Amp & Adapter

Installing an EV Charger in a Detached Garage

The distance between your panel and the garage is the whole cost. Three routes, in the order a sensible person should consider them — and the one that needs no trench at all.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

The charger is the cheap part. The distance between your electrical panel and the garage is what this project costs, and it varies by a factor of ten depending on what is already buried in your yard. So before you choose a charger, find out which of three situations you are in — because that decides the amperage, and the amperage decides the charger.

Find out what is already out there. Nothing else matters yet.

Walk into the garage and look for a small panel or a disconnect on the wall. Then find the breaker in the house panel that feeds the garage and read it. You are looking for one number: the amperage of the existing feed.

Three outcomes, in descending order of luck:

  • A subpanel of 60 amps or more.You have won. The garage can take a proper Level 2 charger on its own dedicated circuit, and the job is now an ordinary garage install — see charging an EV in a garage.
  • A small feed — one 15- or 20-amp circuit, or a 30- or 40-amp subpanel. This is the most common case in older houses, and it is where the interesting decisions are. Keep reading.
  • Nothing, or an extension cord someone ran in 1994. You need a new feed, which means a trench, which means this is a real project. Also keep reading.

One thing to do before anything else: call 811 (or your local equivalent) and have utilities located, even if you are only thinking about it. You need to know where the gas, water, sewer and telecoms lines run before anyone prices a trench, and it is free.

Route 1: size the charger to the feed you already have

This is the route most people should take seriously and most skip, because it feels like a compromise. It usually is not.

Chargers are sized by circuit: a continuous load is sized at 125% of its draw, so a 48-amp charger wants 60 A, a 40-amp charger wants 50 A, a 32-amp charger wants 40 A and a 16-amp charger wants 20 A. Most Level 2 chargers can also be dialled downat install — the Grizzl-E at pick one publishes “adjustable current 40A - 16A”, for instance — so one charger can suit several feeds.

Now the arithmetic that makes this route attractive. A 32-amp charger delivers 7.7 kW. Over an eight-hour overnight window that is about 61 kWh, which on almost any EV is well over 200 miles of range added in one night. If you drive 40 miles a day, a 32-amp charger on an existing 40-amp feed charges you from empty to full overnight with hours to spare — and it costs you nothing but the charger. Our 32-amp roundup covers that tier, and how long charging takes does the maths for your own battery.

Two caveats. The existing feed has to be adequate and sound— correct conductor size for the distance, in good condition, properly terminated — which is an electrician’s judgement, not a visual one. And the charger wants a dedicated circuit: sharing a 40-amp subpanel with a workshop compressor is how you trip breakers at 2 a.m.

Route 2: load management instead of a bigger feed

If the garage feed is modest but you want more than it nominally supports, load management is the middle path. A charger with load management watches household or feeder load and reduces its own current to stay inside the limit, so it charges fast when nothing else is running and throttles when something is.

Emporia’s PowerSmart bundles the panel monitor it depends on; Wallbox does it with Power Boost; Autel publishes Adaptive Load Management and Dynamic Load Balancing, though it does not publish what sensor hardware ALM needs, which is a real gap when you are planning an install. Our load management guide covers the mechanisms, and Emporia vs Wallbox compares the two most common implementations head to head.

Be clear-eyed about one thing: load management protects a feed from being overloaded. It does not make an undersized or damaged feed safe, and it does not help if the garage subpanel itself is the problem rather than the house service.

Route 3: a new feed, and why you should put in a subpanel

If there is no usable feed, you are running one. The work, roughly in order: locate utilities, dig a trench to the required depth for the wiring method used, lay conduit, pull conductors sized for both ampacity andvoltage drop over the measured distance, land it in a subpanel in the garage, then run the charger circuit from there. Permits and inspection where your jurisdiction requires them — which is most of them.

