Amp & Adapter

How Long Do EV Chargers Last?

No manufacturer publishes a lifespan. What they publish is a warranty — two years to five, and in several cases nothing at all — and that number tells you more about expected life than any marketing claim.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we rank

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Nobody publishes a lifespan. Not one manufacturer in this category states how many years its charger is expected to last, which means every “EV chargers last 10–15 years” figure you will read online is somebody’s estimate dressed up as a specification. So we are going to do something different and read the one durability number every manufacturer doespublish: the warranty. Across the chargers we cover it runs from two years to five, with several brands publishing nothing at all — and that spread is genuinely informative.

What the warranties actually say

These are published terms, read from each manufacturer’s own material or the retail listing our registry cites, on the dates recorded there. A warranty is not a lifespan — but it is the period a company is contractually prepared to stand behind its own hardware, which is the closest thing to a published durability claim that exists here.

ChargerPublished warrantyWhat else it publishes
Enphase IQ 405 years (limited)32 A hardwired, 25 ft cord
Tesla Wall Connector4 years (residential)48 A, 24 ft; no ambient range in the Gen 3 manual
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A3 years, 5-year option from the makerUL Type 4 metal, -22 °F, UL/cUL file E510712
ChargePoint Home Flex3 yearsType 3R per UL 50E, full standards list, 24/7 support
Emporia Pro3 yearsNEMA 4, UL Listed, ENERGY STAR certified
Autel MaxiCharger Home3 yearsIP65 / NEMA 4X, -40 °F to 131 °F, CSA + ENERGY STAR
Leviton EV3202 years (limited)Nine named standards, NEMA 3R, -30 °C to 50 °C
Several budget 40 A unitsNot publishedAmperage and cord length; no enclosure rating

Read that table twice, because the interesting row is the last one and the second-most interesting is Leviton. Leviton publishes the shortest warranty on this page and the longest standards list in the entire category— nine named UL standards plus NFPA 70 Article 625 — which tells you a warranty term is a commercial decision as much as an engineering one. A 120-year-old wiring-devices company writes conservative warranties. That does not make the EV320 the least durable charger here; our EV320 review is blunt about what it does and does not give you.

And the bottom row is the one to act on. A charger that publishes no warranty at all has told you something: there is no term, so there is nothing to claim against. Several perfectly serviceable budget 40-amp units sit in that position. You can see which in the comparison chart, where the warranty column is built from the same published data as this table.

What actually wears out, in order

1. The connector and the cable — by a wide margin

The box on your wall has no moving parts. The connector has a latch, a set of contacts and a cable, and it gets plugged in and pulled out a few hundred times a year, dropped on concrete, flexed when it is stiff with cold and occasionally driven over. That is where chargers die.

Which has a practical consequence most buyers miss: on most home chargers the cable is not a user-replaceable part. A damaged cable can mean replacing the whole unit. That is why a twenty-dollar holster is the highest-return purchase in home charging — see best charger holsters— and why cable stiffness in the cold is worth paying attention to, as our cold-weather roundup argues.

2. The enclosure and its seals

Freeze-thaw cycling is the environmental factor that shortens a charger’s life most: water gets into a seam, freezes, expands, and the seal that was fine in October is not fine in March. This is what the enclosure rating is really about, and it is why a cast-metal shell has an argument over plastic for an outdoor install — no plastic to go brittle and no plastic seam to open up. Best outdoor chargers ranks on those ratings.

3. The electronics, which mostly do not

A charger is a contactor, some current sensing, a ground-fault detector and a pilot-signal circuit. None of it is working hard. EPA publishes a figure that makes the point better than we can: EV chargers are typically in standby mode — notactively charging — for about 85% of the time, which is also why ENERGY STAR has a standby-power specification at all (certified units use 40% less standby energy than non-certified ones). A device that idles 85% of its life and is designed for continuous duty the other 15% is not being stressed.

4. The cloud service, which is the modern failure mode

The newest way a charger “dies” is that its app stops working. A charger whose scheduling, metering or load management depends on a manufacturer’s servers is a charger with a dependency that can be discontinued, acquired or paywalled. Almost every unit we cover will still charge a car with no network once configured — worth confirming before you buy, and the core argument of best chargers without Wi-Fi.

How to make a charger outlive its warranty

  • Hang the connector up, every time. The single highest-value habit. A connector that never touches the floor avoids grit in the contacts, water in the barrel and being run over.
  • Buy more cable than you need. A cable at full stretch every night is a cable being pulled at the gland where it enters the box. See best chargers with a long cable.
  • Get the circuit right, once. A charger on an undersized or loose-lugged circuit runs hot at the terminations, which is the one electrical failure mode that is genuinely shortened by installation quality. Our amps and circuits guide covers sizing, and the installation guide covers who should do it.
  • Mount it out of the weather if you can, and out of the swing of a car door if you cannot. Freeze-thaw and physical impact do more damage than years do.
  • Do not improvise. No extension cords, no unrated adapters. Our extension cord guide explains why this is a heat question, not a voltage one.

