVO. For context, Tesla publishes 10 lb for the Gen 3 Wall Connector with its wirebox and about 13 lb for the Universal, so 33 lb is comfortable for both. If your charger does not publish a weight, weigh the box; several manufacturers do not state it.

Should the charger on a pedestal be hardwired or plug-in?

Usually hardwired. Many wall chargers are hardwire-only anyway — Tesla's Gen 3 manual says explicitly not to use a cord-and-plug connection — and hardwiring avoids NEC 625.54, which requires GFCI protection for receptacles installed for EV charging. It also avoids the known conflict between a charger's internal ground-fault protection and an external GFCI breaker. Decide this before the trench is dug; nothing here is electrical advice.

Does a pedestal with a roof make a charger weatherproof?

No. Your charger's own enclosure rating does that — NEMA 3R, NEMA 4 or IP65 and above. None of the pedestals here publishes a NEMA or IP rating. What a roof or baffle genuinely buys is shade, and that matters because ultraviolet light degrades plastics and cable jackets over years and is not part of any ingress rating. A pedestal in the open is the most UV-exposed place a charger can live.

Can one pedestal hold two chargers?

Some are built for it. The Wallbox Eiffel Basic is sold in a dual configuration and Wallbox's own documentation describes it as a single-or-dual mount, but it fits Wallbox chargers only. Inteset sells a dual-port version of its aluminum post with blank plates for other makes. One mid-price steel pedestal claims expandability to a second charger without explaining what that requires — we recorded that as a con rather than a feature.

What does a pedestal install actually cost?

Far more than the pedestal. A wall install runs a circuit to a wall; a pedestal install runs it to a point in open ground, which usually means a trench, direct-burial conduit, a stub-up and either existing concrete to anchor into or a new footing. Every pedestal here ships anchor hardware and none ships concrete. Get a quote for relocating a wall-mounted charger at the same time — it is often cheaper.

Sources

Keep reading