The trench is almost always the biggest line item, and it is the one that varies most: forty feet of lawn is a different proposition from eighty feet under a driveway you will have to cut and re-pour. Which leads to the single most useful piece of advice on this page:

If you are opening a trench, size the feeder for a subpanel, not for one circuit. Once the excavation is paid for, the incremental cost of heavier conductors and a small panel is modest — and you get the charger plus lights, receptacles, a freezer and whatever else the garage needs for the next twenty years. Running a single 50-amp circuit down a trench you have already dug is the decision people call an electrician back about.

Why the wire is heavier than you expect

Voltage drop rises with distance and with current, and EV charging is a sustained high-current load — the worst case for it. A conductor sized purely for the amperage can arrive at a distant garage with measurably less voltage than it left with, which shows up as slower charging and warm terminations. This is why there is no useful answer to “what gauge wire do I need?” until somebody has measured your run. Expect the conductor your electrician specifies for a hundred-foot run to be heavier than the one the same breaker would get in the house, and do not let anyone talk you down from it.

Route 4, the honest one: a 120-volt cordset while you decide

If the garage has a working 120-volt receptacle, you can charge tonight for the price of a cordset. The U.S. Department of Energy is straightforward about this: many EV owners meet their daily driving needs on Level 1 alone, with no additional cost or installation, provided there is an outlet on a dedicated branch circuit near where they park.

At roughly 3–5 miles of range per hour, an overnight charge adds something like 30–60 miles. If that covers your commute, you have just discovered that your expensive trench is optional. If it does not, you have learned exactly how much more you need before you commit. Pick three is the cordset for this; our Level 1 roundup covers the category.

The one rule: a dedicated branch circuit, and no extension cord. Charging for hours on a shared garage circuit with a freezer and a compressor on it is a nuisance; doing it through a cord reel is a hazard. Our extension cord guide explains why this is a heat problem rather than a voltage one.

Hardware choices specific to a detached garage

  • Buy the outdoor enclosure rating even though it is indoors.A detached garage is usually unheated and often less sealed than the house. NEMA Type 4 or 4X in cast metal survives freeze-thaw cycling better than plastic, and it means you can move the unit to the outside wall later. See best outdoor chargers and best for cold weather.
  • Do not rely on Wi-Fi reaching the garage.This is the single most common disappointment in detached-garage installs: the charger is at the far edge of the house network and scheduled sessions silently fail to start. Either prefer a charger that charges with no network once configured, or schedule in the car — the argument in best chargers without Wi-Fi.
  • Hardwire if the choice is yours. One fewer outdoor-ish receptacle, and no NEC 625.54 GFCI-on-the-receptacle interaction to argue with. See plug-in vs hardwired.
  • Buy cable length. Detached garages tend to be tight, awkwardly shaped and entered from one end, so the charge port is often further from the wall than you planned. Long-cable roundup.
  • Verify certification by model number.EPA warns that not all chargers on sale are safety certified and that some listings display false certifications. A charger in an unattended outbuilding is the last place to take that risk — ENERGY STAR certified chargers.

Questions to put to the electrician

  1. What is the existing feed to the garage, and what can it safely carry continuously?
  2. What charger output does that support at 125% sizing — and can the charger be set to it?
  3. If a new feed is needed: what is the measured run length, what conductor size does voltage drop call for over it, and what does the trench cost as its own line item?
  4. What does a subpanel add over a single circuit, given the trench is already open?
  5. Are permits and inspection included, and who pulls them?

That last one matters. Our installation cost guide covers permits and inspection in detail, and how to install a home charger covers the sequence of work.

The short answer

Read the existing feed first, then buy the charger that fits it. A 32-amp charger on a feed you already have will add more than 200 miles overnight and cost you nothing but the hardware — which beats a 48-amp charger waiting on a trench. If you do dig, dig once and put a subpanel at the end of it. And if there is a 120-volt outlet out there already, plug in tonight and find out how much charging you actually need before you spend anything.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

If the garage gets its own circuit
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest route to 32A in our roundup that still publishes a safety listing, a 3-year warranty and a 25 ft cable. Every figure is the seller's own claim, and the model number is not among the families EPA certifies, so this is the pick for a buyer who wants the price and accepts a thinner paper trail.