Is it worth paying for the longer warranty?

Sometimes. Here is how we would think about it.

A charger is bolted to a wall and wired into a panel, so a failure costs you an electrician’s visit on top of the hardware. That asymmetry makes a longer term genuinely worth something — more than it would be on an appliance you can unplug and carry to a store. Enphase’s five years and Grizzl-E’s five-year option are real value if you intend to keep the house.

But a warranty is only as good as the company behind it, and a long warranty from a brand that publishes no certification, no enclosure rating and no model number traceable in any database is a promise with nothing underneath it. Given a choice between the longest warranty and the fullest specification sheet, take the specification sheet. A manufacturer that publishes nine standards and a file number has been audited; one that publishes a five-year term and nothing else has made a marketing decision.

When to replace one, and when not to

Age is not a reason. A working charger on a sound circuit does not become unsafe at eight years old. Replace it for a reason you can name:

  • A cut, cracked or overheated cable, or a connector with damaged or discolored contacts.
  • Water ingress, corrosion inside the enclosure, or a cracked housing.
  • A new car whose onboard charger can accept more than the unit delivers — the one genuinely good upgrade reason. Check the car first: why is my EV charging slowly and 40A vs 48A.
  • Repeated faults that survive the diagnostics in our troubleshooting guide.
  • A discontinued cloud service you actually depended on.

The short answer

Expect a decent charger to work for well over a decade, understand that nobody has published that figure, and buy on the two- to five-year warranty that they have. Hang the connector up, buy cable length you will not have to stretch, and have the circuit done properly — those three habits will do more for the charger’s life than the difference between a three-year and a five-year term. If you want the warranty column for every unit we cover, it is in the comparison chart.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, install flexibility and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these units — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Enphase IQ 40 32A (hardwired)

Enphase IQ 40 32A (hardwired)

The ClipperCreek line under Enphase's name: a 32A hardwired station with a NEMA 4 enclosure, a 25 ft cable and the longest warranty in our 32A roundup, five years. It is also the most expensive, and its Wi-Fi scheduling earns that premium mainly for a household already running Enphase solar that wants the charger to follow it.

Longest published warranty here
$779.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Metal shell, 3 years, 5-year option
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Longest standards list, shortest warranty
$649.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The three chargers, in full

#1Longest published warranty here

Enphase IQ 40 32A (hardwired)

The ClipperCreek line under Enphase's name: a 32A hardwired station with a NEMA 4 enclosure, a 25 ft cable and the longest warranty in our 32A roundup, five years. It is also the most expensive, and its Wi-Fi scheduling earns that premium mainly for a household already running Enphase solar that wants the charger to follow it.

Strengths

  • 5-year limited warranty, the longest of the 32A picks
  • 25 ft cable and a sealed NEMA 4-rated enclosure for indoor or outdoor mounting
  • UL 2594 certified per the listing, and EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset names this exact model number
  • Wi-Fi scheduling in the Enphase App, plus solar-surplus charging with an Enphase Energy System

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive of the 32A picks
  • Hardwired, so it stays with the house when you move
  • The listing still says you may qualify for federal tax credits; the federal home-charger credit ended for property placed in service after June 30, 2026
  • Solar-surplus charging needs at least 1.92 kW (8A) of excess solar before a session starts, per Enphase
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallHardwired (40A circuit)
Outdoor ratingNEMA 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty5 years (limited)

Spec note. The listing publishes: 32A on a 40 Amp circuit, suited to vehicles that accept up to 7.7 kW, up to 31 miles of range per hour (the manufacturer's best case), UL 2594, a sealed NEMA 4-rated enclosure, a 25 ft cable, Wi-Fi with the Enphase App and a 5-year limited warranty. Enphase's store lists the hardwired SKU as IQ-EVSE-NA-1040-0100-0100, and EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset names that exact number among the additional models on an Enphase family record qualified 2023-03-17. Enphase also sells NEMA 14-50 and 6-50 plug-in versions.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#2Metal shell, 3 years, 5-year option

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A (J1772)

The Grizzl-E Classic with a radio in it: the same made-in-Canada metal box, the same UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating and the same 25 ft cable, now with Wi-Fi scheduling and 16–40A adjustment. The adjustment is the upgrade worth paying for, because it lets one charger fit whatever circuit your panel can actually spare. The connectivity is the part to think twice about — this line's reputation was built on having nothing to fail.