If the existing feed is small
$141.53 · View on Amazon

$148.985% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron Level 1 EV Charger (15A, 110V)

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger (15A, 110V)

The one Level 1 charger we would actually recommend, because it is ETL certified and comes from a brand that specializes in EV charging. A Level 1 unit is a spare and a safety net, not a primary charger — buy it on that basis and it is a genuinely useful thing to own.

If there is only a 120 V outlet out there
$159.99 · View on Amazon

$179.9911% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The three chargers, in full

#1If the garage gets its own circuit

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2If the existing feed is small

EVPOVO Level 2 32A (NEMA 14-50)

The cheapest route to 32A in our roundup that still publishes a safety listing, a 3-year warranty and a 25 ft cable. Every figure is the seller's own claim, and the model number is not among the families EPA certifies, so this is the pick for a buyer who wants the price and accepts a thinner paper trail.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16/20/24/32A from the buttons or the app, so it fits a 20A to 40A circuit
  • The listing claims ETL listing to UL 2594 and UL 2231-1/-2, with CCID20 leakage protection
  • 25 ft cable the seller says stays flexible down to -22°F
  • 3-year warranty per the listing, and optional Wi-Fi scheduling (Smart Life app, 2.4 GHz)

Trade-offs

  • Its model number (ZA11 prefix) is not among the families EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset certifies, so it will not satisfy a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • The listing publishes no numeric enclosure rating
  • Plug-in, so a GFCI-protected garage receptacle can trip with it
  • A young brand with far less owner history than Leviton or Battery Tender
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingNot published
Warranty3 years

Spec note. The listing publishes: 32A, 7.68 kW, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25 ft TPU cable rated flexible to -22°F, adjustable 16/20/24/32A, Wi-Fi through the Smart Life app (2.4 GHz) or button control, ETL listing to UL 2594 and UL 2231-1/-2, CCID20 leakage protection and a 3-year warranty, with the seller's estimate of about 22-25 miles of range per hour. Amazon reports model ZA11-U007KBF-F004. EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset certifies the Zopoise ZA05 and ZA10 families at 32A but not ZA11, so we do not treat it as ENERGY STAR certified. The enclosure is described only as weather-resistant, with no rating number.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3If there is only a 120 V outlet out there

Lectron Level 1 EV Charger (15A, 110V)

The one Level 1 charger we would actually recommend, because it is ETL certified and comes from a brand that specializes in EV charging. A Level 1 unit is a spare and a safety net, not a primary charger — buy it on that basis and it is a genuinely useful thing to own.

Strengths

  • ETL certified — the single most important thing on a device left plugged in overnight
  • Plugs into any standard 110V household outlet, so it works anywhere
  • Includes a 16 ft extension cord alongside the J1772 cable

Trade-offs

  • Level 1 is slow — plan on topping up rather than a full charge overnight
  • Costs more than the no-name Level 1 units, which is the trade for the certification
  • 15A on a shared household circuit can trip a breaker if something else is on it
ConnectorJ1772
Max output15 A
Max powerNot published
Cable length16 ft
InstallPlug-in (standard 110V outlet)
Outdoor ratingNot published
WarrantyNot published

Spec note. The listing publishes 110V, 15A, ETL certification and a 16 ft extension cord with a J1772 cable. 110V at 15A works out to roughly 1.6 kW, but the listing does not publish a kW figure so the spec table leaves it blank rather than printing our arithmetic as a manufacturer spec.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

General guidance, not electrical advice. Amp & Adapter is written by an EV-charging enthusiast, not a licensed electrician. Circuit sizing, breakers and hardwired installs must be done by a qualified electrician to local code — the figures here are for planning a purchase, not a wiring job.

Frequently asked questions

Can you install an EV charger in a detached garage?