Strengths

  • 16–40A adjustable output, so one unit fits a 20A, 30A, 40A or 50A circuit — the outgoing Classic was fixed at 40A
  • UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rated metal enclosure, made in Canada, rated from -30°C to +50°C
  • 25 ft published cable, which is more reach than most wall chargers at any price
  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, so no hardwiring bill and it moves house with you
  • Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) with scheduling, charging statistics, remote control and utility demand-response participation
  • 3-year warranty as standard, with a 5-year extension sold separately by the manufacturer

Trade-offs

  • Not in EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database as of 2 September 2026, although the Classic it succeeds is — check before counting on a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR
  • Wi-Fi is not optional, on a product line whose whole appeal was that there was no app to fail
  • NEMA 14-50 only: the Classic also offered a NEMA 6-50 plug variant, and that option is gone
  • New for December 2025, so there is far less long-term owner feedback than the Classic has
  • United Chargers publishes “40A 10 kW” while the Amazon listing says 9.6 kW; 40A at 240V is 9.6 kW, so size the circuit off 40A, not off either kW figure
ConnectorJ1772
Max output40 A
Max power9.6 kW
Cable length25 ft
InstallPlug-in (NEMA 14-50)
Outdoor ratingUL Type 4 (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty3 years

Spec note. United Chargers publishes: AC Level 2, 40A adjustable down to 16A, NEMA 14-50 plug, J1772 or NACS output cable, 25 ft (7.6 m) cord, UL Type 4 indoor/outdoor rating, UL/cUL listing E510712, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a 3-year warranty, an operating range of -30°C to +50°C and a 10.25 × 6.25 × 3.75 in enclosure. Two caveats we checked rather than assumed. EPA's ENERGY STAR certified-EVSE database lists eight Grizzl-E models under United Chargers Inc. and the Classic Connect is not among them, so we do not repeat the ENERGY STAR claim that appears on one sibling listing. And ENERGY STAR records the outgoing Classic's cord at 24 ft against the same 25 ft marketing figure, so if reach is tight, plan around 24 ft.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 2, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

#3Longest standards list, shortest warranty

Leviton EV320 32A (hardwired)

The plainest well-documented 32A wall charger you can buy: hardwired on a 40A breaker, ENERGY STAR certified under its own model number, and nothing to connect to Wi-Fi. That last point cuts both ways, since there is no app to fail and no app to schedule with, and the 18 ft cable is the shortest here, so measure before you buy.

Strengths

  • Hardwired, so a plain breaker feeds it and there is no receptacle to wear, overheat or trip a GFCI
  • Leviton publishes its full standards list, including UL 2594, and EPA's ENERGY STAR dataset lists the EV320 by model number
  • NEMA Type 3R enclosure and a cable Leviton says is designed not to freeze and crack, rated -30°C to 50°C
  • Optional RFID access control, switched off out of the box

Trade-offs

  • 18 ft cable, the shortest in our 32A roundup
  • 2-year limited warranty, against 3 to 5 years on the other 32A picks
  • No Wi-Fi or app, so any scheduling has to come from the car
  • Amazon showed 'Only 11 left in stock (more on the way)' when we checked on 18 September 2026
ConnectorJ1772
Max output32 A
Max power7.7 kW
Cable length18 ft
InstallHardwired (40A breaker)
Outdoor ratingNEMA Type 3R (indoor/outdoor)
Warranty2 years (limited)

Spec note. Leviton publishes: 32A, 208/240 VAC, 7.6 kW output, a 40A breaker, an 18 ft (5.5 m) cable, hardwired only, a PC+PBT plastic NEMA Type 3R enclosure, -30°C to 50°C operation, a 20 mA CCID per UL 2231, certification to UL 2594, UL 2231-1/-2, UL 2251 and others with cETLus, and ENERGY STAR. Its published standards line also includes "OCPP 1.6 Compliant", which is unusual on a charger with no radio. EPA's dataset lists model EV320 (qualified 2022-10-24, 18 ft cord). It has no Wi-Fi; the Wi-Fi sibling is the EV32W. Leviton's own store listed it above the Amazon price when we checked.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

How long does a home EV charger last?

No manufacturer publishes a lifespan figure, so the honest answer is to read the warranty as the maker's own statement of expected life. Across the chargers we cover those run from two years to five, with three years being the norm — Enphase publishes five, Tesla publishes four for residential use, Leviton publishes two, and several brands publish nothing at all. A certified charger on a correctly sized circuit, mounted out of the weather, should comfortably outlive its warranty; the wear items are the cable and the connector rather than the box.

What part of an EV charger wears out first?