Yes, and thousands of people have. The question is never whether it is possible — it is how the power gets there. Either the garage already has a feed big enough to carry a charger, or it has a small feed that can carry a reduced-output charger, or it needs a new feed trenched from the house. Those three routes differ in cost by an order of magnitude, which is why the first thing to find out is what is already buried in your yard.

How much does it cost to install an EV charger in a detached garage?

It depends almost entirely on whether a new feed is needed. If the garage already has an adequate subpanel, the job is the same as any garage install — a circuit, a charger and a few hours. If a new feed has to be trenched from the house, you are paying for excavation, conduit, cable sized for the distance and a subpanel, and the trench is usually the single largest line item. Get itemised quotes and ask specifically what the trenching and the conduit cost, because that is the part that varies most between properties.

Can I run an EV charger off the garage's existing circuit?

Often not at full output, and that is the key realisation. Many detached garages are fed by a single small circuit intended for a light and a couple of receptacles. A 40-amp charger needs a dedicated 50-amp circuit, which such a feed cannot provide. But a 32-amp charger needs 40 amps and a 16-amp unit needs 20, and most chargers can be dialled down at install — so a smaller charger on the feed you have may beat a bigger one that needs a trench.

Do I need a subpanel in a detached garage for an EV charger?

If you are running a new feed, almost always yes — and it is usually money well spent. Once a trench is open, the incremental cost of running a feeder sized for a subpanel rather than a single circuit is small compared to the excavation, and a subpanel gives you the charger plus lighting, receptacles and whatever the garage needs later. Running one circuit down a trench you have already paid to dig is the decision people regret.

Does voltage drop matter over a long run to a garage?

Yes, and it is the reason long runs need heavier cable than the same circuit would need indoors. Voltage drop rises with distance and current, and EV charging is a sustained high-current load, so a conductor sized only for the amperage can arrive at the garage with measurably less voltage than it left with. An electrician sizes for both ampacity and voltage drop over the actual measured distance — which is why 'what gauge wire' has no answer until someone has measured your run.

Can I use an extension cord from the house to the garage instead?

No. EV charging is a continuous high-current load for hours, extension cords are not built for it, and most charger manuals prohibit it outright. A long run to a detached garage is exactly the scenario where improvising is most tempting and most dangerous, because the cord is also outdoors and often lying on the ground. If the power is not out there, the answer is wiring, not cord.

Is a portable charger a good solution for a detached garage?

It can be a good interim one. If the garage has a 120-volt receptacle, a Level 1 cordset will add roughly 3 to 5 miles of range per hour with no electrical work at all — enough for many commutes, and enough to find out how much charging you actually need before committing to a trench. It is not a substitute for a proper feed if you drive a lot, but it is a cheap way to buy time.

Sources

  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — DOE guidance on Level 1 vs Level 2 home charging, 120V/240V service and installation (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Qmerit — NEMA 14-50 and GFCI Protection for EV Chargers (May 1, 2026) — An installer network's explanation: NEC 210.8(A) requires GFCI protection for 125- through 250-volt garage receptacles, NEC 625.54 requires it for receptacles installed for EV charging, the charger's own ground-fault protection can conflict with an external GFCI, and hardwired chargers are not subject to the 625.54 receptacle requirement (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on certified EV chargers, safety certification and standby energy use (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Chargers (AC Output) — The list of ENERGY STAR certified AC (Level 2) EV chargers (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A — The maker's own specification block: "Adjustable current 40A - 16A", "Max power 40A 10kW", "Plug type NEMA 14-50", "Connector Type 1 (SAE J1772); NACS", "Output cable length 25ft (7.6m)", a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure with "UL Type 4 Indoor/Outdoor Rating", "Operating temperature -30C .. +50C (-22F .. 122F)", "Certifications UL/cUL E510712", "Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Mobile Application", and a 3-year or 5-year warranty choice. The description calls it "made-in-Canada"; the formal country-of-origin field is blank (accessed October 12, 2026)

Keep reading