The cable and the connector, nearly always. The box on the wall has no moving parts and spends roughly 85% of its life in standby, per EPA's own figure. The connector gets plugged and unplugged thousands of times, dropped on concrete, driven over and flexed in the cold — and on most chargers the cable is not a user-replaceable part, which is why a cheap holster is the highest-value accessory in home charging.

Which EV charger has the longest warranty?

Of the chargers we cover, Enphase publishes the longest at five years limited on the IQ 40, and TopAutoGear publishes five years on its portable cordset. Tesla publishes four years for residential use of the Wall Connector. Grizzl-E publishes three years with a five-year option sold by the manufacturer. Most of the market sits at three years, Leviton publishes two, and a number of budget units publish no warranty term at all.

Do EV chargers use electricity when not charging?

Yes, a small amount. EPA states that EV chargers are typically in standby mode — not actively charging — for about 85% of the time, and that ENERGY STAR certified chargers use 40% less energy in standby than non-certified ones. It is not a large running cost, but it is the reason standby draw is part of the ENERGY STAR specification at all.

Should I replace an old EV charger?

Only for a reason you can name. Age alone is not one: a working charger on a sound circuit does not become unsafe because it is eight years old. Real reasons to replace are a damaged cable or connector you cannot have replaced, a new car whose onboard charger can accept more than your unit delivers, a cloud service the manufacturer has shut down, or a move from a plug-in to a hardwired install. Otherwise the money is better spent on cable length or a holster.

Does a charger wear out faster if I charge every day?

Not meaningfully, and the mechanism is not what people expect. The electronics are rated for continuous duty, and a charger that runs four hours a night is well inside what it was built for. What daily use does accelerate is mechanical wear on the connector and cable from plugging and unplugging — which argues for a holster and for not letting the connector rest on the floor, rather than for charging less often.

Is a longer warranty worth paying for?

Sometimes, and it is worth reading what the longer warranty covers. A five-year term from a company that will still exist in five years is genuinely valuable on a device bolted to a wall and wired into a panel, because a failure means an electrician either way. But a published warranty from a brand with no published certification, no enclosure rating and no model number in any database is a promise with nothing behind it. Prefer the brand that publishes everything over the one that publishes the biggest number.

Sources

  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on certified EV chargers, safety certification and standby energy use (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Chargers (AC Output) — The list of ENERGY STAR certified AC (Level 2) EV chargers (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • EPA ENERGY STAR — Certified Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment, AC-Output (dataset 5jwe-c8xm) — EPA's machine-readable list of certified chargers. It carries both Tesla wall units, each qualified 2023-09-18 at 48A / 11.52 kW: model 1457768 under brand "Tesla" and model 1734412 under brand "Universal Wall Connector", both with a 22 ft cord on the record (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • Leviton — EV320 32 A Level 2 Charging Station (specifications tab) — Leviton's published specification list, read in full on this date: 32 A, 208/240 VAC, "7.6kW Output", a 40 A breaker, an "18 ft. (5.5 m)" cable, "HARDWIRED ONLY", a "Plastic (PC+PBT)" enclosure at "NEMA Type 3R", -30 °C to 50 °C operation, a "20 mA CCID per UL 2231", "Optional access control; station comes with RFID disabled", "Energy Star Certified", a "2-Year Limited" warranty, and a standards line reading "UL2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 2251, UL 62, UL 991, UL 1998, NFPA 70 Article 625, UL840, CSA Std. C22.2#280, OCPP 1.6 Compliant, cETLus". The Wi-Fi sibling is named as the EV32W; no price is listed on the page (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A — The maker's own specification block: "Adjustable current 40A - 16A", "Max power 40A 10kW", "Plug type NEMA 14-50", "Connector Type 1 (SAE J1772); NACS", "Output cable length 25ft (7.6m)", a 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in enclosure with "UL Type 4 Indoor/Outdoor Rating", "Operating temperature -30C .. +50C (-22F .. 122F)", "Certifications UL/cUL E510712", "Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Mobile Application", and a 3-year or 5-year warranty choice. The description calls it "made-in-Canada"; the formal country-of-origin field is blank (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex (CPH50) datasheet — ChargePoint's own datasheet: a "Station Enclosure Rating Type 3R per UL 50E", an operating ambient of -30 °C to 50 °C (-22 °F to 122 °F), storage from -40 °C to 60 °C, operating humidity to 95% at 50 °C non-condensing, a 23 ft (7010.4 mm) cable, and UL and cUL listing to UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2 with NEC Article 625 compliance (accessed October 12, 2026)
  • Tesla Energy Library — Charging Equipment Limited Warranty (Universal Wall Connector manual) — 48 months for residential use and 12 months for commercial use from the date of invoice; exclusions include damage from the "use of non-genuine Tesla accessories or parts" (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — DOE guidance on Level 1 vs Level 2 home charging, 120V/240V service and installation (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading